182

4.5 based on 182 customer reviews

131
28
12
4
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great, out of box, but masterful after minor tweak

A90J Series 05 April 2021 by Giggy BC (USA)

Bought this TV two weeks ago, and out of the box I was blown away but it's elegance and design. Start up was such a breeze with the Google TV sign up, wish more TVs had this. After firing it up, and setting up apps, testing it on different content (Netflix, Disney+, YouTube, HULU) to get a feel of the picture quality on 4K, HDR, Dolby vision, and SDR content. Without any tinkering, the TV looked awesome, though just didn't have that "wow" factor yet. After a few tweaks to the peak luminance, switching the HDR tone mapping to "Prefer Brightness, and some motion adjusted, it has more than the "wow" factor. What this TV does, when fully unleashed, is incredible. Coupled with my PS5, it's also a solid gaming beast. Destiny 2's Crucible at 120fps is pretty darn cool! Looking forward to the eventual VRR update, but not salty it wasn't ready at launch. I'm a patient person. Sound quality is also great! The speaker system really does wonders for watching content without switching on the Bose system. The only gripe, though it's miniscule, is the cable management could have been cleaner but now I'm just looking for a fault. I love this TV and the new technology is exciting to see. Easy to recommend and worth 3K, easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Brilliant picture and sound, but too many bugs

139 cm (55") 20 July 2021 by chrsmrrtt (United Kingdom)

Definitely the most impressive and capable television I've ever owned. Brilliant picture. Fantastic audio. The app ecosystem is great (although still limited at the moment - no BBC iPlayer, ITV Hub, or Sky Go, for instance). The ability to use Steam Link baked into the TV with no extra hardware is fantastic. But we haven't been without issue: Apps like Netflix, Prime Video, or other content directly cast to the TV would close for no apparent reason. In one case the TV via aerial wouldn't start. To fix these required different approaches: app caches to be cleared, the TV restarted, and in one case a factory reset. It's really taken the shine off an otherwise brilliant TV. So, in summary, a fantastic television for video and audio and capability, but just too many software bugs to ever feel confident that's it's not going to just stop at any moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

185 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Great tv but broke after month and half

139 cm (55") 23 September 2021 by Adeen (United Kingdom)

I bought this tv 6 weeks ago and thought was great purchase till a white line went right down the panel currently waiting for replacement which has been quite a carry on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic TV!

139 cm (55") 23 September 2021 by Lifeboatman (United Kingdom)

We took the plunge and moved to a quality high definition TV from a 14 year old 32in LCD Sony set that claimed it was HD ready all those years ago! What a revelation! The built in Ultra HD apps like Netflix and You Tube are amazing, especially in Dolby Vision. Plus feeding it with live UHD from Sky Sports and other programming, or 4K UHD Blu Rays from our Sony player just transform our TV experience. The sound is mind blowing too. We were expecting to have to buy a sound bar with our new TV choice, but it’s quite unnecessary with this one! Initial setting up, with Google phone app was simple (actually good fun too!) and the menu structure of the TV and Google TV is easy to understand. We’re so pleased we bought this TV!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant picture.

139 cm (55") 23 September 2021 by Bumflyer (United Kingdom)

Bought this to improve my wife’s quality of viewing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TOP OF THE LINE

83" class (82.7" diag) 20 September 2021 by Ron ZZ (USA)

The quality of the image, sound and ease of use is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

65" class (64.5" diag) 17 September 2021 by Marty mg (USA)

I bought a month ago and like this TV. Great picture quality. Great sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One Amazing TV.

139 cm (55") 17 September 2021 by Trident 42 (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with this purchase. The picture is stunning in 4K HDR mode and very good just watching standard HD from normal broadcasters. If this is on your shopping list, you really need to see it, in person. You also need to hear it because the sound is fantastic, given the audio technology built into the set. Could not be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Cant add a subwoofer

164 cm (65") 12 September 2021 by Paul12432134635 (United Kingdom)

The TV is super and the picture and sound are great, however I was advised by Sony salesman that ta subwoofer can be added, and it can't. so you have great sound but not the depth of base that a subwoofer gives

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Tv

164 cm (65") 10 September 2021 by AllyBoy (United Kingdom)

I bought this television a month ago and it's the best thing I ever done 65" Sony ER what a picture fantastic in HD fantastic in UHD best money I've ever spent I would recommend this television to everybody

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

139 cm (55") 07 September 2021 by Mickley (United Kingdom)

Big improvement on my A9G very bright and clear to watch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

What! No catch up App’s!!!

139 cm (55") 07 September 2021 by seanhorne1 (United Kingdom)

Great TV, a little dark in broadcasts, films but overall very good. No catch up apps is a bizarre omission. When £59 TV’s do. Blaming other people for this omission is frankly poor, you’re Sony for god shake, get it sorted. Expensive, but if you can you should

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Incredible Screen

210 cm (83") 06 September 2021 by JurassicBear (United Kingdom)

Bought the 83" version and can honestly say it's the best screen I've ever seen. For my eyes the colours and depth in the picture out the box on the cinema setting is fabulous. Natural colours with great contrast and punch. Was originally planning on getting it calibrated but I don't feel there's a need now I've seen it. PS5 gaming on it is a blast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not a promising start

164 cm (65") 06 September 2021 by JB R (United Kingdom)

After 2 months use problems. Total loss of sound, tried switching off various attached units even a reset, still no joy. Gave up for the night and pulled the plug from the power socket. Reconnected the power at the wall, it started OK with sound waited until next 80 mile round trip to retailer, they agreed to exchange tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

164 cm (65") 04 September 2021 by Alawa (United Kingdom)

Good product to have . Nice viewing by family . Ok having issues at the moment.

0

0

0

Absolutely Exceptional OLED TV XR83A90J

210 cm (83") 04 September 2021 by Oyodi (United Kingdom)

Absolutely fantastic, at 83 inches it really makes a difference, this is the Oled TV I have been waiting for, and at once I noticed it is brighter and it seems sharper, I suppose that's the new XR chip highlighting features, so much so, that at times it looks 3D, Brilliant. Also the Bravia Core app allows you to watch 4k Bluray quality streaming (depends on your Internet speed)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Disgusted

139 cm (55") 04 September 2021 by Upset Jonathan (United Kingdom)

I am disgusted that I can spend almost £3k on a TV that doesn't work. No bbc iplayer or itvplayer. Curry's agreed to a full refund and exchange then changed their mind when I couldn't produce the stand as I had someone who had wall mounted it for me

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

The Best picture

139 cm (55") 04 September 2021 by Synergy (United Kingdom)

The picture is absolutely wonderful. The sound is so much better than some competition The downside for UK customers is the missing UK apps. Namely BBC iplayer and ITV hub These are critical, yet missing. Google is so much better than Android

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a90j

164 cm (65") 04 September 2021 by Stoaksey (United Kingdom)

I bought this TV 2months ago good TV except suffers from blurring on fast moving scenes

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent definition but no BBC iPlayer etc???!

139 cm (55") 02 September 2021 by Drawde (United Kingdom)

Bought this television as we have trust in Sony to produce quality and long-lasting products. We are forever having to throw away perfectly serviceable Sony TVs after 15 years or so. The TV itself is wonderful. Terrific definition on HD, beautiful colour and excellent sound quality without extra soundbars et cetera. BUT and it is a big BUT why no BBC iPlayer or other terrestrial catch up services?. We were promised this would be addressed in the near future and are relying on Sony to fulfil this promise. Hence at this moment only 4 stars, wish it could have been 5 and we recommend it to friends - Yes but we would inform them of the limitation we have outlined above. In 3 words “ get it sorted!“

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality

164 cm (65") 02 September 2021 by RabPunk (United Kingdom)

Have had the 65A90J for just over a week now and gotta say am well impressed.Needed a new tv and after reading online about 2021 tvs settled on the A90J.Not only is it aesthetically pleasing it also has a great picture.Much has been said of its lack of UK catch-up apps but this didn’t dissuade me and once i linked up a UHD player i knew i’d made a great choice.Stunning.I placed mine flush with the tv stand and it looks amazing.Of course there are cheaper makes and models on the market,but if you really want the best tv on the market at the minute the A90J fits the bill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A nice tv

164 cm (65") 01 September 2021 by Howie121 (United Kingdom)

Had the tv for one week, as i did not fix it on the wall and don’t have a table long enough to use the base stand, i had to purchase a £50 stand to hold it and let it sit on my table. The tv came with very little written instructions but once switched on gives on screen help with regard setup. Took about 45 minutes to get working from the time i got it out of the box. The tv has lots of different settings, personally i prefer the screen vivid setting, as it gives a bright shiny picture, if you are not used to the brightness you can always tone it down with one of the other settings. Sound can also be selected from various fixed presets. The tv links to your internet so you can use the set to view almost anything on line, including other tv channels that may not be available directly on the tv. Especially like the Hi Google facility that allows me to talk to the set to ask it for information, turn on/off and loads of other things, much easier than using the remote. Going back to the tv itself. The picture quality is excellent and gives an extra dimension when watching any program, at times it feels like you are on set with the actors, as you can see clearly all the props and how basic some of them actually are. I upgraded from a plasma to this and considering how large the screen is the difference is remarkable and has certainly gone up in high quality definition. Overall a good buy, maybe a little expensive £3499, but as they say you only get what you pay for. Compared to other LCD tv’s this is certainly in my opinion a much better sound and picture, is it worth the extra cost? That is debatable, but if you can afford it then buy it you shouldn’t be to disappointed with your purchase. The reason for only giving it a 4 star rating is that their are no plug ins to add my old surround sound system complete with video player, and with some old tv, and film shows it doesn’t have anyway of helping to increase the quality of picture in fact it often amplifies the poorness of quality they have been filmed in. New movies and tv are great as they are shot in HD. Another gain is the immediate availability of free Bravia which gives excess to thousands of movies. All in all a great tv and i am happy to have bought it. I still think at this time this is probably the best tv on the market unless of course you are willing to pay crazy money for the next level.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture and sound.

139 cm (55") 31 August 2021 by Stevedino (United Kingdom)

Never bought a top of the range tv before. A tv is a tv isn’t it. Was I wrong!! Definitely worth every penny with amazing pictures full of so much detail. I am in awe. I also wanted to get away from a sound bar taking up space and hoped the tv’s own speakers would be good enough. Yes a good sound bar would be a step up but it would have to be a good one, as the acoustic panel is fantastic. Good sound which is full and rich. I have fallen in love with this tv as I line up a list of shows and films I want to enjoy on a piece of technical art.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first Oled

164 cm (65") 31 August 2021 by K Brooks (United Kingdom)

I've always been put off getting an oled, because of screen burn risk,and dim brightness, but I took the plunge, and the A90 J , although very expensive, is a brilliant TV, picture is excellent and the sound is the best I've heard from a TV, I ordered the 55 inch, from richer sounds in the uk but called back the next day to order the 65 inch, glad I did,as you soon get used to the size. Only thing is, sony advise to zoom in when watching with black bars, but whenever I've tried it, it says "option not available" so I have no choice, but to watch with black bars sometimes. And there should be a short cut on the remote to zoom in, without going to settings all the time. Brilliant TV, I've no regrets about buying it. Build quality is solid, as it should be at this price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic features

139 cm (55") 31 August 2021 by Bradderzlad (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 weeks ago from Currys and the setup was easy and simple it’s one of the best TVs I ever bought I can finally unleash the full potential of the PS5

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Television

164 cm (65") 30 August 2021 by dennispearce (United Kingdom)

Have just bought the tv after seeing a demo and am very happy with picture and sound quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0