98

3.6 based on 98 customer reviews

43
19
8
11
17
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

97 Customer Reviews

0

No , noise cancelling . Inefective

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by Dozer777 (USA)

I love everything about these In ear Headphones except for the NC . I cant get it to work . Ive tried pretty much everything . I wish now I had bought the product without the NC and would have probably paid less and had the same great options in the app and neckband .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning performance

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by FTOcharlie (United Kingdom)

Great quality, superb sound and extremely comfortable with very good battery life. Noise cancelling was a life saver on recent trip to New Zealand. These are so good I purchased a second pair for my wife who uses her whilst running, she loves them too. Very highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic headset that can't cope with sweat

WI-1000X 03 February 2020 by Mark6161 (United Kingdom)

Got the head set as a Christmas present and was really impressed by the sound quality, comfort, great battery life, just about everything about it. Unfortunately after using it for 2 weeks one of the LED lights stayed on permanently and then it developed a very loud crackling sound in one ear bud, Turned it off and put it on to charge but no joy. No LED's illuminated and no charge accepted. Can only put it down to the product having no resistance to any form of sweat or dampness. Returned it to Sony but then had to go to PC World for a replacement. None in stock so got money back. Thinking it might be a one off defect, bought a replacement from Argos but this also failed......after one day. Same fault. If you intend to sit in an office all day and never expose the head set to any form of moisture let alone sweat then this is the one to go for. Otherwise avoid it at all costs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, great flexibility

WI-1000X 22 January 2020 by Arminininini (USA)

Sounds great. Has three NC modes: on, off, and amplify ambient sound. When out of batteries, has 3.5mm cable to continue listening. Perfect for airplanes: NC but you can rest your head on the seatrest (which is hard to do with bulky headphones). Unusable microphone. -1 star for that, close to -2 stars. You just can't take a phone call with this - nobody will understand you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Let down product and no customer service

WI-1000X 05 January 2020 by Steve j UK (United Kingdom)

I bought this after a great deal of research. I wanted the ANC feature but couldn’t discern a difference when this was on and off. I wrote to Customer Service and go no response at all so returned the product. My recommendation is not to buy this product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

A great lightweight alternative to headphones

WI-1000X 27 December 2019 by Glenj (United Kingdom)

These earphones are the lightweight equivalent of the Sony HEADphones of a similar name and I'd say they perform at about 80% when it comes to the noise cancellation part - you just can't beat the physical barrier of extra material. However they are great for wearing all day without messing up your hair. It's basically half a necklace resting on the back of your neck. A word of caution, if used with a flight pillow the pillow could jam these into your ears if it comes up a bit high.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Terrible

WI-1000X 27 December 2019 by Rob F (USA)

I just got these for christmas. Wore them one time just to see how they sound. Next time I turn them on the right ear is muffled and almost going out. Terrible quality.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent in every way

WI-1000X 26 December 2019 by Jim49 (United Kingdom)

Using them whilst walking running etc., can't fault them. Sometimes the earpiece is a little uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery information Warning

WI-1000X 17 December 2019 by Montauk (USA)

A good headset but what is very disturbing, if the battery is empty, a voice warning tells you to recharge the unit and all communication stops. The Bose headset gives you a warning that battery life is short. In that case you can plan for charging. Battery info in app is also not correct.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

100% satisfied

WI-1000X 20 November 2019 by Cinek (United Kingdom)

I'm very satisfied with this product, sound quality is most important for me and here it's just fabulous. These earphones are worth every penny of this price. I can really recommend Sony WI-1000X

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

broke in just over a year

WI-1000X 09 November 2019 by aperson (USA)

I bought these last July and by September just over a year latter the left earbud doesn't work any more. It is very upsetting considering how much i payed for them. I used them regularly but was never rough with them. Now, I can't seem to figure out a way to return or get them repaired either.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good headphones

WI-1000X 29 October 2019 by d_or2000 (USA)

I have this product since 7 months. As a whole, good product. I have always preferred in-ear buds because isolation is total. These headphones do not isolate as much but are certainly more comfortable and do a rather good job against external noise. Sound is good. One wish. As a listener of podcasts, I often need to skip back and forth. The command on the headphones (press twice on play/pause button to skip forward and three times to skip back) is not very convenient. It's easy to miss a press or add one. Other headphones have a long press on + to skip forward and on - to skip back. Much easier to use. Too bad you cannot switch to either way in the Connect app. Another necessary improvement: when switching to Ambiant or Noise Cancelling Off, the voice is not over what you are listening (phone call, music, podcast) but it interrupts for as long as a second. It's annoying. Other headphones have the voice over what you are listening.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

WI-1000X 28 October 2019 by Purplemeggie (United Kingdom)

This was a birthday present (chosen by me) I do a lot of sewing and i find them excellent to listen to audio books- also links to my Alexa so I can listen to my favourite music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound but power features not great

WI-1000X 26 October 2019 by Signum (United Kingdom)

These headphones sound great and I think the mic quality is good as well. The issue I have with these is that they don’t power down after inactivity (as far as I can tell) so the battery life drops meaning more frequent charging. Also, Sennheiser headphones which I had before used to vibrate when you power them on/off, but these ones don’t so you have to physically inspect them to find out. Otherwise good solid build and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound!

WI-1000X 22 October 2019  (United Kingdom)

Recently bought this headset and the sound is outstanding. Highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Comfortable and reliable sound

WI-1000X 15 October 2019 by FiPaw (United Kingdom)

Pros: Not being able to try before I bought these made it a risky purchase. A risk which was worth taking. Despite a review recording that the neck band is heavy. I find it comfortable and a stable base for the headphones. I mostly use my headphones to listen to audiobooks and find the sound clear. I particularly enjoy the noise cancelling feature to cut out crowd noise from sport on tv. It works well for this. Cons: I was hoping to also link them with Alexa but so far have not found this ability works for me. It would be helpful to have a green light when they are fully charged.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

WI-1000X 10 September 2019 by Mariocon (United Kingdom)

The most beautiful sound you will ever hear So clear and comfortable to wear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 04 September 2019 by JO1066 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for another Sony wireless earphone. I am a big fan because it produces fantastic sound and battery life is also decent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Must-have headphones that fall short of perfection

WI-1000X 11 August 2019 by Gabe in DC (USA)

I'll keep it brief. I hope Sony takes note of the negatives I list so that the future WI-1000Xm3 (just guessing) will be improved. + Exceptional sound quality for a wireless, noise-canceling earphone. Drivers appear to be sourced from the highly regarded XBA-N3AP. I'm a classical music fan and these deliver vivid, beautiful performance in situations when it shouldn't be possible (on the plane, in the car, on the subway, out for a walk). Treble is particularly superb - clear, highly-detailed, and non-fatiguing. Overall tonality is lovely and bass extends deeply without distortion. All the BT codecs are appreciated, especially LDAC 990. + Excellent noise cancellation. I don't know what the people who complain about it expected. I doubt it gets much better than this; these are the state of the art. + Surprisingly good connectivity and range. These are by far the best BT device I have in this respect. + Useful and well-conceived app. + Amazing versatility and utility. Put them around your neck and forget about them. Pack them in a bag and they take little space. Connect by wire in an airplane to enjoy ridiculously good sound quality for your movie while cutting out the plane's noise. Listen to voices/announcements around you or reduce wind noise at will. - Brilliant sound is marred by hiss. This is true both in wireless mode with noise canceling on and in wired mode, even without noise canceling. You only get apparent silence in the background when used wirelessly with noise canceling off. They sound wonderful in that situation, and in a noisy situation, the hiss is easily forgiven since it reduces other noises so well. But this is marketed as a hi-res device since hi-res audio is possible when connected by wire. Unfortunately, the amazing sound quality is accompanied by some slight but noticeable hiss, so it's not ideal for critical listening. Sound quality is somehow not very good when the power is off, so in wired mode and with the power on, the potential of these drivers remains frustratingly slightly out of reach. - Included ear tips do not allow for the best experience. A wider bore ear tip sounds much better. It's not a big deal to me, but I think a lot of people don't experiment with ear tips and they never realize just how good these can sound. - Microphone is acceptable but this device deserved better. - Connectivity to two devices at once is lacking. Please add this functionality in the future. All in all, the negatives are vastly outweighed by the positives and these are easy to recommend. Why these don't get more attention and respect is beyond me. Nice job, Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top quality noise canceling and audio

WI-1000X 05 August 2019 by oBBo (USA)

I've used these extensively; originally purchased for long flights but I've begun using them for conference calls and general use, including under helmet motorcycle ear protection. They fit my ear very well, which has been a problem for me with other manufacturers; they suppress noise extremely well while still allowing conversation. Long battery life is especially nice on long flights. I only wish it had wireless charging; that's the only reason I didn't give it a 5-star rating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and effective noise cancelling

WI-1000X 30 July 2019 by Ediflaneur (United Kingdom)

These headphones have made listening to music while out and about a pleasure again. The sound quality is excellent, the neckband is comfortable, and the noise cancelling as effective as I think you can expect for an in-ear design. I was able to keep listening while mowing the lawn! The associated app seemed to improve the sound quality and switches automatically between different noise cancelling profiles as you change activity. My one suggestion for an improvement would be for this switching to pause whatever you're listneing to during the changeover.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound quality great but Noise Cancelling mediocre.

WI-1000X 27 July 2019 by Hillcroft (United Kingdom)

Positives. Excellent sound - as good or better than Bose Build quality - as usual from Sony. Battery life. Negatives The noise cancelling is only really effective in reducing low frequency rumble / roar, and has little effect on noise from people / TV etc. If you want earphones that cancel out nearly all background noise, then you need to go with Bose (i own these as well, and have done comparison). Ergonomics are not good. The controls are black on a black background. This is not really important as you can't see them when rearing the device. More important, they are too small and not sufficiently tactile to be able to tell which one you are touching. Summary If you want a bluetooth headset with excellent sound and battery life, these are fine. If noise cancelling is really important, then you need to go with Bose, which, though you will pay a bit more, are in a different league.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 21 July 2019 by Markypoo (United Kingdom)

I’ve had these for about a month, I got them you use in the gym. I find it tricky choosing headphones for the gym as you’re on the move, sometimes quite ‘aggressively’ and obviously quite wet with sweat. I can’t get on with the bud type as they just fall out, the full can type just end up filled with sweat, so I like the in ear grommet type. Up until now I’ve used wired, but these get in the way and the wire sticks to you when you sweat. These seem perfect, they’re comfortable on my neck and don’t fall off despite my moving around and the battery life seems really good. I listen to a lot of rock and blues music, so a decent bass sound is important, I think these combined with my Sony Walkman player give best sound I’ve had and the noise cancelling which in not intrusive, cuts out all of the pap they play in the gym. A really good choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Headphone but

WI-1000X 16 July 2019 by Dash II (USA)

I have these for serval months. Great light weight headphones with awsome app support. Take time to find right size ear tip to seal out outside noise to enjoy NC to it's full effect. Great battery life. Call quailty could be improved.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0