174

4.5 based on 174 customer reviews

114
43
11
3
3
Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 20 April 2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 February 2022  (USA)

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

174 Customer Reviews

0

Great to Use with a Pinch

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29 June 2022 by EMCEE R (Malaysia)

The camera is overall a good value for money yet i feel the menu system can be a little user friendly and the biggest drawback is the 1.5x crop in 4k 60fps. The one that breaks our heart yet coming from canon user this is still a good camera but i wonder why the LCD quality was comprised? Sony suppose to be flagship from LCD but yet here we are with RM 12k cam with mediocre LCD. Still it is a good camera and worth of spending if A1 is expensive this is the go to camera.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional workhorse the idea partner for A1.

Body Only 28 June 2022 by Brightspring (Singapore)

33MP sweet spot megapixel not too small and not too big. LA-EA5 autofocus is wonderful experience with older Minolta or Sony A mount lens.Fast & Accurate and push the lens focusing to its limits.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best all rounder camera

Body Only 28 June 2022 by mag504 (Malaysia)

I bought this camera a month ago and its first assignment was to film Bornean Elephant and some shooting from a boat. I'm very much like the feature of separate function for photo, video and S&Q. The super35 greatly useful to film wildlife in 4K 10-bit 422 as it would help to make the shots closer to the elusive wildlife. As for wildlife photography super35 is awesome although it will reduced the pixel from 33MP to 14MP. The downside of it is the rolling shutter, maybe be because I used to use a7sIII for most of my wildlife filming work. Most of shots I took from a shaky moving boat are badly affected by the rolling shutter but works great in a stable surface, on a gimbal or tripod. To me, for wildlife conservation filmmaking, a74 is a good B-camera but for hybrid-shooter, urban or in-studio work, this camera work at best!

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High quality camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26 June 2022 by Adj026 (Singapore)

So far so good, no regrets buying. With this camera equipped, I hope I could start a career in wedding photography.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One of the best hybrid camera

Body Only 22 June 2022 by HomoSapiens Jeff (Malaysia)

Bought this camera a month ago, using it along with my A7iii. Performance is so much faster and easier to use compare to A7iii.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plenty of knobs and buttons, yet easyish to use

ILCE-7M4 22 June 2022 by Petertheelder (United Kingdom)

Produces good images for enthusiast user. Does what it says on the tin.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good for entry level bird eye tracking

ILCE-7M4 19 June 2022 by Hammyuk (United Kingdom)

Purchesed this for the bird eye tracking as the a7riv lacks this feature and the a1 is out my price range, menus east to use , could do with a pre shot mode to anticipate action that is going to happen ( ie bird taking off ) the bird eye tracking still needs tweaking as it is pretty poor at locking on and actually finding the eye which i can see perfectly.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16 June 2022 by DennisLee (Singapore)

After I purchased this camera, I love taking pictures even more. Best camera ever.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a7iv overheat

Body Only 15 June 2022 by Nicored (Indonesia)

My sony a7iv very fast focus, AF excellent, but very fast overheat. :(

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great all round camera

ILCE-7M4 13 June 2022 by John 1651 (United Kingdom)

Had this camera for 2 weeks and found it to be an excellent all rounder, the new menu is a definite improvement.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera.

ILCE-7M4 13 June 2022 by Huy T (Australia)

Great camera. The menu is much better than the A7iii. I love the flip screen easy for taking photos from lower angle.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Annoyed

Body Only 12 June 2022 by Masana (USA)

The Raw Image quality don’t work and keeps giving me a error message This operation or setting not available as follows and well as the Noise Reduction. So now I have to send the camera back and wait for a new and hope it Dont give me the same issues. The camera does take nice photos so far but this is annoying only had the camera for a week. And customers service was rude tech support was no support.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 12 June 2022  (Malaysia)

I upgraded from A7II a month ago and so happy that I made the right choice. The noise handling is superb that makes night photography so easy and fun. Plus the number focus points tremendous and so accurate. The Face/Eyes AF for Human/Bird/Animal is very useful and accurate.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

beautiful

Body Only 11 June 2022  (Philippines)

i bought this cam a month now now only 1 compalin is overheating

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WHAT a camera!

ILCE-7M4 10 June 2022 by The Robot Boogie (United Kingdom)

Did a lot of research before buying so I understood how to use its strengths over APSC crop sensors. Stunning photo and video quality. Using manual mode with my vintage Olympus Zuiko lenses (which also work on my vintage OM1 film camera).

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

A very complicated camera

ILCE-7M4 09 June 2022 by BrianOfThirsk (United Kingdom)

My first reaction was "Have I bought a camera that is much too complex for me to understand and use properly ??".

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

6

0

Best Sony Yet !!

ILCE-7M4 07 June 2022 by ChrisMC1959 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace an a7iii which i have given to my Son, which has been a brilliant camera from day 1. This, however, is so much more!! The slightly larger dimensions make it feel as if it has "Grown up" and the new button positions make it even easier to use and reduces the likelihood of hitting the video button the back button focus when in a hurry!! The new menu is much more "user friendly" and guides you through items rather than being illogical and confusing!!

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

focusing is amazing!

ILCE-7M4 04 June 2022 by r011erb0y (United Kingdom)

Super happy with this camera,so glad i trading in my canon gear in for it .sony is the way foward ...... Instagram @r011erb0y

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Just One Missing feature

ILCE-7M4 03 June 2022 by LePapyDuWeb (United Kingdom)

I like it under every aspect, photo and video. The only missing feature, for me, is the traditional user's manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good, but overheats easily

ILCE-7M4 02 June 2022 by JBCL (United Kingdom)

Good camera! But for video shooting there are some problems. Despite following Sony's recommendations, the camera overheats. We also have static sound on input three, with and without the powersupply connected. We have tried different microphones with no luck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overheats

ILCE-7M4 02 June 2022 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Even with temp shut off set to high, overheats after about 20mins, repair centre can’t find fault. Avoid

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Compact, powerful, leading edge technology and a g

ILCE-7M4 02 June 2022 by leo liam (United Kingdom)

Just purchased, so early days. Have previously been a Nikon for user for over 50years, but having seen the the reviews and handled the camera I decided to go mirrorless. So far everything is wonderful, with general ease of use and quality of photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost a perfect tool for hybrid shooter!

Body Only 30 May 2022 by Christnalter B (Malaysia)

A perfect balance between Alpha R and Alpha S series. The big grip is very needed when using a huge lens. Also, the switch button for camera / video mode really change the game during run-and-gun situation. This is my first full frame camera and I love everything about it! However, there are two things that might be a trouble (sometimes): - Articulating screen blocked by camera strap. - Noticeable rolling shutter in 4K video. I could understand why Sony limited this camera to 4k60. For the next gen A7V, I hope Sony would eventually give us 4k120 as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 29 May 2022 by Jimmyjacker (Thailand)

Not quite used to Sony interface but this camera helps me a lot and the results are brilliant!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0