226

4.4 based on 226 customer reviews

146
47
15
9
9
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best Fit by far

WF1000XM4/S 10 June 2021 by Mr B (USA)

I have never had such a great fit of any truly wireless earbuds. These are the first that I do not have to worry about loosing or constantly adjusting while wearing. The sound is also the best that I have had. The phone calls however, is a hit or miss. I'm not some callers complain of a muffled sound. Some don't.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing product.

WF1000XM4/SME 28 August 2021 by Amrul (Malaysia)

Got it when it launch and nightmare start. Intermittent discount while listening to music and doing Team/zoom calls. Voice call is another substandard quality. Voice not clear or uneven between bud, hissing sound. Irritating to hear. Used less than 2 weeks n send to support center. Request to replace a brand new but deny. Made to understand it will repair instead of replace. Major mistake to purchase this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

232 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

WF1000XM4/BME 24 September 2021 by NMIM (Malaysia)

Worth it for smart lifestyle quality in new norm days

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better, smaller, greener!

WF-1000XM4 24 September 2021 by dovydas (United Kingdom)

Firstly what catches the eye is the packaging in which the earbuds arrive. It is made from recyclable paper – well done, Sony! The WF-1000XM4 is newly redesigned, making them smaller, lighter, and, in my opinion, prettier than the predecessor WF-1000XM3. On the outside of earbuds are touch-sensitive buttons that work very well and control the earbuds very smoothly. The final touch on the build quality of the buds – IPX4 water resistance, which is plenty to daily use for most people. It is enough about the design and controls because the main attraction and the true gem of these earbuds are audio performance and noise cancellation. In one word – outstanding! The sound quality is excellent: punchy but balanced; perfect clarity and great dynamics! But the most significant feature is the active noise cancellation (ANC). When it kicks in, you feel like you are on your own. It shuts the outside world so well that it makes you ow! One more important area of daily use – battery life. I think it is pretty fair—the total of 24 hours (8 from the earbuds and a further 16 from the charging case). In my opinion – Sony WF-1000XM4 is the best all-around true wireless earbuds on the market right now!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good product.

WF1000XM4/BME 24 September 2021 by BobbySG (Singapore)

I ordered this via online with a waiting time and it arrived earlier than expected. Good sound and impressive noise cancelling feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

As close to WH-1000MX4!

WF1000XM4/BME 24 September 2021 by Sheepy98 (Singapore)

Very happy with some of the new features like wireless charging and better noise cancelling and sound. It's also more portable with the size than its previous gen. The only concern I have is the durability for the new earbud tips. But other than that, I'm satisfied with the sound quality and noise cancellation!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This is what in-ear headphones should be

WF-1000XM4 24 September 2021 by Andy68 (United Kingdom)

The WF-1000XM4 Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones arrived in very well made, compact, and fully recyclable packaging, which was nice to see. Inside the packaging is the compact storage and charging case with the headhpones themselves within. First impressions are of a very good quality and strudy design in both the case and the headphones themselves. Applying pressure to any part results in no flex or movement at all. The headphones are retained in the case magnetically which keeps them from rattling around and keeps them in good contact with the charging pins. Once again, the design and execution oozes quality. The headphones come with 3 sizes of buds. I had to use the smallest and even the the fit was a bit neat but I have very narrow ear canals and I can rarely use in-ear type headphones so I suspect that there will be fine for everyone else with non-freaky ears. There is a dedicated App to allow you to customise the behavious of these headphones but I didnt use it much. Just pair with bluetooth and away you go. First impressions of the sound quality blew me away. I really didnt expect such quality from bluetooth wireless headphones. I have some pretty expensive over ear headphones and so set my expectations modestly. However, there is a stricking delicate, open and airy nature to the treble. Every detail rendered clearly without ever a tendancy to harshness. The bass was smooth, rich and deep. Completely beleiveable and with no tendancy to overblown nightclub like lows. If that's your thing, you may be able to adjust the response, but it's certainly not mine. The imaging was stable defined. This was a revelation for me, as I assumed that the latency on the wireless links would pretty much destroy the stereo image, but I was completely wrong. Yes, of course the headphones show the inevitable 'in-head' localisation which is unavoidable with in-ear headphones but it doesnt distract. Vocals were natural and engaging and each thread of the music was easy to follow. I listened to many of my favourite tracks and these headphones made me fall in love with them again. I'm not 100% convinced I can comment much on the noise cancelling for 2 reasons... 1) I was really only using them in a quiet location, and 2) I think the tight fit provided good sound isolation anyway. So, in summary, these headphones exceeded expectation in every way. I really don't think Sony have put a foot wrong with the WF-1000XM4. Top end design, top end sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

2

0

0

Good product, great sounds but….

WF1000XM4/SME 23 September 2021 by JimmyX (Malaysia)

I like the sounds quality delivered by the earbud. Noise cancellation is good but not great maybe caused by the ear tip. Can’t produce perfect noise cancellation as claimed due to the eartip doesn’t suit my ear. The connection can be broken quite frequently not sure my unit or applied to all. To me I don’t find it comfortable to wear it in long hours currently looking for replacement ear tip hope it helps. But overall still a good product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best wireless earbuds I have use

WF1000XM4/BME 22 September 2021 by Chin1111111 (Malaysia)

Noise cancellation is awesome, sound quality and features is also impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best true wireless headphones.

WF1000XM4/BME 21 September 2021 by NNail (Thailand)

This is the best true wireless headphones from sony. I've use Sony headphones since WF-1000X and WF-1000XM3. This headphones is the best. It have very great build quality as well as sound quality. I've use the Sennheiser momentum true wireless once but it not perfect as XM4. The XM4 mic quality is very improve from XM3 the background noise is not a problem at all. I would recommend this pair of headphones to anyone who look for great sound and mic quality headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best TWS ever!

WF-1000XM4 20 September 2021 by Turee (United Kingdom)

Peningkatan yang cukup significant dari WF-1000XM3 ke WF-1000XM4, khususnya di kualitas suara dan design yang lebih ringkas. Good Job Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Never let you down

WF-1000XM4 20 September 2021 by LKMK (Hong Kong)

Also owning mk3, the mk4 is just a pure upgrade supporting ldac, hi res and remarkable noise cancelling performance

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

it’s good

WF1000XM4/BME 20 September 2021  (Thailand)

Make my day convenient such as go to work , shopping , exercise

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones.

WF1000XM4/BME 20 September 2021 by cooper28 (Malaysia)

I am so happy and I made the right decision to own it. It's sound is really awesome. It's hands-free Bluetooth also great for phone conversation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow, just wow!!

WF-1000XM4 19 September 2021 by Fulkingmarc1 (United Kingdom)

If somebody is reading this review to you and you can’t hear a thing they’re saying, then you’re probably wearing the Sony WF-1000XM4 ear buds with their noise cancelling function switched on. If you’re reading it to yourself out loud, however, that’s fine as they’ll detect the fact that you are talking and stop the music so that you can hear yourself speak……yes, they really do do that! These incredible ear buds from Sony feature the latest noise cancelling technology which you need to hear, or not, to believe! With the noise cancelling function on, I genuinely thought that my wife was simply mouthing words to me as a little joke……..word of warning……she wasn’t!!!! They exude class from the moment you open up the fully recyclable box until you position them comfortably in your ears. They sound phenomenal, look great and most of the time you don’t even notice that you’re wearing them. They’re not cheap, but you do get an awful lot of functionality and quality for your money. Added extras such as wireless charging and 24 hours battery life (8 hours for the buds themselves and an extra 16 hours “in” the case), I would consider luxuries, but ones that help to make living with the Sony WF-1000XM4’s even more pleasurable and easy. The worst thing about them, if you consider it a negative, is the name….Sony WF-1000XM4” is quite a mouthful. Personally, “Sony Buddies” or “budd1es,” if you’re trendy, would roll off the tongue much better, in my opinion. To sum up, the sound quality, which is the main point of getting ear buds in the first place, is first rate and customisable via the impressive app, so that you can easily get the sound you’re after. The pausing of the music when you speak, negating the need to “tap” anything, or remove them from your ears, works perfectly and is probably my favourite function. These “buddies” will be taking up residence either side of my head for significant periods of my leisure time……thank you Sony for producing such an outstanding product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

4

0

0

Love the quality

WF1000XM4/SME 19 September 2021 by Zuhdi (Singapore)

I like the sound quality and the noise cancelling features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good improvements on fitting, sound, controls

WF1000XM4/BME 19 September 2021 by ALERT (Singapore)

The WF1000MX4 has offered the best fitting among all Sony Noise Cancelling Earphones I own. I have owned the WF1000X, WF1000XM3. Both fall off my ears easily. Had to sell away my WF1000MX3 in less than a month b’cos it is big, heavy and fall off my ears too often (despite trying eartips from Sony and 3rd party brands). WF1000MX4 has improved greatly in it fit, and sound quality. Speak-to-Chat feature was a great for me. With Ambient Noise feature, I no longer have to take off my earphones when I want to listen to announcements or someone speaking. The charging case was also great. It even more compact and sleek now. Also happy that its furnishing is not those rubbery feel kind which gets scratched easily. However, its bluetooth connection seems a little patchy. Base on my normal daily usage, I experienced at least 2 interruptions in bluetooth connection per day. This problem doesn’t happen to my other brands of True Wireless earphones (Nural N6 Pro, Jabra Elite Sport, Pioneer SCW) I have been using before this Sony MX4. I have tried re-initialised my MX4 and reset my phone, but the patchy bluetooth connection can’t be resolved. I was glad that I can trade-in my older Sony for the MX4. For further improvement in fitting, I hope Sony can integrate rubber fins on the ear phones like those found in their sports series.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best all around earbuds

WF1000XM4/SME 19 September 2021 by Air Penny (Singapore)

Got it on first launch. Best sound quality, best noise cancellation, best comfort inside the ear without pain for hours after wearing and long batteries life. Highly recommended for everyone! Thank you Sony!! Cheers….

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A dream come true for earphones.

WF-1000XM4 19 September 2021 by PacoFK (United Kingdom)

I've been always a big fan of on-ear headphones. I found them particularly comfortable and they are indisputably the best option for noise-cancelling features. So, I admit I was a bit sceptical about the WF-1000XM4, especially about the noise-cancelling part. I carried out a series of test during four days which I believe will answer a number of questions of those who are hesitating about purchasing them. Read below: FOR GYM-GOERS - I have always had one big problem with headphones when exercising: they always fall when I'm on the treadmill! Whilst I can tell you that this issue was over since I've got my wonderful WH-H900N few years ago, I cannot deny they are a bit bulky. Well, the WF-1000XM4 resolve both problems, they are not bulky at all and the best part, they did not come out of my hears when running! I think a big merit of that is the fact that you can choose the size of the tips included to adapt to the size of your ear canals. That also means, veeeery important, no sweat gets into your ears (people that goes to the gym and sweat buckets like me will understand). I only recommend that, once you finish your routine, to clean them immediately, just shake them a bit to remove any sweat and you can use some wipes just like the ones for spectacles to gently clean them all around. That will keep not only the earplugs clean but also the container. Come one guys, hygiene goes first! ON THE STREET - Good noise-cancelling although you are still able to perceive some noise. I believe it is normal, after all, the only way to fully isolate from the surrounding noises would be some on-hear devices. I have my WH-H900N and the wonderful WH-1000XM4 that do the job immaculately. So, whilst you still have some sounds coming through that will keep you aware of your surroundings, the level of isolation is very decent. I dare to say that it is very close to what you would get from the WH-1000XM4. BATTERY - This is something that we always want do know, isn't? Okay, so I have some specifics here for you: Duration: I played music non-stop to find out how long actually I can go with them from fully charged until they switch off automatically. The result was 7 hours and 12 minutes. But allow me to give you some other details. The battery as you may guess, runs independently on each plug and, for some reason - at least on my pair - the left side battery runs out faster than on the right. For example, after an hour-ish, the battery percentage on the left side was 3% lower than on the right. After five hours, the difference was 10%. By the time the left side switched off itself, the battery difference was 16%. As you can imagine, I would not keep listening musing with only one ear-plug, so the lasting period mentioned above covers from the moment the battery was 100% on both sides until it was exhausted on the left plug. About charging, I did not pay attention on the first charge and the reason is, that both sides were around 75% when I took them out of their package the first time. But on the third charge when I actually put attention, the battery charged from 0% (on the left plug) to 100% in exactly 1 hour and 9 minutes. I hope these details are good enough to clarify questions about battery lasting. QUALITY OF SOUND - If you have tried the WH-1000XM4, then you have the answer to this question as it is very much the same. If you haven't tried those I will just saying in one word: delightful. I tested the quality with different genres of music and allow me to be specific enough so you have the best picture possible. I listened jazz: John Patitucci and Steve Vai, pop and rock: U2, Coldplay, R.E.M., Radiohead, Def Leppard and Brian Adams. Also I tested it on classical music, mainly Haydn and Bach. Finally I gave it a go with Buenavista Social Club and closed with some electronic Chillout. Every single track was crystal clear. So, if you are a music lover, these earphones will not let you down. If you are after reggaeton and rap and all that, oh well... nothing will make that stuff to sound good anyway. CONTROLS - easy to manage. Obviously, the number of functions you can get in such reduced surface is limited, but enough for the activities I enlisted above. I just played a list of tracks in the gym and let them run whilst doing my fitness. You get the double tapping to answer a phone call (the reception of the microphone is marvellous) and all-in-all the usual very instinctive, well designed and user-focused product that Sony can bring to us. 360 REALITY AUDIO - Okay, this one is the big thing about the WF-1000XM4. I was one of those that refused to accept that a pair of earplugs would match the magic of 360 RA that I've got in the WH-1000XM4. So, I bite the bullet and withdraw my words. These earplugs offer you exactly the same involving effect. How do Sony achieved this, ask the engineers. I'm just enjoying it. The downside is that still this function is limited to few apps. I hope they will offer this with Spotify in the future (Very very please, Sony!). Alongside the above point related to the apps available for the 360 RA, I recommend you to switch off the alerts of the Adaptive Sound Control or they will drive you crazy. I mean, yeah, your device is learning how to perform depending of the activities you do and that's what you expect so, why bother receiving alerts telling you "I'm learning that you are walking", "I'm learning that you are standing", "I'm learning that you are in transport"? Again: Yes, I know you are doing it, I don't need to know the details every second and get interruptions in the music. So, do yourself a favour and switch off the notifications. So, as a result of this test, I can tell I'm extremely pleased with the WF-1000XM4. For Sony fans I tell you this: you get all of the benefits of the WH-1000XM4 without the bulk. For newbies in the world of Sony, you get the best earphones in the market and you won't be disappointed in quality and value/money. Be reasonable in terms of the noise-cancelling physical limitations, let's hope that Sony to works out a wider range of apps to support the 360 RA (surely soon) and switch off the notifications aforementioned. A dream come true for earphones, no doubt.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Best Sony earbuds ever

WF1000XM4/BME 18 September 2021 by Rawangite (Malaysia)

I’m glad I made the right choice from the many brands available in the market. It’s rich bass is awesome! The other features are quite comparable to Sony’s full-fledged headphones. Noise cancellation is superb!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

WF1000XM4/BME 18 September 2021 by AnonymousZ (Singapore)

Best noise cancelling with great sound quality. There's no need for me to do any adjustment even when I'm jogging. Great fit, great sound quality and bass, great design. What more can u ask for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality and noise cancelling!

WF-1000XM4 18 September 2021 by GreenMekon (United Kingdom)

WOW! Where do I start with these headphones, they are simply awesome! Firstly, I really applaud Sony for reducing the plastic in the packaging which there is very little. The vast majority of the packing is recyclable or biodegradable. Now on the headphones - The first thing I noticed was how small the case with, it is very portable and small enough to fit anyway. USB-C charging which is great. Upon pulling the headphones out of the case I was struck with how compact they were. They are automatically set to Bluetooth pairing and it was very easy to pair to my Android phone. Once paired I was able to customise them in the Sony Headphone with lots of great options to customise, for example what tapping on each headphone does. I currently have my set so the right earphone is used to skip track, one tap for pause, two for skipping to next track and three for going back a track. The left one is used to change volume, a quick tap to increase the volume and hold to turn the volume down. The headphones are very responsive to taps and I never had any issues when tapping the headphones. One great feature that you can use through the Sony headphone app, is that it will tell you if you have the correct size earbuds on, very helpful You can customise the headphone to use either Amazon Alexa or Google assistant as well. Upon playing some different type of music, the sound quality of these headphone is outstanding. The bass, treble and mid-range are very clear. I am blown away as to how good the top end is of the headphone. I had to boost the bass a little, but that is my personal preference. I have used these headphones whilst out walking the dogs and the noise cancelling is outstanding. I was not able to hear any outside noise and was in my own little world of music. You can customise the settings so you do hear some ambient noise. I cannot recommend these headphones enough and will probably be using these more than my WH-1000XM3, go buy these headphones!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

0

Amazing earphones

WF-1000XM4 17 September 2021 by Ged1966 (United Kingdom)

I had been waiting for these to come into my local richer sounds store for awhile now,I picked them up a couple of days ago,and boy was it worth the wait! I've had numerous earphones over the years,from jabra to Bose and many more in between, but these babies trounce the competition hands down,the initial setup is a simple one,you have to download the Sony connect app from the relevant place,once downloaded you have so much to play with like unbelievable ANC to equalisers and many more features,there's too many to mention,it is very important to select the right eartips as this is where the magic happens,the app will recommend which ones are best for you with a short audio test,you have small medium and large tips which are very comfortable,when you have selected the right one's for your ears,all I can say is wow!the sound is nothing short of incredible,thumping bass to amazing clarity in vocals,just get these you won't be disappointed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pure perfect sound

WF-1000XM4 17 September 2021 by Koleus13 (United Kingdom)

First impression the packaging wow all recyclable how fantastic is that. Connect so easily to WiFi an my Sony walkman and my iPhone. The sound is truly amazing I love a little bass as these are just perfect and with the noise cancelling on I’m in my own little world. Love to listen to all types of music with various ambient sounds, have customised a couple of my own equalisers also. The sounds are truly amazing the best in ear headphones I’ve had. Highly recommended great product and price you won’t be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

great features but sound quality is not that great

WF1000XM4/BME 17 September 2021 by Sholijin (Malaysia)

The treble not great even though i’ve adjusted on the eq and the sound clarity is missing when the volume is above 80%. The last thing is the volume becomes too low even though i have max out the volume when i’m using ldac. I hope sony can improve it on the next software update. TQ

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Sound, Bad Call

WF-1000XM4 17 September 2021 by CarlBraun (United Kingdom)

All what i want to say, they are too buggy for this price... I have white noises in 2 pieces of this model.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2