159

4.1 based on 159 customer reviews

97
23
15
10
14
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03 September 2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Almost perfect. Almost

WH-1000XM4 11 November 2020 by SoCloseSony (USA)

These headphones could be absolutely amazing. They are very comfy and the sound quality is very good and they are almost every way better than the previous XM3:s. BUT! when connecting these to my LG TV with Bluetooth, how can there be latency when XM3:s didn't have any latency problems, especially at this high price point that should be unacceptable. I would have given these full 5 stars but without the codecs (aptX and aptX HD) that would have made watching movies possible as well and made this product an overall best headphones out there, I just can't. It's so huge step back in that department and just because of that I can't say they are the best. For listening to music these are absolute beasts but for watching movies wirelessly these are no good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

160 Customer Reviews

0

Clear Vocals but bad bass

WH1000XM4/B 04 December 2020 by aliraza (USA)

I just bought these headphones and I don't feel any bass at all and lots of noise leakage. Please help, I have Samsung Galaxy Buds Live as well, and the bass on those feel way more punchy than these sony's.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sound quality is awesome!

WH1000XM4/B 01 December 2020 by MIN0729 (USA)

I've never used the noise canceling headphones and got this as a gift. The experience is really amazing and I can't use my earbuds anymore because of this :) I love sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not compatible with PS4

WH-1000XM4 30 November 2020 by TwinNo2 (USA)

I bought this last week on a recommendation from a friend. First, I made the mistake of selling my beats to get these (as an upgrade) my previous headphones had a better noise cancelling functionality than these. I can hear the air conditioning from the vent in my office even with the noise cancelling feature turned on. My husband was also disappointed because they are not supported with the PS4 (although there are claims they work with the PS5) and although they connected seamlessly to his PC while gaming, he had a lag with his microphone because it seems that this headset has two separate drivers (one for the audio, and the other for the mic input). I will be returning his headset since I paid too much for him not to be able to use them for all purposes. And I'm debating whether or not to return mine...the noise cancelling feature was not as good as my previous headset.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Greate Features good.

WH1000XM4/S 30 November 2020 by babu1 (USA)

I bought thgis Week Greate Features good I'm so Happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well pleased

WH-1000XM4 30 November 2020 by athelflaeda (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product which works well with my phone. Problem is I can't get it to work with my Windows 10 desktop pc. My old bluetooth headphones paired easily with my pc but these new Sony headphones won't pair at all! Have you encountered thid problem before?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The App is terrible!

WH1000XM4/B 28 November 2020 by J1234567810 (USA)

It should be simple to enable me to toggle between two devices on the app. The headphones will allow me to toggle from a laptop to my iphone by double tapping on the right earpiece. But I can't easily switch back and forth any other way. Sorry, that's just lazy engineering!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

1

1

0

The King

WH-1000XM4 27 November 2020 by Dp davv (USA)

Recently bought it and have never had such an experience. Best available upgrade, but not if you have mx3

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad call audio and static in left ear

WH-1000XM4 25 November 2020 by samullin (USA)

Before I bought these I looked at all of the reviews and ratings of these as well as the Bose QC headphones. All of the reviews stated that these were the better buy. Ive had them now for several months and I am now noticing that there is very low static in the left ear, which is aggravating. It happens when there is or is not music playing. Also when ever I receive a call from someone, they can never hear me. They say im muffled or like im a long way away from my phone? So I have to take them off when ever I need to make a phone call, so whats the purpose?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

The best headphone.

WH-1000XM4 25 November 2020 by SteveEvans (United Kingdom)

All the reviews that I have read on the Sony WH1000XM4 headphone said that it was a brilliant piece of kit and they weren’t wrong. The noise cancelling is outstanding.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

So disappointed

WH1000XM4/S 25 November 2020 by Sivajara (USA)

I have owned several noise cancelling headphones, admiting only Bose products up to now: QC15 y QC25. Actually I loved them and was very pleased with them. Thinking on upgrading to a wireless version, I did my research and found quite good comments about WH-1000XM4, Superb bass and ideal for music; I love it, and the BEST noise cancelling headphone nowadays. I do not know if they are defective but with my QCs I weared them at the office and I did not listen my co workers even when they were 3 feet away and speak loudly. With the Sonys I expected to surpass that kind of quality but in the same situation I listen their voices muffled. The only way to avoid it is to crank the volumen which is unacceptable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Does what it says on the box

WH-1000XM4 19 November 2020 by Ianwallters (United Kingdom)

These headphones are out of this world........perfection........only one prob. The price lol.....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Sound is Great, but NO manual mute function!

WH-1000XM4 18 November 2020 by DoGreatThings (USA)

I have the NC700 and these -- the sound quality is by far more superior than the bose to my ears. The comfort is also really great. I do wish they allowed you to pair with more than 2 devices (phone + laptop is not enough, especially if you have a work laptop too! that is 3 devices!) . I also had trouble trying to pair these with my SONY TV. My laptop can pair easily, but these can't, may be an issue with my TV, vs. the headphones though. However, the most annoying thing about these headphones are the fact it doesn't have a quick button or feature to mute the mic when you are on a call. I was hoping to use the custom button or two finger double tap ...but nope. Maybe a software update would allow this? It is incredibly important feature for taking phone calls!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

They are good, but not without issues.

WH-1000XM4 16 November 2020 by akschu (USA)

When paired to my computer and iphone, and when a call comes in, I double tap to answer, and then the headset answers the call, but then disconnects the computer. So right when the caller is saying hello, they are pushed into the background and I have to listen to "Device 2 disconnected" then ask the caller to repeat themselves. If the firmware could be made to lower the volume of system messages to 1/2 of the phone volume, that would fix this, or simply not disconnect my computer when I get a call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing g sound but has to be reset weekly

WH1000XM4/B 15 November 2020 by Jsacc92 (USA)

1st pair of over $100 headphones I've ever owned. They sound amazing but there's sm issue every week with the bluetooth connection and I have to reset them 1x a week

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

PLEASE ADD THE ARENA SOUND BACK!

WH-1000XM4 14 November 2020 by Fareed37393 (USA)

This is a downgrade rather than an upgrade ever since the arena sound is removed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

3

0

Great Noise Cancelling and sound: nearly flawless

WH-1000XM4 12 November 2020 by Trav89 (USA)

I have been using these headphones for nearly three months now. They are excellent and work as advertised. I purchased these primarily for the noise cancelling and for calls and video conferencing working from home. They deliver. People are unaware I'm on a headset when I'm using them. Once they have been paired with a device, they connect to them automatically and quickly. I have a total of four devices paired with them and switching is seamless. I have only two minor issues with them: As others have reported: i have what I think are average sized ears but they touch the inner fabric of the cups regardless of how I adjust them. It's not a deal breaker, but it is annoying. Just a minor increase in depth would fix this. The other is with the lack of aptX and aptX Low Latency support. For me, this impacts the quality of my experience with Bluetooth transmitters connected from other devices such as my Sony television and Bluray player when watching and listening to movies or television programs. The latency delay is quite noticeable. I would like to appeal to Sony to include this Codec in a future firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Almost perfect. Almost

WH-1000XM4 11 November 2020 by SoCloseSony (USA)

These headphones could be absolutely amazing. They are very comfy and the sound quality is very good and they are almost every way better than the previous XM3:s. BUT! when connecting these to my LG TV with Bluetooth, how can there be latency when XM3:s didn't have any latency problems, especially at this high price point that should be unacceptable. I would have given these full 5 stars but without the codecs (aptX and aptX HD) that would have made watching movies possible as well and made this product an overall best headphones out there, I just can't. It's so huge step back in that department and just because of that I can't say they are the best. For listening to music these are absolute beasts but for watching movies wirelessly these are no good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good

WH-1000XM4 11 November 2020 by Da (United Kingdom)

It is good, worth the money

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Decent feature, light weight, awesome sound qualit

WH1000XM4/B 07 November 2020 by Vittala (USA)

Purchase Sony WH-1000XM4 on Oct 14, 2020. Arrived on time and it was easy to setup. Product is great light weight. But missing feature is mute/unmute. Also sometimes it is loosing connection from my 2nd device (MacBook Pro)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not Sound Canceling At All -- WH-1000XM3 Better :/

WH-1000XM4 06 November 2020 by MedicalStudentduringCOVID (USA)

I returned my WH-1000XM3 because the WH-1000XM4 came out right as I bought the previous. I only got to use my WH-1000XM3 for 1 week, but I LOVED them! They were so quiet no matter where I studied and I was so excited to get "even better" headphones, have the "best noise canceling out there", and even about being able to connect to multiple devices. As a medical student I have to do this often. I was highly disappointed to find out recently, while the condo next to me started doing a little bit of updating and kids played at the pool 4 flights below me, I could hear so clearly that it was like I had no headphones on at all, even with the highest level of noise-canceling setting on. It was too late for me to return or exchange these headphones or I would!!! I have done every setting adjustment including optimizing the headphones to "better noise canceling", but even in doing so I can clearly hear a friend across the room speak quietly with a lecture video volume on loud. Since a lot of our classes have to be at home right now and the vast amount of studying done not in a classroom, I am highly disappointed in this pair. I am not sure if it is just my pair, but even at a quite coffee shop with these headphones on I can hear every word of any conversation across the shop (even with social distancing). I hope there is an update that fixes this. If I was not currently paying medical school tuition I would go back and buy the previous pair again, the WH-1000XM3, and throw these out!!! Also, the functionality with Alexa never seems to work despite working on it for weeks. My boyfriends WH-1000XM2 are significantly better despite being two generations back and being 3 years old. Please let me know if there is an update to better this because I normally love Sony and am desperate to better the noise canceling function, as right now it is non-existent for my pair. I am hoping this is just a flaw of the one that was sent to me and not how all the new generation functions, because if this is how ALL of the new generations of WH-1000XM4 functions, because if so this was a MASSIVE STEP BACKWARDS for Sony!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

10

0

Not as great as the reviews stated

WH-1000XM4 05 November 2020 by notabot3258 (USA)

Noise Cancelling: Very good. As with all ANC headphones, you can tell that it is on. Have used on airplanes and while using a leaf blower. It does a good job minimizing ambient noises Call Quality: Poor. Sitting in a quiet room or walking outside on a calm day, several people have commented on the level of background noise or how hard it was to hear my voice. Sony needs to improve the background noise cancellation for phone calls.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Great product.... But

WH-1000XM4 04 November 2020 by Chuey (USA)

thought they couldn't get better but I only have one problem they disconnect from whatever I Bluetooth to after a random amount of time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Static in the right ear regardless of use scenario

WH1000XM4/B 03 November 2020 by Rusty_wrp9 (USA)

WH-1000XM4 ver. 2.0.6. Annoying static in right ear starts after ~15 minutes use. Noise canceling On/Off, 1 device or 2, with audio or without. Phone call and video chat quality is good on my end. No one has complained about my audio quality, so I guess that is good. It is just this ANNOYING static.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

9

2

0

Poor quality sound

WH-1000XM4 02 November 2020  (USA)

Decent noise cancelling, poor quality sound. Horrible support and service.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

8