299

4.6 based on 299 customer reviews

219
56
10
6
8
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Low sound.

SRS-XB12 03 July 2020 by mlboul (USA)

Bought this last month to blue tooth music for my garage workouts. Volume is to low. My cell is all the way up and It's still not loud enough to hear. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

299 Customer Reviews

0

great

SRS-XB12 12 October 2020 by Suzi B (United Kingdom)

I like the sound. It was easy to start up. It is portable and easy to carry about with my I pod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well designed

SRS-XB12 10 October 2020 by ramblerB (United Kingdom)

Wanted a small speaker to use when I was in the bathroom on a morning getting ready for the day ahead and also in the evening when having a shower. As the speaker is waterproof was ideal and with it being bluetooth could connect via iPod (which was left outside the bathroom).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just right

SRS-XB12 02 October 2020 by TracyW (USA)

So easy to pair with my phone. The sound is amazing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic little speaker

SRS-XB12 30 September 2020 by Laurie W (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker recently and I am delighted that I did. When it arrived it was smaller than previous speakers which led to umpteen comments from my children, as soon as it started playing they understood that Sony quality....the sound is superb, and ideally packs away for holidays when we are able....I am buying a second to link and play throughout the house..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good quality for its size!

SRS-XB12 29 September 2020 by Ali (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and sounds great!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

It is good design and robust

SRS-XB12 29 September 2020 by BP (United Kingdom)

It is looks good and robust also made dy Sony. I like the sound and easy to carry around.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fabulous speakers for their price.

SRS-XB12 24 September 2020 by Richard (United Kingdom)

Good sound for their size for background music. Totally waterproof as they float which is useful for my boat. Easy to pair with another Sony speaker for greater sound. If you are looking for a small speaker to take out and about with you, then you can't go far wrong with the Sony SRS XB-12

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Took it away on a holiday - easy to pack

SRS-XB12 24 September 2020 by Gez (United Kingdom)

Staying in a cottage for a few days we used it to play music from all of our phones - it was powerful for its size and everybody was impressed. Took it into kitchen bathroom etc easy to charge and lasted at least 4 hours.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB12 24 September 2020 by Alexandros75 (USA)

Great Sound. Unbelievable bass for the size. Small size for mobile use. Nice volume. It would be nice to have an app for some small adjustments.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My portable speaker is good. Sound quality is grea

SRS-XB12 23 September 2020 by Ng (United Kingdom)

My portable speaker is good. Sound quality is great but not too loud. I think the price is too high. Should reduce the cost.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

My speaker was superb

SRS-XB12 23 September 2020 by Reyiel (United Kingdom)

I would highly recommend this item to all my friends who loves music.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Nice sound

SRS-XB12 23 September 2020 by Duntun (United Kingdom)

I recommend that for you

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Amazed at how much sound comes out of it.

SRS-XB12 23 September 2020 by Jenn (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is fantastic. Great bass and no tinny sound at all. Connected to my tablet with no issues, all I did was press the power button. Was shocked at how impressive it is given how small it is, it fits in my car's cup holder.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound

SRS-XB12 22 September 2020 by Apples (United Kingdom)

Bought as a gift and was really pleased, easy to pair and use . loud sounds for a small speaker Would recommend

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

SRSXB12/R 16 September 2020 by annac232 (United Kingdom)

A great portable Bluetooth speaker with extra bass and good sound quality. Easily connects to your phones/tablets and laptops. I have been using this for 3 years now and so far no complaints. I use it almost every other day and only have to charge it once every 3 weeks or so. Great value.

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Good sound

SRS-XB12 16 September 2020 by Alipaul (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of weeks ago, very pleased with it, take it with me all round my bungalow

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SRS-XB12 15 September 2020 by GadgetGirl (United Kingdom)

Great product, design and sound

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

They last maybe an hour maybe an hour and a half

SRS-XB12 15 September 2020 by The goofy guy who bought (USA)

I would not buy these I bought two they sound good but they don't last

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

SRSXB12/B 14 September 2020 by bebep1 (USA)

this speaker is ok not too in love with it.not something i was looking for.i rather go with samsung items

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

SRSXB12/L 13 September 2020 by derina1 (USA)

I like to use the Influenster app to connect with other people who love makeup, skincare, and healthy hair as much as I do. It's nice to be able to ask questions about beauty and products, as well as see what others think about the items I want to try. I have only been a part of this amazing network for 3 weeks, but they have already introduced me to new products that I would not have known otherwise. I hope to continue with Influenster. I can't wait to start voxboxing!

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

SRSXB12/B 13 September 2020 by jaliyahs1 (USA)

Nice sound and the battery lasted a long time on one charge its very small and compact and it has nice bass

Taken from influenster.com

0

0

0

Miss the nfc capability

SRS-XB12 12 September 2020 by Thehan R (USA)

Good experience after all, i really enjoying using it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound for small speaker

SRS-XB12 09 September 2020 by odd (United Kingdom)

Decent charge time Good sound quality All round good speaker for money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

SRS-XB12 09 September 2020 by Kristee (United Kingdom)

My speaker is very easy to use. Its small but its sound quality is very good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0