27

4.7 based on 27 customer reviews

22
4
0
0
1
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

27 Customer Reviews

0

Quality product from Sony!

SRS-XP700 10 May 2022 by Jay (United Kingdom)

I bought this item 3 weeks ago after reading the reviews for the srsxp500. Its definitely worth everu penny.. The sound from this speaker is amazing... Its definitely going to add to the garden..The speaker is a bit heavy to move around however it's worth it...

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent speaker

SRSXP700 21 April 2022 by Migdwg (USA)

In few words, excellent sound, battery last a lot to get uncharged, the only thing is…it is so heavy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good product

SRSXP700 18 April 2022 by Boobman (USA)

Great product !!!! Would definitely buy again !!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Free Mic not given

SRS-XP700/BCSP6 09 April 2022 by freemic (Singapore)

I bought it with free my mic, until now I haven’t got the mic.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Sounds great

SRS-XP700 13 March 2022 by Bones64 (United Kingdom)

I have two now they link really easy. They are pricey but the sound quality is good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

3

0

Great speaker.

SRS-XP700 22 February 2022 by Olal (United Kingdom)

This is great speaker. Its really loud and perfect for parties. Sound quality is good and bass is punchy. Also possible to adjust the EQ on the app. It is a big speaker so not convenient carrying for long distance. Used it for up to a week now playing at about 15% volume in the house and not ran down the battery. Yes 15% is loud enough to listen in the house. 50% volume is starting to sound like a house party. Its loud that loud. I love the design The sound quality is good The Bluetooth connection is fantastic and the range is long. I am considering buying a second one to pair as stereo If you are all after the bass and no treble. You can try the JBL Party Box 310. Not tried it myself. But seen review that it has awesome bass.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

An Absolute Beast!!!

SRS-XP700 07 February 2022 by CRP765 (United Kingdom)

Cannot express how good this speaker is... way beyond expectations... I should have realised what a behemoth it was when I struggled to carry it into the house... I only ended up with the XP700 because the XP500 was out of stock where I was buying from... but I couldn't be happier 1 gripe (and not worth taking the rating down for) is that despite the literature and images from Sony stating it has USB-C charging capabilities, I can confirm that it does not.. is has 2 USB-A ports, not USB-C I have turned the lights off as if I am being honest, they are not the most vivid, but I did not buy it for those Could thoroughly recommend this products - trying to find the justification to the wife for having 2!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Cool speakers

SRS-XP700 19 January 2022 by Lizer (United Kingdom)

I like that I can use for my guitar and PA system. Get it

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

Overall Great Speaker

SRSXP700 15 January 2022 by Rod Downdraft (USA)

I got this for my wife for Christmas. She's a music teacher and vocal director at a small school. Every year she hosts a musical and other musical-related things. In the past she was using a very small pill style speaker for rehearsals. That old speaker would not come close to filling the auditorium during rehearsals, and the house speakers are often inaccessible during rehearsal hours for various reasons. I got her this since it will accept a microphone and guitar/keyboard input, Bluetooth audio and has a very good battery life spec. Sonically, this is a lot closer to the auditorium speakers so her students will come a little closer to "practicing like they play". This speaker has a whole lot of features with modest sound customization. Based on my wife's reaction, this speaker will do essentially everything she would ask it to. This includes PA system, speaker for rehearsals and performances, and home listening and entertaining. Also, the battery life on this thing is very good in real world use as well. It seems like it is well-built and is relatively hefty at around 38 lbs. For this reason, I also got my wife a dolly-style collapsible luggage carrier to make transport easier. The sound on the SRS-XP700 is very good overall. The balance is pretty solid. The sound stage is pretty consistent and full in a standard room, and also fills a large space or outdoors very well. She seems satisfied with the dynamics of it as well. Overall, it was a great purchase for her, and I would buy it again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing speaker.

SRS-XP700 05 January 2022 by Bob (United Kingdom)

Sound is incredible.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

fantastic sound

SRS-XP700 05 January 2022 by chas12222 (United Kingdom)

speaker is well priced for the size of the speaker and has awsome sound cracking bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Awesome - sound, build and looks

SRS-XP700 28 December 2021  (United Kingdom)

Had this as a Christmas gift and haven’t stopped playing it since :-)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great Sound and Looks Great

SRSXP700 16 December 2021 by Fofi (USA)

I just hot this last night and expend hours listening to all king of music. Very loud, good quality sound. Excellent product. Very happy customer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Wow

SRS-XP700 24 September 2021 by jayin1975 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for music for a baby shower but it will fill a cinema with sound at a great quality and it’s very loud excellent product thanks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

12

0

Just love it.

SRS-XP700 21 September 2021 by BTG707 (Australia)

Only had it a few weeks. Have tested it out on most genres. The sound is outstanding. I brought this following the many positive reviews from others so I'm with everyone else on the sound, quality etc. And this thing is loud! I like the simplicity of it, unlike other speakers with too many buttons & flashy bits. Only grizzle I have is that it is heavy to carry.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great speaker! Big in size and big on sound!

SRSXP700 09 August 2021 by SgtStressUK (United Kingdom)

I've had this speaker for a few weeks now and have thrown all sorts of different music styles at it and it handles them all very very well. With the megabass option enabled, dance or heavy bass type music really rumbles! You can hear and feel the bass. Very impressive. Perfect for that party atmosphere. It can slightly muddle the sound of less bass orientated music however, but its quick and easy to switch it on and off. Any type of music sounds great through this, the quality is very good. Vocals sounds really nice and clear, you can pick out all the various instruments in the music. It has certainly exceeded my expectations. The LED lights on it are pretty cool - some nice music reactive lights shows. And you have a few different modes to choose from too. Quick overview of the postives :- Battery life - there is a big old battery in this thing and it lasts for ages - even when volume is loud and the LED lights are on. Charging is very quick, even a short charge will give you a good amount of listening time. It also has a handy button which will tell you how much juice is left Sound - as mentioned earlier, the quality of sound this thing produces is fantastic. Volume - its loud. Probably louder than anyone really needs! Ease of use - No problem connecting via blueooth from my phone, flac player etc. All quick and easy and it supports LDAC so great quality over bluetooth. You can also connect a usb stick to play from, and it has a line in port too. Water resistant - brief showers or splashes wont stop the party, its IPX4 The only minor negative i can say about this is the size and weight. It is BIG and its heavy. However, i think given all the positives, this is a minor niggle really. Overall, i highly rate this bluetooth speaker, so much so that im considering purchasing another one to pair with my existing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

22

18

0

This is the next generation music speaker

SRSXP700 20 July 2021 by Kernow Steve (United Kingdom)

As I have always had Sony sound systems in some form or other, I was apprehensive, but curious when I saw this portable wireless speaker come available, and it capabilities after reading the product details. Once it arrived, I got it unpacked, and let it charge up, before commencing to turn it on, and connecting my phone through Bluetooth was an incredibly easy procedure! Once charged I powered it up, and used our preferred music app to try different types of music, to see how each style sounded. However I never expected this stand alone speak to sound how it did, I was taken back and truly amazed at the pure sound that the speakers produced! Whether you have the 'Mega bass' switched on or not, the sound reproduction is second to none, yet turn the Mega bass on, not only do have the most pure vocal clarity I have heard for a fair while, it is complimented with a phenomenal backing sound, where you can literally hear and feel the base on each and every song playing, giving you that festival or clubbing feeling. I have a great appreciate of good and true sounding music, and the reproduction the SRS-XP700 creates, it truly makes you feel you are part of the music playing, and this speaker hits the mark on every point! After recently having a BBQ in the back garden, we positioned it about 18 inches away from the wall, with the front speakers giving direct sound, and the rear speakers bouncing sound of the wall, creating a true concert like feeling that I have never experienced from any portable sound system before, ever! The XP 700 recreates sound how should be, and after having Sony surround sound units for as long as I can remember, I am now seriously contemplating getting another XP 700 unit, and two XP500's to create the ultimate surround sound and using the party connect mode button to connect them all together. Whether using this unit indoors or out, the sound is faultless, and worth every penny, but if you choose to use it outdoors, it is water resistant to a IPX4 level, so a few rain drops won't stop the party. The XP700 does really come into it's own, in an outdoor area, giving any party or BBQ that excellent concert feeling, and with up to 25 hours on battery power, it truly will be a party to remember. If you want to take it a step further, you have the option to plug in a microphone or two to turn it into a karaoke machine. The only downside to this option is, that an average 10" tablet will not fit in the slot on the top in landscape mode, making it harder to see the words in portrait mode, if using a video app with the lyrics! You do have the added option to charge your tablet or phone, from either of the two USB ports on the rear of the unit, again it is just a shame you can't charge your electrical devices in portrait mode, as the charging points are generally on the bottom of the device, and although a phone can be used in landscape mode, it could be hard to be read! Really needs the slot to be made longer, so you can charge and read the lyrics in landscape mode on a tablet. You can connect the XP700 to the 'Sony music centre' app, where you can change the lighting settings, sound modes, and power options. Although you you can turn the unit off with the app, it really could do with the option to turn the unit on as well! All in all, this is one amazing sound unit and I would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

5

0

Huge sound in every way.

SRS-XP700 20 July 2021 by Jono (Australia)

Massive, heavy and built like a tank. Pushes out more sound than I'll ever need and has already survived its fair share of crashes, dents and drops. Perfect jobsite radio for making all those tool company phonies look and sound small.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great Product

SRS-XP700 19 July 2021 by MP29 (United Kingdom)

Only had it 3 weeks but so far very impressed with the quality of sound, love the bluetooth feature for such a large speaker. Considering buying another one to pair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

The Speaker Beast

SRSXP700 17 July 2021 by GeorgeL (United Kingdom)

Firstly I doubt very much you could ever play at full volume. The house would fall down!The packaging is first rate. The sound dynamics are excellent. But this is hardly portable. I think it is great for a wide open space where there are no neighbours. But you can play at a modest volume and get an excellent sound. The lighting for me is a gimmick but some would see it as an asset This is first and foremost a party speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

11

0

Stylish with crisp clear sound and resonating bass

SRSXP700 17 July 2021 by Marktoon (United Kingdom)

When my Sony SRSXP700 Portable Wireless Speaker was delivered, the first thing the courier said to me was, "Just a small package for you there." We both laughed. The box is massive! My first impressions were that it was more like a freestanding disco speaker than a portable speaker. Opening the box, the speaker itself is an impressive 66cm in height. It looks sleek and elegant. It is heavy though, so be careful to follow the instructions on the box as to how to remove the packaging. You get a pack of manuals and power/charge cords. In my pack I received the cords for the UK and another country (South Africa) which probably varies by region. There is a double-sided single fold-out sheet with the basic operating instructions and another fold-out Reference Guide. The operating instructions sheet is really all you need to get up and running in no time. Sony cleverly design their instruction sheets with images and clear icons without the need for text. Also, the Sony product page for the SRS-XP700 has a very handy web manual which is excellent. I pressed the On button, and straight out of the box the speaker had enough battery charge to turn itself on. Then I hit the Bluetooth button. Almost immediately, my Android phone pinged and there was an image of the Sony speaker with a request for me to allow my phone to connect to it via Bluetooth. I tapped to accept the connection and then I fired up one of my MP3 tracks, Streets of Philadelphia by Bruce Springsteen. What a crisp, clear, deep, resonating sound! And the lighting on the speaker reacts to the beat of the music, creating a very disco vibe. I cranked up the volume using the keys on the top of the speaker (or you can do it with your phone controls) and just about made the windows of the entire house rattle. I was simply blown away by the quality of the sound coming out of the speaker. I accessed the charging port at the rear of the speak. There is a very clever rubber stopper panel which is easily removed or re-positioned to access the ports at the back of the speaker. Charging takes anywhere up to 3 hours for an incredible 25 hours of battery life! Later on I was able to connect several of my other devices to the speaker The SRSXP700 can have up to two Bluetooth devices connected concurrently, which works great for me having both my Android phone and my Windows laptop connected to the speaker. I also use one of my USB flash drives in one of the two USB ports at the back panel and I am delighted to be able play my favourite MP3 audio file playlists on the speaker using the buttons on the top of the speaker to play, pause and skip tracks. My overall impression of this speaker is that that the sound it delivers is incredible. It is stylish and sleek with a crisp, clear sound and a resonating bass. It is heavy and large, but it is portable, easy to set up out of the box, and the sound quality will give you goosebumps as your favourite beats take control of you. This speaker will fill your garden with sound, and even a church hall or larger venue. I would recommend this amazing speaker to anyone who loves to get that emotional response to their music, loves to entertain, and is looking for a stylish and powerful party speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

5

5

0

Amazing Deep bases and overall party beast

SRSXP700 15 July 2021 by Blackbagz (United Kingdom)

The Sony SRS-XP700 is not a gimmick or a joke; this device means business. Out of the box you're met with a high standing device shielding an array of top quality speakers and minimalist controls (on the top) accompanied with the stern but well supported handles at the top and bottom. Playing various genres of music through this beast has been nothing short of mesmeric; even at low volume on the pc (20) you still get frightening levels of deep base just thrown at you through the two base speakers. The mid range does an epic job on vocals and clear sounds. Hip hop and drill are my go tos for base and tops while afro beats support my mid range and vocals. Now with that being said, I'm a portable speaker man; my last model being the XP43 but I took a valid risk into delving into the tower speaker family and I do not regret it!! Yes you have a challenge of where to actually fit this device because it can't fit on a computer desk like a portable and it's absolutely not easy to carry around (more on that later) but for what it can do, the sounds it can produce, and this is before you even press the Mega Bass button, makes this device an essential party goto device. I preferred this model to the existing ones that had DAB/FM Radio and CD because I wanted just music. I was surprised not to see the NFC function but this was not a deterrent because Bluetooth is more than capable and you are setup in a matter of seconds once pairing is complete. I mentioned the handles. Well done Sony, you listened!!! When you want to move either this beast or smaller devices, you have to think how to pick it up and carry it. Sony did the best of both worlds on the XP700 when the design of the handles fit perfectly with the device itself. Yes you need to have muscles to move this beast because make no mistake, it is heavy! - but the unmistakable sound it pumps out with 6 speakers in the front and one on top, takes the moving-it-around pain away. One minor eyebrow moment for me is the charging. This device comes with the battery care feature. I understand the reason for it, but what i don't understand is why a full battery charge on battery care mode is only takes the charge to 90%? And unlike on smartphones, you can't tell it when you want battery care to kick in. So how do you actually manage it? Other than that, and it's not a big deal at all, because I am absolutely excited about my new edition to my Sony products. This is a seriously amazing entertainment device and I can only imagine the atmosphere when you are lucky enough to pair it with another or multiple devices. Your hearing will never be the same again! What an awesome product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

15

1

0

Sleek design yet classic

SRSXP700 15 July 2021 by Smallvile (United Kingdom)

The sony xp700 in my personal opinion is just fantastic!. I got the larger version myself BUT for me it's still very portable. I use this as a Bluetooth speaker in my friends cars, take it out with me connect my microphone do my beatbox Bluetooth my music and have a party in short. I love how simple it is yet packed with quality from The design to the speakers and tweeters itself. It's simple yet so powerful, I use the two apps recommended by Sony witch are Sony music centre and fiestable witch I would also recommend if you want to mix up your experience with this masterpiece of equipment. The battery life is outstanding to be fair...3 hour charge can get you 25 hours play time, water resistant also witch I've not tried that feature yet. All in all its an excellent piece for a party to a drive or busking if that's your thing. Definitely a 10/10 for me. I would most definitely recommend this item or the smaller version if this maybe to large. Connect a guitar microphone a mobile via Bluetooth and you have yourself a one man band!. Unable to upload a video at this time so my apologies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

1

0

Amazing Sound!!

SRSXP700 14 July 2021 by Mat 77 (United Kingdom)

What a cool product this is! The sound is amazing and will fill any room with high quality sound. I have listened to dance music rock music and my favourite 80’s playlist, the sound is so crisp even at full volume. We have a high quality sound system in our lounge with a sound bar and additional speakers. We played the music through this then immediately after via the Sony speaker and I was astonished at the clarity to the Sony sound in comparison. Before hearing them consecutively I would have said I couldn’t be happier with my sound system. The Sony sound at high volumes is remarkable in its quality. It was so simple to set up out of the box, literally you just have to plug it in and connect your phone via bluetooth to the bluetooth button on the top of the speaker and it automatically connects. It couldn’t be easier! It also invites you to download two apps called Sony music centre and feistable. Music centre allows you to control the different functions of the speaker and connect to different music sources. I found this very simple to use. I have not used feistable yet. We have used this speaker indoors and also outdoors at a family party. It did rain at one point and it did not affect the speaker in anyway, so I can say that the waterproof element does work. Also the lighting feature of the speaker is a nice touch and will add that disco feel when you turn out the lights. It really is the ultimate party speaker!! The build quality of this unit is first class and I like the way that it is rechargeable so you can place it anywhere you like. It is useful that there are two USB ports that you can connect and charge your phone, I would have liked to have seen a USB-C port as a lot of my other devices now come with this connection. You can also connect a guitar and a microphone to the speaker so you will be able to have great fun with karaoke parties! This is a great piece of kit for anyone that likes entertaining or likes to listen to their music loud! It is quite a large and heavy unit and one that needs to be sat on the floor. The whole family have been using this speaker since we got it and I can see that we will have many years of use from this product. Overall I am very happy with this speaker and would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

3

1