78

3.6 based on 78 customer reviews

32
15
8
10
13
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

78 Customer Reviews

0

noise cancelling very poor

WI-1000X 08 June 2019 by jackthelad (United Kingdom)

I must say that I'm really disappointed with the noise cancelling performance of these headphones. I have owned much cheaper noise cancelling headphones than these with far better performance, in fact i'm not even sure that the noise cancelling feature on this product is even working! Somy suggestion is buy something that does actually cancel ambient noise. regards alan

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PC USB Required for Charging

WI-1000X 05 June 2019 by DonD1 (USA)

I did a thorough online review and decided to buy two of these, one for my wife and one for me. We both travel extensively, but seldom with our computers. I was excited to try them when they arrived, but much to my dismay the instructions say they must be charged with a USB cable connected to a pc. Why not provide an adapter or set them to charge with my smart phone adapter? I'd try that, but am afraid I might ruin them. And the specs don't show the charging requirements for amps and volts - just must use a pc! It amazes me that I haven't seen this requirement anywhere except in the instructions. I'm hoping someone can tell me I'm wrong so I don't have to return these. From the reviews, they seem like exactly what I'm looking for. I'd love to change this to 5 stars. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing sound.

WI-1000X 17 May 2019 by JayRay (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago and have been using them non stop, the sound is absolutely amazing, awesome bass and the app is great too. Well worth the cost. I would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

so so

WI-1000X 03 May 2019 by me27 (United Kingdom)

I bought it off line, I currently live in China. I am disappointed that the language is in Chinese and I cant change it to English. Also the ear buds are not big enough for my ears.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

Quality sound anywhere

WI-1000X 25 April 2019 by greycode (United Kingdom)

Bought these at Schiphol airport. Charged them on the plane and watched an in-flight movie using these for sound. Fantastic sound and the noise cancelling reduced the aircraft noise to unnoticeable. I use them at work when I need to cut out general office noise to concentrate and get into the coding 'zone' (I am a computer programmer). No music, just noise cancelling. And I use them at the hotel bar to cut out a lot of the ambient noise or to listen to some music of my choice. And I use them when on my own for listening to music or an audio book. They are very comfortable, you can forget they are round your neck sometimes, and there is no chance of the ear pieces falling out and losing them, which is a big worry (for me anyway) with seperate blue tooth ear buds. The phone app gives so many configuration options for setting the sound and the noise cancelling even to setting spatial delivery (where you want the sound to appear in your head).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

More volume. I couldn't use them on the plane.

WI-1000X 17 April 2019 by Luscious (USA)

I bought these mainly to wear on the plane. Delta comfort+. I turned them all the way up and was unable to listen to my dowloaded movies. Noise cancelling doesn't work very well. Sorry I bought them. Head phones might work better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointed - Unusable for calls

WI-1000X 09 April 2019 by sprabhu (USA)

I had heard such great stories about this model and bought it. Really bad decision. I just cant use it for calls. The person on the other end can hardly hear me. It has all fancy features but doesnt serve the basic purpose of making a normal call. The complains are that it echoes, cant hear, not clear at all, voice very low... It so frustrating. I invested so much in this model.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic sound, good noise cancelling

WI-1000X 02 April 2019 by Amplion (United Kingdom)

I've been using these for just over a week now and am delighted. Like anyone investing in a pair of noise cancelling headphones, I did my homework, and decided on these over the nearest Bose equivalent for three reasons: price, build quality (a common complaint about the Bose QC30s) and a USB to 3.5mm audio jack connector which allows you to use them when the battery runs down or on an aeroplane, say. I bought them primarily for the noise cancelling feature, and didn't play music through them at all for a couple of days - but when I did, I was greatly impressed. Listening to a lot of 1950s jazz as I do, I can't say much for what modern music sounds like, but the overall clarity and bass with a small combo or big band is impressive, and they have a fair bit of power. The effectiveness of noise cancelling is always subjective, and a pair of over-ear headphones will always do more to block sound than an in-ear pair, but I've been impressed with how it works. Don't expect total silence, but it does a lot to cancel low rumbling and droning (bus engines, clothes driers, jet engine) while allow higher intermittent frequencies - a flight attendant asking if you'd like a drink, say - through. The ambient noise feature is handy too if you want to hear what's going on without removing your headphones. Battery life has been good - easily eight hours on the go, more if you switch off the noise cancelling feature and rely only on Bluetooth - and while charging by micro USB isn't going to set the world on fire, it's not too shabby. They feel solid enough and comfortable to wear. All in all, a very pleasing bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointing-almost unusable for business use

WI-1000X 26 March 2019 by 42Niner18 (USA)

I did some research before buying this In-ear headphone set and have bought the Sony instead of the Bose. Very bad decision. Noise canceling is almost not existent. The headphones are constantly dropping out of the ears, unless you use glue to keep them in place. Microphone quality is really, really bad. When talking to people while driving in a car, the peer does not understand a single word. I want my money back. Seriously, Sony, why are you selling the worst headphone set ever designed and charge more than € 250,00 for that product? I usually don’t write reviews at all, but I would have loved some warning from other buyers before making that stupid investment. So, here we go. Don’t buy these headphones!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

Good - if they fit.

WI-1000X 16 February 2019 by BrianExCIS (United Kingdom)

These earphones provide good active noise cancelling and quality sound but are hampered by the limited size of the ear buds. Although 7 pairs are provided, the size of the largest ones is too small, with the result that external sound reaches the ears via the gap between the earphones and the ears. This is a shame because otherwise they are very good, and can be used with both Android and Apple devices

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant but Flawed

WI-1000X 07 February 2019 by ukdoodlebug (United Kingdom)

The ‘phones perform very well but if I actually followed Sony’s charging instructions they would be unusable whenever I’m out of the home and/or on holiday.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Comfortable and light

WI-1000X 06 February 2019 by Andreas43 (United Kingdom)

Nice, lightweight, great app and convenient but fails to deliver in noisy airplane environments. Noise Cancelling is just ok, and it doesn’t get loud enough, so quiet dialogues in films are sometimes hard to hear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound and features

WI-1000X 09 January 2019 by Eddie24 (USA)

The sound quality, noise cancellation, and features are great! LDAC is amazing on Android smartphones. NFC pairing is easy. Sadly the dark paint on the stainless steel neckband is already chipping off! I've only had them for a month.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great bass

WI-1000X 08 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very happy bought it 3 weeks ago although volume could be louder

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 06 January 2019 by Sparks27 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with these headphones, build and sound quality are excellent. I was unsure about the collar design originally but the convenience of access to controls and being able to put them in and out so easily with the short wires and always having them to hand is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does not work very well

WI-1000X 20 December 2018  (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Left air bud produces NO SOUND and now I get a buzzing noise when connected to a call

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

One major flaw with missing PS4 compatibility.

WI-1000X 20 December 2018 by Shamurai (USA)

These things are great! Good (not excellent) cancelling but about as good as you’ll get with an ear bud. The battery life could be better (won’t last on a long international trip but did happily take me from SF to Taiwan. No ALAC support. BUT the main problem I have is that this top of the line Sony headset won’t pair with a PS4 Pro! Says it’s not a supported device while trying to connect. Really!?!? Come on Sony, it’s your device! You have to tether it to the controller which is annoying at best.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing sound quality

WI-1000X 16 December 2018 by PhoneDoctor (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my old broken SBH-80s. The sound quality is to please even the mos picky audio file, they stay put round my neck (the SBH-80s kept on falling off), the NC is not as great as my Bose QC25i 's one but is very effective and not having the wire and the huge control box of the Bose is way better. The Ambient ON thing is not that great and not making much of a difference hearing voices while listening to music...I still have to take one earbud off to hear what someones has to say, so I don't use it (save on battery consumption too). The battery life is very good if I don't use NC or Ambient ON and fair when NC is on. Buying at a Black Friday offer price from ebay Curry's PC World I could not have asked for a better deal. Overall this set beats all 2018 in ear wireless NC headphones I believe (except possibly for some very expensive exotic sets that I am not even familiar with).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent headphones

WI-1000X 08 December 2018 by Splendid Alex (United Kingdom)

These are great sounding headphones, clear and with good noise cancelling. They come with useful cables and a carrying pouch and a good range of earbuds tips. The battery life is really good. LDAC connection on Android Oreo gives great sound, but works fine with loads of other codecs. Connection range is good. Niggles: Google assistant often cuts out before it finishes speaking. With assistant enabled you lose the ability to change the noise cancelling mode from the headphones. The Android app for Sony headphones is feature rich but a bit clunky. Though easy to connect, it can't pair with two devices quite as easily as I'd like, you have to fiddle with settings each time. No windows settings app. The mic picks up a lot of noise if you're eg. outside by a busy road. These are all small issues for me though, overall I would highly recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound but...

WI-1000X 08 December 2018 by nameinusage (Australia)

One of the better/best in-ear noise cancelling headphones I've owned. It's got superb sound and a great frequency range. One thing that irked me about this was the delay in audio feed while watching videos (YouTube/Netflix). There is a 1 second delay, if you look carefully at the lips of whoever is talking and listen for when the feed comes through.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Good idea but can't get earbud to stay in ear

WI-1000X 05 December 2018 by BlakeDale (United Kingdom)

I really like this but the earbuds are too big for my ear. I didn't have the small ones that usually come in the package unfortunately and don't know where to buy them. Otherwise, an excellent product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great sound, excellent noise cancelling, portable

WI-1000X 02 December 2018 by YZ47 (United Kingdom)

Bought these after reading many reviews and was not disappointed, the sound is fantastic especially from such a compact headphones. Noise cancelling is effective, togeter with compact size and portability make them especially good for travelling. Just one possibly improvement is to use memory foam tips which do improve sound insulation and comfort

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed!!

WI-1000X 22 November 2018 by MrPauly (United Kingdom)

I’d read many reviews & purchased at a great price in John Lewis, however I’ve decided to take them back as they are not fit for purpose from my perspective. No matter which of the 5 in-ear pieces I try or combinations I can not get a snug fit and consequently the left ear piece constantly works lose or falls out and the right side the same but less so. I have owned other manufactures in the past and not had the same issue and as I direct comparison to Bose in ear noise cancelling headphones the Sony, whilst less expensive is less comfortable and does not come close in terms of the noise cancelling. Sony have an App to allow the tweaking of settings but it’s not hugely effective, more of a gimmick than an aid.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

NC has annoying low frequency hum without input

WI-1000X 21 November 2018 by yoginero (USA)

Noise cancellation has persistent low frequency hum into my right ear, that only stops when music is being played. You can tolerate it if you are outside on the street, but indoors, I cannot keep the Noise cancellation on or I'll get dizzy. When classic music plays at low volume, it keeps toggling between quiet and humming many times within a few seconds. Noise cancellation has a problem when there is low volume input and it's very annoying. I updated the headphone firmware as suggested, but no improvement, possibly worse.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0