50

4.6 based on 50 customer reviews

35
11
4
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01 January 2016 by Freekorps (United Kingdom)

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 21 April 2016 by pinky the mouse (United Kingdom)

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

7

5

50 Customer Reviews

0

Love it love it love it

ILCE-7SM2 15 July 2019 by Doofee (United Kingdom)

Bought for my daughter who loves making films; it ticks all the boxes for her: quality of film, slow motion, zooming in, to name just a few. Not cheap but, worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Low light supremo

ILCE-7SM2 23 June 2019 by Sinc (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for a specific job, which involved filming bioluminescent Dinoflagellate algae - the camera lived up to its reputation, with a maximum ISO of 409,600 it captured the brief flashes of light emitted by the algae. I then tried it for macro filming of insects in the wild and the results are gorgeous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Two years in - Still great!

Body Only 09 May 2019 by Ronnie C (USA)

I love this camera. I have owned it for two years now and it has been perfect. I only wish it had 4k 60fps. That is the only thing I'm waiting for to upgrade to the next chapter of Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

EXCELENT CAMERA

Body Only 05 May 2019 by IVANNAVA (USA)

I BOUGHT THIS ONE WEEK AGO AND IT'S AWESOME I WOULD RECOMEND THIS CAMERA

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Knight owl

ILCE-7SM2 02 May 2019 by Abu Foysol (United Kingdom)

Most amazing piece of equipment I ever bought, I’ve shot amazing video with the Sony A7sii specially in low light, S log is brilliant, some of Sony A7sii footage I compared with Arrie camera and no one could tell the difference. amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent features but poor reliability

ILCE-7SM2 03 April 2019 by N12NJA (United Kingdom)

Love this cameras images and videos but unfortunately after the warranty period the camera developed problems with its image stabilisation system. This seems to be a very common issue (turn off and on again error but doesn't resolve it) and so it is unfortunate Sony will not fix it as a known fault with the build.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the move from Canon

ILCE-7SM2 15 February 2019 by DomSabinePro (United Kingdom)

So happy with my a7s2 for video, photos arent the best but the video is incredible! Which is why I bought it anyway.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review RSM 7asII

ILCE-7SM2 28 January 2019 by CMMPRODUCTIONS (United Kingdom)

Bought this DSLR camera. Extremely clear sharp photography. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

low light amazing sharp

ILCE-7SM2 13 July 2018 by eduardo_g (United Kingdom)

perfect for budget low light professional filming. the only problem i found it is the limit of 25 fps on 4k

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome in low light

ILCE-7SM2 10 June 2018 by Live Aurora Network (United Kingdom)

Used this camera and lens for the Aurora, it worked so well I bought some more of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect filming companion

ILCE-7SM2 09 June 2018 by HarryKnight (United Kingdom)

This sony A7Sii has been a great step up from my previous DSLR when it comes to video. I am loving the internal stablisation, the custom buttons and custom function menu. It is giving me a lot of control to make it my own. I'm still adjusting to using it for photos as I came from Canon. I have found it to be a little bit less intuitive but this may just be as I've only used Canon previously and need to get more comfortable with the feel of it. Although it's primarliy used for video so it's been the perfect upgrade and the build quality is also much better than my previous EOS 600D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely Amazing

ILCE-7SM2 03 April 2018 by Zuka (United Kingdom)

It's one awesome camera, I love everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional low light tool

ILCE-7SM2 01 April 2018 by Dewar (United Kingdom)

Bought for low light video and photography, I was delighted with the overall quality. I have not yet used it in the field (wildlife) but local tests indicate it will deliver the quality required. I am impressed with the full range of features and capabilities for both stills (especially in RAW mode) and video. With use of converters, I can not only use my excellent full frame Sony A Mount lenses but also my huge range of superb Olympus OM lenses and also the Pentax K 1000mm f11.0. This camera has opened up new video and still options for me and I should have bought it earlier. The price was the main obstacle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

FANTASTICALLY INTUITIVE HANDLING, AMAZING QUALITY

ILCE-7SM2 11 February 2018 by Imogen (United Kingdom)

Just got back from filming in Dahab, Egypt, on my new A7S, bought just two weeks before to replace my kit stolen in a house burglary. I went from the Sony Z7 video (it had great qualities for the work I was doing, but I needed something more discrete, for the sometimes sensitive situations I film in). This camera is a beautiful little machine, it allowed me to film in every level of light down to deep night, with clean, fabulous quality. Couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An incredible camera.

ILCE-7SM2 03 February 2018 by SiHaze (United Kingdom)

I've recently upgraded to Sony a7sii and have been blown away by the quality of this camera. I'm using it to shoot a variety of videos and so far everything has come out a thousand times better than I thought was possible under my control. I was a lil terrified of all the settings at first but after spending a few hours playing around the footage I can get is incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

greatness

Body Only 18 January 2018  (USA)

I was nervous to spend so much on a item, but now that I have it, I would buy it two more times. just wish the life on it would last longer honestly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 17 January 2018 by Shaun M (USA)

I really like the A7SII, the quality is awesome! The best feature is the low light quality IMO.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice! (pre-judge).

Body Only 16 January 2018  (USA)

I just got mind. I've been looking up the video walk-through and reviews online via Sony and some websites i trust. Before this one I had the I had a Panasonic GH-5 DSLR , I wanted the six but I'll give this a go since it's more expensive. they are from the same country so why not you know? Well, I'll give you guys an update soon!

1

5

0

See in the dark

ILCE-7SM2 15 January 2018 by Andy2754 (United Kingdom)

Lovely full frame mirrorless camera. Nice build quality and ergonomics. The best thing about the camera is the sensor, which is incredible in low light conditions, enabling shooting in extremely low light without the need for longer exposures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Insane Camera

ILCE-7SM2 12 January 2018 by Billy18375 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera for the quality and it is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup -with great quality outcomes

ILCE-7SM2 07 January 2018 by NAmedia (United Kingdom)

I’m new to this camera, yet it feels so natural. The quality and focus is sharp, and it allows me to explore my creativity.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera that can take pictures at night.

Body Only 13 December 2017 by tranthudo (USA)

I am waiting to get my sony 35mm F1.4 to work with this camera. It has 4 custome buttons that I don't have to go through the menu to set up my camera. The picture can be use in over 25,000 ISO.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A keeper

ILCE-7SM2 18 November 2017 by Remoran (USA)

I have used the A7SII for over a year and stunning says it all. From stills to video, especially in low light, the system performs as advertised. Have shot in all conditions with no complications save that the sensor is a dust magnet and must be cleaned from time to time. Have shot with vintage lenses to great advantage without issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great images, brilliant for video

ILCE-7SM2 14 October 2017 by Jondle (United Kingdom)

I'm a professional filmmaker and editor and I was was looking a new camera for work. I chose the A7sii for the size, image quality and choice of control. However I was very impressed with the images in lower light conditions, when filming. I work with theatres and this camera is perfect for those conditions when you need to increase the ISO and still get great video. 4k is amazing too. Overall a great camera. Would recommend to anyone this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0