136

4.5 based on 136 customer reviews

85
39
5
4
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Handling!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 September 2014 by ctid666 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality, great handling & takes superb pictures, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Pictures are very low quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 December 2018 by Crick5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this instead of the a-6000 because it had the same MP and I was especially keen on the "selfie-screen" However, it is very disappointing as the picture quality is worse than, for.eg my iPhone X which has a 12MP. Totally not worth the money! Very disappointing really.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

136 Customer Reviews

0

Quality.

Body Only 07 June 2019 by Tinsl (United Kingdom)

Just bought A5100 and am well pleased. SLR quality with many features. Full auto through to manual it's a delight. At this price you can't beat it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal point & shoot but has major flaws

Body Only 29 May 2019 by Skysnapper (United Kingdom)

I am a self employed photographer and film maker. I bought this camera to use on a family holiday to Orlando. It is compact and full of features, however it came close to being thrown on a couple of occasions. We wanted to capture memorable occasions both in photo and video. This camera however cannot handle video at all. Don't get me wrong, it creates lovely images and AVCHID files but the camera literally cannot record film for any length of time. We missed out on the Disney parade as the camera shut down after about 15 minutes due to overheating. Granted the outside temp was 30+ degrees but I screened the camera from direct sunlight whilst filming. The camera would not switch back on for some time and we had to default to our iPhones. This continued throughout the holiday and ended up being left at the accommodation in the end. Either that, or it would have met its fate at the bottom of a lake. We put the fault down to the hot temperatures, but on returning to the UK I used the Sony on a tripod to film an outside concert. This was used alongside my main Nikon camera's, and even a DJI OSMO just to capture all angles. Of 4 cameras the Sony packed it yet again due to overheating. I even opened the battery compartment door to aid cooling, but only lasted little over 5 minutes before shutting down again. Overall, I am very disappointed in this camera and has changed my mind from changing from Nikon to the 7 series. If you want a compact camera for a holiday or point & shoot this is a decent camera. Just don't expect it to perform for extended filming. Literally nothing beyond 20 minutes, which is poor as it couldn't be used to film a party, wedding etc due to the overheating issue that needs resolving.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Real camera with top features

ILCE-5100L 29 May 2019 by PT (United Kingdom)

This camera is easy to use on auto or go manual. Either way results are great. This is quality. Download Playmemories Home on windows for full features. At this price its hard to beat.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

It was exactly what I was looking for

ILCE-5100L 09 May 2019 by JayDee (United Kingdom)

Sony are fast becoming the small mirrorless cameras to have. They pack so much in them like, 24.3MP APS-C CMOS sensor, flip- up screen that's so good for vlogging and small enough to use on my gimbal. A good camera and a good price that hasn't broken my budget.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Love this camera

ILCE-5100L 01 May 2019 by Louise (United Kingdom)

Brilliant camera, easy to use, quality pictures and filming. Love it....

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent, even better than I had expected

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 24 April 2019 by Craig51559 (United Kingdom)

I’ve never really been into photography, but I wanted something better than my phone camera to take away on holiday. I’ve always been put off DSLRs because thought they were too big to carry around, but when I came across Mirrorless Cameras I thought they seemed ideal for what I wanted. I read a lot of reviews online and this one seemed like it would be best for me with a combination of its small size and good reviews. I couldn’t be happier with it. I expected it to take much longer for me to get used to using it, but the automatic modes make it really easy to take great photos with very little effort while I’ve found the manual setting very intuitive and they give a great deal of freedom to customise and experiment. The camera itself feels very solid and the build quality is great. The app that lets you transfer photos to iOS devices is also very good, though it was a bit fiddly to set up the first time as the instructions weren’t that clear. Most importantly I have been very impressed with the picture quality, the photos are full of detail and look fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2019 by Johnboy aberdeen (United Kingdom)

As an older Sony model I was surprised by the quality of the shots I took.A bit diddley to set up due to lack of buttons and the menus not accessible with the touch screen.But the size and quality makes this camera a must for travellers. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great features

Body Only 07 April 2019 by DonishaC (USA)

I bought this about a month ago and I never knew it would be so small. The camera after a while feels like your holding a clutch! This little baby has everything worth your wild like the interchangeable lens, wifi, flip screen and apps! I didn't expect this camera to have that in it. I would say it's an intermediate camera. You have to play with the settings to get feel of what is going on with it. I had a small problem sometimes when I shoot with outside the camera goes black on me. It's not all the time but it's been on my mind lately. I think because it does get overheated. Although, it's a great camera to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 March 2019 by Lensmanmike (United Kingdom)

Although an older model now it is everything I wanted in a carry-every-day camera suited to so many situations. Packed with features but taking only a small space it is versatile and gives pin sharp images. Love it.!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disapointed

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by Moortosea (United Kingdom)

Purchased just under 6 months ago from new ( Argos ) the standard lens has not been removed from new, The camera has not had a lot of use and it has already developed a fault, When I try to retract the lens from max to min zoom it does not always retract and I have to turn the camera off to get the lens to retract, very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 22 February 2019 by FraserP (United Kingdom)

Great little camera, loads of features, best in class.

0

0

0

ONE Star

Body Only 06 February 2019 by Kirian_13 (USA)

Bought this camera brand new and has given me so many problems since then. Starting with the camera over heating after the 10 min. mark. It is not charging properly, and looses all my data from the memory cards. Bought this camera for vlogging purposes, never again. Still seeing what I am going to do since I have to keep uploading content every week.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing for Professional and amateur people ;)

ILCE-5100L 16 January 2019 by Adriano (United Kingdom)

Amazing device for people who would like to remember beautiful moments with family, also record videos on youtube and vlogs, well done. I feel that I have a professional device in my hand

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Over Heats

Body Only 03 January 2019 by alexandriarose (USA)

I can not film for more than 20 minutes before my camera shuts off due to over heating. This is so frustrating and it's been more than 2 weeks so I cannot return the product either. A complete waste of money for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

terrific camera

ILCE-5100L 02 January 2019 by gran23 (United Kingdom)

bought this as a gift. he loves it and after having a 'shot' myself I realy love it too. would recommend as a great take anywhere camera. lot of available lenses too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good wee camera

ILCE-5100L 02 January 2019 by Mediaone (United Kingdom)

Good camera for the price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Pictures are very low quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 December 2018 by Crick5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this instead of the a-6000 because it had the same MP and I was especially keen on the "selfie-screen" However, it is very disappointing as the picture quality is worse than, for.eg my iPhone X which has a 12MP. Totally not worth the money! Very disappointing really.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

What a change from my DSLR

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 16 December 2018 by periwinkle (United Kingdom)

Excellent product. The usual high Sony quality. Very pleased so far, only had it a few weeks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 10 December 2018 by Tz8nnx (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on impulse last month at a discount of 30%. It has been a revelation with all the features and how easy it is to use. I'm very impressed and will probably buy the e-mount to a-mount adapter so I can use my minolta lenses with this hybrid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera for a beginner

ILCE-5100L 28 November 2018 by Jamie (United Kingdom)

A small camera that is perfect for traveling and VLOG'ing, definitely bang for the buck. The only downside I could find is the grip, it feels like it is going to fall out your hand, even though it is highly unlikely due to the materials used.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

ilce5100lw 28 November 2018 by RoyMK (USA)

Love the camera, works great and easy to use. Very manageable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well balanced

Body Only 23 November 2018 by PatchMan (USA)

Very great features for the intermediate to professional user. I love the affordability of this mirrorless Dslr. Professional quality at affordable price

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good camera

ILCE-5100L 20 November 2018 by Little Elf (USA)

Great lightweight camera. However the lens cap is not attached so lost it in the second week after I purchased it. A little piece of string would make all the difference. Another issue is that I lost sll my videos when coping the files onto my laptop and no idea if that can be recovered. The pictures I took in China were of great quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to use

Body Only 08 November 2018 by alex0002 (United Kingdom)

The camera is simple to use although I found the screen scratched quite easily so would recommend fitting a saver film

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0