65

4.4 based on 65 customer reviews

43
14
3
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great low light, wonderful when well lit

Body Only 20 December 2014 by duotone (USA)

All the complaints about no 4k is crazy. Seriously, for those complaining about no 4k, go buy a different camera, like the GH4. Of course if you do, then you'll be complaining about the lack of low light abilities.... crazy.... I bought TWO a7s bodies strictly for the low light. Period. Done. There is NO match to the a7s. My commercial work for clients is 95% very low light, and very dusty conditions. The a7s is good. Crazy good! And not just for video, either. I shoot stills (landscape) and print them 60" wide on canvas, and they look very good.... If you want great dynamic range, and wonderful low light video, then buy this. If you want 4k on the cheap, go somewhere else, but you;ll be back to buy this eventually.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Banding Problems

Body Only 28 April 2015 by bcolomby (USA)

A great camera for videos. Amazing ISO threshold... can literally shoot in the dark. The silent shutter is a wonderful feature. The problem is, when you shoot in low light situations, there's a banding (stripes) issue, that can ruin your photos. My friend bought the same camera and is having the same issue with the banding. We were told by technical support that it's because of the silent shutter. We turned that feature off and still saw the banding.

5

0

65 Customer Reviews

0

low light sensitivity good for astronomy

ILCE-7S 15 October 2018 by rob5353 (United Kingdom)

I bought the a7s for astronomy after using my a72 for general photography excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature

Body Only 28 August 2018 by Rajvir (USA)

i bought this 3 year ago and very happy this. i bought this 3 year ago and very happy this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Immense image quality

ILCE-7S 10 March 2018 by Stork (United Kingdom)

Fabulous all round - apart from the weird frictionless shutter release button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Tech for Vintage Look

ilce7sb 17 January 2018 by Dave2112 (USA)

Bought this to replace a full frame competitor that is wearing out. I also wanted to eagerly use some vintage Rokkor Minolta lenses I've had on hand forever. Super Pleased!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A very versatile camera (in my view)

ILCE-7S 24 November 2017 by bazerbee (United Kingdom)

After spending a fair bit of time (age related issue!) getting to understand the nuances of the camera I was really surprised just how good it is, rapid shooting was impressive, numerous features, great for night photography which was the main reason for buying it. A very neat size yet robust. Very very pleased indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very good for my needs as stills photographer.

ILCE-7S 15 April 2017 by Melbourne (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony A7s to shoot film stills. it's one of the only full frame cameras that shoots silently and also has top of the range high ISO ability, as a stills photographer these are two absolute requirements. I also use it for shooting video too which is very good.. I like the files from this camera and do not need mega pixels. I use this camera professionally and find it reliable and does what it says.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

More than a camera

ILCE-7S 19 March 2017 by mmaja (United Kingdom)

The Sony A7s is the perfect companion for every situation. Not only does it have the most detailed Full HD sensor of all cameras in this price range, but also the endless possibilities this camera gives are amazing. It starts with mounting pretty much every lens that was ever designed apart from the m43 standard and ends with low noise performance even in high ISO range. It is small, lightweight and unreached in pretty much every aspect in it's price range and way beyond that. There are a few things which should be improved (hopefully in future models) such as: - 4:3 video mode for anamorphic filming (i put this on top together with 4k 60p because it is sooo important) - internal 4k 60p - internal nd filter - Full HD slowmotion up to 240 frames - keep the menu system it's great, just make it a few less options - shutter button record video, I love the side button, which is great but it should be able to record on the shutter too, don't you think. - 2 sd card slots (pretty much every wedding videographer who is serious about his business uses this camera) we trust you sony, but we need that 2nd slot for double recording in case of card failure! - better and more codecs (the images sooc are amazing already, imagine what a 10bit prores or whatever could achieve) - give us some a6500 AF performance, not for video but for stills, 20mpx would be awesome too. I think that's pretty much it. Add my features and we have the perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

luvit all

Body Only 16 February 2017 by eherrera1 (USA)

great product definately will keep purchasingluvthe stuff

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great run&gun .

Body Only 18 January 2017 by tokjh (USA)

Beat up this camera on some very rugged shoots. Super durable. Extremely high quality, and amazing image. Keeping the sensor clean is a very delicate process; be extra careful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't take a bad shot.

ILCE-7S 11 November 2016 by Notgoliath (United Kingdom)

Loving the A7S. With the 1.8 55 lens, I'm suddenly far more talented. The best thing is the iso. Why do they even make the other cameras? I had the A7r for a day and immediately went back and swapped for the 7S. Stunning shots. I can see in the dark with style!! My only complaint and it's a big one, is Playmemorieshome and software upgrades and use of online features does NOT play nice with Windows 10. Come on Sony, the whole creative world is NOT on Mac. Sort this out now please.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best camera l've ever owned

ILCE-7S 10 September 2016 by Stefan_UK (United Kingdom)

I purchased this photographic revelation a while ago and it has proven it's worth. Despite it's 12 megapixel sensor it takes excellent stills and in low light situations it execels capturing vibrant colours even in the dimmest of lighting conditions. This camera is best suited for videography. You really have to own one to experience what would have been considered almost impossible a view years ago. Sony products have always been my first choice and have never let me down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

ILCE-7S 30 July 2016 by DuFi (United Kingdom)

I'm using it for 3 months and I'm happy to have this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

ILCE-7S 14 May 2016 by Cowboy mike (United Kingdom)

Great camera very disappointed with instructions book very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

EXCELLENT CAMERA FOR VIDEO

ILCE-7S 05 May 2016 by MD Khaled (United Kingdom)

This is the best dslr camera for video i ever used for my production.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent but more needed on battery & resolution

ILCE-7S 24 April 2016 by ElegantSolution (United Kingdom)

Product is excellent for landscape, night, portrait, zoom, and general photography. Not as good for extended use in video due to battery length limitations (2 hour videos) and timing (30 min videos only) and heating limitations (heats fast).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 11 February 2016 by ayam747 (United Kingdom)

I bought this about 2 or 3 weeks ago and its truly a fantastic camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Low Light, bad battery, not straightforward

ILCE-7S 30 January 2016 by Ant M (United Kingdom)

If you're coming from a Canon, you'll know the ergonomics are terrible on this camera, the ease of use is not so good, but there are Youtube vids to help, definitely look for an external battery source and a cage to help with ergonomics. Always good to join a forum to discover the potential of this camera. Picture quality and low light performance is great, a real upgrade from Canon rebel lines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 20 January 2016 by szmyk (United Kingdom)

Bought about 2 weeks ago as main astrophotography and night photo camera. My first impression on build quality is excellent, well made solid feel metal body. The only thing I don't like is the strap which looks very cheap. Company should improve that. Image quality is excellent, I could reach around 10 000ISO without much noise appearance. Still experimenting with the settings but I'm sure the one interested in low light photography will be very happy with this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony A7S

ILCE-7S 30 December 2015 by Shanvest (United Kingdom)

I love it for its compactness and digital viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent camera, especially for video BUT......

ILCE-7S 08 November 2015 by solkazu (United Kingdom)

I bought this just over six months ago. it has been a great camera, but is severely let down by battery performance, and the lack of low cost/low profile native lenses. I generally use 3rd party lenses with an adapter which is a great alternative, but it would be a massive improvement to see a range of small, light and low price lenses which match the potential of the body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing low light for video

ILCE-7S 11 September 2015 by ajchelsea (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for it's video capability. I had been using a Canon 7D but I needed something more flexible for lighting conditions. The low light ability of this camera along with S-log2 has greatly increased the quality of my work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera in its own field

ILCE-7S 09 July 2015 by ideas (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera six months ago. It has become my pet and a great tool in my hand. The satisfying results of video captured with this high end in small body media equipment brings you par with many of the industrial professional acquisition devices. There are features like HDR capture for photos which can be used if you need photos of higher quality than the 12MP the camera's limit. For now I have abandoned an idea to get a video camera. This seem enough for all my video acquisition and delivery requirements when the appropriate accessories are used. Adverts, wedding and poster creation, name them. The automatic switching of the viewfinder to monitor can be turned off if not required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible piece of engineering!

ILCE-7S 01 July 2015 by hectorsole (United Kingdom)

I can't believe how Sony Engineers could fit in this tiny package all this incredible features. Probably Sony is the best sensor maker company in the market right now, and for this tiny price you've got an incredible piece of engineering full of capabilities... This camera will be in a museum in the future, for how it changed the low light understanding and I'm sure will be the start of great new products either from Sony and competitors.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Gorgeous colours and fantastic range

ILCE-7S 29 June 2015 by Acteon (United Kingdom)

I've been using the A7S for a few weeks after agonising over the right model to choose - with an RX1R for hi-res shots, I opted for the A7S due to the fantastic colour range, shadow detail and night-time capabilities. I haven't been disappointed. I've produced some fantastic pictures on the camera and have only really dipped into its capabilities so far. Build quality is the usual high Sony standard, the camera feels perfect in-hand. The grip is perfect, the dials are suitably smooth and the weight is lighter than you might expect. Overall I'd highly recommend this camera for people who want to produce high quality shots, though anyone wanting super-enlarged prints might be better off with the A7R or even the upcoming A7RII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0