252

4.7 based on 252 customer reviews

199
37
11
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18 January 2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Electrical faults after 14 months

Body Only 24 June 2019 by mpjcfoto (United Kingdom)

I've used this camera for 16 months now. The first 14 of those were fantastic and the camera was everything I needed for photography and videography. However, after 14 months of use the sensor has started to violently and loudly shake making videography impossible as well as most slow shutter speeds impossible also. Unfortunately the electrical fault developed only 2 months after the warranty expired and I am now left with an almost unusable camera. This is a fault I have seen across the internet but has not been publicly addressed by Sony (to my knowledge). Until this is fixed I cannot recommend this or any Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

254 Customer Reviews

0

This camera is, and will remain, legendary.

Body Only 17 July 2019 by thatmikeyouknow (United Kingdom)

My first Sony body was the A7Sii, which at the time was perfect for me as primarily a videographer with photography work coming second. As the two disciplines balanced in my workflow I decided to step up my photography side of things and invest in the A7iii. It truly is a camera that continues to blow my mind every time I use it. It's design and functionality are amazing, and the quality of the photos (and videos!) it produces are just beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little Powerhouse

Body Only 17 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I've had this camera for a few months now and generally I'm very impressed. It's got pro DSLR features in a tiny little package. Great battery life, dual card slots, fantastic auto focus, outstanding ISO performance and a market leading 10fps burst shooting. The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is that it could have better weather sealing. It is classed as weather sealed but there are gaps such as the battery compartment door and the covers to the ports. Although not a massive problem, it does mean that I do get quite nervous when I'm out shooting and it starts to drizzle (which happens a lot in the UK). If they can solve this issue, the a7iii would pound for pound be the best value FF mirrorless on the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DREAM CAMERA

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 14 July 2019 by KILLA FOCUZ (USA)

MONSTER CAMERA, great quality images, amazing video and much much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Value

Body Only 14 July 2019 by NetworkMonkey (United Kingdom)

This has been a little bit of a jump for me coming from a budget DSLR, but I didn't want to be in the position I was where I'm being limited by the equipment again. Of course a good photographer can take great photos with any camera, but it just makes it much easier when you can rely on features like eye-AF to almost guarantee a portrait is focused perfectly. I consider this an investment for me and I look forward to enjoying this camera for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New generation, new world of autofocus!!!!

Body Only 14 July 2019 by Sparklehedgehog79 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had every generation of Nex camera from day one, moved on to the FE cameras when they turned up and always dreamed of this moment. Autofocus that is on a par and BETTER than a dslr!!! This is what we’ve all been waiting for and this camera, for its money, it’s the best camera I’ve ever had the pleasure of using or owning. Absolutely outstanding for the price point and worth every penny! Sony’s efforts have finally paid off and to me they are now the clear market leader and the others will now be playing catch up for the foreseeable future

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All Specs no feel

Body Only 11 July 2019 by ByTomW (United Kingdom)

This camera has everything you could want from a stills/video camera but misses on almost every quality of life feature. The EVF is not calibrated to match the sensor and the menus are a nightmare. The video features are slightly hamstrung by terrible auto WB and limited but-rate codecs limiting how much colour grading you can do. That said it’s the camera I use most often for paid work and right now there is nothing better. If they fix the EVF issues and implement w better codec the camera would be 1000x better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

the better you know it the better it gets

Body Only 11 July 2019 by bob 285 (United Kingdom)

this was taken on the 9-7-2019 difficult conditions but camera and lense coped no problem low light stuff something else

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera ever bought

Body Only 08 July 2019 by Sukhy (United Kingdom)

This is the best camera ever I bought with 24mm to 105mm f4 g series lens the video quality and picture quality are both awesome battery life is good would recommend buying this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant decision.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 July 2019 by Marlytyz (United Kingdom)

I have to admit that I am a bit of a camera junkie. I have had the full frame Nikon system with so many lenses, the Fuji mirrorless, the Sony Rd 100, the Leica Q (which I have kept) and now this. Because I am having to build up my lens collection slowly to save my marriage I only have the 24 - 105 and the 55m. However, I am absolutely delighted. The eye focus is incredible and that for me makes the decision to switch worthwhile. I love the sharpness and the ability to focus on fast moving objects. Occasionally, in bright sunlight it takes a while to focus but, other than this it is my dream camera. I only wish the lenses weren’t so expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Ignatzzz (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago and absolutely love using it. Images and colour are suburb and set correctly the video is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing picture quality

Body Only 06 July 2019 by Seafordphotographer (United Kingdom)

Love the eye autofocus. Quick autofocus lots of features and every thing works really well. Menu system is rubbish and it is not a very nice in the hand but at this price point it is the best camera out there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 04 July 2019 by davepenk (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with my decision to buy this excellent camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply brilliant

Body Only 04 July 2019 by Elliemac (United Kingdom)

I purchased my a7iii to upgrade to a full frame camera. The customisation of buttons and the eye auto focus make it a total winner in my eyes. It’s super sharp and auto focuses well. Paired with the 85mm 1.8 it’s a dream to capture portraits on. Very hard to take a bad photo. Now I am just dreaming of what lenses to get next....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony a7111

Body Only 02 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

not good for beginers but a fantastic camera if y know whot your doing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7iii

Body Only 02 July 2019 by Hulijing (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera earlier this month and it’s been amazing to use - was hesitant about moving to mirrorless but I am loving the switch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So happy I switched to mirriorless fullframe!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 30 June 2019 by jakeh123 (USA)

I brought this camera about 4 months ago and so happy I did. I was skeptical about switching to mirrorless as my old camera was aps-c dslr. The first huge thing I noticed was the autofocus working just as well while using the monitor as if I was using the viewfinder. This was huge for being able to get low to the ground shots. I'm not a professional by any means but I can see this being used by a professional easily. The focusing is amazing with sony native lenses. I had some issues trying to adapt canon ef mount dslr lenses to the camera due to them not being usable for video but that isn't an issue with the camera by any means. There is so many good things to say about this camera. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Currently Viable for Low Light/Long Exposure

ILCE-7M3 28 June 2019 by SierraMike (USA)

I shoot a lot of astro and nightscape timelapse. I recently upgraded to this camera from my Nikon D5300. I love many of the features the A7 III brings to the table, but there is a serious defect with how it handles long exposures especially in low light conditions. If you take an image with the shutter on, you'll see that there are hot pixels all throughout the image when it should be completely black. This still persists when shooting a long exposure in low light conditions. I've opened a ticket with Sony to try to confirm if this is expected behavior, or something that could be fixed with a firmware update. So far this issue is persistent on both of the A7 III bodies I've tested with multiple lenses, so it seems to be an inherent defect. Until this is addressed, this camera is absolutely unusable for long exposure in low light conditions, are very poor for long exposure in normal conditions. If this issue is fixed, I would readily give a full 5 stars to this camera. If it operated as expected in the scenarios mentioned above, it would be a nearly perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exemplary Images

ILCE-7M3 28 June 2019 by Pimp Daddy (USA)

I have had this camera body for about 6 weeks... Absolute joy to work with... All my lenses are fast and sharp on this camera... Eye AF is accurate... Silent mode is great...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

Body Only 25 June 2019 by Yana11 (United Kingdom)

I wish I didn't buy this camera. First of all I bought it faulty, paid full price for it in store. If I didn't still have my beloved 5dsr I would not have accomplished a few jobs when I got white stripes across the pictures and not much response from the camera especially focusing. So The system control pub and control switch block assembly was replaced and now I have refurbished camera I paid a lot's of money for and I'm still not happy with focusing and image quality. Menu is over complicated, touch screen only really works for a couple purposes, there is wifi build in but no apps to connect with and so on.. In two words Great Disappointment

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Truly Amazing

Body Only 25 June 2019 by NsearchOFsunrise (USA)

I bought this camera recently after getting to use one from a local camera shop. I think its truly amazing. Sony did such an excellent job tossing in every feature you could want in a camera. Love all customization that can be programmed and the size along with solid build quality. Sony priced it perfectly to allow beginners to pros to be able to get a great piece of tech.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Electrical faults after 14 months

Body Only 24 June 2019 by mpjcfoto (United Kingdom)

I've used this camera for 16 months now. The first 14 of those were fantastic and the camera was everything I needed for photography and videography. However, after 14 months of use the sensor has started to violently and loudly shake making videography impossible as well as most slow shutter speeds impossible also. Unfortunately the electrical fault developed only 2 months after the warranty expired and I am now left with an almost unusable camera. This is a fault I have seen across the internet but has not been publicly addressed by Sony (to my knowledge). Until this is fixed I cannot recommend this or any Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Okay. Needs Re-Design / Upgrade

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 June 2019  (USA)

This camera is good. However, it doesn't focus well on small objects, the body is too small (there's no place for your pink, which feels unstable), and the menu is way, way too big and complex. As a former Canon enthusiast, the complexity of this camera makes me want to throw it off the mountain sometimes! I want to be able to quickly change between modes/color schemes without having to change a million settings and/or do a million calculations in my head. The camera is good, but its got a long way to go before its great. Also, the cost for sony lenses is way overpriced, and needs to come down 20% before I would be willing to keep this camera. Who knows, maybe in 1-2 years they'll finally have fixed the problems? I sure hope so, because there's tons of potential for this camera...just wouldn't buy at this time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Best camera I've had

Body Only 21 June 2019 by Beth97 (United Kingdom)

Although a little pricey, I got my camera on finance from Jessops and it will be the best investment you make. So easy to use and the quality is emaculate. Mine came with a 28-70mm lens, just as good as the 24-70 Canon lens I used to use. Even though its 3.5 not 1.8 its still great for every situation I photograph in. Pictures are super sharp although do have a bit of noise but nothing that can't be easily removed on editing software. Overall a fantastic piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 21 June 2019 by Johnny 77 (United Kingdom)

Seems like a brilliant bit of kit. The only problem with mine was that after taking some long exposure shots with high f-number, I realised the sensor had lots of dust specks in it. The only time the sensor had been exposed was when I first attached the lens, which I did carefully and indoors. So after purchase I would recommend you do some test shots to check for dust otherwise you might have to spend some time cleaning up in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0