1515

4.6 based on 1,515 customer reviews

1060
367
38
19
31
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, missing essentials

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2014 by RHerrero (USA)

My review will be short as I've just received the camera and have not had a ton of time to play with it. I'm familiar with the Nex line coming from my 5N so I don't expect there to be much about this camera that I dislike. The menu system is different and requires a bit getting used to, but that is minor. The camera feels solid in your hands, looks sleek and professional and the auto focus is FAST. My biggest gripe is not actually with the camera itself, it is with Sony's lack of included essentials. The 'kit' did not include a body cap for the camera nor a back cap for the lens - these are two large oversights in my opinion. What am I supposed to do when I go to put a different lens on the camera in order to protect the lens innards from dust and dirt? Or when I pack up the camera and my lenses into a bag, I am unable to protect the sensor of the camera because a body cap (which is actually in the description of what is included in the kit on the website) was not included? I am extremely disappointed by the lack of these two items because now I have to go purchase and wait for them to arrive seperately.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fantastic camera, shame about the images

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 December 2015 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Really looked forward to receiving this camera, have used APS-C format camera for ages and like the size, the weight and the image quality. First day took for a test drive around my usual photo haunts with the supplied kit lenses and was amazed at how easy to use and control the camera was in the hand. Great tilting screen, great focus peaking so easy to use with my manual lenses and adapters. So when I got back home and loaded the images into Lightroom was completely amazed at the neon like highlights in any image with any blue light source or reflection in shot. One in particular was of a distant shoreline with LED street lighting which dazzled across the image like a strand of visual razor wire ripping the image apart. I checked my control images from an APS-c Ricoh GXR and no such over saturation visible, checked on my Nikon D7200 which may or may not have a Sony sensor and again no over saturation. I defaulted the camera settings and went out and tried again but unfortunately with the same result. I thought it may have been the kit lenses but on trawling through Flickr I saw time and again similar issues with various contributions so looks like not an isolated issue. Trawled through reviews and problems other users were having and came across many similar examples or this phenomenon or issue so decided to return the camera immediately. Having worked for a major Japanese manufacturer I would not expect an admission of any kind of issue until it had been resolved or a newer iteration of the product been released. Luckily, online purchasers have seven days in which to evaluate or return their purchase for refund. I really admire Sony for their innovative mirrorless products and will probably settle for an A7R as I have used a Nikon D800E and the images were spectacular (Same sensor). But it looks like this isn't an isolated issue with the A6000 especially if you want to use it at night, too many others complaining, so whether its quality control, firmware or just poor design Sony needs to get a grip of this issue because in every other aspect the A6000 is a real fun camera to use apart from the images. I really want to have one in my pocket all the time but I also want what the camera should give, great images.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

1,515 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

My first camera! It’s a great choice!

Body Only 04 July 2020  (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the photos this camera takes. Great quality, a great beginner/intermediate camera. It was a bit frustrating trying to get my camera linked up to the mobile edge app. I’m not impressed with the app BUT the camera and lenses ae great. Very pleased and it’s easy to use. Plenty of tutorials online.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 June 2020 by David45692 (United Kingdom)

Always loved my A77 and was not sure that changing to mirror less was the right thing to I went for the A6000 as I knew it was a proven design and spectacular value for money. Could not be more pleased with it. I bought my first SLR in 1973 and I get as much pleasure from this new technology as I did all those years ago. This is my third Sony camera and easily the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First camera

Body Only 27 June 2020 by LinearPathway (USA)

Have had this camera for 5 years and still learning all I can about photography. Great features and fun factors that this camera offers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review for 2020

Body Only 25 June 2020 by Jacques720 (United Kingdom)

Had this camera for 6 months now and for the money has been great. Would recommend if anyone is moving into photography from a smart phone

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A6000

Body Only 23 June 2020 by Alanb27 (United Kingdom)

Personal upgrade from a5000 which was good but a6000 feels a different league. Sturdier, buttons in better places plus having a viewfinder helps so much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

ilce6000b 22 June 2020 by Vortexon (USA)

Amazing camera. Can’t wait till I can afford more lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera....wish I could afford a better lens

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 June 2020 by the adventurous bug (United Kingdom)

I have only owned it for two weeks but can already see that it was a great purchase as the quality of the images is fantastic for such a compact camera. I will need to invest in an improved lens as a replacement for the 16-55 kit lense and I'm a little concerned about the prices of these more advanced lenses as I find them somewhat overpriced for my budget and this is a shame but the camera itself is exceptional

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

E mount becomes the Excalibur

Body Only 14 June 2020 by jashj62 (United Kingdom)

* The E Mount. I bought my a6000 as a partner to my a7r which I bought in 2009 as the shared E mount meant I could interchange lenses with few penalties. * The Sony APSC sensor. As manufacturer and supplier of the 24MP sensor to the camera industry Sony's a6000 is still the best entry to the popular APS-C camera system. * Photographers who already own a SLR or DSLR can often adapt their favourite lenses to mirrorless operation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Quality

Body Only 14 June 2020 by Walter the rat (United Kingdom)

Excellent quality easy to use. Would recommend. Good guarantee

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

bad camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 08 June 2020 by Nicholas Lagana (United Kingdom)

settings are bad lens that it comes with is wired and it just doesnt compare to canon

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Brilliant

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 06 June 2020 by The60secondsdad (United Kingdom)

Super happy with my camera, highly recommended. Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beginners dream.

Body Only 29 May 2020 by Timofberkshire (United Kingdom)

Great camera to learn about the art of photography as it has so many features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Exceeded My Expectations

Body Only 26 May 2020 by TyBenFlyin (USA)

I bought this camera about three days ago, and am new to photography so I didn't know much. The overall design of the menus made it easy to learn on, and also easy to understand. This camera was recommended to me by a friend, and I would easily recommend it to someone else. Takes sharp, clear, and awesome photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Little camera

Body Only 16 May 2020 by Bdnhy001 (United Kingdom)

It's a great little camera backing a good punch, nice light balance but get a better lend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Eyepiece Cups won't stay on

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 14 May 2020 by ovidnine (USA)

This camera has worked as expected, but the connect for Eyepiece Cup's is so weak that i've lost 2, and neither have lasted more than a couple weeks of light use before casually popping off. And at $8 a pop, that's kind of an expensive piece of plastic to keep replacing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Image Quality!

ilce6000b 12 May 2020 by hunterp (USA)

It is a really cool product. I love the apsc sensor and video quality. Definitely would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Switched to Sony

ilce6000b 09 May 2020 by Bbiillll (USA)

Had problems with last 3 Nikons, decided I wanted to try mirrorless, so picked Sony because of reputation. Had the A6000 for a couple of weeks, went out and bought a A6500 because I was so pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent camera

ILCE-6000 / ILCE-6000Y 05 May 2020 by Diana (United Kingdom)

takes brilliant clear pictures, nice and light and compact

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great secondhand camera,

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 03 May 2020 by Mick J (United Kingdom)

Had this for a couple of weeks now and still using the kit lens, the camera has more options than I can cope with but will get on top of it soon. Lots of tips on the internet regarding settings, I have a couple of extra batteries as they seem to fade quickly. Fits nicely in my hands but I do find I bump some of the buttons and change the settings then it's head scratching time :-) have managed to update the software & install the latest Imaging Edge software, surprised myself and managed to connect over wifi with my phone, tablet and windows 10 computers. I was looking at older versions α5000, α5100 etc but this came up at a reasonable price, I am hoping the 'star eater' noise reduction can be switched off in this model, cannot understand why Sony would not make this option easier and available on all the mirrorless cameras, expect I will want to move to full size sensor one day and that will influence my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 18 April 2020 by MikeT40 (United Kingdom)

Have had the camera for a while, really like it, took a while to get used to the menu/ features but once you do it is simple,good clear photos, size and weight is good, I do most of my photography when I am either out walking or cycling so weight is important to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Starting camera - excellent results

Body Only 16 April 2020 by Senna94 (USA)

I have never owned a proper camera before and I wanted something I could use to shoot images to do drawings/paintings. I worked with photographers decades ago while in the advertising business, but never really had any experience shooting myself, and therefore, I had a good understanding of the principles behind photography. After doing some research about which camera to buy, my sights became set on the Sony family of cameras and after considering my budget and experience, the a6000 seemed the best way to go. I only have this camera for 3 months now but it exceeded my expectations. Clarity of images, ease of use, and versatility are its plus factors. The only drawback at the moment is the time it takes to upload images to my computer. That's not a fault of the camera but rather the process with my mac and external drives. I wish it could be a bit easier. It's obvious that this camera can take me through my learning phases in photography and maybe around even after I decided to upgrade to another 6 series or even full-frame 7 or 9 series.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So Right For So Many Reasons

ilce6000b 16 April 2020 by Snapshot57 (USA)

This purchase was so timely right and as for information there is more support for this camera than most.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive camera, light and versatile.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09 April 2020 by Vtgirl (USA)

I like the manual settings and drive speed to capture a huminbird iin flight. The stereo microphones are great for capturing nature sounds of rain, frogs, geese, songbirds, and life in a neighborhood. and I do not need a heavy tripod. Sometimes, I just use my little "Beanbag" I carry with me. The only issue I see is noise at high ISO settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

help

Body Only 09 April 2020 by courtenayv44 (USA)

i loved it until it stopped turning on. i signed up for email photo uploads and all hit the fan

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0