66

4.7 based on 66 customer reviews

49
14
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20 August 2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04 September 2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

7

66 Customer Reviews

0

Switched from Nikon to Sony A9

ILCE-9 19 August 2019 by maxjam (USA)

I love the camera, but what;s fraudsters me is the compatibility with Sony remote commander RMT-P1BT and imaging edge mobile app lack of support. I don't understand how Sony flagship camera is lagging Sony A7r III in terms with available features and compatibility with Sony native applications and accessories. I reach out to support but never heard anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An absolute game changer.

ILCE-9 29 July 2019 by MrLauriie (United Kingdom)

Having done some mixed amateur/professional photography with the Sony a7 II, I wanted to overcome the issues with AF that it had. I was seriously missing out on a number of photos, especially in fast pace sport-like moments. I also produced a few different films for clients and was keen to keep that possibility open - again AF was an issue here. The a9 has not stopped surprising me since I bought it 8 months ago. This is a combination of the cameras hardware, but also its firmware - which Sony keep updating.. Thank you! The fact that there is no black-out whilst shooting and the focus tracking is so 'sticky', the a9 is a dream to work with. I've taken just over 10,000 photos and about 10 hours worth of video, of which, a much higher percentage can be shown to the client then before with the a7 II. I find myself focusing far more on the composition now, which is a good thing. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for an AF machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great lightweight full frame camera

ILCE-9 28 July 2019 by greeneyes27 (United Kingdom)

I've moved over to Sony from Nikon because primarily, I wanted to lighten up the load I was carrying on weddings, and was excited to use the incredibly eye auto focus system and silent mode with the high end Sony's. Electronic shutter/ silent mode is a dream to use during wedding ceremonies. Overall, this camera will not disappoint. It's great for all the reasons I wanted it for - lightness, quietness and great auto focussing. It meets nearly all my needs. I've not yet found it as good as I'd expected in low light, even with good prime lenses, and some of the ergonomics need adjusting, with a few key buttons being slightly larger/ more raised on the body. Whilst the body size is brilliant, for people with big hands, it's a bit small but too much bigger and it would be as big as the DSLR's I've moved away from. I've had to hunt around for a few settings in the menu, which weren't as straightforward as they should have been (eg assigning role to card 1 & card 2). The lens release button isn't in the most accessible place either. These things aside, it's still a great camera and game change from DSLR's to mirrorless and I'd highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Swapping from Canon

ILCE-9 15 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

The focus on this camera is incredable. Having read reviews I had high expectations for the a9, I wasn't dissapionted!! This camera nails focus no matter what even when the Sigma MC 11 is used, I'm totally sold on the Sony.. Can't recommend it enough!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Go mirrorless!

ILCE-9 06 July 2019 by On the Rock (United Kingdom)

I've just purchased the Sony A9 together with the 24-70 GM lens and this has been an excellent choice. Originally I have been a loyal Canon user and originally went to purchase the Canon 5D, but whilst at my at my local supplierer tried it then move to the Sony A9 and thats all it took. Beautiful camera together with the lens which was my biggest concern for choice. Sony is definately the choice of the moment due to the step up in technology without a doubt. If you are planning to purchase go to your local supplier and give the Sony A9 a try you may not look back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dream come true

ILCE-9 17 June 2019 by Furzer (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about a month ago I up graded from the Sony A77ii to the Sony A7iii and now to the A9 this is the a dream of a camera, I am retired hobby photographer of about 8 years experience so this A9 is way more than I need but I am not going back I am learning so much with this camera I am not able to give a product type review but I think this camera has it all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

New to a9

ILCE-9 31 May 2019 by Tonyboat (United Kingdom)

I bought it one month ago so I still have a lot to learn, but I am very impressed. I owned a canon 1DX mk2 but have traded in all. I have so far bought sony A9,24-105,100-400,1.4 ex,16-35, and 90 macro lens. very pleased and impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Focus

ILCE-9 08 May 2019  (United Kingdom)

This camera is stunning, the focus is incredibly fast and bang on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

What a beast!

ILCE-9 25 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

I came late to the 'mirrorless party' but boy, am I glad I purchased the A9. Coming from DSLRs with 9 AF points to 693, is a revelation. I installed v.5 of the firmware immediately on purchase of the camera and haven't looked back since. I love the AF, weight, customisation and general feel of the camera. I went back a week later and purchased the battery grip (big hands). I am still enjoying 'playing' with my a9, and I cannot see that wearing off any time soon. Having read a lot of negative reviews about the menu systems on Sony cameras in general, I took the plunge on the a9 and honestly, I don't know what all the fuss was about. Take the time to run through them, familiarise yourself with them, and get on with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Mr Kerr

ILCE-9 23 April 2019 by felicitys dad2 (United Kingdom)

Purchased a9 camera from the advice of the very helpful staff at Carlisle Sony Centre. The camera has lived up to all expectations, and some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 13 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great camera but where are the 600mm lens Sony it's time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I absolutely LOVE this camera

ILCE-9 05 April 2019 by Conrads (USA)

I switched from Canon last year and purchased the a7r iii and fell in love with that. I saw the release notes for the a9 firmware version 5.0 and knew I had to own this camera. I had to wait till the end of the month to get 5.0, but boy, was it worth the wait. The autofocus now is just crazy. The silent shooting is amazing. I don't want to leave the house without this camera. The a9, in my opinion, is the best camera ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The future is here.

ILCE-9 03 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

Simply the best camera I have ever owned. Amazing AF, picture quality and technology. The only negative is the terminology and in depth custom menus that need to be simplified.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 01 April 2019 by Tg4510 (USA)

Hi maybe the next a9 camera will have 54 megapixel sencer and a better low light sencer and a screen that flips out on the side for vloging and selfies and i realy like the a9 but it laks those features.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

A9 The most amazing camera ..Thanks Sony

ILCE-9 01 April 2019 by Chrisww (United Kingdom)

Bought last year and just upgraded to version 5..Wow fantastic like a new camera. Focus tracking incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The A9 is an electronic genius

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The A9 performance is top pro level great ISO and with brilliant focusing an absolute pleasure to use I would fully recommend this electronic marvel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent action camera.

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Pete2423 (United Kingdom)

I required a fast and accurate focusing camera for birds and insects in flight to replace my Sony A7II and compliment my Sony A7III. The A9 was the obvious choice. After just a week of owning mine, I am pleased to report it is even better than expected: and, from my point of view, the forthcoming updates will make it superior to anything else currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a9, the best camera that I have ever owned

ILCE-9 05 March 2019 by G0WYN (United Kingdom)

My main interest in picture taking is motor racing and other action photography. I found that the a9 was much superior to any other camera that I had used for this with it's ability to shoot 20 fps and focus on each image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Blisteringly fast & accurate Autofocus and burst

ILCE-9 07 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom)

I cam to Sony after many years with DSLR and latterly an alternative Mirrorless brand. The ability to move back to Full Frame, coupled with a best in class autofocus system has not let me down. I am very impressed with the overall package delivered by the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 24 January 2019 by DeerekMacLean (United Kingdom)

I purchased this almost two weeks ago and I am glad I did. Having been a Nikon user for almost 30 yrs I was looking for a more up to date camera. I was considering an Olympus system but when I reviewed the Sony I was really impressed. Added to the fact that I got a great trade in for my Nikon kit and a £400 reduction on the A9 I couldn't resist. The only small issue is that the menu system is complex but it is just a matter of getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely fantastic

ILCE-9 08 January 2019 by Kazls (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera a few weeks ago and totally blown away, came over from using Olympus for the last 10 years and wow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features, little easy and handy

ILCE-9 17 December 2018 by Havare62 (United Kingdom)

Bought camera a few months ago, and is very pleased, taking sharp pictures and, not least, easy and little

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Terrifyingly Fast!

ILCE-9 06 November 2018 by Idjbell (United Kingdom)

What an amazing camera. I was drawn to it for the speed for use with sports. photography however it offers so much more- autofocus and eye tracking are sensational. It took me a while to get used to just how good it is and hand over trust that it will sort things out. I've taken 15000 shots in 4 months and I've got the shot I wanted every time. I made the switch when I realised my previous equipment, albeit top of the range, couldn't cope with what I wanted. The senor size of my previous camera was holding me back. Sadly the A9 isn't perfect and for the next version I hope Sony will make it fully weatherproof, include a flip out screen, change the ergonomics- make it a bit bigger- this camera is for professionals but it rides off the back of an enthusiast body- eg I struggle with back button focus as I use my left eye for the viewfinder- I had more space and a better lay out on a top micro four thirds camera from which I came. Change these things and then it will be the most perfect camera ever. For now though it does enough to get it 5 stars for features and quality of the photos its produces. I can't think of another camera I'd rather be using right now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Sony's a9 didn't disappoint

ILCE-9 08 October 2018  (United Kingdom)

A few months ago I made the decision to upgrade my equipment. After spending several weeks researching all the various brands I decided to make the switch from Canon to Sony. Because of the nature of the work I do, I needed a set of cameras and lenses that I could be confident wouldn't let me down in critical situations. For the sport and wildlife I choose the a9 because of the speed and silent shooting which to date has proved itself invaluable around animals, and at events where noise has to be kept to a minimum. The focus speed and 20fps of the a9 is outstanding. The camera is a good weight, nice and light but not light it feels like plastic. The menu system is complex but once you find your way around it and begin to customise the buttons it soon becomes easy to navigate. Battery power is good, I've shot several games, shooting hundreds of images and never found it a problem. Even the digital in crop feature is useful at some sporting events, increasing the range from 400mm to 600mm in an instance. I've dabbled a little in the 4k video and to say i'm highly impressed is an understatement. Handheld video using the sony's 5 stop in camera images stablisation is impressive. Something I am more and more being ask to do. There's so much more I love about the a9 but the last thing I'll mention which is another show stopper for me is the no black out shooting. Being able to watch the action continue as you shoot is weird at first but now I couldn't live without it. All in all I couldn't be happier with my choice to swap from Canon to Sony and whilst using their flagship cameras isn't cheap, finding the right deal at the right made the whole switch extremely good value for me and my whole camera bag is over 5kg less in weight now too. Mirrorless is the future and to a certain extent the a9 is somewhat future proof for everything I'll need now and for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1