519

4.5 based on 519 customer reviews

346
137
18
11
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

Body Only 13 October 2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

Body Only 18 January 2017 by muskturtle (USA)

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

519 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent photo quality

Body Only 20 September 2019 by Jennni (United Kingdom)

Still getting to know all the settings but overall I'm happy with this camera. Had to buy an extra battery and charger. I like tilting screen. But battery life is awful. Poor zoom. Very costly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Small & capable

Body Only 14 September 2019 by junofirst (United Kingdom)

I needed a small compact camera of better quality that could also do hand-held HDR. Being as the best camera is the one you have with you.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Simple to understand and use.

Body Only 13 September 2019 by Stillie (United Kingdom)

I found the RX 100 111 a great size to handle and so easy to use. The photographs I have taken are extremely sharp and colourful, I am looking forward to using the camera next month when abroad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top notch

Body Only 10 September 2019 by Joss Sheepdog (United Kingdom)

I recently bought a similar camera from P.........ic ( a T......80), its image qualith was very disappointing, after a month I traded in against this RX100 III. Jusr getting to grips with it but what a difference in image quality! Bomb proof construction and a fast crisp lens, colours look right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

perfect pictures

Body Only 09 September 2019 by photosnapper (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago for our holidays. brought back great holiday photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful camera

Body Only 01 September 2019 by JulianK7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera recently and it’s has everything what I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent little camera

Body Only 30 August 2019 by Gareth295 (United Kingdom)

I bought this so I had a small camera to vary around on my motorbike. It has all the versatility of larger cameras, has full manual controls and shoots in RAW. So far I have no, comaints at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good weather

Body Only 30 August 2019 by Thabi (United Kingdom)

I can’t load my photos because it says they are too large

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and lightweight for travelling.

Body Only 24 August 2019 by Pkitch (United Kingdom)

The camera has a quality feel and images so far have been excellent quality. Everything I want from a compact camera at this price point. There are plenty of features that would suit the advanced photographer and also full auto for the less experienced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleek Little Camera

Body Only 31 July 2019 by Sandy Beach (United Kingdom)

Great little camera takes crystal clear pictures. Love the flip screen great for taking selfies.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing details

Body Only 30 July 2019 by Walkaholic (United Kingdom)

There is a lot wrong with this camera, the lens isn't particularly wide and far from a zoom. Macro isn't close enough as far as I'm concerned either and the feel of it is cold and uninviting. However the image quality and features are outstanding, the lens produces a sharp image and the bracketing and hdr is amazing. I think most people wouldn't need as high a quality image as this camera produces, there have been a few shots I've taken that I've gasped at when I've seen the result. Price is a bit high, wait for a sale to get a bargain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Overall fantastic compact camera

Body Only 29 July 2019 by 1PacMan (United Kingdom)

Pros: Slim, able to fit in your pocket. The 180 degree flip screen is useful Autofocus from video is very efficient and quick to respond Fantastic video quality Excellent lowlight performance Stable imagery is good Packed with plenty of features. Cons: No Mic-In Jack/input Weak battery life Rolling shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Perfect pocket camera

Body Only 27 July 2019 by Amman95 (United Kingdom)

I bought this because every time I put a photo taken on a phone on a large 4k screen, it lacked detail and became very noisy. The photos on this camera look excellent ion a 4k screen. The camera is really easy to use, has more features than I can use, the viewfinder is great, battery life is really good and the build quality is excellent. My only slight issue is to get 60p video, the camera has to be set to NTSC and every time the camera is turned on there is a notification to say it is running on NTSC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just about perfect walkabout camera.

Body Only 26 July 2019 by shoarthing (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace an RX100M1. I shoot RAW, using mostly manual settings. Pleased & surprised by quality of shorter, wider, & quicker lens . . . . it’s so good that I shoot almost entirely at f1.8. This means using the built-in ND filter - indeed, in this un-British & summery summer have bought & fitted a magfilter adapter & surprisingly often use an ND8 filter. Unless your primary use is to shoot video - & I use an RX10 for that - this M3 is probably the sweet-spot in the RX100 range as your walkabout camera: compared to earlier models it has an decent quality pop-up viewfinder & an improved sensor, while retaining the quality-oriented basic design.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A camera that challenges my DSLR

Body Only 25 July 2019 by tonyh53 (United Kingdom)

The camera is small and compact but provides me, an amateur camera club ability photographer with all the features I need for high quality photographs in RAW. Holidaying abroad with hand luggage meant that a big camera and three different lenses was not on for a three/four day break, but this gives me the flexibility to get great shots without the weight of a camera bag or the look of a tourist. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great photos, video - poor sound for qualitycamera

Body Only 23 July 2019 by Moridura (United Kingdom)

Great photos, video - poor sound for quality camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lightweight marvel

Body Only 20 July 2019 by Carolyn23 (United Kingdom)

This is my 2nd RX100, love it. I have already recommended it to a number of friends.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fab, small take anywhere camera.

Body Only 14 July 2019 by Wignut (United Kingdom)

This camera is great for everything. It will suit novices and more experienced photographers. Small enough to put in your pocket, but great on quality photo’s. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact Beauty

Body Only 11 July 2019 by Richard200 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera after reading a review in Tech Radar. I wanted a compact camera with a viewfinder. It is easy to take great pictures but there are a lot of features which I have yet to explore. The only thing I would have liked is a booklet on the camera to fully understand all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No ordinary point and shoot!

Body Only 09 July 2019 by JRPHOTO (United Kingdom)

Chose this camera after looking at lots of reviews/ratings. Only had it a week so still someway to go and a truly mind blowing amount of options if you want to go manual! I have had to watch a lot of youTube videos to get the hang of settings as manual provided is useless. By the time you have purchased a screen protector/stick on grip/case it is an expensive package. Shame there was no separate battery charger which was another expense.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent, well-featured camera for outdoors

Body Only 25 June 2019 by MunroMan (United Kingdom)

I needed a new camera for hillwalking. The RX100iii is perfect. Excellent piece of kit - lightweight, great sensor, lots of controls and modes - both manual and programmed as required, good access to all controls. Having an excellent electronic viewfinder is a huge help in bright conditions. The high-quality, tilting screen is also a big help. I have been shooting in RAW + JPEG - camera does a great job in processing and produces excellent JPEGs as required. Very pleased indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

camera

Body Only 24 June 2019 by how to manuel (United Kingdom)

I brought this camera from PC world ,they did not help at all. Camera is fine had to purchase a book on the dsc-rz100m3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Heavy, Solid Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M3 12 June 2019 by zoomu1 (USA)

camera takes beautiful pictures and video. you can tell the difference with the one inch sensor. a down side of the camera is the stereo microphone quality, the sound is tinny sounding, cheap microphone. my cell phone video microphone sounds better than this. That's why i gave it a 4 star. Other than that i love the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of features, perhaps too many.

Body Only 09 June 2019 by Bryan72 (United Kingdom)

I have not had the camera for long. The camera provides well detailed images with reasonable depth of field. The options allow for complete control or point and shoot as desired with the usual options in between. The movie option seems straightforward. I must admit that the number of possible settings is daunting so it will take some time to get to grips with them all. The main selling point for me was the integral viewfinder and it works well. The articulated rear LCD screen could do with being fully articulated rather than just tilt up and down. A way of connecting an external flash would be useful but there doesn't appear to be any way to do so unless there is a flash that can be triggered via USB or Wi-Fi. Connecting to the computer is a problem. The display on the back of the camera when connecting via USB is confusing, at first I didn't realize that it had connected and on the computer it shows up as just another hard drive. I found it impossible to connect to the computer via Wi-Fi. The information in the help guides and on the internet refers to registering via superseded software. I have not found a method of registering it via the replacement software. I have however been able to connect via Wi-Fi to my tablet although I did have to disconnect the tablet from my internet hub first. In summary it is very easy to use for a beginner with the intelligent Auto option but the number of menu options appears daunting and the integral viewfinder is aboon in bright light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0