189

4.8 based on 189 customer reviews

155
24
9
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect replacement for my clunky DSLR

Body Only 18 January 2019 by Deadroute (United Kingdom)

Bought this as heard rave reviews, and having tried one out. Knew I'd get on with it well. I do a fair bit of video as well as stills and like hybrid shooting. (the aim is to get an fs5) Its easy to set up and has so many customise able features you can set it up to exactly how you want it, i also love how you can send to smartphone etc and can upload straight away

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Powerful Camera; Significant Limitations

ILCE-7M3 04 January 2019 by Mike0909 (USA)

This is a very powerful camera, no doubt. But it is ridiculous that it does not have Touch-To-Focus Remote Functionality through the mobile app, or a built-in Intervalometer. These are basic functions that Sony has left out with no sign of integration anytime soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

189 Customer Reviews

0

So far ahead of the game

Body Only 15 April 2019 by Stereodesign (United Kingdom)

So far I'm using this with adapted Canon L lenses and they work was well as they did on the Canon body. Better in the case of the 50mm f1.2 as it is now possible to accurately focus this lens wide open. Whilst I'm yet to fully explore the video, tests I've done so far show a lovely crisp 4k image. Still image quality is as good as any FF digital camera I've used. Battery life with the Sony batteries is excellent. USB charging is so convenient as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My Review

ILCE-7M3 12 April 2019 by nandot (USA)

I really love this camera. The price, design, and features are great. There is one thing I did not like about it which was the video recording limitation it has. I wish it did not have this enabled. Besides that it is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Early Days but excellent so far

Body Only 12 April 2019 by HeliTV (United Kingdom)

I saw the A7iii at the Photography Show and decided to take the plunge. I've had it for about a month and have used it on a couple of jobs on a Ronin-S. So far, I'm pleased with the way it works. I tried an A7Sii a while ago and found it difficult to operate compared to the broadcast video cameras I usually use, but the A7iii seems much better. I like the image quality. I also have a 5Dmk3 and I think the A7iii is definitely on a par with that for stills and much better for video. It works with a metabones using Canon lenses, but autofocus isn't great with non-native lenses although this could be my metabones adaptor... Overall very pleased and looking forward to getting to grips with the finer points of it! On the Ronin-S, the camera control is interesting as it does different things depending on which cable is used to connect the camera and Ronin. I guess this will settle down once DJI and Sony sort out their firmware...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The perfect beginner

ILCE-7M3 12 April 2019  (USA)

Everything is good, but should have small app like previous, more touchscreen and monitor can flip 180 degree.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome camera

Body Only 11 April 2019 by Ramin R (USA)

I bought this camera several months ago and I’m super happy with it. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

stunning camera to work with

Body Only 09 April 2019 by Steve128 (United Kingdom)

i brought this a month ago after using a sony a7.I was so inpressed with the sony a7 that i sold all my nikon camares and lens to buy the sonya7iii with a 24/105 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very simple to use and very good low light

Body Only 09 April 2019 by zara12 (United Kingdom)

very good very simple and I can you canon lens and Sony lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I’ve owned so far!!!!

Body Only 05 April 2019 by Splash89 (United Kingdom)

This camera exceeded my expectations! Every day I find something else useful. Not just gimmicks but actual real world useful functions. Fully customisable to suit your own needs. I’ve set this camera up to suit my style of video shooting. It’s just incredible. I don’t know why I waited so long to get this camera. Well worth the investment. I could talk all day about how great the features are individually but just read a bullet point list and take it for a fact that each one will blow your mind. My favourite is the apcs mode (super 35) and zoom. You can get multiple focal lengths with just one lens. Epic! Thanks Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera!!

Body Only 04 April 2019 by Zell (United Kingdom)

I bought one week ago and i so happy what I did ! I like this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Accessible quality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03 April 2019 by Crispy 1 (United Kingdom)

Purchased a week or so ago and trialled on a recent few days out and about, with a 24-105 f4. Seems to work well once I got my head around the menu options and got it set up as I wanted it. The supplied book is not very helpful so on line tutorials and assistance via You Tube helped me get my head around it all. The covers for the cables seem very flimsy and don't inspire confidence. Overall a good start!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

Body Only 01 April 2019 by Canonal (United Kingdom)

Early days - looking good - camera feels comfortable in use, superb low-light and long exposure results .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The a7 III Exceeds My Expectations

Body Only 01 April 2019 by JRA35 (USA)

Coming from a Canon 5D MIII, and having shot Canon pre-digital, I can't believe how clean the high ISO shots are coming out of this camera. Granted the 5DM3 is more than a few years old now, but in side by side comparisons the Sony blows the Canon away, with the added benefit of rapid focusing and tracking of moving subjects, folding out screen, customizations.... and I'm not forced to part with my Canon "L" glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness out shine all other brands

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 31 March 2019 by Dmenace (United Kingdom)

I brought this one 3 weeks ago and it surpasses all my expectations. I’m not disappointed with the cost as it’s the first new camera I have ever purchased. In the past I only ever had second hand but this time I took the plunge and so glad I did. Just need some additions to my lense arsenal now and it will be complete..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 30 March 2019 by Mo chan (USA)

I was an original a7 user and I did enjoy using it even with the many flaws, but moving to the a7iii has been such a welcomed up grade. I will be using and exploring this camera for as a pro shooter and as well as my hobbies. I’ve done weddings with the zeiss 35mm 1.4 and the zeiss 85mm 1.8 and incredibly wonderful images. Low light was amazing and cropping wasn’t any issue. I just wish the banding with silent shutter was not so bad. But non the less homerun Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does not disappoint!

Body Only 28 March 2019 by Ellie Cotton (United Kingdom)

I've mulled over buying this camera for about 6 months since going to a Sony event and having the opportunity to try it out. I've been a professional photographer shooting Nikon for nearly 10 years and changing to Sony was a big move, but after I had tried out the eye-AF feature at the Sony event that basically just sold the camera to me. I was just cautious about whether the difference that would make to my shooting could justify the huge £££ outlay in changing systems. However I finally decided that I had to have the camera and purchased it, and I have not been disappointed. At a recent commercial shoot I noticed that every headshot of my client was in pin-sharp focus, and as I shoot fairly wide open usually with my Nikon D750 (also a fantastic camera) I would find that half would be just missing the mark. I have been using the camera mainly with the Sony 85mm prime G-master lens and it's a great combination. I just look forward to buying many more lenses and after only 2 weeks I am pretty sure I won't regret changing systems at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

very good!

Body Only 27 March 2019 by david1956 (USA)

I took these photos in January of the eclipse and my hometown

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Hybrid Mirrorless Camera

Body Only 27 March 2019 by Rodnie (United Kingdom)

I wanted to have a full frame camera that performs great on stills and videos. And this camera is perfect. Autofocus is brilliant and in my opinion is one of the best camera because of that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Solid camera, great features, still learning.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23 March 2019 by 1960sFender (United Kingdom)

Three weeks old, it’s so much better than the a7.a little bit of post sharpening makes the pictures pop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture straight out of the box

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 17 March 2019 by DavidSonyShooter (United Kingdom)

After upgrading from the a6000 to the a7 and now the a7iii I haven’t been disappointed at all and would not only put it against a similar price camera by any other manufacturer I would put it up against cameras two or three times the price. This camera is great for a novice straight out of the box right through to professional photographers. If I had one problem with my previous cameras it was battery life though third party batteries were inexpensive but the a7iii has an upgraded battery which just lasts when you need it to. The bag of functions in this camera is immense and can give you an option for the shot you need wherever it is and the weight to feature ratio means you can keep it in your hand shooting a lot longer. I could keep going on about this camera as it’s everything you need and bought with the kit lense which is also fantastic is priced to destroy the competition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 17 March 2019 by SmS Creations (United Kingdom)

Easy access buttons definitely make it easier when doing events.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best jump of ship I ever made

Body Only 05 March 2019 by ScruffyBear (United Kingdom)

Quite simply the most perfect camera for me as a film maker and photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful camera

Body Only 04 March 2019 by jwillyf (United Kingdom)

My first experience of mirrorless and it has been revelatory compared with my previous Canon DSLR. The kit lens only so so, but the native zoom and prime lenses I have are brilliant. The lighter weight of mirrorless is soon cancelled out when quality lenses are attached however. A very configurable camera with almost too many features and the illogical menu system does not help, and why no multiexposure facility? Battery usage is not too bad. These gripes aside, this is a wonderful camera, well balanced in the hand, offering lots of creative potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera!

Body Only 03 March 2019 by Dinsiep (United Kingdom)

Decided to upgrade to full frame recently and settled on this Sony as all the reviews have been so good. Having now used it I can see why. Very pleased with it - best quality pictures I have ever been able to take. Also love all the extensive customisation options as well to really personalise the camera. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

every one can be a pro

Body Only 02 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

Its so easy to use that every shot is amazing. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0