47

4.3 based on 47 customer reviews

21
21
3
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

47 Customer Reviews

0

Perfect choice

DSC-HX99 03 July 2020 by john ml (United Kingdom)

I consider myself a modest enthusiast in terms of photography and possibly, like others, faced this dilemma. My trusty DSLR with its range of features remains in a solid position whilst at the other end of the spectrum the camera in my Mobile phone is just OK for those 'on the fly' images. i searched for a quality unit to sit between these cameras, a device that had a viewfinder as a 'must' and decent optical zoom. The Hx99 meets all my requirements and its size makes it absolutely ideal. I also like the ability to easily transfer images across devises. Thank You Sony for producing this excellent offering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb travel compact camera

DSC-HX99 28 June 2020 by Hogjoose (United Kingdom)

I bought the HX99 in 2019 for my wife's birthday. She's very keen on the extremes of point and shoot photography - close ups/macro shots of flora and fauna, and extreme telephoto shots of birdlife. She also demands lightweight and pocket sized. Based on the reviews of the HX99, and the fact that it was the lightest, smallest ultra-zoom (720mm) with excellent wide-angle performance, I didn't think there was anything better at the price point - still do. As a Sony Alpha 9 user myself, I appreciated the similarity of the Sony Camera Menu system, and the advanced shooting capabilities of the HX99 - 4K video, 10 frames per second shutter rate, 180 degree hinged rear view screen (5-star selfies!), electronic viewfinder, and much more. As a previous Canon PowerShot user, I know my wife would not give up her HX99 now. There are a couple of minor design niggles - why on earth does it take so long to power up and power off after pressing the On/Off button - 4 or 5 seconds is ridiculous - firmware update please Sony? Also the same button is so small and recessed it's difficult to use anyway unless you have tiny sharp fingers. All is forgiven though when you see the quality, detail and colour balance of the HX99's images, and their excellent image- stabilised sharpness when using the extended telephoto power it offers. Good work Sony. Now my daughter has bought one too, based on Mum and Dad's recommendations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So much good stuff in such a small camera

DSCHX99/B 27 May 2020 by whaleyf (USA)

I just got this and am amazed at the quality of the photos and all this camera can do. Well worth the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

So far - so good

DSC-HX99 21 April 2020 by DottyP (United Kingdom)

I have only had this little camera for a few days. I have just sold my old Olympus DSC camera and a range of lenses. I travel a lot and cycle so carrying a heavy camera and selection of lenses was becoming a nuisance. I read reviews on the Sony Cybershot and it seemed to tick all the boxes I wanted - small, viewfinder and terrific zoom. I have done a few trial shots and am very impressed with the detail on zoomed subjects. Can’t wait to get travelling again and to take this neat camera with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great camera shame about iPhone connectivity

DSC-HX99 16 April 2020 by MJAK (United Kingdom)

So far very impressed after doing a lot of research. As the title says, connecting to iOS is not straightforward and I don’t think you can set up geo positioning with iOS at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

Capable Camera if you configure it right

DSC-HX99 25 March 2020 by tssmid (United Kingdom)

Now, first of all, you have to be aware of the general limitations of compact cameras with such a small (1/2.3") sensor and such a wide zoom range. However for prints up to A4 format there is no difference in quality even compared to DSLR cameras. Substantial cropping may obviously lead to a worse quality, so you should always zoom to the right selection already when taking the photo. For low light conditions (e.g. indoors) this type of camera has to default to high ISO values due to the fact that these kind of super-zoom lenses have a rather small aperture by design, so image quality will not be so good (in these cases a phone may actually take better photos since they have a fixed lens with a wider aperture). As for this particular camera, the engineers have made the crazy decision to let the AUTO-ISO range go by default all the way up to ISO3200 which completely negates the capabilities of the image stabilizer and yields very bad picture quality in low light. You have to change the AUTO-ISO range in the menu settings to ISO800 if you want acceptable quality (be aware that, like some other settings, these are buried in a sub-menu, that you can access only by pressing the control ring at the back of the camera accordingly). I also found that the images are significantly less sharp than those of my old HX9V; the text of a page of a newspaper I photographed was outright blurry in comparison; I had to change the in-camera sharpening to +2 in order to make the results from both cameras look the same (this is now my default setting) Further tip: reduce the image size to 10 MP in the menu; this gives equal or even better image quality than 18MP, and you can shoot quicker, use less battery power and SD card storage (it seems that the 18MP are only achieved by interpolation). You can also leave the image quality as Standard (saving you even more storage space); Fine or Extra-Fine give only a negligible improvement. Video I did not manage to test yet in detail Summary: the Sony HX99 is very capable and yields excellent photos for this kind of camera (or any camera for that matter in good light), but only if you take the time to customize the many options.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

3

0

Very Impressive Digital Compact

DSC-HX99 24 February 2020 by John TT (United Kingdom)

A solid, very compact, pocketable digital camera producing good results. Very impressive optically but its dimensions mean the rear control panel can be a little fiddly with large hands. The menu system is very comprehensive and takes a little mastering (downloaded manual is 500 pages). Can be used as a simple point and shoot or adjusted for more technical results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Solid

DSC-HX99 09 February 2020 by Bjn54 (United Kingdom)

Solid quality build with excellent performance. Easy to use but ability to customise, excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Easy to use - good results

DSC-HX99 03 February 2020 by tedt (United Kingdom)

Bought this to use when walking, motorcycling and holidaying when I didn't want the bulk and weight of heavier cameras and lenses. Pleasantly surprised when I discovered that it was easy to use, good battery life and showed a good range of capability for such a small unit. I have no in-depth knowledge of the art and science of photography and this camera suits me well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Manual not user friendly

DSC-HX99 29 January 2020 by Argomate (United Kingdom)

The camera seems great so far but I am having problems navigating the user manual. I am not particularly tech savvy and in some sections I would appreciate more detailed explanation.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

0

brilliant, yet versatile, travel camera

DSC-HX99 22 January 2020 by bill (United Kingdom)

I had already looked at this camera's specs so I knew exactly what I was buying. With good progress on phone cameras, I expect this sector of the camera market to dwindle, if not disappear so I was keen to get the best available before that happens - and I think that's what I've bought. Totally lives up to my expectations Highly recommended.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great small camera

DSC-HX99 07 January 2020 by Dave 13 (United Kingdom)

This is a very compact camera and has a lot of good features, you can easily show you photos on your TV or computer without needing any wires. It has a lot of features which I am still learning, the zoom is fantastic and bring thing so close. It takes very good photos and the videos are really good, for the size of this camera it is excellent and give very good results, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great piece of kit

DSC-HX99 05 January 2020 by Keef2020 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this camera. It is very good and has many functions. A more detailed printed handbook would have been a help to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Quite sophisticated.

DSC-HX99 04 January 2020 by Gedpin (United Kingdom)

It's a bit of a learning curve, but I’m getting there. Great pictures. A couple of small annoyances; I wish it used a standard SD card. I wish it had geolocation. This is advertised as being possible with a smartphone, but after purchase it turns out the software is not currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This was Replacement Camera

DSC-HX99 01 January 2020 by Not The Digital Nomad (United Kingdom)

I had bought the same one a few months ago but when the lens zoomed out and back in it made a noise, which obviously gets recorded in the clip so either I can't use the clip while editing or have to take away the sound and voice over or music instead. The night time footage was all very grainy. Unfortunately the replacement makes the same noise when zooming in and out. (Not always but sometimes as with the previous one). I haven't recorded anything at nighttime yet so I don't know if the footage will come out grainy or not. The zoom is excellent and when it does record well the video quality is really good. So much so that Youtube classes some of the videos as 4K. The reviews said that it can record in 120fps but I have not been able to find this feature in the Menu options. Stabilisation on video is decent but not perfect. I just have to make sure most of my footage is either standing and panning and not so much in the way of walking. With the highest stabilisation setting, it can only do a max of 50fps. It is a good camera but needs to be used with these limitations in mind. Unfortunately by the time I noticed the issues, it was past the 28 days and I couldn't return and get something else. But within the limitations of the camera it is a good option

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Disappointing

DSC-HX99 28 October 2019 by Pip27 (United Kingdom)

Poor build quality especially considering that this is not a budget camera. After a couple of weeks use, I noticed a bulge in the bottom plate of this camera, together with a gap between the base plate and the main body.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

4

0

Zoom is wonderful

DSC-HX99 14 October 2019 by Jagsi (United Kingdom)

We are delighted with it. Zoom is better than binoculars ad viewfinder is a great asset.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excelen compact camera

DSC-HX99 03 October 2019 by KMjanez (United Kingdom)

I have this camera as second camera for trekking, where Sony A7m2 is to big and to heavy. It is a bit small for my hands, but results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony DSC HX99

DSC-HX99 19 September 2019 by Jre6198 (United Kingdom)

Compact so easy to carry around. Excellent optical zoom capability. Some deterioration of photo at full extension.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

1

0

Good

DSC-HX99 05 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera but when we printed the clarity is no there whar should we do

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

0

4

0

Compact and feature filled

DSC-HX99 10 August 2019 by Willsley (United Kingdom)

Owned for a month so still getting to grips with the camera layout. Once I have got to grips with it, it will be perfect fit my needs, due to size and lens quality. So far the results are amazing, getting them on to my iPad however is near impossible, due to Sony App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Early days

DSC-HX99 26 July 2019 by 56614 (United Kingdom)

Not found all the facilities on the camera yet, so far so good, haven't got the copy to smartphone going properly, persevering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Well built & very compact camera.

DSC-HX99 23 July 2019 by Pea Jay (United Kingdom)

Bought to be more portable than my SLR + lenses but still capable of very good photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nice camera

DSCHX99/B 10 July 2019 by DeeMo (USA)

Camera seems easy but without a printed user manual it is a pain in the ### to have to print 500+ pages or go online to find out how to use the features

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0