131

3.7 based on 131 customer reviews

60
28
11
14
18
Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09 October 2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06 April 2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

130 Customer Reviews

0

Noise Cancellation is superb

WI-1000X/BM E 20 August 2021 by Pyan (Malaysia)

Initially was very sceptical to have a high end Sony earphone. With a good offer on board and the rising need of on the move online meeting and of course music. Precise sound quality, and rest assured on the shoulder that won't entangled on your chest. This is a definite choice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Its worth buy

WI-1000X/BM E 28 April 2021 by Brandon Chew (Malaysia)

Good set of active noise canceling headphones is worth its for gaming and movie.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Neckband 1000X, outstanding gadget

WI-1000X/NM E 15 February 2021 by Chuee (Malaysia)

This wonderful gadget is useful during busy days either is WFH of homebased or to travelling. It is very comfortable to wear, nice to ear even wearing for hours with excellent battery juices. It allows user to connect to two phones/music player/PC concurrent with easy switching, i found it helpful. The entertainment fun for both music and other sounds quality output is enjoyable and outstanding! i dont have to worry about the wired tangling issue or to whereabout of the True wireless buds when is on the move too!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value still, at less than £100

WI-1000X 05 December 2020 by Coriolan (United Kingdom)

Some of us headphone enthusiasts still fear TW earbuds falling out of our ears; we still need a neckband to allay those (maybe not so justified anymore) fears, as well as enabling bigger batteries, antennas etc These Sony buds sound great, fit reasonably well with the silicone buds in my case; memory foam-type not included unfortunately, rather a worse-sounding composite. Much-praised app I'm not so fond of as Adaptive ANC is such a complex operation for AI. Outside noise is reduced, but not as much as Bose neckband QC30. Being sound quality foremost in my consideration, I still rate these a good buy below £100. In time hope to upgrade to wi-xm2 successor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not sure if they are really working

WI-1000X 02 December 2020 by RogerDerbyshire (United Kingdom)

I have a pair of Sony XM3's and the noise cancellation is amazing and as such Sony set the standard. I thought I'd buy the wi-1000 expecting something similar (I didn't expect quite as good as the over ear xm3 though) but have been very disappointed. Firstly none of the ear buds fit me very well and so every time I turned my head they fell out. Secondly as they didn't fit properly sound leaked in easily. I bought some Comply 200 memory foam buds and now no issues with them falling out but still the sound cancellation is poor. I would almost say it's purely from the seal made by the comply buds. I'm beginning to wonder if my set is faulty as I can see the rave reviews of other people. Lastly the app. It's kind of ok, but not brilliant. The sound 360 is amazingly clear but it's all subscription. In summary the sound is great without doubt but invest in decent buds. Battery life is very good. The sound cancellation is pretty poor to non existent. I could not possibly recommend - them at least over the XM3. I might contact Sony under warranty as could be faulty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound & long battery life

WI-1000X 19 October 2020 by SMcH (United Kingdom)

I’ve had several other wireless earphones in the past, but they were either lacking in good sound quality (usually because they didn’t fit very well) or the battery life was poor. I got these about 3weeks ago, charged them up and have used them almost every day and I still haven’t had to charge them again yet. Excellent sound too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony WI-1000X Present & Future Sound

WI-1000X/NM E 18 October 2020  (Malaysia)

The WI-1000X quality sound of high resolution audio is beyond the above with balance, wide n detail especially for emotion instrument music... hopefully will have an update for the model to improve the quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

WI-1000X 14 September 2020 by Dr V (United Kingdom)

Button control needs improvement, which is why 4/5 fro design and ease of use. Bluetooth only supports one device connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features

WI-1000X 04 September 2020 by Jfp1 (United Kingdom)

I bought these a couple of weeks ago and I am very pleased with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Premium product but only IF

WI-1000X 19 August 2020  (Australia)

Absolutely love the product specially with its quality built & battery is phenomenal.... I just wish taking calls was as good too...

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Modify the app please

WI-1000X 18 August 2020 by RightEarOK (United Kingdom)

Very happy with my purchase. If I could add one feature it would be to modify the accompanying app, so that the Stereo balance can be changed for people with hearing loss in one ear

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound. Poor Service Life

WI-1000X 20 May 2020 by Starman213 (USA)

I bought the WI-1000X in April 2018. Since I had another headphone product for day today use, I used them sparingly. At two years and one month, the left channel on the WI-1000X stopped working. I called Sony, they couldn't do anything about it - I was out of warranty. They suggested I call United Radio for service. United Radio said they can't fix and sent me back to Sony. I was hoping to get some small accomodation to buy a new set but Sony says too bad you're out of warranty. $299 for 2 year service is a bad investment. Take aways: Great Sound. Terrible service life. Choose wisely.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Noise cancelling seems under expectation.

WI-1000X 05 May 2020 by elarry (United Kingdom)

I travelled by air pretty frequently and had always wanted to get a pair of noise-cancelling headphones to better enjoy my movies on the flights. I did a lot of research, and Sony WI-1000X had attracted my attention. Firstly it's wireless, and not as overwhelming as the over-ear options, so that I can wear it in hot weather, too, nor does it feel as insecure as the true-wireless options that I always worried about falling out of my ears - the neckband seems neat and elegant while helping secure the earphones. Of course headphones are of no use if they don't sound good. Fortunately WI-1000X received many good reviews on its audio quality, matching its good look. The real deal-breaker for me was that it could still operate as a noise-cancelling headphone when used in a wired connection, as opposed to some other products. Before my purchase, WI-1000XM2 has already been released. I was tempted by the latest model, but decided after some more research to go for the first generation for significantly better value for money. The actual product looks bigger than in the pictures, probably because of the rigid neckband, but feels lighter than it looks. It also looks and feels well made with premium materials. My light-coloured version comes with a 20 cm × 20 cm square zipped soft travel pouch, inside which there is a small pocket for storaging the accessories, which include 3 pairs of the more conventional hybrid silicone rubber and 3 pairs of "triple-comfort" (foam) earbuds of different sizes, a USB-to-microUSB cable for charging, a 3.5mm-stereo-jack-to-microUSB cable and an airline headphone seat adapter - yes, there is no charger enclosed. Once powered on, it was immediately found by my now-dated Google Nexus 6 (running Android 7.1.1), which automatically initiated the connection and pairing guide via Google Assistant. The essential set-up was pretty straightforward, although some additional advanced features needed extra steps in the Sony Headphone Connect app, which was a bit overwhelming. There was also a very useful short audio-guided tutorial on its Google Assistant integration at the end of the set-up. By default, noise cancelling is on at power-on. From my one-week use of the headphones, I am generally happy about it. It's very comfortable in the ears and on the neck - actually I couldn't feel it over my clothes. The sound quality is great - well balanced with clean crisp treble and punchy but not exaggerating bass. Battery life seems pretty decent, too. I am not a bit unsure about its noise-cancelling capability, though - the other day my neighbour was using his diesel lawn mower, so I took the opportunity to test my headphone. Theoretically, the noise should be exactly the type that WI-1000X should be able to filter. However, I found that even with the full noise-cancelling strength, i.e., no ambient sound was allowed through, I could still hear loud noise, which was disappointing. The instructions did say that it might be related to the fit of earbuds, and that not all noises could be eliminated, so I might have to test more before coming to a conclusion. My favourite feature now is definitely its integration with Google Assistant. I can press the Google Assistant button during a playback in Spotify to ask what song it is, and will get an immediate voice answer. I could also ask about the weather, my itinerary, etc., or it could read new notifications to me, which is very handy. I somehow feel they could consider using one-finger tap-and-touch for the controls instead of two-finger pressing of the button, which is still a bit fiddly. To summarise my current experience, I like its design, the sound quality, the battery life, the Google Assistant integration, but think it could improve on noise cancelling, and use easier tap-and-touch controls instead of buttons. I understand that there is no noise cancellation on the microphone itself, so if I use it for calling, the other person could hear some noise, such as winds. For the travel pouch, I wish it's a more rigid box for better protection, and that there is a zip or a Velcro on the inner pocket to prevent losing any accessories.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loving it!

WI-1000X 27 April 2020 by eileen12 (United Kingdom)

Have used this for three weeks now and wonder why I didn't buy one earlier. So easy to use and comfortable to wear.Am transported to another world, whatever else I'm doing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

WI-1000X 10 April 2020 by Lokypooh (Hong Kong)

I bought this one/two month ago. Sound is great! Worth the price :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great in ear headphones

WI-1000X 30 March 2020 by Billy Clink (United Kingdom)

Got these at a great price, all reviews stated there was not a big enough difference between these and their newer version, so I bagged myself a bargan at less than half the price of the new version. Great sound, especially when connected by wire or via LDAC

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, good price

WI-1000X 27 March 2020 by casahistoria (United Kingdom)

Sound is excellent, Bluetooth reception strong. Works well with app. I use it with an older Sony mobile and Sony NWA55 Walkman. Compares favourably with my WF1000XM1, but longer lasting and BT reception is better in difficult situations. Availability of cable connection means BT can be ignored in bad reception areas. Made little use of controls on neckband as they are fiddly. Bought these as Grade A refurbished from Sony Online Store at considerable discount over normal. Looks like they were open box (or store display perhaps as they came from a store) but otherwise appeared as new. All cables, booklets, ear covers were sealed and as new.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but not worth the money or as good as Bose

WI-1000X 17 March 2020 by Geoff Travell (United Kingdom)

I purchased these 3 weeks ago and used them on an international flight. Frankly the sound is very tinny and there no way to change that. The ear pods are total rubbish and simply do not stay in you ear regardless which size you use. To make matters worse they don't work unless they have a charge so if the battery runs out you are stuck. Last of all, the Noise Cancelling function is next to useless and there is no discernible difference in background noise. Perhaps these are faulty but I don't have the inclination to argue with the retailer or Sony. Just not good and I would strongly advise anyone to look elsewhere or make sure you try them first.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great headphones!

WI-1000X 14 March 2020 by InternetExpert (Australia)

Crisp sound and Nicholas E is the best at checking pit

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Nearly Perfect

WI-1000X 05 March 2020 by Qqqqqqqqqqq (United Kingdom)

This is a fantastic pair of ear phones. Light, comfortable and excellent quality. Only two minor issues that can be worked around. If you want to use them on a plane as “earplugs” with noise cancelling on - then they must be plugged into your phone to prevent them being automatically turned off after five minutes. Also, these phones can only connect to one Bluetooth source at a time - not a major problem but competitors can connect to more at once.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome for Gym use

WI-1000X 26 February 2020 by Roger (United Kingdom)

This is great for the gym and has a long battery life, with a quick charge 10 minutes gives you an hour of use. Very comfortable easy to wear all day without realising it. Sound is great. Dont expect MX3 levels of noise cancelling but very good.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Good earphones but...

WI-1000X 11 February 2020 by Kindson2012 (United Kingdom)

These earphones sound very good, however the noise cancelling ruins the sound, when the noise cancelling feature is turned on you get the popping slapping sound which ruins the whole purpose of it. Unless Sony releases an update to fix this issue, I cannot recommend them.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

No , noise cancelling . Inefective

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by Dozer777 (USA)

I love everything about these In ear Headphones except for the NC . I cant get it to work . Ive tried pretty much everything . I wish now I had bought the product without the NC and would have probably paid less and had the same great options in the app and neckband .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning performance

WI-1000X 07 February 2020 by FTOcharlie (United Kingdom)

Great quality, superb sound and extremely comfortable with very good battery life. Noise cancelling was a life saver on recent trip to New Zealand. These are so good I purchased a second pair for my wife who uses her whilst running, she loves them too. Very highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0