159

4.5 based on 159 customer reviews

104
44
7
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06 February 2017 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom)

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is reliability an issue?

Body Only 07 November 2018 by no one 111111111111111111 (United Kingdom)

This is the third a6500 that I have tried, the other two cameras had, or quickly developed faults. The first refused to focus and was returned, the second worked well for about 6 months before succumbing to a software error message. When I got the money back for these purchases I decided to add the extra insurance of buying the third camera from John Lewis, I know they will fix any issues. I persisted with this camera as when it works it is outstanding, image quality, portability, and functionality are better than expected. Image quality is almost as good as my full frame DSLR, very hard to tell equivalent images apart. So far this last version has behaved impeccably and is the camera I now use as my default choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

159 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great camera

Body Only 13 May 2019 by Trevor Trev (United Kingdom)

Having moved from Nikon as I wanted a lighter set up, I wasn’t disappointed. The build quality is excellent the features too numerous to mention but was able to start shooting straight away. I find the downloaded apps useful and the wireless picture transfer is amazing. No need to get home and stick them on a computer and adjust etc. Overall having only had it a short time, I would definitely recommend it. My only negative is the camera manual is useless and you have to review on it on line.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A6500

Body Only 20 April 2019 by Keithathome (United Kingdom)

Good all round performer BUT don't like the control wheel, it's too sensitive. I'm forever hitting the ISO when trying to adjust shutter speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

my time with the 6500

Body Only 03 April 2019 by amarko (United Kingdom)

I previously owned the 6000 and it has been a good camera , I read all the reviews for the 6500 and decided to upgrade , so far the camera is performing very well, however I was a little annoyed to read about the 6400 and the fact that several items are much improved with the not premium 6400, feature like automatic eye AF , after all the PREMIUM 6500 should have all the best features or be upgraded in software. get a grip Sony .. that aside the camera performs well in most photo applications ,however for video if i'm honest the IBS is not as good as I expected it to be (and was a main reason for buying it) and the menu system even though i'm fairly well up on it, is still clunky and not intuitive, and the TINY rotary / select dial can too easily be mis-moved and settings changed with gloved hands in cold conditions..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

fantastic

Body Only 31 March 2019 by brum1234 (United Kingdom)

upgraded from my a6000. ibis was a great feature has I am unsteady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Travel Camera

Body Only 30 March 2019 by Happy Jack (USA)

Just getting back into Photography after many years. Great camera to learn all the new stuff.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Has the features I need.

Body Only 25 March 2019 by PhilPhantom (United Kingdom)

I have previously owned the a6000 and the a6300. I loved both of them, but the a6500 takes things to another level. I don't shoot video, so the main improvements over the a6300 are the in body stabilisation (I have some non stabilised lenses) and the larger continuous shooting buffer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features.

Body Only 25 March 2019 by Stephen333 (United Kingdom)

I’ve bought this camera 2 days ago. I traded my Nikon D610 for it. I haven’t regretted it. Great pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ideal companion

Body Only 18 March 2019 by andy19 (United Kingdom)

had my A6500 for about 6 weeks now and still much to learn but was up and running taking quality photos within minutes .... the image quality of the camera and teh 18-135 sony lens is spot on sharp making good quality crops when i need to get closer. not used video yet as mostly a stills photographer...but i have total confiidence the quality would be just as good. currently being used on our travels in Australia, its light enough to be carried around all day without feeling heavy. this setup with be my primary equipment for sometime.....impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by golan3 (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with this Camera. I now have some amazing pictures without having to carry lots of heavy equipment around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Useful upgrade

Body Only 05 March 2019 by anothermyob (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade to my well used A6000 and a supplent to my A7M2 It is a significant improvement in focus performance and the in-body stabilisation is a great benefit as I use a lot of unstabilsed lenses. The new menu system is a slight improvement on the old chaotic system. It's no object of beauty giving a warm feeling of pride in its ownership a good functional camera which should give good service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worth everything!

Body Only 19 February 2019 by Mcgarcia13 (United Kingdom)

I bought this unit to start my videography business and I am really happy with the output!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small camera with Big features

Body Only 18 February 2019 by Dal T (United Kingdom)

Working as a professional photographer, I had a job come up working with a client who wanted pictures taken in the 02 at a concert, professional cameras (large DSLR) cameras are not permitted in the 02. So u did some research, price Vs quality Vs size. The Sony A6500 was a small camera packed with features, I was pleasantly surprised, having always had a Nikon, I even purchased Nikon Coolpix cameras for my kids. After purchasing the Sony I put it to the test, and was very impressed the quality of the pictures given it's size we're very good. Reasonable low light capability. On the day of the assignment, the Sony was small enough to fit in my jacket pocket, and I was able to take some great pictures. The client was very happy. Moving forward, I carry this little camera when I'm out with the family, never any complaints. I have also used it to capture video at a professional level for clients amazing results. However longer periods of constant capture this camera will over heat so do be careful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect, excellent quality, long lasting

Body Only 18 February 2019 by Sarahv (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for 10 months, it is such a lovely compact camera to own, so much to learn. The slow motion features and low light features are two of my favourites to name a few, if you invest in this camera you will not regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good buy!

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 16 February 2019 by Salopian (United Kingdom)

Excellent images. I am finding it difficult to set up as I want but pleased I purchased it. Would welcome some more Sony lenses just for APSC format especially telephoto zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good equipment

Body Only 13 February 2019 by Narumi (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my son as christmas, so I am answering considering his comments. He lives in Brazil.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best cam I ever had

Body + 16-70mm Zoom Lens 12 February 2019 by Nisg (United Kingdom)

I'm so impressed with the picture quality. This is the best camera I ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 08 February 2019 by nananananana (United Kingdom)

You have a nearly unlimited choice of settings to suit all types of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good overall package

Body Only 29 January 2019 by Big foot (United Kingdom)

Bought two months ago and love the quality in a small package

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great good size CSC Camera

Body Only 28 January 2019 by Williare (United Kingdom)

I have just brought this camera which is a upgrade from my Sony a5000 . I love the features of this camera the dial for the shooting mode is nice and it clicks into the operation you require and stays in position the dial next to this is great for changing your aperture etc. The camera is very fast to focus and automatically focuses without any issues and takes great photographs. The camera is a good size and is reasonably light with some great features I am still getting use to the camera but the menu is very similar to my a5000 which is helpful. I can fit the camera in my backpack when I go cycling as it is reasonably light and compact so I’m sure I’ll get some good shots in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First mirrorless camera

Body Only 27 January 2019 by brannen6 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera a couple of weeks a go for photography and videography. So far, happy with the features and flexibility the camera offers over my previous point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great step up for an amateur photographer

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500M 24 January 2019 by MNDads (USA)

We had an a6000 when they originally came out. Sadly, we lost the camera during the holidays. I liked the a6000 enough that I would have gladly replaced it, but since the a6300 and a6500 were newer since I originally bought, I decided to do some research. After a lot of reading, I upgraded to the a6500. So far, the experience has been great. Image quality is impressive. Can't wait to try out more features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 30 December 2018 by Andy 66 (United Kingdom)

its a good camera. feels more solid than my a6000. I'd like a simpler menu and I think the video record button is too fiddly, otherwise, difficult to fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great upgrade

Body Only 30 December 2018 by Yippip (United Kingdom)

Bought as an upgrade from my much used and loved NEX 5. Very pleased to find it as easy to use and the image quality and extra speed of response has justified the upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fits my requirements.

Body + 18-135mm Zoom Lens 20 December 2018 by PRRkent (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for some weeks and am now used to its systems. It was purchased to replace my GX8. To date, apart from the lack of a pivoting viewfinder, I am pleased with its systems and quality. I need something compact & lightweight, for when I need to use a system camera, to fit in rucksacks & bike bags. I like a clean shape with no bulges to catch when removing it from the bag. The image quality is good with a good dynamic range, enabling me to bring out detail in difficult conditions. I would have preferred to have a second knob to control some functions and to add further functions, but I can live with it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0