70

4.5 based on 70 customer reviews

49
13
6
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

70 Customer Reviews

0

Save the A mount camera

Body Only 08 June 2020 by Clh13 (USA)

I have purchased A900 A99 A99 mark two as well as a35 I hope that eventually Sony will continue some type of professional grade A99 mark 3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

As a previous sony user I found it very easy to us

ILCA-99M2 23 May 2020 by Scrappy (United Kingdom)

Great camera so very pleased with it only one thing card writing and buffering can be a bit slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera left in Waters..

Body Only 12 April 2020 by Velmurugan (USA)

I bought this couple of years back after going through lot of brain storming. I enjoyed using this as my main camera, but it took me some time familiarize with the control and function. Good sensor to give great photos, rotatable back screen and Good quality sony A mount lens. Lack of 3 rd party lens and Sony focusing on E mount are main drawback to use this camera. Sony could have supported this camera for few more years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Wow

ILCA-99M2 23 January 2020 by Day348 (United Kingdom)

Great camera have the a99 and now I’ve got the a99 -11 so so easy downloading my photos and with twice as many pixels the pictures are WOW

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCA-99M2 17 January 2020 by TwahPisto (USA)

Love this camera! I've had it since it came out. Perfect camera, perfect body. It Just works! I've had an a300, a700, a900, a99 and now with the a99ii. The a99ii is the best of all of them together. Fast and accurate focus tracking and focus speed. Great video recording. Have a stable of Zeiss and G lenses that just work perfectly with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A mount feature

Body Only 09 November 2019 by Doug D (USA)

Decided to upgrade my inventory. Love the way it feels. I'm still pretty much an amateur photographer, but I love this camera !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Few worries but stunningly great camera...

ILCA-99M2 01 November 2019 by TimGR (United Kingdom)

Takes my beautiful alpha mount Zeiss and G lenses as well as all my legacy glass from Minolta. Brilliant low light performance, super resolution and some slick features. Very quick. HVL58 flash works a treat but not sure if I’ll need it much! P Mode is very good, no particular over exposure, colour rendition in standard mode is frankly beautiful. Resolution was not important to me (I was happy with 24MP), but FF was. If you pixel peak make sure your techniques are sound, because any slight shake or misfocus may lead to you being disappointed. Get it right though and you’ll be blown away. Movement pictures (Kids running, swinging jumping) sometimes have weird artefacts... not sure if firmware (aggressive processing and compensation?), sensor, technical issue or technique... need to experiment more. Will update in a couple of weeks... if you hear nothing, I’ve probably figured it out. Generally comfortable, intuitive and easy, esp if already a Sony Alpha user, and never be afraid of Manual mode, the electronic view finder is a real treat and makes life easier, and you know instantly that you have a good shot.. before and as you shoot. You will need some High capacity Class 3 SD as 32GB will fill up quickly! Spare batteries too, as a battery may not last all day, even if you are being casual. Disappointing on amount of attention A Mount is getting as latest firmware is v1.01, but for A9 (e-mount) they are introducing Pet Eye AF, and are on v6.0! Shame really because the power of this camera is amazing and I reckon can be squeezed more, and the alpha mount lenses fantastic... (and an expensive investment I don’t want to ditch). I paid £2400 from London Camera Exchange, which is about the same price as my flagship A900 in 2008. So a veritable bargain compared to history and comparative Nikon’s and Canons, and definitely a real competitor in pro, and serious amateur market. So well done Sony and thanks, not perfect (there may be a good reason to upgrade to A99 mk4 when you decide), but overall better than brilliant and retains me as a dedicated alpha mount fan. The A900 a long friend of many adventures got ill in August, and is probably unrepeatable... long live my new friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

good but not perfect.

ILCA-99M2 30 October 2019 by jackie2287 (United Kingdom)

price is acceptable. picture quality good. battery life miserabel. not enough buttons.lcd monitor is turning upside down by itself and it annoys. no gps. joystick is bad. size of a99 was better for grip. software outdated.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

What a great camera

Body Only 06 October 2019  (USA)

I upgraded from the a99 to the a99ii. Was well worth every penny. This is a great camera. I have already gotten some great photos grateful I would not have gotten with the a99. I hope Sony will one day come out with a a99iii, as I will buy that one two.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great for sports action

ILCA-99M2 04 October 2019 by Neil h (United Kingdom)

i had the a99 and upgraded to the 99ii vast improvement, almost no startup lag 12fps awsome autofocus great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Way Better than the Original

Body Only 26 August 2019 by DeanEmeritus (USA)

I had the original and I bought the M2 one week ago and so far I am very impressed. A great all-around camera. Amazingly the alpha mount accepts a 25 year-old Minolta lens that works very with the automatic features - focus and exposure. The camera was easy to get up and running, but I had the advantage of experience with the original. The only issue is that the camera can lose wireless connection to the GPS from my iPhone X. Probably an interference issue at home. Quickly turning the camera off-and-on usually reconnects. Once connected it seems fine until I switch to playback or go to a different app on the phone. The menu system is complicated and some features are hard to find (e.g.,Style). But you can always program one of the buttons . . .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic Camera !

Body Only 08 July 2019 by SimonF1961 (USA)

I decided to upgrade to the Sony a99ii from my beloved Sony a99 and have been very pleased with the new features and advances introduced on the Sony a99ii. I'm a wildlife photographer and the jump to a 42 megapixel sensor is very noticeable, additionally the upto 12 fps shooting is awesome, the viewfinder is amazingly bright and the camera overall is very responsive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best camera I have ever had

ILCA-99M2 10 June 2019 by Kevinalala (United Kingdom)

I switched to Sony after trying the fiancé's A58 and finding that I really liked the fact that image stabilisation was built into the camera rather than the lenses. I bought myself a used A99 and found myself preferring that to my Canon gear. Since getting my A99 II I have been able to take the kind of shots that I was unable to with my previous Canon camera because I have good lenses and the stabilisation rather than having to set up a tripod. The camera is friendly and easy to use. There are some great lenses out there which are affordable (Minolta 50mm f/1.7 for example) and give impressive results. The camera itself is the perfect size for me and it feels very comfortable to use over long periods. I am currently using my camera for wildlife shots, it performs well in low light conditions (if I concentrate on my breathing etc I can still take shots without a tripod!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great camera with rooms for improvements!

Body Only 28 May 2019 by Sean L (USA)

I bought the camera more a year now. At the time of purchase I had two choices: to buy A99II, or A9. I picked A99II because all my lens are either Minolta or orignal Sony lens, A-mount. And I read some reviews talking about A9's getting hot problem. I also learned the A99II's problem of "sensitive shutter release" button. The sensitive shutter release button problem causes me a lot of troubles! I bought more than 10 different cameras, most of them sony cameras. I never encountered such problem. I could not understand why this happened on a Sony's flag ship camera? I wonder if a firmaware update can fix the problem? Or, Sony will issue a quality recall to fix/replace the shutter release button? I really hope it be fixed very soon! Another inperfection of camera is the eye focusing. It requires special set up and occupy one button on the camera to activate the function. In the real world situation, you have to keep one finger to stay on one button and while at the same time you have a sensitive shutter release button. it's just so hard to give the right aount of pressures on two buttons! I had a lot of miss releases. I got a lot of unfocused shots!!! When I heard and saw new firmware for A9, A7RIII for eye focussing, I and many people who own A99II really hope Sony can give A99II the same firmaware update and to have the same functions on our cameras! I do hope Sony can give A-mount cameras more attentions. Especially, to provide firm answer: whether Sony will keep Amount camera alive, whether Sony will give the same tech improvemets and the same features on E mount cameras. X. Liu, 5/28, 2019

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Crisp and clean and all caffeine

Body Only 25 April 2019 by BBonk (USA)

Quite impressive and very happy to have this gem in my collection. Superb color saturation and ability to shoot in natural low light. Super speedy too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony's best camera yet

Body Only 14 April 2019 by LumiareKodachrome (USA)

The Sony A99m full frame DSL camera is superb technology. The older Sony, Minolta, & Sigma A mount lenses work very well with it. The features are mostly intuitive and works out of the box just fine in auto program mode, or one can dig into immense depths to set exotic camera functions. Focus is sharp, fast, and the ISO range phenominal. Don't forget it's a 43 megapixel photo either, jpg or raw. Blue tooth connects. Note no GPS though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

It's the Best A-Mount Camera

ILCA-99M2 30 March 2019 by SCPH1000 (United Kingdom)

I've wanted this camera since before it eventually came on sale, I saw the basic reviews, I read the specs, I saw Various write ups etc - But none of those mattered.... I wanted to make my own mind up (also I couldn't afford it at the time anyway). fast forward to 2019 and after finally getting the funds together there was another possible contender - The A9 appeared and threw my mind into turmoil, do I go E-Mount with an A-Mount adaptor or stick with my original choice - The A99II!?. Only one way to find out. I Went to the one shop in London that had both in stock, as soon as I picked up the A9 I immediately put it down - it was far to light imo. I didn't and don't care that it had the newest tech and the newest lenses, where as the A99II felt perfect, it was weighty, it just about fits my big ole hands and adding the vertical grip made it absolutely perfect. For me this was the perfect upgrade from my battered but still working A900. I've now had the A99II for a few weeks now and the images are perfect - even with my old Minolta lenses. 4K video on this is beautiful too. Everything about this camera is perfect, it's solid build, design, weight,the specs, speed of focusing, low light capabilities are fantastic too. The Perfect purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Awesome just like the rest of my A-mount cameras!

ILCA-99M2 27 March 2019 by Grunyun (USA)

I have been shooting with Sony A-mount cameras since the A100. I have since purchased many of their A-mount lineup since. Cameras including the A700, A850, A900, A99 and now the A99II. I must say that I have never been disappointed as I have always been able to get the job done with my selection. The A99II has certainly improved on the older cameras and has very compelling features to urge existing A-mount users to try one and then purchase one. Focusing is fast and very reliable, the build is great and the battery grip is a gem. I would hope that Sony passes on some of the recent firmware updates from the E-mount cameras to the A99II as it is Sony's A-mount flagship and a camera worthy of the latest software to urge potential A-mount owners to continue supporting Sony and know that Sony is supporting such a fine tool.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Disappointed.

ILCA-99M2 02 February 2019 by Schutz670709 (United Kingdom)

I bought the a99ii reading a lot of reviews and to say I’m disappointed is an under statement,the previous camera was the a99 with a Sony 70-400 lens was fantasticly sharp,the rx10iv is beating the new combo hands down,wish I kept the a99,less hassle,with better results.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Top notch gear for the A series lenses.....

ILCA-99M2 06 January 2019 by I have no nickname here (United Kingdom)

I photograph wildlife so wanted a second camera body to avoid the need to change lenses. I was intending to buy a second A77 Mk2 but was invited to explore an upgrade to the A99 Mk2.... I bought it and have recently used it on safari.... the quality of photos it produces are stunning. The auto setting produces great results yet the equipment allows for individual freedom in manual etc. It was especially pleasing to find quality equipment that would not need an adaptor for the wide range of A type lenses I have already invested in. There are a host of settings (one friend compared the options to that you'd find flying a plane) many of which you may not need or want (but they can be switched off). You need high quality cards due to the fast speeds the camera can deal with. Overall, for a top end amateur, I'm not sure you could get better than this. More specialist and pricey than some of the competition but if you are serious about your hobby and pleasure worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Up there with the best of them

ILCA-99M2 23 December 2018 by paddy1mlt (United Kingdom)

This model represents state-of-the-art excellence at a better price than the competition

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Not supported

ILCA-99M2 18 December 2018 by Darrin66 (United Kingdom)

I purchase this to replace a Sony a900 I don't think it was worth doing now. Sony no longer supports the a mount lanes. The a99ii only slightly better than the 10 year-old a900 if I could go back I would

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Smashing

ILCA-99M2 15 December 2018 by Binus1963 (United Kingdom)

Upgraded from a77ii and so glad I did lot better quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great camera a welcome update to the range

ILCA-99M2 20 November 2018 by Brian in Hereford (United Kingdom)

So I picked this camera up as part of the Sony Winter offer, this camera has been on my wish list for sometime. A truily great feature is the compatability in using my existing battery grip and my existing lenses. The camera is new to me but the features and options feel farmiliar despite some of them being new to me. It is too early for me to comment on real world imagery but I am very confident that this body will allow me to capture some stunning images, especially at concerts when I am trying to avoid noisy images in tricky lighting conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1