144

4.5 based on 144 customer reviews

91
40
5
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Handling!

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 22 September 2014 by ctid666 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality, great handling & takes superb pictures, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Ideal point & shoot but has major flaws

Body Only 29 May 2019 by Skysnapper (United Kingdom)

I am a self employed photographer and film maker. I bought this camera to use on a family holiday to Orlando. It is compact and full of features, however it came close to being thrown on a couple of occasions. We wanted to capture memorable occasions both in photo and video. This camera however cannot handle video at all. Don't get me wrong, it creates lovely images and AVCHID files but the camera literally cannot record film for any length of time. We missed out on the Disney parade as the camera shut down after about 15 minutes due to overheating. Granted the outside temp was 30+ degrees but I screened the camera from direct sunlight whilst filming. The camera would not switch back on for some time and we had to default to our iPhones. This continued throughout the holiday and ended up being left at the accommodation in the end. Either that, or it would have met its fate at the bottom of a lake. We put the fault down to the hot temperatures, but on returning to the UK I used the Sony on a tripod to film an outside concert. This was used alongside my main Nikon camera's, and even a DJI OSMO just to capture all angles. Of 4 cameras the Sony packed it yet again due to overheating. I even opened the battery compartment door to aid cooling, but only lasted little over 5 minutes before shutting down again. Overall, I am very disappointed in this camera and has changed my mind from changing from Nikon to the 7 series. If you want a compact camera for a holiday or point & shoot this is a decent camera. Just don't expect it to perform for extended filming. Literally nothing beyond 20 minutes, which is poor as it couldn't be used to film a party, wedding etc due to the overheating issue that needs resolving.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

144 Customer Reviews

0

Quick camera with amazing pictures!

ILCE-5100L 10 September 2019 by Mollie (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera for a holiday in a rush! Does everything I wanted it to! Looks great and performs great, very easy to use but most importantly the picture quality is amazing for such a small camera ! The changeable lense is a plus!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-5100L 03 September 2019 by Charlene (United Kingdom)

Great camera! Definitely a worth the money. Worth every penny.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 02 September 2019 by nill 9 (United Kingdom)

I bout this camera on a sper of the moment and it was a good one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It is light and comfortable to hold

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 31 August 2019 by Ray of Sunshine (United Kingdom)

The Camera was being offered at a discount (which I found hard to ignore) but I have been delighted with it since as it seems to offer all that I was seeking. I wanted to upgrade from the compact basic camera that I used to take on holidays and the Digital SLR that I used on special occasions. This camera seems to do it all and I have the options to purchase or use other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality little camera at a good price.

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 28 August 2019 by Thwyllo (United Kingdom)

I am usually a Nikon guy but have been looking for a decent compact for ages. This camera might not be cutting edge but I can tell you it's easy to use, small, light and produces amazing quality images. I looked at a LOT of cameras and for the price, this can't be touched. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

2019 and still good

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 August 2019 by jimpet (United Kingdom)

Τhe first step to learning photography, settings and lenses and this device gives you that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Doesn't turn on!

Body Only 19 July 2019 by wd92 (USA)

I bought this a little over 3 months ago and now all of a sudden it stopped working and won't turn on. I use the camera not to often for the battery to have died already.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

ILCE-5100L 17 July 2019 by hclune11 (United Kingdom)

Exactly what I was looking for! Easy to use and comes with plenty of instructions and tips you can access on the actual camera!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Quality.

Body Only 07 June 2019 by Tinsl (United Kingdom)

Just bought A5100 and am well pleased. SLR quality with many features. Full auto through to manual it's a delight. At this price you can't beat it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal point & shoot but has major flaws

Body Only 29 May 2019 by Skysnapper (United Kingdom)

I am a self employed photographer and film maker. I bought this camera to use on a family holiday to Orlando. It is compact and full of features, however it came close to being thrown on a couple of occasions. We wanted to capture memorable occasions both in photo and video. This camera however cannot handle video at all. Don't get me wrong, it creates lovely images and AVCHID files but the camera literally cannot record film for any length of time. We missed out on the Disney parade as the camera shut down after about 15 minutes due to overheating. Granted the outside temp was 30+ degrees but I screened the camera from direct sunlight whilst filming. The camera would not switch back on for some time and we had to default to our iPhones. This continued throughout the holiday and ended up being left at the accommodation in the end. Either that, or it would have met its fate at the bottom of a lake. We put the fault down to the hot temperatures, but on returning to the UK I used the Sony on a tripod to film an outside concert. This was used alongside my main Nikon camera's, and even a DJI OSMO just to capture all angles. Of 4 cameras the Sony packed it yet again due to overheating. I even opened the battery compartment door to aid cooling, but only lasted little over 5 minutes before shutting down again. Overall, I am very disappointed in this camera and has changed my mind from changing from Nikon to the 7 series. If you want a compact camera for a holiday or point & shoot this is a decent camera. Just don't expect it to perform for extended filming. Literally nothing beyond 20 minutes, which is poor as it couldn't be used to film a party, wedding etc due to the overheating issue that needs resolving.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Real camera with top features

ILCE-5100L 29 May 2019 by PT (United Kingdom)

This camera is easy to use on auto or go manual. Either way results are great. This is quality. Download Playmemories Home on windows for full features. At this price its hard to beat.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

It was exactly what I was looking for

ILCE-5100L 09 May 2019 by JayDee (United Kingdom)

Sony are fast becoming the small mirrorless cameras to have. They pack so much in them like, 24.3MP APS-C CMOS sensor, flip- up screen that's so good for vlogging and small enough to use on my gimbal. A good camera and a good price that hasn't broken my budget.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Love this camera

ILCE-5100L 01 May 2019 by Louise (United Kingdom)

Brilliant camera, easy to use, quality pictures and filming. Love it....

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent, even better than I had expected

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 24 April 2019 by Craig51559 (United Kingdom)

I’ve never really been into photography, but I wanted something better than my phone camera to take away on holiday. I’ve always been put off DSLRs because thought they were too big to carry around, but when I came across Mirrorless Cameras I thought they seemed ideal for what I wanted. I read a lot of reviews online and this one seemed like it would be best for me with a combination of its small size and good reviews. I couldn’t be happier with it. I expected it to take much longer for me to get used to using it, but the automatic modes make it really easy to take great photos with very little effort while I’ve found the manual setting very intuitive and they give a great deal of freedom to customise and experiment. The camera itself feels very solid and the build quality is great. The app that lets you transfer photos to iOS devices is also very good, though it was a bit fiddly to set up the first time as the instructions weren’t that clear. Most importantly I have been very impressed with the picture quality, the photos are full of detail and look fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 19 April 2019 by Johnboy aberdeen (United Kingdom)

As an older Sony model I was surprised by the quality of the shots I took.A bit diddley to set up due to lack of buttons and the menus not accessible with the touch screen.But the size and quality makes this camera a must for travellers. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great features

Body Only 07 April 2019 by DonishaC (USA)

I bought this about a month ago and I never knew it would be so small. The camera after a while feels like your holding a clutch! This little baby has everything worth your wild like the interchangeable lens, wifi, flip screen and apps! I didn't expect this camera to have that in it. I would say it's an intermediate camera. You have to play with the settings to get feel of what is going on with it. I had a small problem sometimes when I shoot with outside the camera goes black on me. It's not all the time but it's been on my mind lately. I think because it does get overheated. Although, it's a great camera to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 20 March 2019 by Lensmanmike (United Kingdom)

Although an older model now it is everything I wanted in a carry-every-day camera suited to so many situations. Packed with features but taking only a small space it is versatile and gives pin sharp images. Love it.!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disapointed

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 07 March 2019 by Moortosea (United Kingdom)

Purchased just under 6 months ago from new ( Argos ) the standard lens has not been removed from new, The camera has not had a lot of use and it has already developed a fault, When I try to retract the lens from max to min zoom it does not always retract and I have to turn the camera off to get the lens to retract, very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 22 February 2019 by FraserP (United Kingdom)

Great little camera, loads of features, best in class.

0

0

0

ONE Star

Body Only 06 February 2019 by Kirian_13 (USA)

Bought this camera brand new and has given me so many problems since then. Starting with the camera over heating after the 10 min. mark. It is not charging properly, and looses all my data from the memory cards. Bought this camera for vlogging purposes, never again. Still seeing what I am going to do since I have to keep uploading content every week.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing for Professional and amateur people ;)

ILCE-5100L 16 January 2019 by Adriano (United Kingdom)

Amazing device for people who would like to remember beautiful moments with family, also record videos on youtube and vlogs, well done. I feel that I have a professional device in my hand

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Over Heats

Body Only 03 January 2019 by alexandriarose (USA)

I can not film for more than 20 minutes before my camera shuts off due to over heating. This is so frustrating and it's been more than 2 weeks so I cannot return the product either. A complete waste of money for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

terrific camera

ILCE-5100L 02 January 2019 by gran23 (United Kingdom)

bought this as a gift. he loves it and after having a 'shot' myself I realy love it too. would recommend as a great take anywhere camera. lot of available lenses too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good wee camera

ILCE-5100L 02 January 2019 by Mediaone (United Kingdom)

Good camera for the price.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0