LINKBUDS

Product Reviews

278

4.5 based on 278 customer reviews

190
53
15
13
7
Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fits My Needs

WFL900/W 18 April 2022 by seximarilyn (USA)

Sony LinkBuds have a unique and innovative open ring, donut-shaped design that allows you to hear the outside world in addition to your music. Included in the box, are a handful of detachable silicone ear fins of different sizes. After some experimentation, I found the fins that fit my ears best. The lightweight buds feel soft but are still quite durable. Even after several straight hours of wearing, the compact and discreet buds felt very comfortable in my ears. Despite the buds small size, they deliver strong audio quality with a well-balanced, crisp and clear sound. However, the bass could be a bit deeper. The battery life of 5.5 hours on a single charge is good but not great. The voice call quality is suberb with excellent clarity. I love the ear-detection sensors that automatically pause my music when I remove a bud from my ear, and then resumes the music when I put the bud back in my ear. I also appreciate the buds' Wide Area Tap feature which allows me to tap my cheek to control playback. Although, these water-resistant buds don't offer noise cancellation and do allow environmental noise in, I don't mind so much. As someone who for personal safety reasons wants to be extra alert with an increased awareness of my surroundings, these earbuds achieve what they're designed to do and perfectly fit my needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

It was good until it didn't charge

WFL900/W 21 April 2022 by King03 (USA)

I bought this innovative earphone and was wearing it on my travel in Taiwan and felt very excited about this product. Until when I get back to California and the right ear suddenly stopped charging. After talking to customer service that I realized I have to get it back to Taiwan for warranty which is not possible. I am now frustrated with my only -left-ear-working linkbud. I suspect if that was due to an update of software that triggered that but even before the update the right ear was draining battery a little bit faster than the left ear. I wonder if that was due to the tap function as I set the right ear to be Play/Pause which I use a little more than left ear's tap control. However, as I have attached, you see how the right ear when is placed in the case will always be charging with an Orange light while the left ear is fully charged and is green. The SONY Headphones apps gives you control and status of your headphones and the right one is not linked. I cannot charge or turn it on. It is disappointing that I spent almost $200 on a headphone that lasted a month.... and don't even know how to get my warranty..... I was going to buy another noise canceling over the ear headphones and the new speaker with light but I am a little reserved now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

280 Customer Reviews

0

Great sounds with ambient awareness

WF-L900/HM E 26 June 2022 by om_kimochi (Singapore)

I bought this and so happy with the quality. The sound is over my expectation and the good thing I can use it in office as i can hear the ambient naturally. It's not like when I use the ANC earbuds.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor filling and poor sound quality.

WF-L900/WM E 19 June 2022 by Peter9889 (Singapore)

Because this earbud is focus on on user who are doing outdoor activities like cycling and running, but want some music to go about.

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great ear buds

WF-L900 16 June 2022 by patr (Australia)

I was skeptical about how well this open ear buds would perform but I bought it anyway since there was a 14 days return option available. After using it for a day, I have fallen in love with them. I didn't expect that I would like them this much. The sound from the buds is excellent and it still connects me to the world outside. These buds are in a class of their own. Well done Sony!!

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Disappointed

WFL900/H 16 June 2022 by Dest44 (USA)

I was saving up for these earbuds thinking they would be great for work but when I got them they just don't fit nicely! I've tried all of the adjustable bands but they hurt to wear. they also are a bit touchy to fit aswell, they sometimes fall out if I don't out them in tight enough or they hurt and I can wear them for any longer than 20 minutes. I've followed the videos and I'm just not sure what I'm doing wrong or if my ears are just too small for the product.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

The worst earphones I have bought.

WF-L900 16 June 2022 by Alaktronics (United Kingdom)

They are uncomfortable in my ears and extremely painful to put in or touch when in. This might just be my ears, but ouch. They are really fiddly to fit with the bigger loops on, but fall out anyway when I eat. Don't think you can wiggle them about to make them feel more secure or for a better fit while they are playing either, you will activate some control so they can skip a track or cut off completely. Aaargh! I got them so I can be more connected, and for this they work, but high volume is not high enough and those without great hearing will struggle to have a conversation when they are in. The sound quality is not better than much cheaper ones. I think I should have gone for noise cancelling and external sound enhancement, but because they are earphones it looks like there is a no return policy so I am hoping I just lose one and have to bin them. I'm not rich enough to just stick them in a draw.

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great idea, still needs refining

WF-L900 13 June 2022 by Lordposh (United Kingdom)

Bought these when they first launched, they are comfortable to wear and the sound quality is excellent. However, the software needs refining as they have a tendency to stop playing if you for example sneeze, I also found whilst they would be ideal when out riding my bike given the design lets you hear ambient noises around you, they would stop playing due to wind noise. I still feel there is very good potential with these as they just need a few minor issues addressed.

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simply love it is really beat if both worlds

WF-L900/WM E 13 June 2022 by Legionchaos (Singapore)

Was having doubt with the product but after testing and purchase the positiveness grew and it was simply good that wear it was an everyday affair

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ear Sony

WF-L900 11 June 2022 by Henpix (United Kingdom)

very uncomfortable for what they cost too expensive bad purchase I would not buy them again I do not recommend it

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

they're good, but...

WFL900/H 10 June 2022 by random name here (USA)

battery life is less than expected, I have all the special features turned off and am lucky to get 4 hours, advertised at least 5.5 hours. I have to use 1 earbid at a time to get through the work day on a single charge. audio sometimes skips while my phone is in my pocket & I'm walking, as if the ~3 feet from my phone is too far for a solid connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small, feather light, comfortable with great sound

WF-L900 07 June 2022 by Trekky (United Kingdom)

The first thing I noticed was the size, they are half the size of any of my previous pairs of in-ear buds and a lot lighter. They fit in the ear slightly differently to previous units, bit of a twist, then once in, they are very secure. Whether it is a brisk walk or doing the gardening I never felt they were going to drop out. Connecting to my phone was instant, can’t fault. The sound quality is exceptional for such a small unit, good depth of bass and crystal-clear high notes. I have an eclectic taste in music and enjoyed putting my new LinkBuds through their paces. Classical (1812 overture, Tchaikovsky), rock (Queen and Pink Floyd), electro (Kraftwerk and Daft Punk) all sounded great. The cannons in the 1812th sounded like they were behind me. All together a great experience. Using the touch and speech controls was simple and straight forward. Playing music was simple with all the usual actions you would expect (See specs for details) and receiving and answering calls whilst listening to music was quick and easy. The controls can be configured through the phone app which I think is essential if you want to get the best out of them. I think the favourite part of these LinkBuds for me, is the slightly different way they fit in the ear, for me, comfier and far more secure. My best buds yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best earbuds

WFL900/H 07 June 2022 by Georgedi (USA)

They’ve exceeded my expectations. They stay in my ears through exercise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

They are great for working from home

WF-L900 31 May 2022 by Wardey (United Kingdom)

They have okay sound, nothing special. Although, I think the main use case for these earphones is allowing sound in, which helps me listen for the door and checking in on the pets. They are the product I needed to help me foucs on my work without worrying on my surroundings.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good features and sound, still trying to fit well.

WFL900/H 27 May 2022 by Eagle602 (USA)

Super sound quality, love the smart features like auto volume adjustment, and auto pause when I am talking. But still struggling a bit for fitment. Tried all the included 'things' for adjustment, but just can't get a fit that feels secure. I like the concept of the fit, they seem 'cooler' than say my LiveBuds from that other company, but just don't feel secure in the ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed

WFL900/H 27 May 2022 by Christina Zeigler (USA)

I bought these ear buds thinking with high but but not unreasonable expectations. I cannot have a call without it dropping intermittently when I am wearing this device. I cannot do a computer call with confidence that the device will connect properly and immediately. So, sadly they now remain on a shelf, unused and wasted. Christina

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound, perfect fit

WF-L900 24 May 2022 by Xellerate5635 (United Kingdom)

The unique way they fit into the ear make out feel like theirs nothing their, a problem that I have with normal headphones is that eat buds pressing against my ear canal would sometimes give me a headache after prolonged use which these don't, it has a good range of features, and the way it clicks into the charging case makes it so that it never disconnects while charging

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The World Has No Mute Button

WF-L900 23 May 2022 by JohnoRichard (United Kingdom)

I've spent a good 2 months with my Sony LinkBuds, and even now, they're a difficult novelty to review. I was attracted by the idea of being able to hear my surroundings (and the doorbell!) whilst working, converse with colleagues in the office, and simply be aware and present of the world around me when outside, all whilst having my earphones in, and they do certainly deliver on these fronts. Their downside that there a few situations where I’d prefer the world to be blocked out, like when commuting, or in a loud office, or even just walking in an area with heavy traffic, but the hole in each bud means this noise will be let in too. In a quieter environment, music comes through with a good level of detail but lacks the kick that come with earbuds which create a seal. The result is that I enjoy listening to music with my LinkBuds but I will typically reach for a pair of phones which block background noise. The quality of the sound will diminish the greater the background noise in your environment, and I would discount these headphones if your focus is on optimising your listening experience. Voices come through really nice and clear on podcasts and in calls, and have a very natural sound. Unfortunately, I would need to give up trying to listen to podcasts when on a particularly noisy commute like the underground. They are light weight and the fit is unique which helps if you intend to wear them for long periods of time. Instead of being jammed into the ear canal, they are secured in place by the top and bottom of your inner ear, and Sony provide difference size tips to fit different ear sizes. For me, the buds would become uncomfortable after wearing them for a few hours no matter which tip I used, but eventually, I learned to position them in a way that worked for me (and my ears simply became accustomed to the presence of the buds after a while) and I would now say they are comfy. I can’t say it was an immediate match made in heaven as some others have found, though, as it took a breaking in period. They are comfy enough, in fact, to be in my ears most of the time in a typical working day. They last a good 5 hours without needing to be in their case, and whilst a longer battery life would be ideal, I can't say it's ever been an issue. They are perfect for working from home and still feeling connected to the real world around you. I would, however, warn you that they may not be perfect for a noisy office, as your virtual colleagues will be competing with those next to you for your attention, which can cause you a bit of strain. They would still suit a quieter office nicely though. To close, I feel like this device is situational, and they will suit someone who has a specific practical use case in mind rather than the individual looking for the next best experience of general use headphones. Personally, I really do enjoy using them and will continue to do so, but if I was making my purchasing decision again with the benefit of hindsight, I’d probably go for the more conventional Linkbuds S (or similar device from other brands) that give you the choice of either letting the world in or blocking it out as the situation demands.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

WF-L900/HM E 23 May 2022 by ZZRF (Singapore)

Nice try with the donut design. Music quality is fine but I like the idea of been able to hear the surounding.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality!

WF-L900 22 May 2022 by Space friend (United Kingdom)

Love these nice fit waterproof and good sound quality. I love the size of the charging case fits into an already full bumbag with ease! Got 2 pairs so while one is charging in it’s case I simply put the second pair on well done Sony! Peace Salome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great workout buds

WFL900/W 21 May 2022 by F_ridha (USA)

I struggled so much with Apple AirPods because they were so bulky. These Sony Linkbuds are a great new addition to my workouts at the gym and outdoor exercising. They are easy to connect and click play. Sounds if great and they are so easy to store away

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great pair of discrete earbuds

WF-L900 20 May 2022 by JG21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple weeks ago for whilst I'm at work. The earbuds are discrete, easily concealed behind hair. The selling point is met, they do not obstruct hearing. Do keep in mind that you will still be fractional y less aware depending on what you are listening to (e.g music Vs learning a language) The best feature by far is the talk to speech, stopping music whilst you talk and then automatically resuming. The wide area tap is a cool feature that is straight out of the future. The buds are reasonably comfortable, but I did find my ear mildly sore after prolonged (6+h ) use. This is not really and issue. I do get the odd bug with Bluetooth, but this may be due to the age of my phone and not the headphones. In conclusion would definitely recommend if you need to be able to pay attention to people on a regular basis

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The only "open back" earbuds you can buy.

WF-L900/WM E 20 May 2022 by Darrell666 (Malaysia)

Sony's linkbuds are quite unique in that they allow all ambient noise into your ears due to the earbuds' design. Sound quality is decent for its driver size but if you're in a very crowded or loud area the sound from the buds will be quickly drowned out. In a more casual environment like an office or coffee shop they work well and strike a good balance between your music and the environment. If you need complete silence these are not the product for you. They fit fairly well in my ears and dont feel that uncomfortable but if you have smaller ears they might not fit. Overall i am satisfied with then and can recommend them who want earbuds that are slightly unique.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No thank you

WFL900/H 19 May 2022 by MeYouUsThem (USA)

The left ear piece turns off everytime I turn my head. No size fit me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great ear buds

WFL900/W 19 May 2022 by Tool (USA)

I’m loving my new wireless Sony LinkBuds. I am a smaller person so use these with the small tips. They fit perfectly and are very comfortable to wear. The sound is perfect. It’s really cool how you can skip songs and answer calls by tapping your head instead of the ear Bud itself. I’m super impressed with these!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing!

WFL900/W 18 May 2022 by David05 (USA)

Sony LinkBuds wireless earbuds are so awesome. The sound it has is amazing. It cancels out noise for me to hear great. The open ring is very comfortable, and I like how they have different size comfort rings to fit in your ear. They fit perfectly and the sound is perfect not to loud in my ear. I can hear all my calls clearly when they come in, listening to music is great. The charger case is great for when I am on the go. I don't need to plug them in all the time. The earbuds last and I love that about them. They easily clean and store away well, not bulky at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0