203

4.7 based on 203 customer reviews

152
42
4
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

The Best Camera I ever owned

ILCE-7RM2 29 October 2015  (United Kingdom)

I am an ex-professional photographer and have owned many cameras over the years. One month ago I changed from my usual brand to Sony and purchased the a7R II - Wow! What a camera. With 42 mps and Auto ISO that copes with all lighting the results are stunning. I visited a stately home where no flash was allowed and the photos I took are amazing. All details were captured and no noise problems are apparent. I have heard that there may be a problem with overheating on the video capture but I am a stills photographer and this does not concern me. I you want perfect video then maybe choose a dedicate video camera. The a7RII is the best camera available for stills and I have no regrets in converting to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Manufacturer's abandoned camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2019 by ManWithCamera (USA)

Sony doesn't update camera firmware for a long time (few years) and doesn't listen customers. Could be perfect camera but Sony limited its functions for selling new cameras. - Hybrid AF doesn't work after F8. - Card reader sits on USB 2.0 bus - slow works with memory card (big RAWs). - There are no build in functions like timelapse or photostacking. - No pixel shift (could be easily added by fw update) - Apps market is abandoned by Sony - Bad menu structure (could be fixed by firmware update) - Star eating problem (could be fixed by firmware update) - Low capacity batteries + High resolution + Small sizes + Build in stabilization + 14 bit RAW

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

203 Customer Reviews

0

Great picture quality

ILCE-7RM2 27 May 2019 by Struman (United Kingdom)

I bought a camera 9 months ago and since then I hate it. Turns on slowly. Management is extremely uncomfortable. After ten years of using Canon EOS 1D ... you will understand me :) But the picture quality is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Serious quality camera

ILCE-7RM2 27 May 2019 by jpss59 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera used and I'm glad I did. Its full of useful features, has a great sensor and dynamic range and allows me to use all my legacy lens (and get some new ones, too). Would definitely buy it again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I love that camera.

ILCE-7RM2 20 May 2019 by noahandrijan (USA)

Only everything is perfect. And I am more then happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much improved over previous model

ILCE-7RM2 10 May 2019 by Bella 4 (United Kingdom)

I loved the camera and the improved low light responses and even saw the improvement on image quality and the amazing auto focus options . Cannot wait to take on holiday and experiment work it .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 08 April 2019 by Jshji (USA)

We need a firmware update please The firmware is old now

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Dang this thing can shoot

Body Only 04 March 2019 by Graw7 (USA)

So I hadn't even held a Sony cam before mine came, but if you look around everyone is point toward Sony. I did hours of research online because the big change is happening(dslr to mirrorless). I wanted the best I could get for my money and the Sony mirrorless cameras beat out any dslr camera in my opinion(unless your wanting to spend 3k on a body that isn't going to have any new lenses made for it anymore). If your think of switching from another camera to this such as a canon or Nikon I would cause your dslr won't be worth much soon enough along with their mirroless can't compete with all the options this camera has. The alpha e-mount also has the most lenses as far as I know in the mirrorless line up right now and you can actually afford some of them on a budget. Sony you really didn't hold back on this baby and for that I thank you. Just a heads up though, the stock charger is very slow, I actually think the battery charges faster in the camera. I do like how mine came with two batteries as well, even though I got more on order cause it does eat them up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Shutter won't open

ILCE-7RM2 28 February 2019 by Roger R (USA)

I bought this a little over a year ago and the shutter won't open. I feel bad that I spent so much on a product I thought would last and now I am worried I have to spend more on repairing it now. This is a known issue if you just google it and it is common with Sony.... As much as I am a sony supporter I am sad this has happened to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Super photo quality

ILCE-7RM2 17 February 2019 by Marty 2048 (United Kingdom)

This is my second A7r 11 sold first and missed the ability to crop from high resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A brilliant camera!

ILCE-7RM2 13 February 2019 by Sussexlad (United Kingdom)

A steep learning curve but I’m sure it will be worth it. An amazing camera with so many great features. Build quality is excellent, as is image quality. I just wish Sony’s csshback process was quicker!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent first impression.

ILCE-7RM2 12 February 2019 by Sturgeonfish (United Kingdom)

Looking to improve my skills from using bridge camera. Looking forward to using the flexibility of camera and quality of camera and lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7rii

ILCE-7RM2 29 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

Brought the Sony a7rii a couple of weeks ago and I have to say I love this camera! So easy to use! Love the features and it takes absolutely beautiful photos! I’m a very creative photographer and love to shoot in low light without artificial lights and this camera is more then perfect for what I need! Would recommend to any photographer pro or amateur, battery life is not perfect but this camera makes up for it in so many ways! 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Manufacturer's abandoned camera

ILCE-7RM2 28 January 2019 by ManWithCamera (USA)

Sony doesn't update camera firmware for a long time (few years) and doesn't listen customers. Could be perfect camera but Sony limited its functions for selling new cameras. - Hybrid AF doesn't work after F8. - Card reader sits on USB 2.0 bus - slow works with memory card (big RAWs). - There are no build in functions like timelapse or photostacking. - No pixel shift (could be easily added by fw update) - Apps market is abandoned by Sony - Bad menu structure (could be fixed by firmware update) - Star eating problem (could be fixed by firmware update) - Low capacity batteries + High resolution + Small sizes + Build in stabilization + 14 bit RAW

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

10

0

0

Great image quality and easy to use

ILCE-7RM2 11 January 2019 by T29sra (United Kingdom)

I upgraded from the a7ii both great cameras, I do a lot of night photography and never disappointed with a shot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect

ILCE-7RM2 05 January 2019  (USA)

I bought this just a week ago and am just getting heavenly feeling........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Photographs even for an amateur!

ILCE-7RM2 19 December 2018 by Andy_Marlow (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera for just over a year - and with a decent investment in the right lenses, I can say that my photography has greatly improved. Easy to use and a great form factor for portability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Sony !

ILCE-7RM2 16 December 2018 by André 34 (United Kingdom)

I have wanted the A7R2 for a few years. Great but if kit. EVF is awesome, mirrorless is the way forward in my humble opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect

ILCE-7RM2 04 December 2018 by Sinanqlr (United Kingdom)

I was buy 3 weeks ago and ı am so happy with this camera thanks sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It does what it needs to

Body Only 30 November 2018 by Holymuffins (USA)

I got it about a year ago and have been loving it since! The complaining about the battery is real, but with usb charging who cares?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great design

ILCE-7RM2 27 October 2018 by Pumpkin1 (United Kingdom)

This a7R11 is an upgrade from a Sony compact and what a camera. It just makes me smile every time I use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great tool

Body Only 14 October 2018 by zack8888 (USA)

I love it. she love it. great camera and easy to use. I Got it at Best Buy $200 off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7RM2 07 October 2018 by Blackbat (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera following using a nikon cropped camera, and just blown away with the quality of the camera. It is just amazing. One aspect I would like different is a larger grip, as my little finger is lost underneath and had to get a cover to help with that. Also an app that works for Marco photography would be good. As you need a small aperture for detail, but this makes it hard to see setting up as it's mirror less. So an app where you can have viewing setting (so brighter) then have your settings set for when you take the photo, as those settings normally are too dark on the viewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality!

ILCE-7RM2 23 September 2018 by Simos805 (United Kingdom)

I bought it about 2 weeks aggo. It's my first camera and I'm amazed with the quality I'm getting! I'm usibg it right now with the Sony prime 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

wow just amazing!

Body Only 22 September 2018 by igchavez (USA)

this camera has been a great tool since the day i about it. i have done several portraits and lifestyle shots even wildlife and it's just amazing. very happy customer here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera that needs a new menu system

Body Only 01 September 2018 by rcycholl (USA)

Just received and went out and done some shooting. I shoot mainly landscape and see no issues, except the menu system. I realize the batteries do not last long, but that was taken care of with the new verson. I could live with carring a few more batteries. Just wish there can be a firmware upgrade for the menu system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1