527

4.3 based on 527 customer reviews

305
153
18
24
27
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

love the autmatic focus and smile detector

dsch300b 08 November 2016 by momahen87 (USA)

i got this for my birthday to take pictures of our new baby and i love it. the automatic smile detection is so neat but could use some work because the focus goes out when its in use. great camera for close ups

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor battery life

DSC-H300 10 September 2016 by notahappychappy (United Kingdom)

Very nice camera spoilt by poor battery life. Packaging on the box boasts of 350 pictures from the set of batteries supplied. I got 41 ! Even when using a fresh set of a well know brand I only got 52 shots. It went back for a refund

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

528 Customer Reviews

0

Really poor heavy battery usage

DSC-H300 30 September 2019 by Dads (United Kingdom)

Really felt let down after using this product the picture quality was abysmal and the battery usage terrible. After about 15 photos needed batteries replacing. Not what you would expect from a sony product at all.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Great Camera

DSC-H300 16 September 2019 by Crewcut98 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for a first camera ready for a holiday and really pleased with it, quality of the pictures is excellent and the camera looks the part. I initially got advice from my brother in law on the best first time camera to buy and Sony was a recommendation as a good quality brand. Really pleased I bought this and good price as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

cumbersome and battery hungry

DSC-H300 10 September 2019 by Dorothy57 (United Kingdom)

This was a gift otherwise I would have returned it. It is far to clunky to carry around when touring. Batteries drain very quickly and I could not find our whether or how to recharge batteries in the camera. Batteries became a very expensive item of my month long holiday. Photos were OK but I needed to refer to the user manual very often to get best shots. Not a great camera and not recommended for any amateurs, even a fairly competent one. I've had this for little short of a year but don't have the receipt as it was a gift. I would willingly send it back/exchange it if that was possible

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

H300 performance

DSC-H300 10 September 2019 by loughash (United Kingdom)

I bought this Camera a few weeks ago and I am very impressed with the pictures and quality, This camera is very easy to setup for any occasion. Let it be out and about taking snaps of wildlife or landscapes. This camera is a excellent choice for anyone getting into photography. I have not used all of the setups on the camera yet, But with the pictures I have taken so far it is just absolutely Fantastic, It gives a very professional touch to all pictures. It simply takes you from a amateur photographer into a professional photographers may of taking pictures.....The DSC-H300 is a fantastic camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Wont take pictures!

DSC-H300 05 August 2019 by Derek01 (United Kingdom)

This is my second attempt at this camera. the first had to be returned because it just cut out mid shoot without any battery warning and the batteries lasted no time at all. The replacement model asks me to set language, dates etc and then switches off. When I switch on again it starts all over again with the language settings. Ive registered it but still have no idea how to switch it to taking pictures. I'm sending it back to Amazon for a full refund. This was a gift for my daughter who is now so discouraged, she's giving up photography. Why do you make everything so complicated that it doesnt work? It's iphones for us from now on.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

Poor Product

DSC-H300 03 August 2019 by aFiZ (United Kingdom)

Returned immediately. Won't get past start loading screen. Shouldn't have to troubleshoot a new product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Good

DSC-H300 22 June 2019 by Sue13xxxxx (United Kingdom)

.. very good ......................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

great zoom feature.

DSC-H300 18 June 2019 by Graham 8 (United Kingdom)

I upgraded this camera from a Sony DSC-W810, a disappointing, low budget camera which developed a fault very early on. The Sony -DSC-H300 on the other hand has the feel of a good quality camera and controls were in easy reach. The picture display screen has good visibility and the zoom is excellent with fine optics. Even I found importing images on 'Play Memory' straight forward. The only disadvantage is alkaline batteries. You can buy rechargeable batteries but it would have been nice to have a rechargeable feature on the camera. Also Sony should avoid including cheap Indonesian alkaline batteries which are very poor quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not What I Expected

DSC-H300 08 June 2019 by willav 56 (United Kingdom)

battery door was always coming open.When did stay closed the camera hen stopped working halve way through taking a photo. I sent it back for a refund.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great product

DSC-H300 05 June 2019 by Badboy 46 (United Kingdom)

Birhday presant ican wait to use it when im on my days off

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not so good

DSC-H300 08 May 2019 by Jacko1952 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera for use during my upcoming cruise, and was very disappointed. The camera looked good and felt fine when gripped for use, however, it would shut down whilst taking pictures, I thought this could be due to the batteries originally supplied being out of date. Therefore I purchased new batteries hoping to improve the usage. Sadly this did not happen, it still shuts down when in use. I will now consider changing for a more reliable camera

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Simple to Use

DSC-H300 10 March 2019 by jamesron (United Kingdom)

I brought this a year ago and am happy with the ease of use. but wish it had a chargeable battery sustem/

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

An absolutely fantastic camera

DSC-H300 07 March 2019 by Hammy94 (United Kingdom)

I bought this the other week on a very good discount price and when i saw it at home i unboxed it and i instantly fell in love with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

It does what it is supposed to do.

DSC-H300 04 March 2019 by me11953 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace water damaged camera. This fits my large hands very nicely and so far takes great pictures.Excellent value for money, SD card + case + camera bought together cheaper than camera alone (Currys).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good product from Sony as always

DSC-H300 04 March 2019 by Ferdie (United Kingdom)

The only criticism I have is that the lens cover nor camera appears to have nowhere to attach the the supplied cord.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good Camera

DSC-H300 03 March 2019 by Andy886 (United Kingdom)

Had this camera a few weeks now takes good pictures and is easy to use once you figure out the settings. Batteries that come with it though are no good recommend you get rechargeable ones.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Defective Camera

DSC-H300 18 February 2019 by Christa358 (USA)

I bought this and it only lasted a week! One week later, my camera wouldn't turn on, and when it did it was a white screen. I took it back and got an exchange of the exact same camera, and it did the same thing not even a day later! One of the biggest waste of my time and money. I will never be buying a Sony camera again. Please do yourself a big favor and never buy this camera!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Amazing quality on pictures and fantastic zoom qua

DSC-H300 13 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have been happy with it been doing photography of animals and landscapes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera BUT

DSC-H300 18 January 2019 by Mimi284 (United Kingdom)

Bought this and will need to send it to sony for repair ASAP as from the start there have been issues just turning it on. The few pictures I have managed to take have been good but a lot of hassle to even get to that and even more hassle to send it off for repairs.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Value for money

DSC-H300 17 January 2019 by Carpy123 (United Kingdom)

Haven’t really used it yet but happy with the photos I’ve taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointed with camera

DSC-H300 14 January 2019 by Philz1974 (United Kingdom)

Camera didn’t start up when my daughter opened it on Christmas Day , instructions poor , took it back to curry’s on Boxing Day for the store to replace it , the computer lead is wrong and needs to be changed , but I have yet to take it back to curry’s to change it over again

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

So easy to use

DSC-H300 12 January 2019 by Brian 21 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my wife it overall ease to use,and the brilliant features and of course the photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Easy to use and good value.

DSC-H300 12 January 2019 by Chelz (United Kingdom)

My 8yr old granddaughter bought herself this camaraderie with her xmas money and she lives it..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

autofocus is ridiculous

DSC-H300 08 January 2019 by AnonAnonAnon (USA)

The autofocus is ridiculously slow and makes photos blurry. Video (using a tripod) is slightly better, but it constantly readjusts unnecessarily, which makes the resultant video difficult to watch. The two stars is solely for the fact that it is better than the "nothing at all" I had before. I received this camera as a gift from someone who only looked at the total star rating.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0