201

4.3 based on 201 customer reviews

119
55
11
6
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

202 Customer Reviews

0

Great product!

FDR-AX53 21 October 2020 by Biki 55 (USA)

I am happy to have it! This was my birthday present

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Like the camera

FDR-AX53 16 October 2020 by 1234tg (USA)

I think it's time to add a 4 stacked super 35 full frame film sensors and with recording in raw h.264 avc mpeg 4 And raw hevc h.265 and raw fvc h.266 all with a 1:1 lossless avi with with a maximum of 90,000GB file for a full maximum quality and a battery life of 5 weeks of straight recording non stop with a built in unlimited storage non removable and reinforced microphones for a top premium quality crisp and clear and loud sound with a raw audio format with aiff encoding with a resolution of 192khz 24bit Stereo + full range sound quality and a 8000 crisp image zoom with 8k 60fps.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

perfect camera great features

FDR-AX53 10 October 2020 by dz tlr (United Kingdom)

hi all just to say as a real-world user of this camera must say it beat my expectations I bought mine from castle camera Bournemouth as at the present time there the only one I could find with stock if you wish to fit a lens hood then your have to get a 55mm to 72mm step up ring and a 72mm petal lens hood which works perfectly with the BOSS stabilization system of the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

FDR-AX53 30 September 2020 by Simon57 (United Kingdom)

The Steady shot system is really great, keeps the image steady even when zoomed in. Not quite so good if trying to walk and film in 4K, slight side to side jitter in playback. Picks up wind noise outside. Side screen not very easy to use in bright sun light, viewfinder is fine, but need to remove glasses to use properly. Use it on fully automatic and it produces great quality film.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Picture Quality

FDRAX53B 24 September 2020 by Mitchell Rider (USA)

I had been shooting Sony Video 8 for years and wanted to go HD. This seemed to be the best choice. My only criticisms are the eyepiece lets in too much light. For such a sophisticated camera, a nice eye shield could have been included. Also, it is slow in auto focus change. Prefer buttons or wheels to a touch screen for settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent battery life

FDR-AX53 13 September 2020 by Shurst (United Kingdom)

We bought this camcorder to film our wedding with reduced numbers to play back to family that could not attend it was really easy to set up and the battery life is really good will be using this a lot it even has an external microphone socket the only down side it will only record stereo in 4K not the 5.1 but so far is a really good video camera for the price.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outdated information on abilities

FDRAX53/B 03 September 2020 by KTD123 (USA)

I bought this camera for mobile streaming and all this info says its possible but all the apps and services it says to use have been discontinued.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

I love it, but it has one flaw

FDR-AX53 28 July 2020 by Anji18 (USA)

I've had the handycam ax53 for about 3 weeks now and i love it, the images are clear, the videos are clear. My only quarrel is that i have to pay $99 in order to be able to stream live, which i feel is a bit much esp being that the handycam advertises that it has wifi capabilities. Other than that I love the camera, but one of the main reasons i bought it over others was bc of the decent price as well as the night mode feature. I hope that any newer models allow for free live streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Overall terrific with some suggestions for Sony...

FDR-AX53 15 July 2020 by MartinS45 (USA)

This camera upgrades (not replaces) my CX760 which continues as a terrific performer after 10 years or so in the field. I'll keep it to use occasionally as a second as well as a backup. I understand the AX53 is current production replacement for the CX760 and EVERYTHING is better but for two things... The feel of the CX760 is considerably more solid than the AX53; more like a 'professional grade' vs. a 'consumer grade' kind of thing. Many have complained about the flimsy hot boot cover on the 53, of which I agree. The other thing disappointing to see is that while the CX760 was built in Japan, the AX53 is made in.......China. The price point reflects these things as the CX760 10 years ago was nearly double the cost of the AX53 today. So I applaud Sony on the unit and encourage consideration for the future...build a pro-grade unit in this size & weight configuration, bring manufacturing back to Japan and charge what you need for that package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony FDR AX53

FDR-AX53 07 July 2020 by Mick 19 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a week. I purchased it from Park Cameras with a very good discount and £80 cash back from Sony. After considerable research I came to the conclusion that it’s features it’s price and the excellent reviews were a good reason to buy. The camera does not disappoint, light, and easy to use in both manual and auto mode. Over the past 20 years I have owned Canon and Panasonic top end cameras, and this is the first Sony . Colour accuracy is excellent as is audio quality. For those people who are looking for a small top end 4K camera packed with features, I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent handycam.

FDR-AX53 03 July 2020 by Socky (United Kingdom)

A very recent purchase, so I am still learning its pluses and minuses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 16 June 2020 by DaveHD (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with this camera. I've spent my life as a TV cameraman so I wanted a camera with some manual features available and a decent zoom range. I also needed it to be small and easy to carry around. The 4K quality is excellent and gives a great finished video after editing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Quality!

FDRAX53B 13 May 2020 by Zinbad (USA)

I needed a camcorder for streaming and the AX53 fits the need!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very Professional

FDRAX53B 03 May 2020 by Fairway (USA)

High quality and fantastic stabilization. Excellent lens, the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy to use and awesome videos

FDRAX53B 26 April 2020 by MikeK895 (USA)

I purchased this camera to record church services during the COVID crisis. It is very easy to use and has awesome quality video and stills. I would recommend this for excellent quality videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awsome long distance focuse

FDRAX53/B 07 April 2020  (USA)

Great camera. You can pick it up and go and film all day. Or take some time lapse photography. Or even still shot it's all around great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great choice for 4K video

FDR-AX53 15 March 2020 by Dick1234 (United Kingdom)

Thought long and hard about which video recorder to buy and I am pleased with this one. Easy to use, good quality 4K and value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good video

FDRAX53/B 28 February 2020 by drodly (USA)

I like everything about it but moving files to computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 22 January 2020 by TB2359 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product just under a month ago and so far, so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

AX53

FDRAX53B 20 January 2020 by Spyguy (USA)

Had some technical issues with the camera not shutting off and having play back issues. Sony did take care of repairing it under warranty. It’s overall all a really good camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I wanted the best and I got it in the Sony AX53 Ha

FDR-AX53 10 January 2020 by Dancing Dennis (United Kingdom)

In the past I have used 35mm and 16mm & 8mm film, both professionally and as a general member of the public, as well as an assortment of Video cameras but it was time to update. I was using a fantastic Canon but this used mini tapes and so I wanted to move up to the next step without hitting the bank account too much. I searched the internet as well as speking to other people who use video and the Sony was always the highest up the list of recomendations. I have only had the Sony AX53 since christmas but have already made two videos which have been up-loaded to YouTube sand Facebook. I am very pleased with the results. We have a trip to India coming up and am really expecting the very best of video recording for this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camcorder !

FDR-AX53 19 December 2019 by E456 (United Kingdom)

Bought this very recently. So far I’m very happy with it. Helpful to have stereo mic input jack to connect with mobile receiver and 2 radio mics. picture quality and usability are great. One wish.... more detailed instruction manual. At the moment you have to work through menus and some of the things I just don’t know really what they do or show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent value

FDR-AX53 21 November 2019 by Hymer1 (United Kingdom)

Still early days, but the features used to date, i.e automatic focus, zoom, wide angle lens and the brilliant stability system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handheld masterpiece

FDR-AX53 06 November 2019 by Dommyp (United Kingdom)

I brought this to replace a DSLR for filming, and I could not be happier. It’s super fast auto focus, lowlight quality and just general ease-of-use, not to mention how long the battery lasts

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0