88

4.6 based on 88 customer reviews

62
21
3
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20 August 2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

grainy quality pictures after canon

ILCE-9 06 August 2020 by mr mac (United Kingdom)

impossible to get cash back. suggest for customer who has spent a very considerable amount of money with sony it should be better

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

89 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

ILCE-9 01 March 2021 by strech (United Kingdom)

I have had this 3 years and it has performed well. The sensor picks up dust easily. The vibrating sensor cleaner has little effect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mostly positive experience!

ILCE-9 15 February 2021 by Bob Last (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month because of it's fast focussing, low light capabilities and good balance of controls.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Original A9 still rocks

ILCE-9 13 December 2020 by chunkydunky139 (United Kingdom)

This camera is one I have sought for so long since it came out and is perfect for my needs, very responsive and great AF. I replaced my A7III with this as I like the size and with the newer A9 being slightly bigger it has started to get into the bigger range and I prefer the original. The speed of this camera is phenomenal and I find I catch that bit more when there is fast movement involved. It also works well in low light. I know there are newer models coming out but I suspect they will follow the new size that most people seem to like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Value fast action event camera of 2020-21

ILCE9/B 05 November 2020 by Tahzive (USA)

Just got my hand on this beast of a camera and its insane. It was an expensive camera at lunch in 2017 but considered a very good value for money camera and offered essential features like Eye tracking continuous AF, Black out free 20fps and maintains same color across the color fidelity in high iso range is something that world has never seen before and that remains still the same. Interestingly the price has come down by a huge margin and its close to a7riii which makes it a no brainer and the best value camera for 2021 period. Just one catch, there is no Slog or HLG for video and I really wish sony with give picture profile to this beast. On the other hand the A9ii got a bit incremental update nothing that can beat A9, its all the same with fast transfer capability for hardcore on field sports shooter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 08 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from the Sony A73 about 6 weeks ago, and the A9 is Fabulous, I like to capture wildlife and the A9 Focusing and the continuous view in the viewfinder is Amazing, especially capturing birds in flight. I would definitely recommend the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Ergonomically not great but surpasses all other ca

ILCE-9 21 September 2020 by Janner1406 (United Kingdom)

Having transferred from DSLRs to mirrorless with the Sony A7III and waiting for the release (not forthcoming) of the A7IV upgraded to the Sony A9. No regrets. The Tracking AI of this camera is truly superb and suits my genre of photography, wildlife and aviation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amzing auto focus.

ILCE-9 19 August 2020 by Richo2440 (United Kingdom)

Amazing camera, wildlife photographers dream. The focus system is amazing

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

grainy quality pictures after canon

ILCE-9 06 August 2020 by mr mac (United Kingdom)

impossible to get cash back. suggest for customer who has spent a very considerable amount of money with sony it should be better

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

This is a pro camera ideally for sports

ILCE-9 15 July 2020 by steve from notts (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic camera for pros otherwise an a7mkiii is certainly good enough The auto focus system in the a9 is the very very best better than the nikon d5 or d500 and certainly better than anything cannon makes . The a7rmkiii is the very best do anything camera The a 9 is better for sports hope this helps steve

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect For High Speed Action

ILCE-9 19 June 2020 by Goob Pics (Australia)

I mainly use the a9 for skateboarding, & the 20fps helps me twofold get that exact moment, that has been very hard to get in the past. The a9 has made me a lot lazier & confident I'll get the shoot. The focusing capability of it is beyond any other camera also. I recommend this camera for anyone who needs exact timing, with all the other features the Alpha Full Frame Series of cameras has. If you want a camera for any other purpose than high speed focusing, I'd recommend the a7rIV. It's perfect for birds/aircraft in flight, sports or anything where a split second matters.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

great Shape

ILCE9/B 28 May 2020 by cherry2572 (USA)

Greater than i had expected!! i want to get this products for a long time. Especially, beautiful mirrorless feature.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use compared to DSLR

ILCE-9 14 May 2020 by McPor (United Kingdom)

AF is amazing and customisation of camera is excellent. Really happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super fast

ILCE-9 03 April 2020 by Edh87 (United Kingdom)

Best focus system I’ve ever used, great image quality which is what I needed for wildlife and my dogs, only down sides are limited functions when buffering, the body is not the most comfortable one and no exposure compensation lock, they have improved alot of this with the mk ii and a7r iv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pro camera for action

ILCE-9 07 February 2020 by dovydas (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from Sony a7 III to shoot wildlife and birds in flight. It is the best body for the action you could get!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent in every way!

ILCE-9 03 December 2019 by Nick100 (United Kingdom)

After some deliberation I moved over to the Sony a9 from my Canon system and have no regrets at all. The camera is really well built, menu easy to use and the three custom buttons really useful! The autofocus is excellent and a great improvement on my last system. I can’t praise the camera and Sony lenses enough!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic eye focusing

ILCE-9 26 October 2019 by Loobylou9 (United Kingdom)

It has taken a while to navigate around the controls but fantastic camera and quality lighter than most too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sensor, who designed the firmware???

ILCE-9 12 October 2019 by AshMills (United Kingdom)

I am a full time professional photographer. I have migrated to Sony because of the lens range and sensor design. The moment to moment real-world handling and operation of this camera is however really poor. For instance- if you want to see the results you are taking you need auto review turned on, which is normal in theory except you have to re press the shutter to carry on shooting, rather than keeping it half pressed while shooting (without interruption) then release and see the last photo!! This is SO fundamental!!! Please pass this on. Other very annoying things include: can’t re-map video recording button, OS shouting at you if you press something that is disabled while shooting, and not having a swivelling screen!! (Are Sony shooters just not supposed to take low angle portrait orientation shots?!!) This system is currently really flawed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

5

0

The camera with the fastes autofocus on the world

ILCE-9 08 October 2019 by agubariu (United Kingdom)

I switched after using Canon for more then 10 years. The reason I switched is the eye/face auto-focus. The only things that I miss is the better color reproduction (in specially skin tones), a fully articulated screen (most for protecting the screen from scratches and taking low level shots in portrait mode) an the lack of sensor dust protection when switching lenses. Also I wish some native f1.2 lenses. And a more better design menu with touch functionality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 06 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

First of all, I’ve only given 4stars because I only wished the body had weather sealing. Otherwise I find it the perfect camera. Brilliant fast focusing, lightweight, good battery life and fast shutter! That’s all I need.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features!

ILCE-9 04 October 2019 by markyl (United Kingdom)

i typically shoot Canon but for a number of reason i have decided to try a Sony sytem and so far im very impressed. Also since owning the camera there have been 2 firware updates that have made great improvements to an already great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Superb camara

ILCE-9 23 September 2019 by Nikonflyfisher (United Kingdom)

Been Nikon man for 40 years, now made the shift to Sony A9. Wow, the best Bird Camera I have ever tried. I am so happy with this camera, never look back on Nikon.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Switched from Nikon to Sony A9

ILCE-9 19 August 2019 by maxjam (USA)

I love the camera, but what;s fraudsters me is the compatibility with Sony remote commander RMT-P1BT and imaging edge mobile app lack of support. I don't understand how Sony flagship camera is lagging Sony A7r III in terms with available features and compatibility with Sony native applications and accessories. I reach out to support but never heard anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An absolute game changer.

ILCE-9 29 July 2019 by MrLauriie (United Kingdom)

Having done some mixed amateur/professional photography with the Sony a7 II, I wanted to overcome the issues with AF that it had. I was seriously missing out on a number of photos, especially in fast pace sport-like moments. I also produced a few different films for clients and was keen to keep that possibility open - again AF was an issue here. The a9 has not stopped surprising me since I bought it 8 months ago. This is a combination of the cameras hardware, but also its firmware - which Sony keep updating.. Thank you! The fact that there is no black-out whilst shooting and the focus tracking is so 'sticky', the a9 is a dream to work with. I've taken just over 10,000 photos and about 10 hours worth of video, of which, a much higher percentage can be shown to the client then before with the a7 II. I find myself focusing far more on the composition now, which is a good thing. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for an AF machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great lightweight full frame camera

ILCE-9 28 July 2019 by greeneyes27 (United Kingdom)

I've moved over to Sony from Nikon because primarily, I wanted to lighten up the load I was carrying on weddings, and was excited to use the incredibly eye auto focus system and silent mode with the high end Sony's. Electronic shutter/ silent mode is a dream to use during wedding ceremonies. Overall, this camera will not disappoint. It's great for all the reasons I wanted it for - lightness, quietness and great auto focussing. It meets nearly all my needs. I've not yet found it as good as I'd expected in low light, even with good prime lenses, and some of the ergonomics need adjusting, with a few key buttons being slightly larger/ more raised on the body. Whilst the body size is brilliant, for people with big hands, it's a bit small but too much bigger and it would be as big as the DSLR's I've moved away from. I've had to hunt around for a few settings in the menu, which weren't as straightforward as they should have been (eg assigning role to card 1 & card 2). The lens release button isn't in the most accessible place either. These things aside, it's still a great camera and game change from DSLR's to mirrorless and I'd highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0