1406

4.6 based on 1,406 customer reviews

992
339
33
15
27
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, missing essentials

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2014 by RHerrero (USA)

My review will be short as I've just received the camera and have not had a ton of time to play with it. I'm familiar with the Nex line coming from my 5N so I don't expect there to be much about this camera that I dislike. The menu system is different and requires a bit getting used to, but that is minor. The camera feels solid in your hands, looks sleek and professional and the auto focus is FAST. My biggest gripe is not actually with the camera itself, it is with Sony's lack of included essentials. The 'kit' did not include a body cap for the camera nor a back cap for the lens - these are two large oversights in my opinion. What am I supposed to do when I go to put a different lens on the camera in order to protect the lens innards from dust and dirt? Or when I pack up the camera and my lenses into a bag, I am unable to protect the sensor of the camera because a body cap (which is actually in the description of what is included in the kit on the website) was not included? I am extremely disappointed by the lack of these two items because now I have to go purchase and wait for them to arrive seperately.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 December 2015 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

1,421 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

DOESN'T WORK

Body Only 15 October 2019 by bailey303 (USA)

I bought this last week, brand new, and after charging the battery it won't turn on. I replaced the battery and fully charged it, and still nothing. Nothing happens at all. I previously had this camera, and it was stolen, and so I repurchased it only for it to not work.I can't return it since I took it out of the original packaging and promptly threw the box away since I was traveling and had experience with the model before.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice and small

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14 October 2019 by Carol 46 (United Kingdom)

Iv only started using the camera so still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Body

Body Only 14 October 2019 by Noname1951 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6000 after I purchased the HX90 which I love and would give 5 stars. The A6000 is a great body and I a joy to use. I can’t say that about the kit lens, I had to purchase the A6000 three times to get a useable lens. The first wasn’t sharp after around 30mm and the second was decentered with the left side sharp and the right not. The third kit lens is good and very acceptable for a kit lens. I do wonder about Sony’s lens manufacturing quality control though. The whole 6000 plus range excellent and a good buy but check the lens thoroughly to make sure your satisfied with the quality.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes great pictures

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 October 2019 by Flight 1782 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a camera that was small enough to be slipped into my pocket that would take great pictures quickly and with minimal set up time. Over the years I've dabbled with a number of different types of camera to get the quality I wanted and it took a long time to decide whether to go for a high end compact such as the RX 100 or something like the A6000. The A6000 is replacing a Mark 1 Canon G9X - I found the Canon to be the right size and pictures could be good but I found the autofocus could be slow resulting in out of focus shots. I found the A6000 size and weight to be bigger than I'd ideally want. However the picture quality is excellent particularly when making use of the fast multiple image mode. The camera controls take a little bit of getting use to them and seems more laborious than the Canon. Overall I am very pleased with the camera because it does produce great pictures with minimal set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera for beginners!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 13 October 2019 by suew2312 (United Kingdom)

Contrasting colours yellows, greens and blues! Love it!

0

0

0

Still great camera in 2019

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 October 2019 by jake gb (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a direct replacement for 5 year old a6000 (which had suffered from some rough treatment on my part). Having considered upgrading to another camera in the a6xxx series, or even moving to FF, I eventually settled on the a6000 (again!). Hardly ever use video, so ibis not really necessary. Glad sony continues to make this « entry level » apsc mirrorless camera - which is packed full of features at a very reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera with lots of great features

Body Only 12 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact camera with better than average features, this camera fits the bill perfectly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super fast camera

Body Only 08 October 2019 by Garyw1gph (United Kingdom)

I purchased this to replace our point and shoot camera for this year's holiday and very happy with it. I have not tried any different lenses yet but I will in due course. The camera is very fast meaning you never miss a shot it's great, focuses so quickly. The only drawback with the standard set-up is limited zoom. A bigger lens is a must and should be weighed up with the cost of the purchase. Otherwise no complaints at all, I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value. Small and light.

Body Only 07 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Pleased with the camera and the 16-50 and 55-120 lenses in the package. Great images! Impressed with higih iso values possible without excessive noise. With Sony LA-EA4 adaptor I can use my existing A mount Sony, Tamron and even Minolta lenses. Would be 5* if user manual had clear, up to date instructions on use of wi-fi to download images and e.g. control camera from an iPhone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 06 October 2019 by Wagsy (United Kingdom)

This is my fourth CSC but the first Sony. It beats the others hands down. Handling is first class and the quality of the photos top notch. For the price its a bargain and compliments my other Sony cameras. I use this with my Sony A7 ii as a perfect combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 05 October 2019 by Jonny 0607 (United Kingdom)

As a very amateur photographer, I'll keep this review at a basic level. . It's a great camera to handle, I find the functionality quite easy to navigate and the quality of my photos has improved greatly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great photo quality in a small camera...

ilce6000lb 04 October 2019 by BeaNeto (USA)

It hasn't been a month since I bought it, and I love everything about the camera. Easy to carry, and dslr quality... Esxelent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 04 October 2019  (USA)

Best Sony Camera I have ever owned, and I have had them all over years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excelent great value camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03 October 2019 by Chris7373 (United Kingdom)

Blown away by the amount of camera for the money. Fantastic image quality and ligtning fast focus with kit lens. Much more compact than my old Nikon DSLR and matches or beats it in almost every category. Build quality is excelent however kit lens feels cheap but it makes a great compact lens for traveling.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very old

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 02 October 2019 by Aldo (United Kingdom)

The camera has less mirror. I like that is the new camera technology. I really like the idea that cameras now have no mirror. This camera is not 4k and some come with manufacturing problems. pending with that, review it

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great camera features

Body Only 27 September 2019 by dotwales (United Kingdom)

I bought this product about a month ago, I’m very happy I did. It’s a great camera, does a good job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great an intelligent Camera

Body Only 27 September 2019 by Oldbobj (United Kingdom)

I have only been using the a6000 for a couple of weeks now but I am thrilled with its ability to take great photos, I took a shot of my 6 month old grandchild on the auto setting, the camera recognised the scene and gave me the phot I composed and a close up shot of her smiling face. It’s a clever computer with a lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best price for older but FIERCE camera!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 26 September 2019  (USA)

This camera has a faster shutter and I bought it as replacement for my main camera temporarily while it gets repaired but I’ve used one in the past and love it! I will keep it and use it as my second camera as using one camera to switch between multiple lenses can be a pain during a clients photoshoot. My main camera is the A7RII and even though that camera is slightly newer and better in specs, this camera has a faster shutter and more compact and even with age, image quality and performance is still amazing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

ilce6000lb 25 September 2019 by farmer terry (USA)

compact camera with great features except the WIFI function. My I phone operating system version will not work on this camera so I can't transfer photos to my phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Error messages

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 21 September 2019 by Frank435 (USA)

Now keep getting error message popping up. Can't connect to usb mass storage to upgrade firmware either. My Win 7 computer keeps saying device not recognized.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera with great image quality

Body Only 20 September 2019 by Gray01974 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this to replace my canon 77d and I'm so glad I did , the quality straight out of the camera is great and the compact size of it makes it great to travel with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 September 2019 by Whenits springaagain1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this item recently and have enjoyed using it and am beginning to learn all the great things it can do

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A6000

Body Only 12 September 2019 by Trickynaylor58 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera about two weeks ago and I am over the moon Both on quality and ease of use wish I had bought one years ago Fantastic!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent value

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 12 September 2019 by Chrisb1982 (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 months ago and still finding some excellent hidden features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0