497

4.5 based on 497 customer reviews

332
130
17
11
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

Body Only 13 October 2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

Body Only 18 January 2017 by muskturtle (USA)

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

497 Customer Reviews

0

Heavy, Solid Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M3 12 June 2019 by zoomu1 (USA)

camera takes beautiful pictures and video. you can tell the difference with the one inch sensor. a down side of the camera is the stereo microphone quality, the sound is tinny sounding, cheap microphone. my cell phone video microphone sounds better than this. That's why i gave it a 4 star. Other than that i love the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of features, perhaps too many.

Body Only 09 June 2019 by Bryan72 (United Kingdom)

I have not had the camera for long. The camera provides well detailed images with reasonable depth of field. The options allow for complete control or point and shoot as desired with the usual options in between. The movie option seems straightforward. I must admit that the number of possible settings is daunting so it will take some time to get to grips with them all. The main selling point for me was the integral viewfinder and it works well. The articulated rear LCD screen could do with being fully articulated rather than just tilt up and down. A way of connecting an external flash would be useful but there doesn't appear to be any way to do so unless there is a flash that can be triggered via USB or Wi-Fi. Connecting to the computer is a problem. The display on the back of the camera when connecting via USB is confusing, at first I didn't realize that it had connected and on the computer it shows up as just another hard drive. I found it impossible to connect to the computer via Wi-Fi. The information in the help guides and on the internet refers to registering via superseded software. I have not found a method of registering it via the replacement software. I have however been able to connect via Wi-Fi to my tablet although I did have to disconnect the tablet from my internet hub first. In summary it is very easy to use for a beginner with the intelligent Auto option but the number of menu options appears daunting and the integral viewfinder is aboon in bright light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A clever little camera that deserves more respect

Body Only 07 June 2019 by Johnnie 95 (United Kingdom)

This camera was bought to be a companion to my existing camera equipment. It is capable of producing competition quality images and I predict that it will probably get more use than my cumbersome DSLR. However, it is seriously let down by the instruction manuals that Sony provide. In my opinion, Sony is not giving this camera the respect that it deserves. I would have given a five star rating if there was a proper instruction manual.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great take everywhere compact

Body Only 24 May 2019 by Jomoma (USA)

own high end dslr Nikon that gets less use since I bought compact rx100m3

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 23 May 2019 by Barb66 (USA)

I just bought this camera and so far, I love it! It's small enough to fit in my purse. The pics I taken so far ad very good. I'll know more after a month or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New camera

Body Only 19 May 2019 by Kiraabel (United Kingdom)

Bought this model as my dad had one and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

Body Only 04 May 2019 by JPilling (United Kingdom)

Not had long so can't do in-depth full review yet, but excellent so far. Did quality lens tests compared to my digital SLR and excellent quality. Only moan, come on Sony let's have a proper good old fashioned instruction manual included, especially for the price we are paying for this camera. Also better grip rather than having to pay for accessory.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastically capable

DSC-RX100M3 02 May 2019 by BadmanMonkey (United Kingdom)

I was looking for an alternative for when i didn’t want to carry my SLR. This is a very capable compact offering every option from full auto to full manual. Picture quality is superb and video quality is unbelievably good. I bought this model of RX100 as I wanted to play with the apps that can be downloaded onto the camera and they’ve been a lot of fun to experiment with. As a ‘carry anywhere ‘ camera for someone who doesn’t want to sacrifice picture quality this is fantastic.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

The Camera is excellent

Body Only 25 April 2019 by Pedro M (United Kingdom)

Not suitable if you want a long lens. Downloading pictures to an Apple I-phone or I-Pad without removing the card and using an adaptor has so far been beyond me. NFC only works with suitable android devices. WiFi - entering password data is laborious.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great pictures

Body Only 15 April 2019 by Glen1 (United Kingdom)

Delighted. If not somewhat weighty but the results outweigh this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

Body Only 08 April 2019 by Donkeydick (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for the Mark 11 version and glad I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Brilliant!

Body Only 03 April 2019 by Pelyn (United Kingdom)

Bought this a month ago and have to say on opening that the software is very user friendly. The camera is easy to handle, comfortable to hold and the quality of picture upholds it’s price tag. The only issue and this is probably not the cameras fault, is the video, which has three modes, will not replay on my iPad Pro. Windows ok but you will probably need a converter to get them to work on iPad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crystal clear images, easy interface

Body Only 26 March 2019 by IdahoDad (United Kingdom)

I purchased this M3 used after using my son's M2. I was so impressed with the M2, but having the same with the eyepiece and wifi additions put me over the top. I love the quality of the images, the super fast lens, and the easy to learn interface. My work DSL is my Canon d700, but the quality I get from this M3 makes it hard to pull out that big gun. The only thing missing for me (personal preference) is a scale display for the meter rather than numbers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatility, in a small package.

Body Only 04 March 2019 by GrantGB (United Kingdom)

When deciding to buy a camera like the RX100 III you have obviously, already, decided to make compromises with the camera, in this case, probably in the favour of having a compact camera which can easily be carried around. I wanted a camera which was small and portable, but still retained the creative flexibility of a DSLR/Mirrorless camera. This was why I chose the RX100 III. OK, it doesn't have the interchangeable lens facility, but when I looked at the photography I do, a 'long zoom' is rarely required. That said, this is where the RX100 III does have a bit of a surprise. The optical 2.9x zoom, which is great for adjusting composition, can be extended, with the clear image digital facility, to 4.9x, with little effect on image quality. OK, the RAW facility is lost when any digital zoom is used, but that was the reason I chose this camera. I wanted to have the freedom to compose the image, in camera, as I wanted it to be, due to not being a great fan of post processing using software. Owning such a versatile camera as the RX100 III means I can create the images I want and know that post processing can be kept to a minimum!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast shutter speed

Body Only 01 March 2019 by Ross J (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony camera previously and although happy with it the shutter speed was too slow. I spoke with several friends and a knowlageble shop assistant and all advised that Sony make the best cameras so I confidentally bought another one which I am very happy with.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome for travel - great overall quality

Body Only 27 February 2019 by THEO805 (USA)

Have used for both photo and video - my only complaint is the hinges that hold the screen on, they have both come undone buy easy to repair myself

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many good features

Body Only 25 February 2019 by gillk (United Kingdom)

Very happy with results looking forward to many more pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Programme Guide poor

Body Only 13 February 2019 by X357 (United Kingdom)

All good, except the fact that the programme guide is too small and cannot be enlarged for those without 20/20 vision. I see that many other people have the same problem and as I do not wish to have a screen the size of a wall, I would probably not buy another Sony only due to this problem.

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 09 February 2019 by Magsy May (United Kingdom)

Purchased very recently, bought the Sony A6000 last year, wonderful camera, this I wanted as a smaller pocket/handbag size camera. Quickly realised the menu is very similar to A6000. very pleased , absolutely delighted

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

loads of functionality

Body Only 03 February 2019 by Cornishman (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to take to my son's wedding so that I didn't have to worry about a DSLR and all the equipment. Small size, functionality, controllability and quality were important factors for me. The RX100 III meets all requirements - so far. As I have only had the camera for 2 weeks and the wedding is yet to happen I cannot say much more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very programmable

Body Only 02 February 2019 by Nils 19 (United Kingdom)

Purchased this 10 days ago and love the “Picture effect” where a colour can be chosen. However I had to search internet a lot to learn how to use it. Choose “P” on ring, click camera symbol, go to page 4 then picture effect. This opens a lot of settings. Would be nice if Sony had a set of tutorials ( unless I’m unable to find it!) instead of having to use YouTube all the time. Can’t wait to take it on holiday!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Takes really good pictures

Body Only 02 February 2019 by nebulous (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my partner, and I wanted a really good camera that was simple to use, and one that had an optical viewfinder. With the combination of Sony electronics, and Zeiss optics, I was expecting this camera to be good, but it has exceeded all my expectations. Apart from technical features and specs - which are impressive; the best thing about this camera is that it takes great pictures, effortlessly. Very glad I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body Only 01 February 2019 by Mistyph (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my wife and she loves it. Uses it regularly and is planning to use it to learn more about photography.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a compact camera that is well designed, well made

Body Only 31 January 2019 by Rosquilla (United Kingdom)

My daughter chose the camera because it is beautifully designed, well made with a viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0