1281

4.4 based on 1,281 customer reviews

782
368
70
27
34
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02 October 2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29 September 2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

1,281 Customer Reviews

0

Compact

DSC-W830 12 September 2019 by Caza (United Kingdom)

Very happy with it apart from the on/off button being very small

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So good I bought it twice!

DSC-W830 11 September 2019 by Lizzi (United Kingdom)

I use this little camera every day for my work. I need a camera which gives me really clear, sharp photos. This camera is easy to use with the option of taking video. I've bought a second camera as I need a back-up and I want to retire the first camera for personal use where it's equally good for family pics and holidays.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great features

DSCW830 10 September 2019 by Dancer69 (USA)

Very nice easy to use and great pictures and the features and easy to access making it simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

DSC-W830 08 September 2019 by budgie49 (United Kingdom)

The Sony Cybershot W830 compact digital camera is excellent value and takes excellent photos .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

An Excellent User Friendly Camera

DSC-W830 08 September 2019 by budgie 49 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace an older camera and it has been used on many occasions with no problems and has taken many excellent photos .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W830 06 September 2019 by Moonyean (United Kingdom)

Bought this as old Nikkon Coolpix no longer working. The only drawback that it did

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSCW830B 04 September 2019 by Kayak Kate (USA)

I bought this camera prior to a trip to the southwest . Great pictures right out of the box!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Teeny wee thing

DSC-W830 02 September 2019 by Bella (United Kingdom)

Thought when I bought the camera it's really wee but for a wee camera it packs a lot in. The fotos are great quality and the zoom is good as well. I've taken loads of fotos and it does the job well. Take up little space so it fits easily into anything. Great wee camera

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to use point and take picture

DSC-W830 30 August 2019 by halfwelsh (United Kingdom)

The camera is light but steady in the hand to shoot. Camera lens gives good clear picture in viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Photo and Video ability!

DSCW830 30 August 2019 by Crunchy (USA)

This camera has great focusing ability. It also can take "MACRO" photos, too!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice little camera

DSC-W830 28 August 2019 by XxX (United Kingdom)

good quality shots, easy enough to use, shame it does not come with a proper manual.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Perfect little camera for travel

DSC-W830 28 August 2019 by Bangordragon (United Kingdom)

Purchased this for my granddaughters 9th birthday. She absolutely loved it. She has takes some fabulous photos with it. The zoom is decent for the size of the camera. Simple to connect to laptop to transfer pictures. Easy to use settings, I showed her once how to get into the menu and she seemed confident with it. Pictures are sharp with good colour capture. Fits neatly into your pocket .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Too clever

DSC-W830 26 August 2019 by steve 36 (United Kingdom)

You cant buy a simple camera anymore. Its a little small for my liking, almost awkward to get hold of, difficulty in turning on unless you have long fingernails, too many settings, ergo, hard to find the setting you want before moment gone. having said that some auto settings are very convenient and nice clear shots. The flimsy piece of paper optimistically called an instruction manual is sadly inadequate and after registering my purchase to access the help line there were so many links that told you sod all I couldn't even find a page that told me how to download photos to computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

My cyber shot is very tiny, but takes good photos.

DSC-W830 24 August 2019 by Dazza (United Kingdom)

A bit disappointed, as it was tiny and also the hand grab string was not attached and had no where to attach it. But on the upside it does take good photos. It rarely turns on at first press of the button.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

well built easy to use

DSC-W830 21 August 2019 by Brian (United Kingdom)

this camera fulfils all you need for quick family pictures and distant views. viewfinder good in low light. Zeis lens fantastic. 8x zoom may not be good enough for the enthusiast but for under you can't expect £100 more

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Camera works

DSC-W830 21 August 2019 by Chris (United Kingdom)

Easy to start using but printed user guide does not include all features and I had to find out what all buttons do, it was a case of trial and error, especially reviewing pictures afterwards. There is nothing in the user guide on how to get back from reviewing pictures

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

DSC-W830 20 August 2019 by TOMTOM (United Kingdom)

REPLACED SAME MODEL THAT WE HAD PREVIOUSLY HAD AND WERE PLEASED WITH.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great camera features

DSC-W830 14 August 2019  (United Kingdom)

I brought the camera three days ago and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small enough to fit in my pocket.

DSC-W830 14 August 2019 by Polly (United Kingdom)

Love this little camera small enough, to take out with me every day, it takes fantastic photos and very easy to use .

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

easy to use. simple to follow instructions.

DSC-W830 14 August 2019 by Buddy (United Kingdom)

The camera is easy to use no fuss. Video is of good quality and simple to down load.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

CHEAP, EASY TO USE.

DSC-W830 11 August 2019 by alxcaz (United Kingdom)

Camera is very easy to use, feels a bit flimsy, but does what i want, it's small and compact, with a good battery life, and it's easy to transfer photos to my PC for editing, and saving or printing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cannot recommend

DSC-W830 09 August 2019 by Disappointed Dave (United Kingdom)

After a lot of research, I decided to purchase this camera. There was one negative review amongst loads of other very positive ones that I dismissed; however I wish that I had paid more attention to it. The main reason that I cannot recommend this camera is that, when taking a picture, an image preview appears on the screen, which is useful if required. However, you cannot switch this function off. I have consulted with Sony, and they agree that the image preview cannot be switched off. In reality therefore, it means that from taking one picture to being ready to take the next one takes around 5 seconds, and there is nothing you can do about it. If you want to take lots of pictures quickly, you can't basically, and can miss important moments. It is really annoying and frustrating. Why is it on a mobile phone you can take say, 3 pictures a second, and on a dedicated camera of the quality of Sony, you can't. I also don't recommend it because the auto focus takes a while and is a bit hit and miss, and the on/off button is very fiddly, and again if you want to take a picture quickly, I have lost valuable time or the moment fiddling around trying to turn it on. Whilst the quality of the pictures is good, for the really frustrating points I've mentioned above, I without doubt cannot recommend this camera. I should have paid more attention to the negative review I read, which basically said the same as I have done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SONY W830

DSC-W830 01 August 2019 by LeymoorTerrier (United Kingdom)

After my 'Canon PowerShot 470' finally gave up the ghost, I thought I'd give this one a try. It's a bit 'fiddly' small for my ageing fingers, but, like everything else electronic, quite powerful. I like the panorama feature, good for covering my bowling green!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact, lightweight and pleasing

DSC-W830 31 July 2019 by greenman (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my wife. She finds it easy to use. Really pleased with the picture quality and ease of handling. Good for close-up work particularly. Definitely suitable for someone with smaller hands - mine tend to get in the way. Still learning what it is capable of!

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0