93

3.7 based on 93 customer reviews

42
18
8
10
15
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

93 Customer Reviews

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 10 September 2019 by Mariocon (United Kingdom)

The most beautiful sound you will ever hear So clear and comfortable to wear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 04 September 2019 by JO1066 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for another Sony wireless earphone. I am a big fan because it produces fantastic sound and battery life is also decent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Must-have headphones that fall short of perfection

WI-1000X 11 August 2019 by Gabe in DC (USA)

I'll keep it brief. I hope Sony takes note of the negatives I list so that the future WI-1000Xm3 (just guessing) will be improved. + Exceptional sound quality for a wireless, noise-canceling earphone. Drivers appear to be sourced from the highly regarded XBA-N3AP. I'm a classical music fan and these deliver vivid, beautiful performance in situations when it shouldn't be possible (on the plane, in the car, on the subway, out for a walk). Treble is particularly superb - clear, highly-detailed, and non-fatiguing. Overall tonality is lovely and bass extends deeply without distortion. All the BT codecs are appreciated, especially LDAC 990. + Excellent noise cancellation. I don't know what the people who complain about it expected. I doubt it gets much better than this; these are the state of the art. + Surprisingly good connectivity and range. These are by far the best BT device I have in this respect. + Useful and well-conceived app. + Amazing versatility and utility. Put them around your neck and forget about them. Pack them in a bag and they take little space. Connect by wire in an airplane to enjoy ridiculously good sound quality for your movie while cutting out the plane's noise. Listen to voices/announcements around you or reduce wind noise at will. - Brilliant sound is marred by hiss. This is true both in wireless mode with noise canceling on and in wired mode, even without noise canceling. You only get apparent silence in the background when used wirelessly with noise canceling off. They sound wonderful in that situation, and in a noisy situation, the hiss is easily forgiven since it reduces other noises so well. But this is marketed as a hi-res device since hi-res audio is possible when connected by wire. Unfortunately, the amazing sound quality is accompanied by some slight but noticeable hiss, so it's not ideal for critical listening. Sound quality is somehow not very good when the power is off, so in wired mode and with the power on, the potential of these drivers remains frustratingly slightly out of reach. - Included ear tips do not allow for the best experience. A wider bore ear tip sounds much better. It's not a big deal to me, but I think a lot of people don't experiment with ear tips and they never realize just how good these can sound. - Microphone is acceptable but this device deserved better. - Connectivity to two devices at once is lacking. Please add this functionality in the future. All in all, the negatives are vastly outweighed by the positives and these are easy to recommend. Why these don't get more attention and respect is beyond me. Nice job, Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

WI-1000X 07 August 2019 by BikerNeil (United Kingdom)

Excellent earbuds. I have always liked Sony products and these don't disappoint. The price is worth the quality. Make sure you download the Sony Music Centre App, otherwise you'll only get volume at 1/2 maximum.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent sound

WI-1000X 07 August 2019 by Paul (United Kingdom)

Little fiddly to fit in ear

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Top quality noise canceling and audio

WI-1000X 05 August 2019 by oBBo (USA)

I've used these extensively; originally purchased for long flights but I've begun using them for conference calls and general use, including under helmet motorcycle ear protection. They fit my ear very well, which has been a problem for me with other manufacturers; they suppress noise extremely well while still allowing conversation. Long battery life is especially nice on long flights. I only wish it had wireless charging; that's the only reason I didn't give it a 5-star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and effective noise cancelling

WI-1000X 30 July 2019 by Ediflaneur (United Kingdom)

These headphones have made listening to music while out and about a pleasure again. The sound quality is excellent, the neckband is comfortable, and the noise cancelling as effective as I think you can expect for an in-ear design. I was able to keep listening while mowing the lawn! The associated app seemed to improve the sound quality and switches automatically between different noise cancelling profiles as you change activity. My one suggestion for an improvement would be for this switching to pause whatever you're listneing to during the changeover.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound quality great but Noise Cancelling mediocre.

WI-1000X 27 July 2019 by Hillcroft (United Kingdom)

Positives. Excellent sound - as good or better than Bose Build quality - as usual from Sony. Battery life. Negatives The noise cancelling is only really effective in reducing low frequency rumble / roar, and has little effect on noise from people / TV etc. If you want earphones that cancel out nearly all background noise, then you need to go with Bose (i own these as well, and have done comparison). Ergonomics are not good. The controls are black on a black background. This is not really important as you can't see them when rearing the device. More important, they are too small and not sufficiently tactile to be able to tell which one you are touching. Summary If you want a bluetooth headset with excellent sound and battery life, these are fine. If noise cancelling is really important, then you need to go with Bose, which, though you will pay a bit more, are in a different league.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 21 July 2019 by Markypoo (United Kingdom)

I’ve had these for about a month, I got them you use in the gym. I find it tricky choosing headphones for the gym as you’re on the move, sometimes quite ‘aggressively’ and obviously quite wet with sweat. I can’t get on with the bud type as they just fall out, the full can type just end up filled with sweat, so I like the in ear grommet type. Up until now I’ve used wired, but these get in the way and the wire sticks to you when you sweat. These seem perfect, they’re comfortable on my neck and don’t fall off despite my moving around and the battery life seems really good. I listen to a lot of rock and blues music, so a decent bass sound is important, I think these combined with my Sony Walkman player give best sound I’ve had and the noise cancelling which in not intrusive, cuts out all of the pap they play in the gym. A really good choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Headphone but

WI-1000X 16 July 2019 by Dash II (USA)

I have these for serval months. Great light weight headphones with awsome app support. Take time to find right size ear tip to seal out outside noise to enjoy NC to it's full effect. Great battery life. Call quailty could be improved.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Crystal clear

WI-1000X 24 June 2019 by Jack1640 (United Kingdom)

I purchsed these head phones a week ago on the recommendations of a friend. I must say there the best clearest head phones i ve ever owned. Listening to old albums brings out sounds id never hear before.. highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

not reliable design for Sony WI-1000X headset

WI-1000X 19 June 2019  (USA)

only use 8 month, Sony WI-1000X already detach, can't charge and turn-on unless I stick it with tape. And warranty sucks, it is design issue.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Best earphones I have every bought!

WI-1000X 19 June 2019 by FreyCL (United Kingdom)

I bought these earphones whilst I was in hospital as I knew I was going to be in for a while and I was in a bay! All I can say is the noise cancelling feature saved me from going mad!! The level of noise that it blocked out shocked me, I wore them all night and most of the day! The quality of the sound is brilliant, crisp and clear! The app is really good and easy to use. I would 100% recommend these to anyone whether you are looking for noise cancelling or not because you won’t regret it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor battery life

WI-1000X 12 June 2019 by Colin (United Kingdom)

Excellent sound and very comfortable, but battery life is quite poor which is inconvenient when watching tv, the reason why I purchased the product. Only got about 90 minutes use before a recharge. I couldn’t tell the difference when switching to noise cancelling mode which was disappointing given the high price tag. Have now purchased a WH-C700 over ear from Sony which has a 33 hour life, has amazing sound and is half the price. Nano technology is all well and good If it serves its purpose.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Absolutely fantastic

WI-1000X 12 June 2019 by Perry (United Kingdom)

The product at first when I tried it was off to me due to the sound having atleast 1 second audio lag but that was due to the distance from my phone and the headphones. The shorter the distance from the phone the better quality but the further you are from your phone the laggier it get. But other than that it's fantastic definitely worth the price for the headphones.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

noise cancelling very poor

WI-1000X 08 June 2019 by jackthelad (United Kingdom)

I must say that I'm really disappointed with the noise cancelling performance of these headphones. I have owned much cheaper noise cancelling headphones than these with far better performance, in fact i'm not even sure that the noise cancelling feature on this product is even working! Somy suggestion is buy something that does actually cancel ambient noise. regards alan

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

PC USB Required for Charging

WI-1000X 05 June 2019 by DonD1 (USA)

I did a thorough online review and decided to buy two of these, one for my wife and one for me. We both travel extensively, but seldom with our computers. I was excited to try them when they arrived, but much to my dismay the instructions say they must be charged with a USB cable connected to a pc. Why not provide an adapter or set them to charge with my smart phone adapter? I'd try that, but am afraid I might ruin them. And the specs don't show the charging requirements for amps and volts - just must use a pc! It amazes me that I haven't seen this requirement anywhere except in the instructions. I'm hoping someone can tell me I'm wrong so I don't have to return these. From the reviews, they seem like exactly what I'm looking for. I'd love to change this to 5 stars. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

0

Amazing sound.

WI-1000X 17 May 2019 by JayRay (United Kingdom)

I bought these a month ago and have been using them non stop, the sound is absolutely amazing, awesome bass and the app is great too. Well worth the cost. I would highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

so so

WI-1000X 03 May 2019 by me27 (United Kingdom)

I bought it off line, I currently live in China. I am disappointed that the language is in Chinese and I cant change it to English. Also the ear buds are not big enough for my ears.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

5

0

Quality sound anywhere

WI-1000X 25 April 2019 by greycode (United Kingdom)

Bought these at Schiphol airport. Charged them on the plane and watched an in-flight movie using these for sound. Fantastic sound and the noise cancelling reduced the aircraft noise to unnoticeable. I use them at work when I need to cut out general office noise to concentrate and get into the coding 'zone' (I am a computer programmer). No music, just noise cancelling. And I use them at the hotel bar to cut out a lot of the ambient noise or to listen to some music of my choice. And I use them when on my own for listening to music or an audio book. They are very comfortable, you can forget they are round your neck sometimes, and there is no chance of the ear pieces falling out and losing them, which is a big worry (for me anyway) with seperate blue tooth ear buds. The phone app gives so many configuration options for setting the sound and the noise cancelling even to setting spatial delivery (where you want the sound to appear in your head).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

More volume. I couldn't use them on the plane.

WI-1000X 17 April 2019 by Luscious (USA)

I bought these mainly to wear on the plane. Delta comfort+. I turned them all the way up and was unable to listen to my dowloaded movies. Noise cancelling doesn't work very well. Sorry I bought them. Head phones might work better.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Disappointed - Unusable for calls

WI-1000X 09 April 2019 by sprabhu (USA)

I had heard such great stories about this model and bought it. Really bad decision. I just cant use it for calls. The person on the other end can hardly hear me. It has all fancy features but doesnt serve the basic purpose of making a normal call. The complains are that it echoes, cant hear, not clear at all, voice very low... It so frustrating. I invested so much in this model.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic sound, good noise cancelling

WI-1000X 02 April 2019 by Amplion (United Kingdom)

I've been using these for just over a week now and am delighted. Like anyone investing in a pair of noise cancelling headphones, I did my homework, and decided on these over the nearest Bose equivalent for three reasons: price, build quality (a common complaint about the Bose QC30s) and a USB to 3.5mm audio jack connector which allows you to use them when the battery runs down or on an aeroplane, say. I bought them primarily for the noise cancelling feature, and didn't play music through them at all for a couple of days - but when I did, I was greatly impressed. Listening to a lot of 1950s jazz as I do, I can't say much for what modern music sounds like, but the overall clarity and bass with a small combo or big band is impressive, and they have a fair bit of power. The effectiveness of noise cancelling is always subjective, and a pair of over-ear headphones will always do more to block sound than an in-ear pair, but I've been impressed with how it works. Don't expect total silence, but it does a lot to cancel low rumbling and droning (bus engines, clothes driers, jet engine) while allow higher intermittent frequencies - a flight attendant asking if you'd like a drink, say - through. The ambient noise feature is handy too if you want to hear what's going on without removing your headphones. Battery life has been good - easily eight hours on the go, more if you switch off the noise cancelling feature and rely only on Bluetooth - and while charging by micro USB isn't going to set the world on fire, it's not too shabby. They feel solid enough and comfortable to wear. All in all, a very pleasing bit of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Disappointing-almost unusable for business use

WI-1000X 26 March 2019 by 42Niner18 (USA)

I did some research before buying this In-ear headphone set and have bought the Sony instead of the Bose. Very bad decision. Noise canceling is almost not existent. The headphones are constantly dropping out of the ears, unless you use glue to keep them in place. Microphone quality is really, really bad. When talking to people while driving in a car, the peer does not understand a single word. I want my money back. Seriously, Sony, why are you selling the worst headphone set ever designed and charge more than € 250,00 for that product? I usually don’t write reviews at all, but I would have loved some warning from other buyers before making that stupid investment. So, here we go. Don’t buy these headphones!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2