170

4.2 based on 170 customer reviews

115
18
11
12
14
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Incredible audio - beware of cold

WH-1000XM3 04 February 2019 by aami (USA)

Before purchasing these, I owned the WH-1000XM2 headphones. I upgraded to the WH-1000XM3 headphones last year after the XM2's stopped working (likely due to fault of my own–I am notoriously rough with what I own). I have since recommended these to numerous people. I truly believe the noise canceling in these headphones is the best I have ever used, and for me, they surpass Bose, which are frequently accredited with being the gold-standard. They are great for travel, studying, etc.; yet, there are obviously limitations. Should you find yourself in a busy and loud environment, the headphones will not be able to overcome this (this is an issue with all headphones). Similarly, should you find yourself walking around outside on a particularly windy day, the wind flowing over the microphones will cause some soft static to play in the background. The audio quality from the XM3s is also fantastic. While I will not claim to be an expert, I do listen to music all day while at work. The audio generated by these headphones is crisp and refreshing. There is no artificial boosting of the bass, which can be off-putting and unpleasant. Voices sound clear and immersive, making these an excellent pair of headphones for listening to podcasts. They likely do not compete with very high end, open-back headphones, for example, but I believe they are the best quality for the bracket in which they reside. The build quality on these is great. As I mentioned previously, I am quite rough with what I own, but these hold up well. I regularly walk outside with these in either snow or light rain (which I am certain is not recommended), and they continue to perform admirably. They are flexible, light, and will only become noticeable or uncomfortable after really long periods of use. When comparing them to the XM2s, I do not notice much of a difference. The audio quality appears to be roughly the same, and the noise cancelling may be a hair better with the XM3s. While using them to talk, however, I have noticed that that people are able to hear me a bit clearer with the XM3s. This likely has to do with the engineers changing the position of the microphones. Additionally, while it is a minor detail, I really appreciate the change of the micro-USB to a USB-C port. More and more companies are beginning to incorporate USB-C into their devices, and it is always a pleasure to reduce the number of cords you must pack while traveling. Granted, I am unable to compare the two generations side by side, as I no longer own a pair of the XM2s. Therefore, please take what I have said with a grain of salt. The XM3s do have a few niche issues though. I live in Michigan and walk to work every day. I have noticed that on particularly cold days (sub freezing temperatures), the touch pad will spaz out briefly, as if I am quickly changing the settings. This will result in everything from activating voice assistant, to skipping songs, to cranking the volume. The touch pad then remains unusable until I get back inside and warm up the headphones. Additionally, I have noticed that the touch pad can be a bit finicky. For example, I find myself at times attempting to pause the music three or four times before my double tap registers. I do not remember having either of these issues with the WH-1000XM2 pair; however, these may both be fixable with a future software update. Finally, I have noticed that these headphones are a bit on the larger end. A few of my friends with smaller heads have emphasized that the headband is too large, causing the earpieces to rest on the tops of their ears. This can definitely be uncomfortable; however, it can be corrected by adding additional, third-party, padding to the headband. Finally, I do a bit of video work, and I have made these my main headphones for editing. If you are a videographer and have not used wireless headphones while editing, I would highly recommend it. It is immensely more enjoyable to edit while not tethered directly to your computer. You will notice, however, that there is a slight lag between the video displaying on your screen and the audio coming through the headphones. Unfortunately, I believe this is simply a product of current bluetooth technology, and I do not believe this is an issue unique to these headphones. Overall, if these headphones are within your price range, I would highly recommend them. I truly believe you will enjoy them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good except for potential touch control flaw

WH1000XM3/B 16 November 2018 by Cochlea (USA)

I would have loved this product but in cold weather (30-40F) the touch controls either stop working or become fritzy (randomly and frequently pause/skip tracks or activate voice control. Makes them unusable for cold weather commuting.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

17

0

170 Customer Reviews

0

Epic and Excellent built

WH-1000XM3 13 February 2019 by Hitesh (United Kingdom)

First I am a huge sony fan, but my review is not biased because I listened to other noise cancelling headphones before. This piece will create an impact of how you listen to your favorite audio tracks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound quality with a big missed opportunity

WH-1000XM3 12 February 2019  (USA)

I am deeply satisfied overall with the product, however, there are a few cons. I managed to compare it with Bower and Wilkins PX, too. Pros: - Great, rich sound quality, even on Bluetooth. The support for aptx HD is a great plus - Almost perfect noise cancellation - Great operating distance - Great software (on Android) - It is lightweight, I can wear it for hours - Super battery performance - The first headset the other side did not notice I'm using a headset during phone calls. Excellent work! Cons: - The greatest: you cannot use the USB cable to transfer high quality music in a lossless way. Bower and Wilkins PX knows this feature. The USB cable is for charging only. What a missed opportunity! Please add this feature if you can! - Looks less fancy compared to the competitor mentioned before. (But maybe this is not a con if you live in that kind of neighborhood...) - The voice feedback mutes the music completely. If motion auto detection is turned on, this is rather annoying. - The play/pause tapping is not working too reliably. - The jack connectivity does not offer better sound quality, and also disables noise cancellation. The first con I mentioned can be a game changer for an audiophile like I am. This is the main reason I rated the "features" to "average" only.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

good sound

WH1000XM3/B 10 February 2019 by fherny (USA)

i buy this product 10 day ago very satisfy with this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound and easy setup

WH-1000XM3 09 February 2019 by Pragnesh19 (United Kingdom)

I bought this after months of deliberation and it turns out to one of my Best Buy!!! Cheers Sony team... this is damm good device..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

WH-1000XM3 09 February 2019 by toby69 (United Kingdom)

I´m very happy after check to many options I´ve decided for Sony, and I probed by my self great item it is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent item

WH-1000XM3 09 February 2019 by AvdW (USA)

Great sound, impressive functionality, comfortable fit, good build quality: all in all just a fantastic and impressive product that just works very well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best!!

WH-1000XM3 08 February 2019 by bryansteele (USA)

After coming to this product from another big named product. I am so happy I did. This headset goes beyond what I was expecting. The sound quality is fantastic. The noice cancellation is better than any others I've used. and I absolutely love their Ambient Sound Control. Good job Sony!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM3 08 February 2019 by M3R5K (USA)

Software is wonky but once you connect it’s the best sound for Bluetooth headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Continue to sell same design with known flaw

WH-1000XM3 07 February 2019 by Aaron29 (USA)

Sony continues to sell these headphones with know design flaw. Cracks in the headset even with handling with care.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

8

0

Stylish

WH-1000XM3 06 February 2019 by David (United Kingdom)

Great headphones and noise cannceling is excellent would recommend.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great for flying

WH-1000XM3 06 February 2019 by Johnny (United Kingdom)

Great sound quality... great noise Canceling especially flying! Even just to zone out without listening to music you won’t hear aeroplane noise

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The sound on movies is incredible

WH-1000XM3 06 February 2019 by treystation (USA)

I have fancy surround sound speakers that are nice but something was missing. These headphones allow me to hear it like I want. Full and rich

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Incredible audio - beware of cold

WH-1000XM3 04 February 2019 by aami (USA)

Before purchasing these, I owned the WH-1000XM2 headphones. I upgraded to the WH-1000XM3 headphones last year after the XM2's stopped working (likely due to fault of my own–I am notoriously rough with what I own). I have since recommended these to numerous people. I truly believe the noise canceling in these headphones is the best I have ever used, and for me, they surpass Bose, which are frequently accredited with being the gold-standard. They are great for travel, studying, etc.; yet, there are obviously limitations. Should you find yourself in a busy and loud environment, the headphones will not be able to overcome this (this is an issue with all headphones). Similarly, should you find yourself walking around outside on a particularly windy day, the wind flowing over the microphones will cause some soft static to play in the background. The audio quality from the XM3s is also fantastic. While I will not claim to be an expert, I do listen to music all day while at work. The audio generated by these headphones is crisp and refreshing. There is no artificial boosting of the bass, which can be off-putting and unpleasant. Voices sound clear and immersive, making these an excellent pair of headphones for listening to podcasts. They likely do not compete with very high end, open-back headphones, for example, but I believe they are the best quality for the bracket in which they reside. The build quality on these is great. As I mentioned previously, I am quite rough with what I own, but these hold up well. I regularly walk outside with these in either snow or light rain (which I am certain is not recommended), and they continue to perform admirably. They are flexible, light, and will only become noticeable or uncomfortable after really long periods of use. When comparing them to the XM2s, I do not notice much of a difference. The audio quality appears to be roughly the same, and the noise cancelling may be a hair better with the XM3s. While using them to talk, however, I have noticed that that people are able to hear me a bit clearer with the XM3s. This likely has to do with the engineers changing the position of the microphones. Additionally, while it is a minor detail, I really appreciate the change of the micro-USB to a USB-C port. More and more companies are beginning to incorporate USB-C into their devices, and it is always a pleasure to reduce the number of cords you must pack while traveling. Granted, I am unable to compare the two generations side by side, as I no longer own a pair of the XM2s. Therefore, please take what I have said with a grain of salt. The XM3s do have a few niche issues though. I live in Michigan and walk to work every day. I have noticed that on particularly cold days (sub freezing temperatures), the touch pad will spaz out briefly, as if I am quickly changing the settings. This will result in everything from activating voice assistant, to skipping songs, to cranking the volume. The touch pad then remains unusable until I get back inside and warm up the headphones. Additionally, I have noticed that the touch pad can be a bit finicky. For example, I find myself at times attempting to pause the music three or four times before my double tap registers. I do not remember having either of these issues with the WH-1000XM2 pair; however, these may both be fixable with a future software update. Finally, I have noticed that these headphones are a bit on the larger end. A few of my friends with smaller heads have emphasized that the headband is too large, causing the earpieces to rest on the tops of their ears. This can definitely be uncomfortable; however, it can be corrected by adding additional, third-party, padding to the headband. Finally, I do a bit of video work, and I have made these my main headphones for editing. If you are a videographer and have not used wireless headphones while editing, I would highly recommend it. It is immensely more enjoyable to edit while not tethered directly to your computer. You will notice, however, that there is a slight lag between the video displaying on your screen and the audio coming through the headphones. Unfortunately, I believe this is simply a product of current bluetooth technology, and I do not believe this is an issue unique to these headphones. Overall, if these headphones are within your price range, I would highly recommend them. I truly believe you will enjoy them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Excellent sound quality

WH-1000XM3 02 February 2019 by Louis1802 (United Kingdom)

Best noise canceling headphones, perfect for traveling/commuting!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but could get better

WH-1000XM3 30 January 2019 by MarkZee (USA)

Bought new online. Tried them on and I'm impressed. Clear sound although the old WH-1000XM2's have better clarity in my opinion. Great bass but not as deep as other cheaper Sony headphones. Noise cancellation feature DOES NOT completely block outside sound despite other reviews. Headphone surfaces show fingerprint smears from touch-control. The old wh-1000xm2's do not leave fingerprint smears as this model does. Overall, decent headphones but needs minor improvements.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great noise cancelling

WH1000XM3/B 29 January 2019 by kelley (USA)

Noise cancelling is excellent and can completely cancel out a plane engine. The touch features on the right hand side were unexpected but work great. I have had no issues at all with connecting with either my phone or computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

The best NC cans on the market

WH-1000XM3 29 January 2019 by Steve1968 (United Kingdom)

I took a long time deciding which headphones to buy, I tested all of the rival ANC headphones and these beat them all hands down. I love the fact that they support codecs such as ldac. The noise cancelling is class leading, and the sound quality is amazing. Sony have carried on the WH 1000 model and I am so glad they have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great sound

WH1000XM3/B 28 January 2019 by Tom R 1966 (USA)

Did all the research, went with the Sony brand, and so glad I did. Great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Absolute must-have for air travel.

WH1000XM3/B 27 January 2019 by TravelABroad (USA)

Bought just before long-haul flight. Tried Bose and all other contenders on. This was the only pair where I said, "Wow" out loud. Brilliant noise reduction and crystal clarity for sound. Reduced stress from discordant or constant noise enormously. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great sound, call quality is meh.

WH-1000XM3 27 January 2019 by Sker (USA)

The noise cancelling feature is amazing. The Sony Music Center app helps makes sound adjustments and it’s a great compliment to the headphones. The touch/swipe controls are pretty easy to use, and can be pretty convenient. The call quality is not the best. The ambient sound feature turns on during the call and the noise cancelling is useless. Don’t understand why this is necessary and why it does not give you the option to at least switch between the two. Cheaper noise canceling headphones don’t have this problem. Hope they fix this, because making calls with the ambient sound on is a pretty big turn off.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great item

WH-1000XM3 26 January 2019 by Krzj (United Kingdom)

I bought it from E-bay even never listening to them before. I was insure in the build and. sound quality. Now I got them and do not sorry about it, they worth of every cent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Does not work correctly in cold temperatures

WH-1000XM3 26 January 2019 by Ziggybee (USA)

Acting erratic in 36F after all paying about $400 to buy this. Everything was great until we got the cold weather. Tired of turning it on and off sony doesn't have a soluty for this. You guys better make the mx4 with the proper fix and replace these mx3s with them for free.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

10

1

0

I wanted to love these headphones.

WH-1000XM3 26 January 2019 by SamL (USA)

Everything is great, except for one thing. Great sound, battery life, quick charge, lots of features... cooks your ears. I wanted to wear these headphones for extended periods of time but it's just not possible. After about 15 minutes of use your ears will get hot and start to sweat.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

It's going back

WH-1000XM3 25 January 2019 by SonyFail (USA)

Just bought it today. Pathetic charging cable and WHAT charging adapter sold separately, after spending $380...seriously? Since I can't seem even get it to charge from my computer or other multiple adapters, this is clearly not a product that is ready for the real world based on other reviews here. Real gear doesn't need coddling. I'm just glad their mirrorless camera division has real engineers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

5