1406

4.6 based on 1,406 customer reviews

992
339
33
15
27
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, missing essentials

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2014 by RHerrero (USA)

My review will be short as I've just received the camera and have not had a ton of time to play with it. I'm familiar with the Nex line coming from my 5N so I don't expect there to be much about this camera that I dislike. The menu system is different and requires a bit getting used to, but that is minor. The camera feels solid in your hands, looks sleek and professional and the auto focus is FAST. My biggest gripe is not actually with the camera itself, it is with Sony's lack of included essentials. The 'kit' did not include a body cap for the camera nor a back cap for the lens - these are two large oversights in my opinion. What am I supposed to do when I go to put a different lens on the camera in order to protect the lens innards from dust and dirt? Or when I pack up the camera and my lenses into a bag, I am unable to protect the sensor of the camera because a body cap (which is actually in the description of what is included in the kit on the website) was not included? I am extremely disappointed by the lack of these two items because now I have to go purchase and wait for them to arrive seperately.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 December 2015 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

1,440 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great Camera

Body Only 28 November 2019 by Biged88 (USA)

Takes excellent pictures and videos. The images are so clear

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great looking, Great Results!!

Body Only 22 November 2019 by Rachy (United Kingdom)

This camera is beautiful, smaller and lighter than a DSLR and I LOVE the white colour. It's size makes it much easier to carry around, and the results are brilliant. I am only just learning to use it and bought a manual to help me understand all that it can do. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I don't really like the 'electronic' view through the view finder - it takes a bit of getting used to as it's not 'sharp' and focused like my DSLR - but I know it has to be like that to get the benefits of a smaller mirrorless camera. The LCD screen does have a lovely clear image of your shot, it's just the eye piece that has this effect. Also, I wish the lens cover could be attached to the body of the camera as I find I am constantly having to find a safe place to put it while using the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it!

ilce6000b 17 November 2019 by Blancovero (USA)

I received this camera as a gift and as part on an upgrade for my 2011 Sony Nex 5N. It is a great camera, easy to use, very fast shooter. The only small tiny issue is that you cannot focus by touching the LED display, other than that is a 10 over 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love my Sony ICLE 6000

Body Only 17 November 2019 by Martin13 (United Kingdom)

Met a guy on holiday with this camera, so impressed I had to have one! Its changed the way I use a camera completely. Its as easy as you want it to be to use, or as complex when you need it to be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to take great pictures

Body Only 17 November 2019 by 2001ASO (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a few weeks but already great pictures are easy to take. If your a novice this camera is intuitive and doesn't take long to get used to (especially if you don't like reading instruction manuals like myself). I use this camera for listing products and the pictures are a world away from my camera phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for the money shame about the manual

Body Only 11 November 2019 by Johnth (United Kingdom)

I recently upgraded to the a6000 from my nex5n. This a far better camera with more features than I can ever hope to use. The biggest problem is the manual which other than telling you how to put the battery in and take a pic and delete it it is not much use,but thank goodness for YouTube there is also a bewildering amount of info on settings and hints for this camera. I can see why people still love this camera even though it's been out for years. The features and handy size make this a very attractive proposition. I love it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 08 November 2019 by Y18JAG (United Kingdom)

I bought it to take on a family holiday to Florida and I don't know a lot about photography but it's been perfect for us.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good size

Body Only 03 November 2019 by Bob 42 (United Kingdom)

good make being a Sony which has a good reputation

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Enjoyment ruined by cashback hurdles

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03 November 2019 by Jerrybunny (United Kingdom)

I have booked to go on a course to start understanding my camera. I almost wish I hadn't bought it: the hurdles put in place trying to claim cashback from Sony and partly due to poor invoicing clarity from one of their chosen outlets leave a very bad taste in the mouth and spoil enjoyment of the product. Sorry, I can't say more at this stage. My impression may improve when I have recovered from the stress of the administration of the claim and gain enough confidence to actually use the product.

0

2

0

Great compact camera

Body Only 03 November 2019 by SleKND (United Kingdom)

Great, compact, professional camera. The best camera is the one that you can carry with you all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

Body + 16-70mm Zoom Lens 31 October 2019 by AndyH90125 (United Kingdom)

Bought the A6000 to compliment my Sony A7ii (which is a great camera by the way), mainly for when I needed something a bit more compact and didn't want to carry around the bigger A7. I've not had chance to use all the features yet but so far I have been impressed. The image quality is excellent, OK, if you crop in fully and compare with the full frame the IQ is not as good but in normal use the difference does not detract much from the overall quality. Autofocus is very responsive and I've not had cause to reject many shots, even with difficult moving subjects (sports etc). Ergonomically the camera feels great and the controls and menus are very easy to use. Very pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great flexability

Body Only 29 October 2019 by DGP1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because it gave me the control over its settings of a SLR without the extra size and weight of an SLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to work with

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 28 October 2019 by Edwin F (USA)

I have taken pictures for a while, and here are some of them so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it, nice and compact.

Body Only 26 October 2019 by Bolter99 (United Kingdom)

Love it, but it does have some minor issues. There's a chance when shutting the camera off it will take an empty photo & adjusting the f number on the wheel without clicking it is fairly difficult. Especially with cold hands. Lenses could be cheaper & easier to obtain. Other than that, it works really well & a great introduction for me into photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredibly bad experience with Sony a6000

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 23 October 2019 by MichaelTS (USA)

The camera SD card reader broke just past the 1 year warranty expiration. We tried ever everything, from firmware upgrades to formatting and replacing the SD card. After searching, there are tens, if not hundreds posts , comments and Sony camera reviews that mention the same issue. Sonny online support is poorly organized and offers little value. We called Sony support and they were asking for $214 + shipping just to diagnose it. Add the repair cost and we are (much) better off buying a different brand camera. Worth mentioning is that we barely used the camera since we bought it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

excellent

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 23 October 2019 by kenstor (United Kingdom)

A number one, top of the heap, as somebody once said. owned umpteen cameras over the years, from advanced compacts to dslrs trying to find the right balance between handling and image quality, (I am disabled) but this is the best ever. very tactile, you just want to hold it. image quality stunning with right lenses. buy it, you wont regret it

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Small yet great results

Body Only 22 October 2019 by Susan22 (United Kingdom)

I bought this about 2 months ago. I previously had a Nikon DSLR for almost 10 yrs (a generous gift from my other half). I chose this for its small light compact design without compromise on photo quality. I am very impressed. Good in all light conditions. Easy to use. Easy to get off auto! But also has some great auto options for quick shots. I mostly take scenery but this has tempted me to experiment with other shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Insufficient instruction

Body Only 20 October 2019 by Megane08 (United Kingdom)

I bought two months ago, and I feel I need professional help

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

DOESN'T WORK

Body Only 15 October 2019 by bailey303 (USA)

I bought this last week, brand new, and after charging the battery it won't turn on. I replaced the battery and fully charged it, and still nothing. Nothing happens at all. I previously had this camera, and it was stolen, and so I repurchased it only for it to not work.I can't return it since I took it out of the original packaging and promptly threw the box away since I was traveling and had experience with the model before.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Nice and small

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 14 October 2019 by Carol 46 (United Kingdom)

Iv only started using the camera so still getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Body

Body Only 14 October 2019 by Noname1951 (United Kingdom)

I bought the A6000 after I purchased the HX90 which I love and would give 5 stars. The A6000 is a great body and I a joy to use. I can’t say that about the kit lens, I had to purchase the A6000 three times to get a useable lens. The first wasn’t sharp after around 30mm and the second was decentered with the left side sharp and the right not. The third kit lens is good and very acceptable for a kit lens. I do wonder about Sony’s lens manufacturing quality control though. The whole 6000 plus range excellent and a good buy but check the lens thoroughly to make sure your satisfied with the quality.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes great pictures

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 October 2019 by Flight 1782 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a camera that was small enough to be slipped into my pocket that would take great pictures quickly and with minimal set up time. Over the years I've dabbled with a number of different types of camera to get the quality I wanted and it took a long time to decide whether to go for a high end compact such as the RX 100 or something like the A6000. The A6000 is replacing a Mark 1 Canon G9X - I found the Canon to be the right size and pictures could be good but I found the autofocus could be slow resulting in out of focus shots. I found the A6000 size and weight to be bigger than I'd ideally want. However the picture quality is excellent particularly when making use of the fast multiple image mode. The camera controls take a little bit of getting use to them and seems more laborious than the Canon. Overall I am very pleased with the camera because it does produce great pictures with minimal set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great camera for beginners!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 13 October 2019 by suew2312 (United Kingdom)

Contrasting colours yellows, greens and blues! Love it!

0

0

0

Still great camera in 2019

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 October 2019 by jake gb (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a direct replacement for 5 year old a6000 (which had suffered from some rough treatment on my part). Having considered upgrading to another camera in the a6xxx series, or even moving to FF, I eventually settled on the a6000 (again!). Hardly ever use video, so ibis not really necessary. Glad sony continues to make this « entry level » apsc mirrorless camera - which is packed full of features at a very reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0