84

4.3 based on 84 customer reviews

51
18
7
6
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sweet camera but...

DSC-RX100M6 26 July 2018 by UA48 (USA)

I looked at the RX100 VI at our city's last true camera retailer and would have bought it except that the image on the screen cannot be seen when wearing polarized sun glasses. This is not a problem with my Canon G16 (except when held on the vertical) so I am not sure why Sony has not installed a more usable screen. Since most of my photography is done outdoors and in the sun switching glasses is an issue. The viewfinder is not a viable alternative. I liked everything else about the camera and will buy the next generation if Sony can correct this one weakness.

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

84 Customer Reviews

0

better with time

DSC-RX100M6 09 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently to bring my model up to date. I for years have been using one of these compacts to subsidise my DSLR. I was glues to the Panasonic LX series, that was until Sony released this. Wow I was blown away and continue to be. Initially I upgraded to each new model. This time I skipped a new model. The improvement in the lens to include 200mm was fantastic. I really like the camera a lot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 09 July 2019 by deebee29 (United Kingdom)

First impressions are great, not tried out all the features properly yet but the image & video quality are brilliant. This camera is so versatile. Can be used in either all automatic point & shoot to full featured manual modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Splendid little companion

DSC-RX100M6 03 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

So far does everything I want it to ;it would be good if it was quicker to open and close

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good walking and travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 26 June 2019 by P_Walker (United Kingdom)

This was an exchange for my RX100 MK III, solely because of the longer zoom. The new viewfinder is a big improvement, being a simple pop up and push down process. The different RAW format was a pain because my old MAC computer could not handle the files unless I converted them to TIFFs using Sony software. My Adobe Lightroom thus became useless unless I went through this extra stage before importing the RAW files. I have yet to try the various jpeg options. If my Mk III is anything to go by, the camera looks and feels well made, but is not as robust as one might think and needs handling with care to avoid scratching or denting the metal case.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 25 June 2019 by Joker27 (United Kingdom)

Fits in my pocket and produces super clear pics. Zoom is very useful and the auto scene selection is great for instant macro shots. The one touch evf is bright and clear and a real plus point for this superb little camera. No more lugging around heavy dslr kit.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased so far

DSC-RX100M6 24 June 2019 by JeremyB2 (United Kingdom)

After a long time researching cameras of this type I received my Sony RX100 VI only a little over a week ago so it's too early to make any serious comment. It is solidly built and, although it's small, I find the controls reasonably easy to use with my medium-sized hands. It's a steep learning curve finding one's way around the comprehensive menu system mainly because there are so many inter-reacting possibilities between the various settings. All of this means that once one has become used to the camera its flexibility should be considerable. I strongly advise anyone purchasing this camera to buy a guidebook as the Sony manual isn't easy to work through. Image quality is as good as one would expect from the 1" sensor combined with an excellent lens and processor. The optical zoom is up to 200 mm but I'm finding that using the Clear Image Zoom function which combines optical with digital zoom it is possible to produce very reasonable images at up to 400 mm. No real negatives so far but if you buy one make sure to also purchase a number of additional batteries as this camera gets through them quickly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pocket sized wonder

DSC-RX100M6 23 June 2019 by Baz1957 (United Kingdom)

The best pocket sized point and shoot on the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best So Far!

DSC-RX100M6 20 June 2019 by Dave the Rebel (United Kingdom)

I've always just wanted a little camera that could reliably take quality concert photos that wouldn't be refused entry at gigs and, most importantly, that records stereo sound that I can actually listen to without cringing at the distortion or volume drop as you zoom in or out. Why did I waste so much time and money on that rubbish Samsung (WB350F) that makes up it's own mind when it wants to work properly or not?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Full of features

DSC-RX100M6 18 June 2019 by puffin1957 (United Kingdom)

I haven't had this camera long and am still learning about it, but it has a wide array of functions and features in such a small package. I got it primarily for its size and large sensor with zoom - while the zoom is not huge, it does enable me to get reasonable photos of wildlife. The menu is a bit complicated as there is so much you can do with the camera, but it has a very useful memory recall mode in which you can save 7 of your most used settings and recall them instantly. It's 24 fps is blindingly fast and has enabled me to get good action shots. It is exceptionally compact with relatively small buttons, so someone with large hands may struggle a bit, but is very pocketable. Two main criticisms are it's whopping price, and you HAVE to get the hand grip at extra cost, otherwise you will no doubt end up dropping it due to its smooth finish. Why a grip was not included I have no idea as I would have thought that a vital part of any camera. But that aside it is an extremely impressive piece of kit and capable of producing very professional results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

ideal for trips without DSLR

DSC-RX100M6 16 June 2019 by fjb1 (United Kingdom)

I researched for a respectable small portable camera with good image output, one that will produce a respectable large print, that I can use RAW format and lets me work in manual. I do not use video, only images. Post processing of the RAW images and also photo-merge really provides an excellent end result. It is small enough to fit in my coat pocket, very easy to adapt to and although overpriced it fits the niche for me as often I am weight restricted when going to and from my work sites; also carrying my DSLR equipment isn't always practical on a day to day basis. I can thoroughly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and great

DSCRX100M6/B 07 June 2019 by Lester1000 (USA)

Very happy that I chose this compact and versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Go everywhere camera

DSC-RX100M6 03 June 2019 by Robbo123 (United Kingdom)

Despite down sizing to Sony alpha camera and lenses I wanted a camera you could carry in your pocket. This camera produces really sharp images across the whole of its zoom range yet it’s so light and pocketable. A friend was so impressed with the results and size they went out and bought one themselves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality versatile camera

DSC-RX100M6 02 June 2019 by Andydestiny (United Kingdom)

I did a lot of research looking for a dslr quality compact and the RX100M6 achieves this with quality high zoom range optics, a proper viewfinder and versatile settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fabulous little camera

DSC-RX100M6 28 May 2019 by NippyV (United Kingdom)

Fed up with carting my DSLR around, the RX100 V6 is perfect for taking out without the heavy bags. I have not tried out all the features yet, but the photographs so far are Excellent. The camera feels great in your hand, it is not flimsy, and the controls are easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very very very handy when on the move.

DSC-RX100M6 17 May 2019 by Billmac (United Kingdom)

Got about every thing you need in a small package. Excellent photos without thinking and also allows you to be creative if the will takes you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic camera in a small package!

DSC-RX100M6 13 May 2019 by steve1959 (United Kingdom)

I was tired of carrying round a DSLR + interchangeable lenses and wanted a compact travel camera that delivered on performance and picture quality. Look no further! This pocket rocket is the best camera I have ever owned in 45 years of taking pictures. It fulfils all my needs and I couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best pocket travel zoom camera

DSC-RX100M6 27 April 2019 by FrancoT (United Kingdom)

I bought this towards the end of 2018 and I am still blown over by its excellent stills and videos results. I didn't imagine this possible from such a camera but, there it is, up there with the best bigger-size DSLRs. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good but complex

DSC-RX100M6 18 April 2019 by RickyS (USA)

The "Help" file from Sony is out of date. It tells you to use "PlayMemories Mobile" and that software has been replaced. It describes a "Bulb" mode in shutter-priority which does not exist. The help file is a relabeled version of the document for an earlier camera. I tried to figure out how to use "Back Button Focus" on this camera but the menus are too different from the other Sony cameras for that advice to be helpful. The "Help" file describes how to use "Auto Exposure Lock" without saying what that is. Auto is the opposite of Lock. There are features not mentioned in the manual. If I'm in playback on a panorama and press the center button, it nicely scans the panorama in full screen. The "Help" on [Focus Standard] is gibberish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great camera, great quality!

DSC-RX100M6 07 April 2019 by rsh458 (USA)

The Sony RX100 VI is a gem of a camera, an outstanding photographic instrument! It delivers beautiful, rich, detailed images. The auto focus is fast and responsive. The pop-up EVF is bright. The camera is small enough to fit in your pocket and go everywhere with you, yet designed so that it fits naturally in your hands. I also shoot with a Fujifilm X-E3 with an 18-55 mm zoom camera, a great combination but too bulky for a travel or go-everywhere camera. On my last European trip I paired the X-E3 with the 27mm pancake lens, a relatively compact package, but despite what you’ve heard, when traveling there are often times when you can’t zoom with your feet. So I researched small zoom cameras. Fujifilm had abandoned its compact zoom line of X10-X30, forcing me to look elsewhere and I settled on the RX100 VI. I haven’t been disappointed. The camera is well made with a solid, even reassuringly heavy feel. Fuji is known for its JPEGS but I’ve found that the RX100 also produces excellent color JPEGs, second to none (it, however, doesn’t offer the variety of B&W JPEGS of Fuji or anything comparable to Fuji’s tonally rich Acros B&W film simulation — something Sony will hopefully address one day). I mention JPEG quality because I prefer not to spend a lot of time editing RAW images — and you don’t have to with Sony JPEGS. Like I said, I did a lot of research, checking out Nikon, Canon, Panasonic/Leica and other models before going with the RX100 VI. I read scores of reviews. Let me address criticisms in some of those reviews of the M6. First, that it’s not a good low light camera. Well, yes, a slower aperture is naturally what you pay for the longer zoom, an exchange I willingly made. That said, it’s worth noting that Sony says the M6 has an improved image stabilization system. I wouldn’t be surprised if that improvement makes up for the more than one-stop loss in aperture speed over other RX100 models. I’ve done some testing and found that, even though I don’t have the steadiest of hands, I get consistently sharp images even with a shutter speed down to 1/8 of a second in the 24-70mm zoom range. Sony gets a lot of criticism for its complex menus. Well, the camera is a sophisticated instrument with many functions, so that means a lot in the menus. Could they be better organized? Maybe. But guess what, you can do that yourself by assigning your most useful functions to the My Menu for quick access. That quickly, Sony’s so-called menu problem is solved. Another knock on the camera is the limited battery life. Well, it’s a small battery in a small camera. We can only hope that as battery technology advances, Sony won’t forget it RX100 enthusiasts and will provide us with a better, longer-lasting battery when the technology is available. Meanwhile, keep a replacement battery in your pocket. The RX100 VI is expensive. You pay for what you get, and this camera is packed with quality. In short, the RX100 VI is everything I hoped for and more in terms of quality. And it’s just a fun camera to shoot with!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excelent quality and decent handling in a compact

DSC-RX100M6 02 April 2019 by JCPW (United Kingdom)

Looking for something much smaller and lighter than my DSLR, previous compacts I have tried were just too limited in image quality and flexibility. The RX100 provides a remarkable level of image quality for the size. Handling is also good within the limitations caused by shrinking physical size but retaining a full set of controls. a brilliant little camera but make sure you have the strap on your wrist because sooner or later it will slip out of your fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

All that I hoped it would be with a few proviso's

DSC-RX100M6 27 March 2019 by CJUman (United Kingdom)

Purchased 3 weeks ago via John Lewis. It was this or the Lumix TZ200EB. Went for the more expensive but shorter range zoom as this was lighter and fitted in a pocket. It felt better quality and I like the way the screen can be pulled out and twisted up and down. Walks and holidays since then has shown how much I need to try to remember, given the many functions on offer. Yes it fits in the pocket, but with the leather Sony Camera Case it makes a tight fit and too fiddly to open in a hurry. Good quality photos on Jepg fine, 4K video was one of my reasons for purchase and its good quality but very difficult to avoid camera shake without a tripod. I have a 4K cinema projector and can vouch for the quality of film shots. Excellent quick focus facility. Be careful with the on/off button, it would be possible to turn it on while in a pocket or handbag with disastrous results. Linking to an Android phone (HTC 10) has been problematic, NFC no chance, Bluetooth not as reliable as I had hoped for, WiFi link ?for what? . Clearly I am still on a learning curve with these features. I have managed to copy some pics from the camera to the HTC and then to Dropbox but it is a slow process even where there is 4G. Sticking the card in my laptop is quick and easy. I had problems trying to figure out what memory card I needed, especially for the speed 4K video would need. I have ended up with a Sony 64GB U3 SDXC II which is probably OTT, but used for 4K video; also a ScanDisk Extreme Pro 128GB U3 SDXC I (170MB/s V30) which works fine and at half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

RX100 VI Overheats :-(

DSCRX100M6/B 23 March 2019 by swooshy (USA)

Nowhere in the specifications, features, or reviews hint to the fact that this camera overheats and shuts down when doing video in excess of 15 to 20 minutes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Really very good

DSC-RX100M6 20 March 2019 by kit cat (United Kingdom)

Fed up with carting around a massive SLR and lenses I thought this would be the solution. I nearly part exchanged my £2200.00 worth (new) of Pentax equipment and having used the Sony a few times I am glad I didn't. The Sony is great with spectacular results but not quite the Pentax K3 with a prime 35mm and 17-70mm lenses. I will use the Pentax for best but for most occasions I am more than happy to use the Sony. It is really very good indeed and tiny too. The only downside is the battery life.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100M6 05 March 2019 by Ianburridge (United Kingdom)

Bought for holiday in Costa Rica and got some stunning pictures from it. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0