135

4.4 based on 135 customer reviews

86
27
12
6
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom)

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

135 Customer Reviews

0

Best in class, but variable quality lens

DSC-RX100M6 12 June 2020 by joe cap (USA)

Love the range and features, I actually recommended Sony extend the range on my MK5 review years ago. My version of the MK6 loses edge sharpness if stopped down from f2.8 to f4 or f5.6. This is very odd it tells me that the aperture blades are either not centered or defective.. For a $1,000 point and shoot this should not be the case, otherwise it is sharp enough wide open and a perfect camera. perhaps Sony should go back to manufacturing in Japan not China. My MK1 was made in Japan and is tack sharp everywhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great image quality

DSCRX100M6/B 26 May 2020 by fchixon17 (USA)

I got this for a trip so that I would not have to carry as much gear. Image quality in RAW and JPEG was great. 4k video is very good as well. Mostly I use it for photos though. The menus are deep though and you have to use them a lot to navigate effectively. My father bought one as well but it got stuck in shutter delay mode and he was unable to figure it out. He was frustrated. I find the low light vision stuff is strange since the delays in pictures are long and I don't know what I will get. My wife prefers her iPhone since it just magically does it all. I prefer a real lens and sensor and take my time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Awesome

DSC-RX100M6 16 May 2020 by kitkant (United Kingdom)

Impressive variety of ways to control the photo you want to take. Superb lens quality. Fantastic remote control from you phone with WiFi and Bluetooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Be very careful!

DSCRX100M6/B 14 April 2020 by pcgphotographer (USA)

Be very careful with this camera! I love this camera. It takes amazing pictures, but it's easy to damage. I damaged my first one by... I don't know. One day the lens would not open and I found a tiny dent on the edge of the exterior shutter that covers the lens when the camera is turned off. I do not recall dropping it or banging it against anything, but obviously it hit something. The camera was not repairable and the damage was not covered by warranty. I had no choice but to buy another one. Soon after I bought the second one I received an email from Sony Protect, advertising a 3-yr accident policy for the camera. At first I thought no, because from now on I was going to be very careful with the camera. Then I decided to purchase the plan. Less than thirty days later, while kneeling down and examining an animal track in the dirt, it slipped for my hand and fell maybe six inches face down (while off and lens was closed) into soft powdery sand. I picked it up and shook and brushed as much of the fine dirt off the camera as I could. At first it would not open properly. After a couple more cycles it opens, but there is no view through either the viewfinder or on the scree, other than menus, etc., and I get a message that says to turn the camera off and then on again. Still doesn't work so I'm sending it in for repair. So yes, it's an amazing camera, but IT IS FRAGILE! Be very careful with it. I wold give it a 5 rating, except for this one weakness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing All Rounder - RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 05 April 2020 by DeePhoto (United Kingdom)

The RX100 VI ticks all the boxes for a general pocket-able go anywhere family camera. Great for general use, holidays and just about anything you could think of. Think of it as sitting squarely in the middle ground between a full DSLR and your Phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Everything you need to capture any type of photo

DSC-RX100M6 12 March 2020 by Reg Srudees (United Kingdom)

So portable for when an SLR would be impractible yet all you need to get almost any picture without any loss in quality for the majority of situations. Ideal for travel when travelling light is a consideration

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M6 11 March 2020 by noapp (United Kingdom)

My one disappointment is that the phone app is no longer available, or if it is then it is impossible to find

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing zoom

DSC-RX100M6 06 March 2020 by Ben10000 (United Kingdom)

I was worried a bit about losing the aperture from the previous model but it turned out not needed nightpictures were great after I found the superior auto. The only negative point is the price and the fact that iPhones by now are astonishingly good. But still the details in bigger screens and the zoom are a huge difference.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Good camera, poor reliability.

DSC-RX100M6 24 February 2020 by Mikedperrett (United Kingdom)

I have been taking photos for most of my life using SLRs and then DSLRs usually taking 2 or more different lenses with me in a camera bag. However, just over a year ago I retired and started travelling more. Taking a large bag was not always easy and you could often say goodbye to spontaneity as it took too long to prepare. My delight was complete when I read the reviews of the RX100M6. It was expensive but worth it as it did the job of a DSLR with several lenses in a small compact, put in your pocket camera. I must say I got excellent results. I went to the Czech Republic in the Autumn for a festival and I got excellent results with over 300-400 photos taken; many of them spontaneously. It was a real delight to take and use. At the other extreme, on my daily walk with my dogs through the Welsh forests I can take wonderful macro shots of mosses which when blown up look amazing. Imagine my dismay when just 6-8 weeks out of warranty the camera failed: it would not turn on. I got a new battery and charger and they were okay. It so it looks like it's down to the camera. A big disappointment as I have a number of Sony products and all have been reliable and given excellent service. Apart from this disappointment I am delighted with the camera. I can slip it in to my pocket and use it very quickly and get wonderful shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Fantastic little camera!

DSC-RX100M6 17 February 2020 by Jollyandy (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera on the recommendation from a friend, and what an amazing camera it is. Stunning picture quality, fast auto focus, this has it all. In fact I very often use it in preference to my DSLR, it’s so good. If you’re looking for a top quality compact camera, look no further as you’ve found it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice camera, shame about the cashback process.

DSC-RX100M6 05 February 2020 by paul683 (United Kingdom)

I've had the camera for a few weeks now and whilst the performance is generally quite good I do think the out of camera JPEGs are over sharpened and slightly unrealistic. The price is too high for this type of camera. The agent dealing with the cashback process seem to everything in there power to avoid paying out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

good all round

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2020 by Peterct (United Kingdom)

light weight and easy to carry around. good handling

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 VI

DSC-RX100M6 19 January 2020 by MickGil (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony RX100 VI a month ago and have had no issues with it and stunned by the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera but the app.....

DSC-RX100M6 17 January 2020 by Roveruk (United Kingdom)

Bought the RX100 VI to take on a 5 week trip to Australia, great photos and a pleasure to use. The menu's are complex and I have to regularly go through them to learn and remember all the functions. The downside at the moment is the latest Imaging Edge Mobile app which has completely failed and there are lots of us reporting issues of failure to connect phone to camera for transfer of photos, this means everything stays where it is in the camera. I feel Sony has let us down on this and my new found excitement has quickly waned especially as its Christmas when I was looking forward to taking loads of photos. Why build quality products then let your customers down with inferior quality software and backup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, but well featured.

DSC-RX100M6 10 January 2020 by Enigmabg (United Kingdom)

Having been a Panasonic user for many years, the change to Sony, in particular the menus have taken some learning time, but I am now at a level of reasonable user. The biggest shock is the diminutive size of the camera and how to hold it best, in particular for viewfinder videos. Not everything is to my liking - for instance the tilting screen - I`m used to fully articulated and I can`t understand the logic of the the significant hinged framework to tilt up and down when a hinge would have offered more with no grater bulk. Having got over such differences, I find the camera a pleasure to carry around and use, though winter is not the best time to explore all the options. For me the main things to consider before buying are: Size, it is VERY small; need for customisation of settings, especially for video, there are many "pro" options; Touch screen - is this important as the feature is limited; is 4K important - record time is limited. The camera does not force ME into unacceptable compromises and I like what is does very much. Just check your key needs before you jump. If it suits you will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Huge range of features

DSC-RX100M6 09 January 2020 by Romogape (United Kingdom)

Having used it for a couple of weeks, I'm getting my head around the range of features and settings. The quality of photos and videos are both excellent even on the Auto settings. The very rapid multi shot and slow mo both produce good results too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 07 January 2020 by MarcG54 (United Kingdom)

Great compact camera, giving a lot of the functionality of a larger camera but in a compact easy to carry and use size. Great image quality and very fast focus make this an ideal camera to carry when on holiday or weight / size is a consideration.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful

DSC-RX100M6 02 January 2020 by ASR1 (United Kingdom)

Although I’ve owned a number of cameras in the past, they often tended to get left behind, especially when mobile phones could do a similar job, with greater ease. However mobile phones have never been brilliant with high levels of zoom, and I’m someone who likes to fill the frame. I’ve previously owned a couple of Sony QX lens cameras to address this, which clip onto the mobile phone, but these tended to be unreliable talking to the phone. However, I did like the image quality from the QX100, so decided to go ahead and buy the full RX100. It’s been great and I particularly appreciate being able to wirelessly transfer the photos to my IPad at the end of the day. I then use Snapseed to do final editing. The advantages are the image quality and compact size for a decent zoom. As with most cameras, the interface is not as user friendly as on a phone, but is generally OK. The flip up screen allows me to shoot from hip level, which is something I find can be quite creative. In terms of disadvantages - the automatic mode tends to overexpose the sky in landscapes and not show shadow and mid tone details as well as I would like. I generally find Snapseed can correct this even with JPEG files - but should I need to do this? I don’t shoot RAW much because you can’t transfer RAW to the IPAD wirelessly, which I would say is the cameras biggest downside for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early days but impressed so far

DSC-RX100M6 24 December 2019 by jag1808 (United Kingdom)

The camera is small therefore some of the buttons a bit fiddly but you can't have it all ways; the picture quality is outstanding; the build quality is very good; the number of options in the menus can be overwhelming but I don't shoot video so that's half of them dismissed; my one gripe is that at this price level they could have included the optional stick-on finger grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great piece of kit in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M6 20 December 2019 by Ginner57 (United Kingdom)

Bought it 3 weeks ago as I was fed up lugging my DSLR around. Loads of research before buying as it’s not cheap. Although it’s early days, I love it(although still learning). Zoom is fab and allows close, candid shots-gives huge flexibility. Camera includes most I’d expect from my DSLR. Getting used to proximity of buttons. I’ll update this review as my experience grows.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This is an excellent all-round camera

DSC-RX100M6 12 December 2019 by F100 (United Kingdom)

I have used RX100 cameras since they came out and decided on an upgrade with the cashback offer. Excellent camera, picture quality and the additional zoom range is welcomed. I do hope that the time lapse feature from RX100mk7 will come with a software upgrade...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great photos

DSC-RX100M6 11 December 2019 by dwiaw (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for use on dog walks because it slips in my pocket, it versatile, takes good photos of insects and at the other end of the spectrum of birds. I love the tilt back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to use

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2019 by mickb73 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 6 weeks ago and so far no problems. I found it reasonably easy to set up and take pictures. Some parts of the more advance features will take a little longer. The picture shown was my first picture with the RX100vi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and very powerful.

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2019 by Nostromoship52 (United Kingdom)

Great for carrying around.Great zoom for capturing visiting UFO's.Superb functions,just slightly finnicky to hold at times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0