Article ID : S500030399 / Last Modified : 11/04/2018

What are the differences between AC3, 5.1, Dolby Digital, and DTS sound types?

Applicable Products and Categories of This Article

Differences between AC3, 5.1, Dolby Digital, and DTS sound types.

AC 5.1 is a generic description of a multi-channel sound system. All of these surround sound types use 5.1 channel decoding to provide surround sound. The 5.1 channels are as follows:
1. Left Front
2. Right Front
3. Center Channel
4. Left Rear
5. Right Rear
6. LFE (Subwoofer)

AC3 is a compression technology term, which is used in place of Dolby Digital. It is essentially Dolby Digital.

Dolby Digital surround sound is compressed which allows more audio information to fit on a DVD disc.

DTS surround sound is an alternate AC 5.1 surround sound which DTS states is not as compressed as Dolby Digital.