318

4.4 based on 318 customer reviews

214
52
27
12
13
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

outstanding OLED TV display

164 cm (65") 30 June 2021  (Singapore)

This Sony BRAVIA XR Series A80J has an outstanding OLED display that is HDR10, HLG, and Dolby Vision compatibility which offers a wide color gamut. This is my 4th OLED screen and it is the biggest among my devices. For details review you can easily search them in the web but right now, I just want to share my personal option after owning it for 2 weeks. The OLED display delivers intense contrast with pure blacks and natural colors at its best, no question about it, but the screen brightness can better even though the spec says it is higher than its predecessor. Not sure about the all new Cognitive Processor XR but it seems to be on par with other brand’s processor. The TV comes with BRAVIA XR HDMI 2.1-enabled 4K / 120 Hz ports which is great but only 2 out of 4 HDMI ports are capable of delivering it and one of it is the ARC/eARC which to me is a huge let down. It comes with total 3 USB ports and even a button to switch on/off the mic for google search. With Acoustic Surface Audio+, the screen is the speaker and it is outstanding. I can’t imagine how it sounds from the TV panel that produce sound from the entire screen until I personally experience it. I must say it has more realistic sound and exceptionally clear dialog than my old TV and I don’t really miss my sound bar. The remote has an average placing of buttons and shortcuts but how I wish it is back-lit just like the Sony higher model. I tried to wall-mount the TV and due to the placement of the “VESA” port, it will be higher and that leave a big space between the TV and the console table. It can be bad or good, depending on how big your sound bar is. Overall it is a good Sony OLED TV and I have no regrets getting it. Due to this COVID-19 and WFH status, I found myself consuming more contents from A80J than my old TV and so do my family members for many years to come. Cheers

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing

164 cm (65") 02 September 2021 by Sparkyjack (United Kingdom)

The picture and sound are good - you would expect so for an expensive device. However you cannot access the BBC iPlayer or and UK channels’ players - only commercial streaming services. I find it shocking that this is sold in the UK when it doesn’t provide the basic access for UK viewers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

329 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Simply stunning!

139 cm (55") 24 September 2021  (United Kingdom)

I love this TV.... I've had various generations of Sony Bravia TV's over the last 10 years and this one is by far the most impressive. I definitley appreciate the jump from LED to OLED technology and due to the closing price gap, this wasn't as financially painful as I had expected. The TV itself is simply stunning in its rendition of colour, motion and even sound with this model....I find myself quite often turning off my (Sony) surround system on a normal evening as it's just not needed all of the time now. Love the new android TV system too, so much interoperability, so many useful functions, features and benefits over other TV systems, brilliant! ...it even works with my iPhone (well done Sony! That's a first). Hughely satisfied with yet another gorgeous Bravia product from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor aps

164 cm (65") 24 September 2021 by AlMacxxx (United Kingdom)

Very disappointed Sony have not got bbc I player and itv hub on this high end tv when other competitors have.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A80J | BRAVIA XR

164 cm (65") 24 September 2021 by ChBe (United Kingdom)

Fine image processing maybe a little too weak brightness. . excellent sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture and sound, some disappointment

139 cm (55") 24 September 2021 by Kedd (United Kingdom)

The disappointment is that we cannot access catch up tv (iplayer, itv hub, all 4 etc). It appears that the Sony software is incompatible and it is not possible to install the necessary apps. I am currently considering returning the tv due to this failing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a8j

139 cm (55") 24 September 2021 by Mickeyr (United Kingdom)

I bought this product a month ago and wow what an upgrade from my existing Sony bravia gone to oled now which is amazing and love that Sony have android built in as I'm a Samsung phone man and links everything to my TV from phone great service and amazing TV never have nothing different now

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great tv

139 cm (55") 23 September 2021 by Iwanrees (United Kingdom)

Picture quality and sound is brilliant no sound bar required

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Picture Quality!

164 cm (65") 23 September 2021 by CWee (Singapore)

I love the picture quality of A80J, it HDR, colour richness, contrast. The Google TV is great also. The Netflix picture mode is auto setting whenever a Netflix program is played.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture but some features lacking

139 cm (55") 23 September 2021 by forestOwl (United Kingdom)

As expected the picture is great but: freesat failed to find channels even though Sat found 240! and they don't have an EPG? so would be frustrating. BBC/watch-again/iPlayer is still missing after months of waiting (it was mentioned in May on sony forum). I found out how to delete some of the useless apps - which is nice. So in summary - use it for netflix/amazon and as a display but I would not expect to use it for any sat TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony oled

164 cm (65") 23 September 2021 by Brownicas (United Kingdom)

I bought being new for 2021 having looked at many other makes, so glad I did stunning TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features,beautiful pictures.

164 cm (65") 23 September 2021 by Lam 56 (United Kingdom)

I bought thís a month ago, and very happy that i did.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best tv I have ever owned

65" class (64.5" diag) 22 September 2021 by Xavier74 (USA)

This is the best tv I have ever purchased. The picture out of the box is terrific. Tremendous picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture and sound

139 cm (55") 22 September 2021 by CNCS (United Kingdom)

Had the TV for 2 weeks and completely satisfied. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The future is here

164 cm (65") 22 September 2021 by SinnExit (United Kingdom)

I purchased and still own a Sony 3d TV. Had it for 9 years. What a TV is was back then. For the past year I have been looking around for a 4K TV and watched many reviews from the likes of Digital Trends and HDTV Test. For me it was a choice between LG C1 and the Sony A80J. However, from reviews, many have stated that the C1 is more of a 'Gaming TV' and I needed something for my films to be the best they can look. Initially I wanted the A90J but could not justify the cost of spending £1.5k more for the 65" version. Nevertheless, I do not regret my purchase. What a quantum leap, in terms of picture quality, this TV is that. It screams immersion and cinematic at it's best. The only downside to this TV, which I think plagues many other TV's is the sound isn't as robust. So, a sound bar is recommended. This TV uses Google as an operating system and it's really quick at navigating menu's. Yes, there is a built in mic on the remote to use your voice to search for content. Nice feature. Overall, if you want the best in class for viewing your movies. Sony IS the brand to go for. Dolby vision has to be seen to be believed. The A80J is phenomenal in delivering this. Your movies will look natural and true to life, as the creator intended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Bravia 65” A84J

164 cm (65") 22 September 2021 by Hitz (United Kingdom)

Bought a month ago - amazing picture and sound very happy!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant TV

139 cm (55") 22 September 2021 by Bhav123 (United Kingdom)

This is TV is fantastic! Picture quality and sound are amazing and the TV itself looks sleek. The reviews don't do it justice. Would definitely recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing features

195 cm (77") 22 September 2021 by Mo Zafar (United Kingdom)

Bought this tv and so far am happy with the purchase . The sound is great so need for sound bar .

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 20 September 2021 by 19Kphotos (USA)

I have been looking for a larger TV but not to big.. this 55" 80J fit the bill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great picture, limited apps.

139 cm (55") 20 September 2021 by Ryan1991 (United Kingdom)

Picture quality is great. I am however disappointed with the selection of apps a can’t seem to access BCC iplayer or 4od.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture.

65" class (64.5" diag) 19 September 2021 by kdfields66 (USA)

Long time Sony tv user and this one didn't disappoint. Picture is magnificent. 4K outstanding!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice TV, but catch-up apps are missing!

139 cm (55") 19 September 2021 by Witchycat (United Kingdom)

This Smart TV is not very 'smart' since Youview and all the usual catch-up apps are currently missing due to legal issues. Get your act together Sony... you should have resolved this prior to letting customers spend our hard-earned money on 2021 TVs that are sadly lacking! Unacceptable

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Missing UK catch-up services

164 cm (65") 19 September 2021 by Anyoldname666 (United Kingdom)

This would be an excellent TV however I can't currently recommend it as it is missing the UK catch-up services. Apparently they are due before Christmas however Sony advertise the TV as having them which as of September 21 is not true

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super fearhers

139 cm (55") 19 September 2021 by Duraik (Singapore)

After some the screen get hot, hope i will not affect the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

164 cm (65") 18 September 2021 by Flatfoot (United Kingdom)

Glad we bought it , easy to use , good picture, great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning pictures

164 cm (65") 18 September 2021 by Simon Says (Singapore)

Glued to the TV the whole day… Remote control has no backlight though which is a shame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0