59

4.6 based on 59 customer reviews

43
13
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20 August 2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04 September 2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

7

59 Customer Reviews

0

Focus

ILCE-9 08 May 2019  (United Kingdom)

This camera is stunning, the focus is incredibly fast and bang on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a beast!

ILCE-9 25 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

I came late to the 'mirrorless party' but boy, am I glad I purchased the A9. Coming from DSLRs with 9 AF points to 693, is a revelation. I installed v.5 of the firmware immediately on purchase of the camera and haven't looked back since. I love the AF, weight, customisation and general feel of the camera. I went back a week later and purchased the battery grip (big hands). I am still enjoying 'playing' with my a9, and I cannot see that wearing off any time soon. Having read a lot of negative reviews about the menu systems on Sony cameras in general, I took the plunge on the a9 and honestly, I don't know what all the fuss was about. Take the time to run through them, familiarise yourself with them, and get on with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr Kerr

ILCE-9 23 April 2019 by felicitys dad2 (United Kingdom)

Purchased a9 camera from the advice of the very helpful staff at Carlisle Sony Centre. The camera has lived up to all expectations, and some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 13 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great camera but where are the 600mm lens Sony it's time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I absolutely LOVE this camera

ILCE-9 05 April 2019 by Conrads (USA)

I switched from Canon last year and purchased the a7r iii and fell in love with that. I saw the release notes for the a9 firmware version 5.0 and knew I had to own this camera. I had to wait till the end of the month to get 5.0, but boy, was it worth the wait. The autofocus now is just crazy. The silent shooting is amazing. I don't want to leave the house without this camera. The a9, in my opinion, is the best camera ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The future is here.

ILCE-9 03 April 2019  (United Kingdom)

Simply the best camera I have ever owned. Amazing AF, picture quality and technology. The only negative is the terminology and in depth custom menus that need to be simplified.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 01 April 2019 by Tg4510 (USA)

Hi maybe the next a9 camera will have 54 megapixel sencer and a better low light sencer and a screen that flips out on the side for vloging and selfies and i realy like the a9 but it laks those features.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

A9 The most amazing camera ..Thanks Sony

ILCE-9 01 April 2019 by Chrisww (United Kingdom)

Bought last year and just upgraded to version 5..Wow fantastic like a new camera. Focus tracking incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The A9 is an electronic genius

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The A9 performance is top pro level great ISO and with brilliant focusing an absolute pleasure to use I would fully recommend this electronic marvel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent action camera.

ILCE-9 15 March 2019 by Pete2423 (United Kingdom)

I required a fast and accurate focusing camera for birds and insects in flight to replace my Sony A7II and compliment my Sony A7III. The A9 was the obvious choice. After just a week of owning mine, I am pleased to report it is even better than expected: and, from my point of view, the forthcoming updates will make it superior to anything else currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a9, the best camera that I have ever owned

ILCE-9 05 March 2019 by G0WYN (United Kingdom)

My main interest in picture taking is motor racing and other action photography. I found that the a9 was much superior to any other camera that I had used for this with it's ability to shoot 20 fps and focus on each image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Blisteringly fast & accurate Autofocus and burst

ILCE-9 07 February 2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom)

I cam to Sony after many years with DSLR and latterly an alternative Mirrorless brand. The ability to move back to Full Frame, coupled with a best in class autofocus system has not let me down. I am very impressed with the overall package delivered by the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 24 January 2019 by DeerekMacLean (United Kingdom)

I purchased this almost two weeks ago and I am glad I did. Having been a Nikon user for almost 30 yrs I was looking for a more up to date camera. I was considering an Olympus system but when I reviewed the Sony I was really impressed. Added to the fact that I got a great trade in for my Nikon kit and a £400 reduction on the A9 I couldn't resist. The only small issue is that the menu system is complex but it is just a matter of getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely fantastic

ILCE-9 08 January 2019 by Kazls (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera a few weeks ago and totally blown away, came over from using Olympus for the last 10 years and wow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features, little easy and handy

ILCE-9 17 December 2018 by Havare62 (United Kingdom)

Bought camera a few months ago, and is very pleased, taking sharp pictures and, not least, easy and little

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Terrifyingly Fast!

ILCE-9 06 November 2018 by Idjbell (United Kingdom)

What an amazing camera. I was drawn to it for the speed for use with sports. photography however it offers so much more- autofocus and eye tracking are sensational. It took me a while to get used to just how good it is and hand over trust that it will sort things out. I've taken 15000 shots in 4 months and I've got the shot I wanted every time. I made the switch when I realised my previous equipment, albeit top of the range, couldn't cope with what I wanted. The senor size of my previous camera was holding me back. Sadly the A9 isn't perfect and for the next version I hope Sony will make it fully weatherproof, include a flip out screen, change the ergonomics- make it a bit bigger- this camera is for professionals but it rides off the back of an enthusiast body- eg I struggle with back button focus as I use my left eye for the viewfinder- I had more space and a better lay out on a top micro four thirds camera from which I came. Change these things and then it will be the most perfect camera ever. For now though it does enough to get it 5 stars for features and quality of the photos its produces. I can't think of another camera I'd rather be using right now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Sony's a9 didn't disappoint

ILCE-9 08 October 2018  (United Kingdom)

A few months ago I made the decision to upgrade my equipment. After spending several weeks researching all the various brands I decided to make the switch from Canon to Sony. Because of the nature of the work I do, I needed a set of cameras and lenses that I could be confident wouldn't let me down in critical situations. For the sport and wildlife I choose the a9 because of the speed and silent shooting which to date has proved itself invaluable around animals, and at events where noise has to be kept to a minimum. The focus speed and 20fps of the a9 is outstanding. The camera is a good weight, nice and light but not light it feels like plastic. The menu system is complex but once you find your way around it and begin to customise the buttons it soon becomes easy to navigate. Battery power is good, I've shot several games, shooting hundreds of images and never found it a problem. Even the digital in crop feature is useful at some sporting events, increasing the range from 400mm to 600mm in an instance. I've dabbled a little in the 4k video and to say i'm highly impressed is an understatement. Handheld video using the sony's 5 stop in camera images stablisation is impressive. Something I am more and more being ask to do. There's so much more I love about the a9 but the last thing I'll mention which is another show stopper for me is the no black out shooting. Being able to watch the action continue as you shoot is weird at first but now I couldn't live without it. All in all I couldn't be happier with my choice to swap from Canon to Sony and whilst using their flagship cameras isn't cheap, finding the right deal at the right made the whole switch extremely good value for me and my whole camera bag is over 5kg less in weight now too. Mirrorless is the future and to a certain extent the a9 is somewhat future proof for everything I'll need now and for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Best camera ever!!!

ILCE-9 27 July 2018 by rob47uk (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as my main wedding photography camera. I have been blown away by it. The silent shooting is fantastic during ceremonies. The fast silent shooting is also fantastic especially useful for confetti shots, walking up the aisle, first kiss etc. The focussing modes are fab. The low light performance has been fab. It’s light and even with a heavy lens like the 24-70 GM I am not feeling tired at the end of a long day. I have also used it for my other passion which is horse show jumping events. This is where the silent fast frame rate and tracking focus really comes in handy. One word Awesome!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 20 July 2018 by BobRriach (United Kingdom)

Really fast shutter and silent great for wildlife and sport photography

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Almost Perfect.

ILCE-9 04 July 2018 by Edward2 (USA)

My first impressions with a Sony a9 after using for 6 months while in transition from another professional camera outfitter. General. 1. Two SD card slots; a fast one in slot 1 and a slow in 2; both should have been the same. 2. No USB 3 3. Advertised as 20 f/s but this only if using compressed files. Using uncompressed files drops to 12f/s. 4. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth available but connectivity with Samsung or iPhone unreliable; stop using it. 5. Complex Menu requiring long learning curve and poor descriptive manual. 6. This may be only me but when using polarizers, the effect is hard to see in the Electronic Finder. Poor Ergonomics. 1. If coming from a top professional grade camera, a grip is a must since the body is too small and this still will not overcome various issues (see below). 2. The advantages of getting a smaller and lighter camera are not there. The a9 with a grip weights just a pound less when compared with top professional grade cameras that have the grip built-in. 3. EV Compensation Wheel too small and very hard to turn. Advantages. 1. Outstanding AF that covers 90% of the finder lighting fast; equal or better than my top of the line professional digital mirror camera. 2. Amazing image quality. 3. Silent shooting 4. Histogram in the viewfinder...what you see is what you get; no chiming. 5. All buttons and wheel can be customized to the user's needs. Other Issues. A. The Grip when used in the portrait position: 1. Only # 1 and 2 programmable buttons are included; # 4 can is reachable but #3 is not. 2. No EV compensation wheel. The Grip when used in the landscape position: 1. The portrait shutter button accidentally activated when shooting landscape so one has to turn off the grip. It will be nice if when in landscape use, grip shutter portrait button would be automatically disengage. B. There is gap seen between the body and the grip; not a big issue but never seen this with other cameras. For the Sony a9 to become top choice for professional users, the ergonomics will have to improve with larger buttons (illuminated ones will be great) and a bigger body with a built-in grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

High quality, silent capture for live events

ILCE-9 30 June 2018 by pjtk1234 (United Kingdom)

This is the best mirrorless professional camera on the market and produces images of high quality but the camera has over complicated menus and the customs controls can suddenly freeze so that you are stuck with a focusing mode you don't want. There is no way to resolve this apart from going back into the menu to change settings by which time you've missed the shot! Also the camera allows for 2 SD cards but doesn't automatically switch from one to the other when one becomes full. You have to do that in the menu. Formatting is also extremely slow. Overall a great camera but until Sony fix the bugs I rely on my Nixon D5 cameras, unless I have to work in complete silence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

0

Quick.....

ILCE-9 22 June 2018 by MicroPete (United Kingdom)

Purchased the A9 for action as other camera refused to capture birds in flight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

No rolling shutter

ILCE-9 10 June 2018 by Sebastian Squirrel (United Kingdom)

I work as a stills photographer on film sets where silence is compulsory. For years I used Nikons, or Canons, housed in sound proof blimps. The blimps were never completely sound proof, and were cumbersome to use. My first Sony was an A7Rii which was completely silent while using the electronic shutter, but it did suffer from "rolling shutter" causing fast moving subjects to distort. Then I bought an A9. This is a fantastic camera!!! Absolutely no rolling shutter distortion. As with all Sony Alpha cameras the flip out screen affords you waist level operation which is another fantastic benefit above the Nikon and Canon rivals. I have actually sold all my Nikon and Canon kit, plus their blimps. I even sold my Leica M9 as the Sony A9 is far superior. Buy one, you'll love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Focus monster

ILCE-9 11 May 2018 by Recon (United Kingdom)

I have been looking to get into the serious end of photography for a while now and was lucky enough to not be already financially tied into a brand, which gave me carte blanche as far as new gear goes. I also wanted a travel camera and ended up getting the RX 10 Mk4, which was a jaw dropping intro to Sony cameras, 24-600mm lens and 24 fps(superb feature!) being the two outstanding features that lifts this camera to a level unimaginable 10 years ago. The quality of this camera made choosing the A9(almost went for A7R3....) farily straightforward. I wanted a high fps rate as I shoot a fair bit of action, good low light capability as I shoot a lot of concerts and I wanted to go full frame for that extra bit of quality. In use the A9 is a really solid bit of kit. It is built like a tank, heavy in all the right ways and has an incredible array of features. Having got used to Sony's menu setups with the RX10 I found it easy to set up eye recognition, turn the camera into a fully silent shooter and was able to figure out the key features quickly. The reason I ended up going for the A9 over the A7R3 was the focussing system. No point in having twice as many pixels if they ain't in focus. This camera will focus on all sorts of things that would defeat normal AF and can track it all the way across the screen. Centre focus really is right tight in the centre. Flexible spot is good for focussing off centre. Tracking focus is outstanding. It can even focus on midges floating around in the sunlight. More pixels would have been good, but we can't have everything I guess. As it is the camera produces superb images, accurate colours can shoot in light that would be too weak for a lot of other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0