148

4.7 based on 148 customer reviews

122
18
5
3
0
Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sound Bar is amazing!

HTS400 17 March 2022 by Kim J (USA)

I have never owned a sound bar. I am blown away with how amazing everything sounds on the TV now! The bass from the sub woofer enhances the sound so much. The video really doesn't justify how good it sounds in person. We have a 55 inch TV so you can see how long the sound bar is. There's Bluetooth capabilities so you can run your phone through it, too! The set up was so simple! You can't go wrong with this product. Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Looks good, doesn't sound that good

HT-S400 14 January 2020 by Tino (United Kingdom)

I've got this as a present, I've just to have my tv connected to my hi-fi system, so when I connected the tv to this I was a bit disappointed as the sound it's not as good as an hi-fi system, but if you are upgrading from your TV speakers this are fine, but you will need the subwoofer version, there's no control over the highs mids and treble only a few preset eq modes.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

145 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound - Good Value

HTS400 28 June 2022 by Wthom100 (USA)

I purchased this Sony soundbar product several months ago. Set-up was much easier than expected. Used the HDMI ARC connection as I also have a Sony Bravia TV. Sound eas much improved vs. listening with just the TV speakers. The sub-woofer provided some deep rumbling bass at times. I basically just watch TV / Movies - I do not do any gaming or other things like that. I typically listen at lower / moderate volumes. So this Sony product really met my basic needs. I did not need ultra high performance. As such, this product was a great value to me. I recommend this for people who just need something basic that will get the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HTS400 24 June 2022 by GDHOPKINS (USA)

Sounds better than our old system. No Wiring to speakers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Positive

HT-S400 08 June 2022 by Fred (United Kingdom)

I survey about what I always buy, and this speaker is one of the best in the market in this price. Im so happy of the quality and connection speed with the TV.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Bass

HT-S400 20 April 2022 by Willy (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up and the quality is great

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good

HT-S400 13 April 2022 by ANdy (United Kingdom)

Links wel with my Sony TV etc

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Wow

HTS400 09 April 2022 by Hasler (USA)

Wow wow wow is all I can say. We got this for our playroom tv to add a sound bar for quality sound. Highly recommend! Great sound easy set up and easy to use.

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great sound

HTS400 09 April 2022 by AmandaK08 (USA)

We got the ‘ Sony - 2.1ch Soundbar with powerful wireless subwoofer | HT-S400’ for the living room tv. The set up was easy, took less than ten minutes. And the quality is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Best Soundbar Hands Down!

HTS400 08 April 2022 by Pobilly1973 (USA)

Wow! This soundbar is amazing! You enjoy movies and sports as if you were in person! Sony never disappoints, this is another one of their great products. We have a large family movie night once a week about 20 people. We were all super excited to try out the new Sony HT-400 Soundbar. It was easy to install with the wireless subwoofer made it even easier. We all got our seats, popcorn was popped and we were ready to enjoy! Oh my did we enjoy! Just the sound of the introduction of the movie and the music, everyone was so impressed with the way the sound came through and the way the bass moved you. My daughter is completely deaf and watches caption, said she could feel the vibrations, bass and music and really enjoyed a movie more than she EVER had due to the soundbar. It was breathtaking, entertaining, and simply amazing! Everyone commented on how they felt as if they were at the movies, a few of them already ordered the Sony soundbar and can’t wait to have movie night at their house. I would give this a million stars if I could, outstanding product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good sound quality, sleek design

HTS400 06 April 2022 by Jeff Q (USA)

The sound bar has a sleek design and I like that the subwoofer is wireless (so I can tuck it away). I would say this sound bar is on par with others that I have used for this price. Personally, I use it for music (not movies or TV) but I am happy with the quality. It pairs with my Google Home so I can play music as I wander my apartment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

The best!!!!

HTS400 31 March 2022 by Taylor13 (USA)

I have never ran to review something so quickly! This sound bar and sub is amazing. It was easy to hook up. Make sure you have an hdmi cord because it is required but doesn’t come with one. The bass is amazing!!!!! Easily my favorite. I want to have dance party’s playing music videos. I couldn’t even wait to install the bar to make the pictures look more appealing. I need my husband to install that because I’m not allowed to touch the screw gun lol. It comes with a template and will be simple. I love how it connects to my regular tv remote automatically. I hate having too many remotes. I definitely recommend this sound bar and sub!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Incredible Sound Quality!

HTS400 30 March 2022 by Char_b (USA)

Wow! I am so happy with the Sony HT-S400 Soundbar with wireless subwoofer! It seriously sounds like we are in a movie theater! Having the subwoofer makes you actually feel the vibrations! It’s awesome!! The soundbar and the subwoofer connected easily with our Sony Bravia XVR85!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Compact

HTS400 29 March 2022 by Proudmama (USA)

I love that the design is slim and sleek. It doesn't take up much room. We have never used a sound bar before but it sure does make a huge difference. Sound quality is great. Mini theater experience in the comfort of your home. The speaker is wireless so you can move it anywhere in your home to get the best sound effect. You are able to adjust the bass and sound field to what you like best. We absolutely love our sound bar, it's a whole new TV experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

A big improvement over tv audio

HTS400 27 March 2022 by NanP (USA)

The Sony HT-S400 helps you understand how much better a soundbar and sub is compared to tv audio alone. It was easy to set up using an HDMI cable, though it would be great if one was included. The remote is easy to use, the sound is much more room filling for a smaller room and the build quality is excellent!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Very much love it

HTS400 26 March 2022 by odins dad (USA)

This soundbar and subwoofer was quite possibly the easiest system i've ever set up. Took me less than 3 minutes to set up and get working. The sound quality is amazing with just the sound bar but add the subwoofer and it is booming. The build and functionality are top notch

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Loud

HTS400 25 March 2022 by Kari1990 (USA)

Wow. I am surprised how much power this has! It was super easy to connect and so loud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

This is nice

HTS400 24 March 2022 by ernest0504 (USA)

I have been using this for a week now and I am loving it. The sound is great, the instructions is easy to follow and it is easy to install. The surround is superb, it’s like we are watching in a cinema. Thimbs up to this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Powerful Soundbar!

HTS400 24 March 2022 by movingmatter (USA)

This is the best one I've owned of three. It's a very full, clear sound. Brings the tv to life! Also great for listening to music through YouTube or Spotify. Technology continues to get better and this soundbar with woofer, sound really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great Sound

HTS400 24 March 2022 by Dave T (USA)

I have always been a fan of Sony products. I know I'm getting a product that is of high quality and will last a long time. It is one of my favorite electronic brands. This soundbar is small but mighty. It is amazing the sound that comes out of this thing. I really love the wireless subwoofer. I don't have to try to be clever hiding wires, it works even on the opposite side of the room. It is really easy to set up and you can be enjoying an awesome action flick with movie theater sound quality in a few short steps. I'm going to get a lot of enjoyment out of this equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Amazing sound

HTS400 23 March 2022 by AlanaR (USA)

So pleased with this system. We looked at multiple for selecting this system. We wanted something that looked sleek and also delivered great impact sound. We upgraded from an older system and the difference is really impressive, it's like having a movie theater experience. We found setup really quick and simple, we were able to enjoy a movie shortly after getting it out of the box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great quality

HTS400 22 March 2022 by Clarissa (USA)

The Sony 2.1 soundbar with powerful wireless subwoofer has great base to it. The virtual surrounding sound gives a theater feel at the comfort and ease at your home. It was very easy to install and has definitely enhanced my viewing experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good sound

HT-S400 22 March 2022 by Capito2020 (United Kingdom)

I Bought it 2 to 3 weeks ago and am so happy with it

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Crystal Clear Sound

HTS400 22 March 2022 by Matt (USA)

First of all you cant get much easier of a set up. With Bluetooth this is a wire free set up that could not be any easier. Next, and the most important part, the sound quality is really amazing. It is crystal clear and adds so much to your viewing experience. I also like the ability to play music to it wirelessly as well. It has a nice sleek design as well which will match any home taste.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Great quality sound definition and clean look

HTS400 22 March 2022 by Shawn M (USA)

One of the biggest problems I have noticed with most sound bars is that the sounds can get muddled which is not only annoying but also can make dialogue difficult to understand at all. Sony seems to have fixed that somehow and found a way to get crisp audio out of a sound bar that also has great sound levels. This sound bar system is easy to set up and has several options for how to connect to it which is great. The sub woofer connects to the sound bar completely wirelessly which keeps my entertainment system from getting too cluttered. The sub itself is about 18 inches tall and packs more than enough bass power for TV or movies, it really shines when playing music though. Overall I'm really enjoying this sound system and would highly recommend. Great sound quality from a sound bar, easy to set up, and flexible with how you can use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0

0

Good sound and super easy to set up

HTS400 22 March 2022 by DHarris (USA)

I have always wanted something like this but didn't want to have to deal with cords and the setup/configuration. I was really excited to give Sony version a shot even though I don't have a Sony TV. My TV is a Vizio and was still very easy to set up and now use. My configuration is a Vizio TV with a Google TV Chromecast. The Google TV remote now powers both the TV and is able to simply turn on the soundbar (this was important so as make it as easy as possible for my wife and daughter to use). I've also got the wireless subwoofer tucked away off to the side so it's also out of the way. The sound is great and I really like the night mode on the Sony remote that helps for late-night watching when everyone else is asleep. We've still not found the perfect bass setting, but I would expect to make adjustments based on the movies we are watching.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

0

0