61

4.2 based on 61 customer reviews

36
11
7
5
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sweet camera but...

DSC-RX100M6 26 July 2018 by UA48 (USA)

I looked at the RX100 VI at our city's last true camera retailer and would have bought it except that the image on the screen cannot be seen when wearing polarized sun glasses. This is not a problem with my Canon G16 (except when held on the vertical) so I am not sure why Sony has not installed a more usable screen. Since most of my photography is done outdoors and in the sun switching glasses is an issue. The viewfinder is not a viable alternative. I liked everything else about the camera and will buy the next generation if Sony can correct this one weakness.

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

61 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100M6 05 March 2019 by Ianburridge (United Kingdom)

Bought for holiday in Costa Rica and got some stunning pictures from it. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

DSC-RX100M6 26 February 2019 by Rich 1832 (United Kingdom)

Great camera impressed with results great travel camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera - almost a DSLR in your pocket

DSC-RX100M6 09 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Had the camera a month. Originally bought a rugged compact but that fell far short of my daily needs. Now just use that for climbing, caving and underwater. I always carry the RX100vi with me and for my use, its features are almost as good as my Nikon D7200. Only nags are the front finger grip should be included rather than being a fifteen quid accessory and, worse, it has no in-built interval timer/timelapse facility; which, as a purely software function, would have cost nothing to add. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it! (Oh, and why doesn't popping up the flash turn the camera on in the same way popping up the viewfinder does?)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

More than meets my needs

DSC-RX100M6 04 February 2019 by Devon Harry (United Kingdom)

To take a good photo you need a camera - that is to say a camera you have with you, the best equipment in the world is of no use if it is at home in a cupboard! My specifications were for a multi-capable camera that is small and light enough to carry comfortably at all times in a jacket or coat pocket; that has a useful optical zoom range; a viewfinder; a tilting screen; RAW format as well as JPG; decent low-light performance; and that will produce large high quality prints. After reading numerous reviews, etc., the RX100 VI, although well above my initial budget, was the only camera I thought met all my criteria. And it does! Although I've only had it a couple of weeks it has already produced a very impressive set of candid ambient light photos taken at a formal dinner function, some great landscapes in our recent snowfall, and some superbly detailed portraits of my wife and of our cat. There is still a lot for me to learn about this camera and the many functions it offers but, so far, I am very impressed and pleased with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic small high quality camera

DSCRX100M6/B 01 February 2019 by garytex (USA)

I needed a small and lighter size camera that would still have the high quality I have come to expect from larger more expensive cameras. Amazed at the sharpness and quality of this camera plus the broad zoom range in something this small is incredible. It fits in my pocket and is easy to carry and use. Wish it had better low light noice reduction but it is no worse than my larger cameras that are near professional level so it's a good trade in small size and have all the features that this camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first Sony camera - and it's brilliant !!

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2019 by DarziPics (United Kingdom)

I'm a keen photog and have used Nikon dSLR cameras since D70 through D750, so have/am finding the Sony camera controls and mindset quite different - but do-able just (much) slower to use even with MyMenu and Fn menu access helping. The short battery life is a big downside. The image quality is acceptable, although the raw(.ARW) files can have a huge amount of lens distortion which correcting leaves minor traces and artefacts. The ExFine SooC JPEG files are good although the autoWB isn't as good as Nikon's especially for Caucasian skin tones in non-sunny light conditions. Overall I love the small size literally fits my pocket even in it's case, and the 24-100mm (35mm Equiv.) lens is fantastic for the size and convenience, if a tad optically slow. I too would prefer to have ND filtering built in, but suspect size constraints ruled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just about perfect!

DSC-RX100M6 27 January 2019 by JackKen (USA)

I read lots of reviews before purchasing the RX100 VI, but it still exceeded all of my expectations. I've now sold all of my DSLR's and lenses - and I don't miss them at all!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best travel compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 26 January 2019 by p1gala (United Kingdom)

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact camera aimed at pros, enthusiasts and vloggers. If you’re after a do-it-all pocket travel camera, the RX100 VI has taken the crown.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 23 January 2019 by nickydee (United Kingdom)

Compared to other compacts this is streets ahead in quality & features.So compact you can carry it almost anywhere & not miss a shooting opportunity. Menus seem a bit complicated at first but are very similar to those that are in most other Sony cameras so there are lots of YouTube tutorials to help & also some excellent guide books too . You can, though, get excellent shots just in Auto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth the price and worth upgrading to.

DSC-RX100M6 20 January 2019 by xyzab (United Kingdom)

I had the MK3 for many years and loved it, but found the extended lens on the M6 too tempting. I was worried about maintaining good sharpness over such a longer zoom range but after reading many reviews, went for it. I must say I am not disappointed. Its an excellent camera. One complaint is that the stick on hand grip, which is excellent, makes it tight to fit the case (the £100 one) despite Sony advertising the case as suitable for that grip. Clearly they have not re-shaped the case to accommodate the hand grip properly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrific little camera!

DSC-RX100M6 18 January 2019 by Nigglynige (United Kingdom)

Improvement on previous models, great zoom range starting at a useful wide angle 24mm equivalent. Pop-up viewfinder is very useful in bright ambient light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2018 by Prabodha (USA)

Been using the RX100 since the beginning version 1. This is the best yet with the enhanced Zoom. Literally has changed my life!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Color Rendition and Detail

DSCRX100M6/B 28 November 2018 by ScottB100 (USA)

Many of the reviews have emphasized the zoom lens and the great video quality. As a professional still photographer, I rarely use video. The 24mm to 200mm has proven to be quite useful when shooting urban landscapes, but what I am really blown away by is the sharpness of the photographs (there seems little to no difference between the 24 megapixel ASP-C sensor and this 20.1 1" sensor) and the color rendition. I shoot RAW, and I have noticed I make very view adjustments to color in Lightroom. The noise is also very light even at ISO 1000, which I shoot below as much as possible. The blues, yellows, and reds are particularly good. Yes, the camera is expensive, but it so portable. Because of the image quality, I feel less guilty leaving my full frame at home when I am out and about and want a serious camera with me at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Get great images without looking like a tourist.

DSC-RX100M6 18 November 2018 by Taffy bloke (United Kingdom)

Just to set the scene - I'm an amateur photographer who uses an A7mk 2, along with a number of G Lenses. Previously, my preferred travel camera was the hugely impressive RX10 mk 3, down simply to that incredible focal length of 24 - 600mm. The reason I bought the RX100M6 was an impending USA road trip where I had would be visiting the 'Real America' - New Orleans, Memphis and Nashville. I wanted a camera that would give great image quality but could be tucked away in 'dodgy' areas. The RX100M6 certainly delivers in both areas, image quality is absolutely incredible, better than my RX10 by a country mile in terms of sharpness and colour rendition. I've been shooting in RAW & JPEG, but to be honest the JPEGs are so good I'll probably ditch the RAW files. I've attached a few images from my American road trip which hopefully will illustrate my point. I know it's an expensive camera, but it's expensive for a reason, it's bloody good! Just hit the buy button, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great little camera – good for creative pictures

DSC-RX100M6 16 November 2018 by tinaistda (United Kingdom)

Since I bought the camera about 2 weeks ago, she is always there. So far, I can only report good things. It makes great shots, you really have a lot of settings (almost like a big camera) and the absolute advantage is, it is small, light and handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No manual

DSC-RX100M6 14 November 2018 by cookgirl (USA)

No manual is included with the camera and none is available online. Sony, you disappoint once again.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

30

0

Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light.

DSC-RX100M6 09 November 2018  (United Kingdom)

I have had this for a month and use it as a backup for my system camera where I don’t want to take something so bulky. It’s is Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light. Touch sensitive For those who comment about complex menus -> Get a grip. It’s not that difficult. This is a 5 star camera for a compact pocketable camera. Yes pricey but you get what you pay for. I compared with many others and they all lacked something.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow lens - Practically f4

DSC-RX100M6 04 November 2018 by Shaji123 (USA)

I had to cancel my order realising the slow lens compared to previous model M5, which will affect low light photos and bokeh effect. It's ok to have f2.8 max apperture (M5 have f1.8). But, I would expect it to keep f2.8 until 70mm. Unfortunately, its immediately going to f4 at lower focal lengths. There are lot of great improvements over M5. But the slower lens is a major flaw at this price. I will wait for M7, assuming it will have high zoom and better lens speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

my RX100 M6 purchased for Oz trip

DSC-RX100M6 01 November 2018 by Snapparoo (United Kingdom)

The M6 is my 3rd RX100, bought for the Oz trip with the longer reach of the 24-200 lens in mind. In bright conditions at wide & medium apertures it is OK, but nowhere near as good as the M3 I also took on the trip. Stop the aperture right down and resolution drops off. In low light the image quality drops off significantly, ditto from ISO 400 upwards. As a consequence I only use it on very bright days, fairly wide open and with as low an ISO as I can getaway with. The M6 is one very compromised camera, quite how I will get on when I get back to winter in the UK I cannot. Maybe I can, it will go in the drawer until next summer when it will be make or break. Break = eBay.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

Does what it claims

DSC-RX100M6 26 October 2018 by Sceptic (United Kingdom)

I bought this about two weeks ago and it is impossible to try out many is the almost innumerable capabilities it has I have so far found nothing wanting. Perhaps as an experienced photographer you do need to check what setting you are on as the camera will produce a reasonable image unless perhaps you use full manual. The under desk shot was taken at iso 8000! Very acceptable. The others at iso 100. The optical stabilization works well too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

You can’t fault this cameras abilities

DSC-RX100M6 21 October 2018 by Wwwdotsteve (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about three weeks ago and have used it in various situations to test the capabilities, I have not been disappointed with the results. Picture quality is second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Missing a time lapse app

DSC-RX100M6 19 October 2018 by rockett100 (United Kingdom)

Great camera for travel photography with a huge zoom range. The camera seems to be missing software features that you would expect in a high end camera. I would like to see a time-lapse app included on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Specifications to become the perfect camera

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2018 by Manel RG (USA)

This camera has to extend its zoom from a minimum of 15 mm (wide angle is so important for mountaineers to include all the mountain in the photo). Also it must be sealed from dust and water. The viewfinder must be bigger and more comfortable. Add grip. Is it possible to add a variable polarizer and ND filter? Is it possible to increase the sensor size like APS-C or even full frame like the RX1R II? I know that the camera will become more expensive, but I don't matter, it will worth.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

0

The Best Yet!

DSC-RX100M6 09 October 2018 by Nick46 (United Kingdom)

Superb camera. Worth it for the exrra range. 2.8 instead of 1.8 at the wide end doesn't effect the type of photograthy I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0