34

4.8 based on 34 customer reviews

29
4
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

34 Customer Reviews

0

Best Tracking Camera On The Market

ILCE-9M2 06 September 2021 by Bloomers2 (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for nearly 3 weeks now, and it's performance has blown me away, the tracking speed for wildlife is super fast and the images are super sharp coupled with the sony 200-600mm lens, this camera will take alot of beating. I can't fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal camera

ILCE-9M2 12 July 2021 by brenohara (United Kingdom)

I have been a wedding and events photographer for around 10 years now, and I made the jump to Sony mirrorless around 2015 with the Sony A7Rii. Since then I've owned pretty much every Sony mirrorless camera, and I can safely say the Sony A9ii is the best camera I have ever used. I owned the first Sony A9 too which I loved, and wasn't too sure about the upgrade, but I am glad I did. Improvements in ergonomics, autofocus is somehow even faster and stickier, and in my opinion there is an improvement in image quality, dynamic range and high ISO performance. Coupled with my GM lenses while at a wedding or event it really is a joy to use, not to mention the confidence it gives me in knowing that I got the shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Lightning Fast

ILCE-9M2 30 June 2021 by Stringman20 (United Kingdom)

Been using it for about a month and I think it's fantastic for wildlife photography. Auto focus is lightning fast using the 70-200 f2.8 and the focus tracking is amazing. I was able to pick up dragon flies in flight and focus on them immediately. The silent shooting mode is very useful, I've been shooting Little Owls this week and although they have acute hearing they've been very close without being disturbed. The 200-600 is ok, sharp enough but a little slow, If only Sony would bring out something between this and the 600 prime which is Too expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

An Excellent Camera

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 25 June 2021 by Alan SG (Singapore)

Happy to make the correct decision in getting the a9 II last month. Have been using this for birds shooting and the performance is simply excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible tracking and low light capabilities.

ILCE-9M2 31 May 2021 by Des 1 (United Kingdom)

Incredible camera bought only 2 weeks ago mainly for wildlife photography animal tracking plus it’s really good at high iso and keeping the grain low . The menu system takes a bit of work but anyone with any experience can gat around it no problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Super Performer

ILCE-9M2 13 March 2021 by Malfis (United Kingdom)

Having now used my new Sony A9ii for only a month, I realise what I've been missing when using other cameras. The autofocus performance for my interests in birds and wildlife is stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great tech, ergonomics need some work.

ILCE-9M2 28 February 2021 by jimmy99 (USA)

There are so many good things about the A9II! But the dials on the right side of the camera need to go. That camera would be more functional if the exposure compensation dial was replaced with another custom function button and there was an LCD readout where the mode selector dial is. And I would like to see the rear dial IN the back of the camera, like the A7c.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nikon D850 and D500 to Sony A9 ii

ILCE-9M2 20 November 2020 by Leovalve (United Kingdom)

Previous cameras Nikon D850 and D500, I love the IQ of the Nikon but wanted to try the Sony A9 ii because I enjoy wildlife and wanted silent shooting and better high ISO performance , also the AF for lower light. The A9 ii is a joy to use , the menus and customisation are excellent . The focus system is very accurate and the option of 20FPS is useful. Battery life is quite good for a mirrorless , I have set it to mainly use the EVF and turn the rear LCD off to preserve the battery power even more . The only thing I miss from my Nikon D850 is the 45mp's compared to the A9 ii 24mp . If you can fill the frame its no problem but with a lot of wildlife mainly birds they tend to require some crop .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

When all you want is speed & more speed

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 10 September 2020 by Royfrosty (Singapore)

I am always doing bird’s/wildlife photography. Coming from the a7iii, this a9ii is by far the fastest camera i ever own. I love how the a9ii has a dial for selecting focus modes and shooting modes. This alone is a great feature to switch shooting modes on the fly without going through the menus. In terms of picture quality, the a9ii did improved the iso performance. Together with the high burst 20fps electronic shutter & extremely fast AF system, i got a lot more keeper rate for all my action birds in flight/action wildlife. In my opinion, i would love to own a 600GM one day to get more Image Quality for my hobby. Its only a dream to have such a good setup out there for birds in flight and action wildlife. I have nothing to complain about the a9ii. For those out there looking for a fast camera for sports, birds in flight & action wildlife, look no further. The a9ii is second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Far superior body to the A9, with the larger grip.

ILCE-9M2 06 September 2020 by Pawperso (United Kingdom)

I bought the A9Mk2 five weeks ago , having had the A9 I moved up to the A9Mk2 . It’s amazing to use , it’s much faster focus and tracking my photography has improved Exponentially . Birds in flight shots are stunning . There just needs to be more availability of advice on setting up the camera for wildlife on perhaps (You Tube). That would be helpful . I recommend the A9Mk2 to anyone who wants probably the best top range camera on the market at a reasonable price .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

2

0

fast focus

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 02 September 2020 by Hello73 (Singapore)

Replace my A9, it product great image and the focusing is extremely amazing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolute amazing for wildlife

ILCE-9M2 31 August 2020 by Rueschr (USA)

I bought this camera slightly used online. At the same time I bought a new 200-600mm Sony lens and together they are a dream for wildlife/bird photographer. I could drastically increase the numbers of focused shots with birds in flight. Even in low or difficult light, I was able to take great shots. The quality out of the camera also cuts down on the time I spend post-processing the images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great features

ILCE-9M2 11 August 2020 by Garycheesley (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera since June,,,AMAZING,can’t recommend this enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

0

Blown away with the features

ILCE-9M2 11 August 2020 by Ihaventanickname (United Kingdom)

I bought this 13 days ago and had lots of fun setting it up to behave as I wish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Made the bold decision from Canon to Sony

ILCE-9M2 25 July 2020 by Critchlow (United Kingdom)

I have been amazed by the continuous burst speed of this camera. I took it out to get my dogs leaping around and got the best results ever because it can just freeze the motion

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

7

0

20 FPS and amazing fast focus - unbeatable!

ILCE-9M2 17 June 2020 by DRG53 (United Kingdom)

Can’t beat the Sony A9 II for focussing - using for my Bird in Flight photography with amazing 20 FPS it rarely drops a shot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

MANY FINE FEATURES- BUT DEFECTIVE!

ILCE9M2/B 15 June 2020 by RPA1 (USA)

SHARP PICTURES OF BIRDS SITTING STILL INITAL DEFECT IN SENSOR SCREEN - UNABLE SO FAR TO GET REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

8

0

Got My A9II Used on amazon last few days, and.

ILCE-9M2 13 May 2020 by Dhyogophoto (USA)

Very Happy for my A9ii , and I have an A7R4 as well! A9II is a beast, great iso and reliable device! 5 stars for this camera... I loved it! I always had Nikon.. my last was Nikon D5, wich is good.. and Nikon Z7.(AF is not good for this camera)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Excellent speed with auto tracking

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 12 April 2020 by SK Gan (Singapore)

I owned three Sony cameras A7SM2, A7RM3 and A9M2. Each camera has its unique functionality and capability. If you are capturing the challenging moments, you will not disappointed with A9M2 performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

a9 ii for bird and wildlife photography

ILCE-9M2 17 March 2020 by Jack Zhi (USA)

I am a experienced wildlife photographer. My shots have been published on National Geographic Top Shots. I'm recently converting myself from DSLR to mirror-less. Below are my feedback to Sony after using my a9ii and 600mm F4 lens for a few months. Things I love: * Light weight - only 8.5 pounds when paired with the 600mm f4 GM lense. * No blackout continuous shooting - love it. * Best AF tracking on the market - once AF locks on the subject, it stays. * Flip-out screen - great for low angle shooting. Some DSLR bodies also have flip-out screen but their "live-view" AF speeds are super slow for moving targets. * 20 fps high speed shooting * High ISO noise fairly low for JPEG images Things to improve: * Buffer clear is SUPPER slow! And you cannot do things like video recording while it's in progress (but you can continue to shoot stills). This is true even when the buffer is half full. So long it's clearing the buffer, you cannot shoot video! Not sure why Sony has been struggling on this, because other camera brands have resolved the issue loooong time back! * RAW images are very grainy when ISO is high and even the Sony software cannot reduce it reasonably in post-process! * While the AF tracking is the best on the market, the initial AF is not. For one, the initial AF speed is sometimes a bit slow. For two, when using AF tracking modes, the initial focus doesn't grab on the subject that's pointed by the focus point. Even when using single AF tracking mode, it many times grabs a branch or leaf next to the bird. I can understand it if I was using the wide area tracking AF mode, but I don't understand why single point or flex point AF tracking mode does that too? * Lack of third finger operation. When configured with back-button focusing (which a lot of wildlife photographers do), the thumb and the index finger are occupied during shooting. When you need to change a setting in flight while shooting, buttons located in front of the camera would be ideal to allow a third finger to press/hold and release the button. Again, other brands already offer this for a long time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

11

0

Great action camera

ILCE-9M2 20 February 2020 by Alysta (United Kingdom)

I have waited a long time for the A9ii, it hasn’t disappointed so far. I’m an action photographer so I absolutely have to capture the moment. Changing from 1DX mk1 to mirrorless has meant learning new things, but I absolutely love the images. I watch lots of Mark Galor’s YouTube videos on set up. I wish there were courses that Sony ran in the UK. My only battle is setting up the Wifi to send JPEG’s to a laptop, I’m not in a studio often out in countryside or in an arena. Bottom line. I love this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Great speed and respond of the Auto tracking

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 16 February 2020 by ycpaul165 (Singapore)

I had brought this camera about two month ago. I upgrade from A 7 III

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

review file A9ii

ILCE-9M2/BQ AP2 28 January 2020 by Art Child (Thailand)

i like this because finish from camera some time not process image. sometime can send picture to customer in today(event time.) my customer like this. and file raw can process resilient so much. and very very easy for process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No Regrets

ILCE-9M2 23 January 2020 by Roseofraby (United Kingdom)

Switched from 20 years with Canon after doing a lot of research on Sony and I'm very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

5