294

4.6 based on 294 customer reviews

205
72
9
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

sony a7 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Body Only 04 June 2014 by paul01071968 (United Kingdom)

i bought my a7 to replace my sony a850 mainly because of the weight difference and i was blowen away with the picture quality and the realy impresive video the fact i can use all my a mount lens with a lea 4 adaptor ment i did not have to go out and replace all my lens the build quality like all the sony cameres i own is realy good the menu system is very easy to use the camera is a quality piece of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

it is not what i expected from camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31 March 2015 by Bato (USA)

it has problem with focus. the camera is freezing a lot of time. need to switch off/on to start to use again.

10

2

294 Customer Reviews

0

Camera Great, customer support terrible

ilce7b 12 September 2019 by HomeSchoolDJ (USA)

I tried adding the timelapse feature to my a7. The process you have to go through to get a feature, that should have been preloaded on the camera, is impossible. I went through 20,000 pages on sony’s Website, and when I submit the form to register my a7 to open an account to download the timelapse feature, to install on my camera... their servers were down “please try again later”. Literally the knock off timelapse application from the sketchy open source community is easier to install than sony’s Software! Fix your website Sony! There are too many hoops to jump through just to take a timelapse on my camera. Makes me (a decade long Sony fan) want to by a cannon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

It's a great camera, but not the latest spec

Body Only 12 September 2019 by misterben (United Kingdom)

I got this as a stop-gap while saving for the mk3. Was on double promotion, so great value for money. Moved from a Canon 550d, and this is smaller and slightly lighter which is makes the whole mirrorless worth it. No complaints about battery life, maybe because I'm coming from a very old camera. Buttons could be a bit nicer placement. I think the later versions fixed these issues. I'm ok with that, for the price I paid. I'm upset that it won't let me preview through a laptop (my 10-year-old Canon did!), and the workflow doesn't seem that smooth - I struggled to have photos taken on computer transfer smoothly, so I gave up and just shoot in-camera & take the memory card out of the camera or transfer via USB rather than shoot on computer. Image quality is very nice. I think I need more lenses, but the Canon L lens I've been using with an adapter works well and had some lovely quality. Enjoying the extra dynamic range Sony has over Canon. The kit lens included is ok. It works very smoothly, and I love the manual focus feature (where it zooms in when it senses that you're turning the focus ring, then out again). I've also tried using a 50-year-old M42 lens with a tilt-shift adapter for some lovely arty images - and was able to set one of the custom buttons to do the zoom in/out feature as obviously an old lens wouldn't be able to tell the camera it was being focused. Overall, I'm very happy with this, but at the same time, I can see myself wanting to upgrade in the near future (when I have money!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Love it

Body Only 10 September 2019 by Thedy (United Kingdom)

Buying this camera was one of the best decisions ive done regarding photography so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Camera

Body Only 10 September 2019 by Dkim99 (United Kingdom)

I have had all makes of DSLR over the years but none of them match the quality, functionality and performance of this Sony A7

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact & great with legacy lenses

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 September 2019 by 10Paul (United Kingdom)

Early impressions: very well built, compact & lightweight. Excellent features & good usability that invites use of manual settings. Great viewfinder. Also works well with legacy lenses. Only downside is the poor battery performance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03 September 2019 by Raggs (United Kingdom)

Great camera for the money, just need to upgrade the lens now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Exceptional Quality.

Body Only 01 September 2019 by pcp65 (United Kingdom)

Just switched to full frame, picture quality is exceptional, especially in low light, currently using 50mm prime lens that is perfect for what I shoot. Take care Sony lens seem to be very expensive and the camera app is not yet compatible with IOS 13.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 31 August 2019 by dkdan (United Kingdom)

captures great pictures and has a lot of functionality. the focus can sometimes take a while to kick in but for the most part knows what im trying to shoot. nice that it has customisation buttons to help you work it in a way you like. i also got the 50mm Sony prime lens which captures absolutely beautiful pictures. really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and easy to use

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27 August 2019 by RJ07 (United Kingdom)

The Sony Alpha ILCE-7K is my first mirrorless camera. I bought it on 13 August 2019 and took it to the far north west of Scotland to try it out. It takes amazing landscape shots, even when there is low level cloud, and that is just with the kit lens (see photo attached). It takes superb panoramic images as well, and they crop down to high quality images too. The camera is easy to get to grips with in its basic functions and offers me excitement with its high quality images.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great image quality.

Body Only 26 August 2019 by Ian1964 (United Kingdom)

Bought this because of the great deal on amazon and am delighted with my a7. I am loving learning more about my camera every time I use it. Can't wait to purchase at least one G lens to get the most from it.. and me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Camera at an even better price!

Body Only 25 August 2019 by Coastal (United Kingdom)

Genuinely couldn’t be happier with my Sony A7, even the in the box lense ‘55mm’ is fantastic. Couldn’t recommend more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

This is my third Sony Mirrorless camera, and I still use my NEX5 and A6000 alongside the A7II which I bought after doing a lot of research and listening to other users. My hobby is collecting and using classic old camera lenses, which are easily usable on all Sony Mirrorless cameras, and the full frame A7II is the camera of choice for me. But I do find that I am using the excellent Zeiss 24-70 f4 lens a lot as well, it really is a very capable lens. I wanted a camera that was full frame, had high ISO capability, full manual controls, good viewfinder and screen and was well built and reliable. I don't need video or high FPS, but it's there if I want it. There's a lot of choice and competition in the camera market, and the Sony A7II was perfect for my particular needs. I'me very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous pictures

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 31 July 2019 by Suriya20380 (United Kingdom)

I needed a full frame camera and this fitted the bill very nicely. Have only had it a couple of weeks so still learning how to get the best out of it. Initial impressions are very good. It takes excellent quality pictures. I have looked at getting extra lenses but the prices are a little prohibitive at present.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 31 July 2019 by Cjaoun (United Kingdom)

June was the month I jumped ship and purchased Sony. Not easy to learn a new menu etc but every day I discover something new that shows me this camera is all what I read about and more. Don’t regret it so far ... loving every time I go out shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic Full Frame Camera!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29 July 2019 by Spikeezee (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as I wanted a lighter, smaller, quality camera for travel purposes, I researched quite a few options and the Sony a7 was by far the best I found. It's unbelievable value for a full frame camera, the build quality is superb and the menu system easy to absorb and learn. So far I have been impressed with image quality for the shots I've taken. Overall, very pleased!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It`s a full frame camera, that`s why I bought it,

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 28 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

It`s an awesome camera, with this camera I`ll try to be pro

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I was concerned about battery life

Body Only 28 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera on 15th July, and so far have taken app 900 photographs, I was concerned about battery life but they have held up well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera I’ve ever owned!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera less than a month ago. I couldn’t believe the weight (so light!). Then I shoot at nightlife events ect. This camera does not fail! Low light ain’t an issue. Perfect for my needs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good outdoor!

Body Only 05 July 2019 by Photography DB (United Kingdom)

I bought 2 month ago and I am currently happy with it,need more lens but body is good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Nice first try and a full frame mirrorless

Body Only 05 July 2019 by Kam85 (United Kingdom)

So far I'm loving the camera and any criticisms I have is understandable for a first gen product and it think they've rectified it with MK2 and MK3........ picture quality is amazing given the fact im using a kit lens, I can't wait to get my 50mm prime to see what more it can do, the controls are easy to use and intuitive, the evf and main screen are clear and bright. It would of been nice if it was a touchscreen like my A5100 which is good for quick focusing on an object that's not in the center, and my only other real complaint is that the grip needed to be bigger and the shutter button in a better place, but like I've said I believe this has been fixed in the newer models. Other than that I've been very happy with my purchase so far, a great camera to get urself into full frame photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Has put the fun factor back into my photography!

Body Only 26 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this camera. Small, lightweight and still has very advanced creative features. It really has made being out and about with my camera a pleasure, it's amazing how much difference it can make to the whole experience of taking photos when you carry around such a lightweight package. Image quality is very detailed and colours bright. On manual setting the three main dials ie aperture, iso and shutter speed are all within easy to reach. Sony products generally all feel reasuringly well made and this camera is no exception. One observation I have is the camera strap is very comfortable, effortlessly doing it's job on my shoulder without being obtrusive. If you can get the sony case to go with it, get it, as it has the same lightweight, unobtrusive style. Very pleased with this purchase - Iv'e owned a number of advanced amateur cameras and this has put the smile back into my photography!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nice gear

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 22 June 2019 by Arc1 (United Kingdom)

Used the camera now for a month and great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great full frame camera, awful lens

Body Only 21 June 2019 by Eva21 (United Kingdom)

If you're thinking you're buying a cheap full frame camera, think again. The lens that comes with this camera is terribly awful and only when I bought the 24-105mm Sony, I managed to see the real potential of the Sony a7. The camera with the 24-105mm lens truly rocks with crystal clear and sharp images, incredibly fast focus even at night time and other great features. I hope this helps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use!!

Body Only 18 June 2019 by sofia1996 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I find it very easy to use. I really like the movable screen

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0