70

4.2 based on 70 customer reviews

40
15
7
6
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sweet camera but...

DSC-RX100M6 26 July 2018 by UA48 (USA)

I looked at the RX100 VI at our city's last true camera retailer and would have bought it except that the image on the screen cannot be seen when wearing polarized sun glasses. This is not a problem with my Canon G16 (except when held on the vertical) so I am not sure why Sony has not installed a more usable screen. Since most of my photography is done outdoors and in the sun switching glasses is an issue. The viewfinder is not a viable alternative. I liked everything else about the camera and will buy the next generation if Sony can correct this one weakness.

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

70 Customer Reviews

0

Very very very handy when on the move.

DSC-RX100M6 17 May 2019 by Billmac (United Kingdom)

Got about every thing you need in a small package. Excellent photos without thinking and also allows you to be creative if the will takes you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera in a small package!

DSC-RX100M6 13 May 2019 by steve1959 (United Kingdom)

I was tired of carrying round a DSLR + interchangeable lenses and wanted a compact travel camera that delivered on performance and picture quality. Look no further! This pocket rocket is the best camera I have ever owned in 45 years of taking pictures. It fulfils all my needs and I couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best pocket travel zoom camera

DSC-RX100M6 27 April 2019 by FrancoT (United Kingdom)

I bought this towards the end of 2018 and I am still blown over by its excellent stills and videos results. I didn't imagine this possible from such a camera but, there it is, up there with the best bigger-size DSLRs. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good but complex

DSC-RX100M6 18 April 2019 by RickyS (USA)

The "Help" file from Sony is out of date. It tells you to use "PlayMemories Mobile" and that software has been replaced. It describes a "Bulb" mode in shutter-priority which does not exist. The help file is a relabeled version of the document for an earlier camera. I tried to figure out how to use "Back Button Focus" on this camera but the menus are too different from the other Sony cameras for that advice to be helpful. The "Help" file describes how to use "Auto Exposure Lock" without saying what that is. Auto is the opposite of Lock. There are features not mentioned in the manual. If I'm in playback on a panorama and press the center button, it nicely scans the panorama in full screen. The "Help" on [Focus Standard] is gibberish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great camera, great quality!

DSC-RX100M6 07 April 2019 by rsh458 (USA)

The Sony RX100 VI is a gem of a camera, an outstanding photographic instrument! It delivers beautiful, rich, detailed images. The auto focus is fast and responsive. The pop-up EVF is bright. The camera is small enough to fit in your pocket and go everywhere with you, yet designed so that it fits naturally in your hands. I also shoot with a Fujifilm X-E3 with an 18-55 mm zoom camera, a great combination but too bulky for a travel or go-everywhere camera. On my last European trip I paired the X-E3 with the 27mm pancake lens, a relatively compact package, but despite what you’ve heard, when traveling there are often times when you can’t zoom with your feet. So I researched small zoom cameras. Fujifilm had abandoned its compact zoom line of X10-X30, forcing me to look elsewhere and I settled on the RX100 VI. I haven’t been disappointed. The camera is well made with a solid, even reassuringly heavy feel. Fuji is known for its JPEGS but I’ve found that the RX100 also produces excellent color JPEGs, second to none (it, however, doesn’t offer the variety of B&W JPEGS of Fuji or anything comparable to Fuji’s tonally rich Acros B&W film simulation — something Sony will hopefully address one day). I mention JPEG quality because I prefer not to spend a lot of time editing RAW images — and you don’t have to with Sony JPEGS. Like I said, I did a lot of research, checking out Nikon, Canon, Panasonic/Leica and other models before going with the RX100 VI. I read scores of reviews. Let me address criticisms in some of those reviews of the M6. First, that it’s not a good low light camera. Well, yes, a slower aperture is naturally what you pay for the longer zoom, an exchange I willingly made. That said, it’s worth noting that Sony says the M6 has an improved image stabilization system. I wouldn’t be surprised if that improvement makes up for the more than one-stop loss in aperture speed over other RX100 models. I’ve done some testing and found that, even though I don’t have the steadiest of hands, I get consistently sharp images even with a shutter speed down to 1/8 of a second in the 24-70mm zoom range. Sony gets a lot of criticism for its complex menus. Well, the camera is a sophisticated instrument with many functions, so that means a lot in the menus. Could they be better organized? Maybe. But guess what, you can do that yourself by assigning your most useful functions to the My Menu for quick access. That quickly, Sony’s so-called menu problem is solved. Another knock on the camera is the limited battery life. Well, it’s a small battery in a small camera. We can only hope that as battery technology advances, Sony won’t forget it RX100 enthusiasts and will provide us with a better, longer-lasting battery when the technology is available. Meanwhile, keep a replacement battery in your pocket. The RX100 VI is expensive. You pay for what you get, and this camera is packed with quality. In short, the RX100 VI is everything I hoped for and more in terms of quality. And it’s just a fun camera to shoot with!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excelent quality and decent handling in a compact

DSC-RX100M6 02 April 2019 by JCPW (United Kingdom)

Looking for something much smaller and lighter than my DSLR, previous compacts I have tried were just too limited in image quality and flexibility. The RX100 provides a remarkable level of image quality for the size. Handling is also good within the limitations caused by shrinking physical size but retaining a full set of controls. a brilliant little camera but make sure you have the strap on your wrist because sooner or later it will slip out of your fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All that I hoped it would be with a few proviso's

DSC-RX100M6 27 March 2019 by CJUman (United Kingdom)

Purchased 3 weeks ago via John Lewis. It was this or the Lumix TZ200EB. Went for the more expensive but shorter range zoom as this was lighter and fitted in a pocket. It felt better quality and I like the way the screen can be pulled out and twisted up and down. Walks and holidays since then has shown how much I need to try to remember, given the many functions on offer. Yes it fits in the pocket, but with the leather Sony Camera Case it makes a tight fit and too fiddly to open in a hurry. Good quality photos on Jepg fine, 4K video was one of my reasons for purchase and its good quality but very difficult to avoid camera shake without a tripod. I have a 4K cinema projector and can vouch for the quality of film shots. Excellent quick focus facility. Be careful with the on/off button, it would be possible to turn it on while in a pocket or handbag with disastrous results. Linking to an Android phone (HTC 10) has been problematic, NFC no chance, Bluetooth not as reliable as I had hoped for, WiFi link ?for what? . Clearly I am still on a learning curve with these features. I have managed to copy some pics from the camera to the HTC and then to Dropbox but it is a slow process even where there is 4G. Sticking the card in my laptop is quick and easy. I had problems trying to figure out what memory card I needed, especially for the speed 4K video would need. I have ended up with a Sony 64GB U3 SDXC II which is probably OTT, but used for 4K video; also a ScanDisk Extreme Pro 128GB U3 SDXC I (170MB/s V30) which works fine and at half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

RX100 VI Overheats :-(

DSCRX100M6/B 23 March 2019 by swooshy (USA)

Nowhere in the specifications, features, or reviews hint to the fact that this camera overheats and shuts down when doing video in excess of 15 to 20 minutes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Really very good

DSC-RX100M6 20 March 2019 by kit cat (United Kingdom)

Fed up with carting around a massive SLR and lenses I thought this would be the solution. I nearly part exchanged my £2200.00 worth (new) of Pentax equipment and having used the Sony a few times I am glad I didn't. The Sony is great with spectacular results but not quite the Pentax K3 with a prime 35mm and 17-70mm lenses. I will use the Pentax for best but for most occasions I am more than happy to use the Sony. It is really very good indeed and tiny too. The only downside is the battery life.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100M6 05 March 2019 by Ianburridge (United Kingdom)

Bought for holiday in Costa Rica and got some stunning pictures from it. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

DSC-RX100M6 26 February 2019 by Rich 1832 (United Kingdom)

Great camera impressed with results great travel camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera - almost a DSLR in your pocket

DSC-RX100M6 09 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Had the camera a month. Originally bought a rugged compact but that fell far short of my daily needs. Now just use that for climbing, caving and underwater. I always carry the RX100vi with me and for my use, its features are almost as good as my Nikon D7200. Only nags are the front finger grip should be included rather than being a fifteen quid accessory and, worse, it has no in-built interval timer/timelapse facility; which, as a purely software function, would have cost nothing to add. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it! (Oh, and why doesn't popping up the flash turn the camera on in the same way popping up the viewfinder does?)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

More than meets my needs

DSC-RX100M6 04 February 2019 by Devon Harry (United Kingdom)

To take a good photo you need a camera - that is to say a camera you have with you, the best equipment in the world is of no use if it is at home in a cupboard! My specifications were for a multi-capable camera that is small and light enough to carry comfortably at all times in a jacket or coat pocket; that has a useful optical zoom range; a viewfinder; a tilting screen; RAW format as well as JPG; decent low-light performance; and that will produce large high quality prints. After reading numerous reviews, etc., the RX100 VI, although well above my initial budget, was the only camera I thought met all my criteria. And it does! Although I've only had it a couple of weeks it has already produced a very impressive set of candid ambient light photos taken at a formal dinner function, some great landscapes in our recent snowfall, and some superbly detailed portraits of my wife and of our cat. There is still a lot for me to learn about this camera and the many functions it offers but, so far, I am very impressed and pleased with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic small high quality camera

DSCRX100M6/B 01 February 2019 by garytex (USA)

I needed a small and lighter size camera that would still have the high quality I have come to expect from larger more expensive cameras. Amazed at the sharpness and quality of this camera plus the broad zoom range in something this small is incredible. It fits in my pocket and is easy to carry and use. Wish it had better low light noice reduction but it is no worse than my larger cameras that are near professional level so it's a good trade in small size and have all the features that this camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first Sony camera - and it's brilliant !!

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2019 by DarziPics (United Kingdom)

I'm a keen photog and have used Nikon dSLR cameras since D70 through D750, so have/am finding the Sony camera controls and mindset quite different - but do-able just (much) slower to use even with MyMenu and Fn menu access helping. The short battery life is a big downside. The image quality is acceptable, although the raw(.ARW) files can have a huge amount of lens distortion which correcting leaves minor traces and artefacts. The ExFine SooC JPEG files are good although the autoWB isn't as good as Nikon's especially for Caucasian skin tones in non-sunny light conditions. Overall I love the small size literally fits my pocket even in it's case, and the 24-100mm (35mm Equiv.) lens is fantastic for the size and convenience, if a tad optically slow. I too would prefer to have ND filtering built in, but suspect size constraints ruled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just about perfect!

DSC-RX100M6 27 January 2019 by JackKen (USA)

I read lots of reviews before purchasing the RX100 VI, but it still exceeded all of my expectations. I've now sold all of my DSLR's and lenses - and I don't miss them at all!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best travel compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 26 January 2019 by p1gala (United Kingdom)

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact camera aimed at pros, enthusiasts and vloggers. If you’re after a do-it-all pocket travel camera, the RX100 VI has taken the crown.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 23 January 2019 by nickydee (United Kingdom)

Compared to other compacts this is streets ahead in quality & features.So compact you can carry it almost anywhere & not miss a shooting opportunity. Menus seem a bit complicated at first but are very similar to those that are in most other Sony cameras so there are lots of YouTube tutorials to help & also some excellent guide books too . You can, though, get excellent shots just in Auto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth the price and worth upgrading to.

DSC-RX100M6 20 January 2019 by xyzab (United Kingdom)

I had the MK3 for many years and loved it, but found the extended lens on the M6 too tempting. I was worried about maintaining good sharpness over such a longer zoom range but after reading many reviews, went for it. I must say I am not disappointed. Its an excellent camera. One complaint is that the stick on hand grip, which is excellent, makes it tight to fit the case (the £100 one) despite Sony advertising the case as suitable for that grip. Clearly they have not re-shaped the case to accommodate the hand grip properly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrific little camera!

DSC-RX100M6 18 January 2019 by Nigglynige (United Kingdom)

Improvement on previous models, great zoom range starting at a useful wide angle 24mm equivalent. Pop-up viewfinder is very useful in bright ambient light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2018 by Prabodha (USA)

Been using the RX100 since the beginning version 1. This is the best yet with the enhanced Zoom. Literally has changed my life!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Color Rendition and Detail

DSCRX100M6/B 28 November 2018 by ScottB100 (USA)

Many of the reviews have emphasized the zoom lens and the great video quality. As a professional still photographer, I rarely use video. The 24mm to 200mm has proven to be quite useful when shooting urban landscapes, but what I am really blown away by is the sharpness of the photographs (there seems little to no difference between the 24 megapixel ASP-C sensor and this 20.1 1" sensor) and the color rendition. I shoot RAW, and I have noticed I make very view adjustments to color in Lightroom. The noise is also very light even at ISO 1000, which I shoot below as much as possible. The blues, yellows, and reds are particularly good. Yes, the camera is expensive, but it so portable. Because of the image quality, I feel less guilty leaving my full frame at home when I am out and about and want a serious camera with me at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Get great images without looking like a tourist.

DSC-RX100M6 18 November 2018 by Taffy bloke (United Kingdom)

Just to set the scene - I'm an amateur photographer who uses an A7mk 2, along with a number of G Lenses. Previously, my preferred travel camera was the hugely impressive RX10 mk 3, down simply to that incredible focal length of 24 - 600mm. The reason I bought the RX100M6 was an impending USA road trip where I had would be visiting the 'Real America' - New Orleans, Memphis and Nashville. I wanted a camera that would give great image quality but could be tucked away in 'dodgy' areas. The RX100M6 certainly delivers in both areas, image quality is absolutely incredible, better than my RX10 by a country mile in terms of sharpness and colour rendition. I've been shooting in RAW & JPEG, but to be honest the JPEGs are so good I'll probably ditch the RAW files. I've attached a few images from my American road trip which hopefully will illustrate my point. I know it's an expensive camera, but it's expensive for a reason, it's bloody good! Just hit the buy button, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Great little camera – good for creative pictures

DSC-RX100M6 16 November 2018 by tinaistda (United Kingdom)

Since I bought the camera about 2 weeks ago, she is always there. So far, I can only report good things. It makes great shots, you really have a lot of settings (almost like a big camera) and the absolute advantage is, it is small, light and handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0