18

3.8 based on 18 customer reviews

6
6
4
1
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

18 Customer Reviews

0

So far so good except for the buttons

SRSXB12/B 16 July 2019 by StmpJmpr (USA)

The buttons blend in with the speaker and hard hard to find. I recommend you paint the buttons to make them easier to find

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small and Compact

SRS-XB12 13 July 2019 by Keith T B (USA)

For a compact speaker, the sound quality and value are great . This product is easy to pair with my Apple devices ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super speaker- shower proof too!

SRS-XB12 10 July 2019 by Samstar06 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my teenage son who needs to listen to grime ‘music’. It straps onto his bag (not sure how) and away he goes annoying the neighbourhood with his noise. In the shower it’s water resistant, so we all can hear it whilst he washes each strand of hair individually and shaves his fluff off his chin. connectivity good, even better when it’s pinging and blinging with all his snapchat notifications. All in all a fabulous buy for him. I’d like some earplugs to block out the sound!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Solid little speaker

SRS-XB12 04 July 2019 by Trocars19 (USA)

Great sound and bass from this Sony unit. Best suited for a small room or office, or if you're outdoors but in close proximity. I bought this speaker because it is the perfect fit for the water bottle mount on my bicycle. However, it is not loud enough when riding. My JBL Charge 3 is much louder and better suited for outdoor listening.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to operate

SRSXB12/B 24 June 2019 by Tom52 (USA)

Just setting up my new audio system for my apartment was so easy. I thought it would be more complicated but that was not the case. I plan on buying another speaker for my total audio listening gratification.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT SOUND

SRSXB12/H 15 June 2019 by Westfel (USA)

Love the XB12 Extra Bass . It has great sound. My husband was doubtful but when I connected to my music he was impressed!! Nice and compact and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy set up and decent sound for small speaker

SRS-XB12 10 June 2019 by Raz_of_3dc (USA)

Just bought this little travel speaker. Super easy connection and pretty darn good sound especially given the tiny size of it. Base boost is impressive for a tiny guy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Changes my misconception that small equals poor.

SRS-XB12 11 May 2019 by DazmoG (United Kingdom)

Firstly I have to declare that I'm a big speaker audiophile, and thought I had no use for a prortable speaker, but this changed very quickly when I came across this speaker. The speaker is small, but the size to weight ratio on picking up the box was encouraging. Weighing in around 250 grams for a cylindrical unit 75mm in diameter and standing 85mm tall (Approx) it suggested that quality componentry had been used, but the unit remaining light enough to be truly portable. The speaker is well boxed as you would expect from Sony, with instruction books and setup instructions greeting the new owner on opening. Inside the box was the speaker and the now fairly industry standard USB charging lead. I have multiple USB mains adaptors so finding a charging source was no issue, however this may not be the case for all purchasors. The unit has inbuilt re-chargable batteries which were fully charged in circa 180mins, giving 16hrs of use according to Sony. The unit is also claimed to be IP67 resistant to dust and water such that the unit can be safely dropped in water and survive. Certainly the exterior tactile rubber reinforces this capability and offers an easily held surface whilst protecting from minor impacts. Closer inspection revealed in my opinion a high quality of manufacture with no weak areas. Buttons for: on/off, Volume up/down, multi function button for play/pause/rewind etc, and Add, form depressable buttons in the control area of the outer rubber. Those familiar with the multi purpose button on headphones will immediately know what the various prods on the multi button will do. The add button allows for a second speaker to be added to form a stereo pair. The buttons are marked according to function by bold symbols moulded into the rubber casing, they repond with a positive click but the black symbols on the black rubber background are not easily identified by eye, in low light. That said with only four buttons to remember the purpose of, this isnt likely to be a problem. The unit paired via bluetooth quickly and promptly with my telephone, there is also a socket for audio in via a 3.5mm audio jack behind a rubber sealed panel alongside the charging port. The fist thing to note is the range at which it will work. Indoors most items struggle with indoor walls but this speaker had no trouble where other equipment gave up the ghost. Operation of the onboard buttons were quick and snappy with the phone reacting quickly. The sound from such a small unit was jaw dropping, not music concert pressure bass but sufficient to wonder how it was producing it. Experimentation on different surfaces were all good, but on a firm bit of wood or a table the speaker was capable of passing low frequencies through the base of the unit to use the resonance of the surface. This seems to be assisted by the rubber ring on the units base which secures the unit on the surface, this also protects the surface from scratches. With the speaker at ear level on a good surface it was easily bookshelf speaker quality with tight punchy bass and crisp highs. This speaker has re-educated my old beleifs that a small unit equals poor sound. Certainly the unit is far superior than the telephones hands free mode. The most impressive feature to me however was that the unit has an inbuilt microphone. Voice commands to the telephones virtual assistant were faultless. The microphone also lends itself to conference calls, with the unit in the middle of a table of four people, the dialogue with the the users dialled up was vastly better than the telephones hands free, with nobody asking for the conversation to be repeated. This suggests that the unit can capture and transmit sound clearly to all sat at the table and through the cell network. With so many uses and portability this is now a tech must have in my wish list. Simply Awesome.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

7

0

0

Easy paring with my devices

SRS-XB12 09 May 2019 by Doug1954 (USA)

Recently purchased from Best Buy. It easily paired with my IPad and iPhone. Sound great for the price. Controls are not that difficult to work. Just what I need to listen to music while relaxing. It beat having to plug in my Sony headphones or earbuds all the time. Sound a lot better that the speakers that are on my ipad. It is a great price for a Sony speaker wireless speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Small and compact with nice sound

SRS-XB12 08 May 2019 by Steve62m (United Kingdom)

I was totally surprised by the small size of this product and was sure the sound was going to be tinny. But after playing various types of music ( trance, electro mechanical, vocal and instrumental ) the sound was very good for the size of the device. A brilliant feature is you can link two of them to have left and right hand channels, and would of liked to give that a try. The instructions are easy to follow and the Bluetooth sync to my iPad less than 20 seconds , also sync to android phone was straight forward. Overall I was shocked how good this device is , well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

4

0

0

Solid Bluetooth Speaker with wide sound range

SRS-XB12 03 May 2019 by Steve125 (United Kingdom)

I found this to replace an older Bluetooth speaker. This is a bit larger and gives a wider range of sound. Pairing was easy and worked with iMac, Windows PC and mobile phone. I liked the sound quality, but my wife preferred the lower top-end frequency of the old product. Buttons are easy to use and USB port easy to access for charging. Longer battery life is a real bonus. I like the rubberised finish and the slight tacky circle on the base to increase stability and bass transfer. I haven't tested the waterproof capability, but it looks like it would survive a dip in the pool. Hands-free facility is something that I don't think I would use, but can see where it might be useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

2

0

0

Take music everywhere

SRS-XB12 02 May 2019 by hobbsy (United Kingdom)

Just taken delivery of my new XB12 Extra Bass speaker First thing that impressed me was the cool colour of my speaker a reddy orange, very new look The speaker has a great tactile feel with its smooth rubber finish. Once fully charged I switched my speaker on and linked it to my Walkman very easily. I carried the speaker using the great colour match carry strap. The sound is exceptional for such a compact speaker Noticeable is the sharpness of the top line. The clarity is excellent. The bass line is great and in spite of the powerful bass there is no distortion whatsoever I used the speaker both inside and outside and in the open the sound of the music was still sharp and crisp. I got rained on, sudden shower, but water did not bother the speaker. Although the speaker is not stereo this fact is not really a negative, I hardly noticed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge

1

0

0

Go Anywhere

SRS-XB12 02 May 2019 by Hobbler (United Kingdom)

Been all over the place with me Background music whilst working Used it in the garage and in the garden Really sharp sound all the top end was crisp and clear Nice bass not too heavy but good and driving beat Even though the signal is mono the sound is spread and makes the music sound great The speaker has a great tactile feel to it The funky colours are great mines orange/red Holds its charge really well Really great speaker highly mobile Bluetooth link perfect

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GOOD SOUND IN A COMPACT FORM

SRS-XB12 24 February 2019 by tbone44 (USA)

1 month as owner and this very compact sound system is aacceptable partner to my i phone.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

6

0

Good

SRS-XB12 18 February 2019 by Car sat 2 (USA)

Make the Sony srs xb 13 for next You have 360 sound. With fabric grill

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

6

0

Trash

SRS-XB12 12 February 2019 by Santana16 (USA)

I bought this speaker recently and it is absolutely trash, you can barely hear anything when you got the volume halfway and to top it off it doesn’t let you turn up all the way. Biggest disappointment of all 2019, would not recommend.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

22

0

No charger USB

SRS-XB12 10 February 2019 by Liveformusic (USA)

For $60 bucks and it doesn't even come with a USB charger. Returning it tomorrow, major BS. Good sound quality but not worth $60 and doesn't even come with a charger, complete garbage.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

19

0

For $60!!!!

SRS-XB12 12 January 2019 by Cynncynn (USA)

I got this for a Christmas gift and after I used it I thought it had to have been the cheapest little speaker ever, when I found out it was $60 I was so shocked, it is NOT worth $60 it doesn’t hold battery life and it isn’t loud at all, and it blue tooth but I can step more then 5 feet away from mine before it starts lagging and skipping

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

16