342

4.3 based on 342 customer reviews

210
80
26
7
19
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best Atmos per pound

HT-X8500 25 September 2020 by Sean_W (United Kingdom)

Having finally bought a new TV after 12 years, I was looking to get an eARC HDMI compatible soundbar with Dolby Atmos for virtual surround sound straight through the TV from the upcoming PS5 / XBox Series X releases. Getting a suitable TV was expensive, so I was relatively low on budget and ended up finding this. For the price you wont find another futureproofed soundbar with more features. The only drawback is that eARC overrides the passthrough of sound from an external device to the soundbar, so one device I had using digital optical output to completely bypass the TV (and potentially any lag) just always automatically goes back through the eARC HDMI instead

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing Features

HT-X8500 21 January 2024 by APT67 (United Kingdom)

Expensive for what it is, sounds muffled. Sounds just coming out front of bar..no immersion of sound. No screen display of Soundbar Menu.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

342 Customer Reviews

0

Disappointing Features

HT-X8500 21 January 2024 by APT67 (United Kingdom)

Expensive for what it is, sounds muffled. Sounds just coming out front of bar..no immersion of sound. No screen display of Soundbar Menu.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-X8500 07 January 2024  (United Kingdom)

Brought today sound is very good and easy to fit would highly recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for about 2 years

HT-X8500 05 December 2023 by Kmm98 (United Kingdom)

Had soundbar for just over 2 years, and stopped working one day and doesn’t even power on anymore. Advised it’s not covered by warranty either anymore, expected better from £300 piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Atmos soundbar

HT-X8500 02 December 2023 by Spike296 (United Kingdom)

A really good soundbar with great bass and easy to control volume. 'ATMOS' is controlled automatically by the film's or programmes input. A simple design and connectivity but with a nice performance.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sound bar none

HT-X8500 16 November 2023 by Tonys here (United Kingdom)

Purchased this soundbar a few weeks ago to replace a returned LG item which didn't meet the the standards I required. As an oldy it took me a little time to understand the finer points of how to match the soundbar to my LG TV but once I managed to master this was pleased with the sound. A minor issue of not having matching manufacturers products is you need to use the Sony remote as well as the TV's. I have used the bar connected by Bluetooth to Spotify & was pleasantly surprised at how well it copes with music from low to high volume, an added bonus. All in all a very capable product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Expensive tin machine

HT-X8500 07 November 2023 by John (United Kingdom)

So tinny, and it's spits on bassy sounds. Avoid

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great features

HT-X8500 27 September 2023 by nannet (United Kingdom)

Nice and compact, good sound quality

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great value for entry Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500//M SP1 23 September 2023 by Fahmi Hisyam (Malaysia)

This is my firat soundbar and it is great value that I bought this on sale day and it works flawlessly with my bravia tv. The downside is sometimes the dialogue is a bit low in some movie but overall im quite satisfied with the product

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound Problem

HTX8500 01 September 2023 by analyst458 (USA)

I bought this because I am a Sony fan and have been wanting to get a sound bar so that I can stop relying on the TV speakers. Bought this to try it out and it made a huge difference in the sense that it fixed every issue with the sound. I love that you can change the setting depending on what you are doing such as gaming, watching a movie and just listening to music. Overall can't complain it's excellent and exactly what I needed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget Dolby Atmos Soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 25 August 2023 by Gary Sa (Malaysia)

My first soundbar and this was the cheapest soundbar that has Dolby Atmos (future-proof myself). For a small-medium size room, i could definitely feel the difference when I was playing music off Youtube, the dialogs from kdramas from Netflix, and bluetooth music from my phone via TIDAL music.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sounding sound bar

HT-X8500 09 August 2023 by Spidernon78 (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up great sound looks stylish dolby atoms brilliant bit of kit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good buy!

HTX8500 02 August 2023 by Hunter85 (USA)

Got it during Prime days for 1/2 normal price. Quality excellent. Just what we needed for 75” TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Price Good Sound

HTX8500 01 August 2023 by Mik454 (USA)

I mostly stream movies and shows. The really enjoy this sound bar. I have no complaints. You can not beat the price and Great Quality. I’ve been using it for a little over two weeks on a daily basis.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound than expected

HT-X8500//M SP1 18 July 2023 by Whybee (Malaysia)

So far the sound impressed me even though I would assume it’s spec not as high as other models Good enough for those without deep pocket, yet nice to enjoy with

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well know make

HT-X8500 09 July 2023 by Joestrat (United Kingdom)

This is a well known make but it doesn't deal with sound very well. Premium design but putting music through it just vibrates the speaker and Considering it's massive can't really ha dke what it's supposed to do well also confusing remote

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

True sound

HT-X8500 06 June 2023 by Venus1 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant sound all round purchased it to listen to dvd music and I wasn’t disappointed clear crisp sound in stereo surround sound

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

A mediocre soundbar

HT-X8500//M SP1 05 June 2023 by Pheleo (Singapore)

I bought the Sony HTX8500 for few weeks. I experience no sound from sound bar a few times when the tv is turn on although it is connected via the e-arc HDMI. I also find the sound performance mediocre without much to talk about.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 31 May 2023 by JoelLau17 (Malaysia)

Purchased 1 month ago, the soundbar produced a great sound and with affordable price..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice

HT-X8500//M SP1 22 May 2023 by Kokleong (Malaysia)

Nice and great sound for overall, not bad, very love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 14 May 2023 by Bays (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for a previous Sony product, as very pleased with all Sony products that I have purchased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointed

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 May 2023 by Sounds8500 (Malaysia)

- Connected and worked only for one day. - My Sony TV currently cannot detect the Sound Bar through Bravia sync. - Resetting the Sound Bar does not work.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

GREAT SOUND

HT-X8500//M SP1 02 May 2023 by ABU BACKER (Malaysia)

Design awesome & sound good. must have one in your house

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best sound experience

HT-X8500//M SP1 27 April 2023 by solnavo (Malaysia)

I bought this soundbar to upgrade from my previous soundbar. I’m glad with the purchase as the soundbar features dolby atmos and also space saving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and powerful

HT-X8500//M SP1 26 April 2023 by Lessler (Malaysia)

Been using it for about 2 weeks now....works great! The bass is very good and it really makes you feel like at the movies.. but the vocals are rather soft and a bit muffeled it will be fine if you crank up the volume but prepare yourself for loud action scenes...the only con is that there is no on screen display or indicators to show you what setting you are on...other than that its all thumbs up!

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0