$3,898.00

(NZD inc. GST)
24

4.5 based on 24 customer reviews

17
5
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Everything that I need!

SELP28135G 06 April 2015 by Squirrelman (United Kingdom)

Purchased for wildlife and steam railways filming. For the former, I found 'all manual' settings to be ideal. For the latter, autofocus plus manual zooming and aperture seemed to work well. Great to have the choice of options! The 28-135mm lens range covered most of my needs. A couple of times I used the in-camera crop sensor mode, which effectively added 50% to the focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

great image, zoom speed is not cinematic for the $

SELP28135G 04 January 2021 by dsol1980 (USA)

The image is worth the price, but only if you are shooting video journalism or still angles. Unfortunately for my style of shooting (cinematic on a budget) this lens zoom speed is much too fast even on the "slow" setting. If I am going to pay more money than, for example, Sony's power zoom SELP18200 lens, I'm going to want it to be better than the SELP18200 lens. So I was expecting that I could make the servo zoom on this lens more cinematic and slow, for super slow creeps in and out - isn't that a primary thing everyone wants in a servo zoom? The speed of this servo reminds me of 1990s camcorders to be honest. But the image is pretty. So maybe use this fancy servo zoom lens as a primary lens?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

24 Customer Reviews

0

Great Quality

SELP28135G 04 September 2023 by MShannon (Australia)

[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this lens for well over a year now and it is so versitile. It's great for lower budget filming and the images are crisp and clear and works great with my Sony FX6.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Fantastic film lens

SELP28135G 27 July 2023 by Mr Tievoli (United Kingdom)

Used it before which is why I decided to invest and by my own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Useability

SELP28135G 21 July 2023 by MickM (Australia)

The lens delivers the high-quality imagery I was after, is extremely easy to use and merges perfectly with my Sony camera equipment.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great lens

SELP28135G 18 May 2023  (Australia)

Im very super happy with the lens, The smooth focusing , power zoom and very quiet are the best feature. Switching between manual focus and auto focus at ease .

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

The Power Zoom is silent for Cine capturing.

SELP28135G 22 April 2023 by Gef3B (United Kingdom)

I have bought this Lens (FE PZ28-135 F4 G OSS) to add to my Sony FS7 Cine kit. Not only does the E mount fit and support well on the camera and lens, but operation so far appears to be very high end. Not to mention how good the system now looks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A solid always-on lens

SELP28135G 24 July 2021 by Claudio (Australia)

I rented this lens for a job and liked it well enough to buy it. It's big and heavy but easy to use, 3 rings for manual focus (parfocal! Yay!) zoom and iris although it can use all a Sony camera's automatism. It's on an FS5MK2 awaiting to migrate on an FX6.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best mid range zoom available, ( for Cine)

SELP28135G 28 June 2021 by BrendanR (United Kingdom)

the functionality and build quality is superb The focus and zoom is smooth and accurate. Sony seems to have a sense of humour too. ( the 95mm drinks cap for a lens cap ) that's honestly the only reason for 4 stars instead of 5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Lens for Video Interviews and Documentary

SELP28135G 29 April 2021 by gjeannit (USA)

this lens is great to use for its intended purpose. I have also used for picture if used on the A7 series.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great image, zoom speed is not cinematic for the $

SELP28135G 04 January 2021 by dsol1980 (USA)

The image is worth the price, but only if you are shooting video journalism or still angles. Unfortunately for my style of shooting (cinematic on a budget) this lens zoom speed is much too fast even on the "slow" setting. If I am going to pay more money than, for example, Sony's power zoom SELP18200 lens, I'm going to want it to be better than the SELP18200 lens. So I was expecting that I could make the servo zoom on this lens more cinematic and slow, for super slow creeps in and out - isn't that a primary thing everyone wants in a servo zoom? The speed of this servo reminds me of 1990s camcorders to be honest. But the image is pretty. So maybe use this fancy servo zoom lens as a primary lens?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Lens Sony always Makes things that no one el

SELP28135G 11 June 2020 by Samba1 (USA)

I bought this lens at Best Buy after reading too many reviews and good things about it . Today after Two weeks is my first day that I am trying to learn and read how to use it , So Far so good with my a6600 Camera and my Sony PXW-FS5M2 where I purchased it specially for my fs5m2 . I love taking movies but still learning did not have too much chance to learn on how to set my Camcorder but it all takes time for a beginner like me!!!! But I highly recommend this lens and all Sony products , Never Sony let me down always I was lucky with hundreds of Sony items I bought.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great zoom slide

SELP28135G 27 January 2020 by dhardjo (USA)

well bild easy manual focus easy zoom with slider on side. nice feature from auto focus to manual . long reach i can zoom to 135 mm get grat close up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The auto focus phenomenal

SELP28135G 11 October 2019 by Djchepomusic (USA)

Cant wait to record with it wish was having 3 of them with 3 Sony A6300 to really put it to the test filming a short film ...real cinematic look

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7iii with the FE PZ 28-135mm F4 G OSS Review

SELP28135G 26 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

This is a perfect all round single video lens solution. The focus is smooth and reliable in most of the main focus modes. Even though only a F4 lens and most people think of wanting a F2.8 lens. With the amazing ISO value these days, it becomes irrelevant, as F4 is absolutely fine and I had no issues in lower light. As hoped, the pull focus works well too. Although some may feel this is a heavier lens you get what you pay for, quality glass comes with added weight, the results reflect in its great image quality. The aperture ring with its choice of clickable or smooth motion is a great option when needed. Having a big traditional video lens shade is great. But what was Sony thinking of not supplying a traditional 95mm lens cap with this quality lens. They supplied a disposable coffee cup lid, come on what ever the reason, you dropped the ball with just customer perception alone!! This should have been a 100% perfect lens purchase, but dropped to a 99.9% lens purchase after I had to buy a £4.99 lens hood. But saying this, this is a very minor issue, but important in this competitive retail market from Sony’s point of view. As you can see from the images, I use the Sony A7iii with the lens on a gimbal, perfectly balanced and a joy to work with. I would recommend this lens to all video users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

It has malfunctioned on me twice! Heartbreaking

SELP28135G 05 February 2019 by Larsey (Australia)

I have had this lens malfunction on me twice! Both times it decides to stop reading the f-stops, which means that none of the other functions work either, rendering the lens useless. I had it fixed by Sony the first time (it happened while I had it locked away in a cupboard - ie, just sitting there, no knocks, no bumps etc) and it was fixed under warranty - and yesterday it has done it AGAIN! I use this lens entirely for work, and now I have to cancel all of my upcoming work until I get it fixed. The second time it did it half way through a shoot. Again, no knocks, no nothing - just decided to stop reading the f-stops. For the many thousands of dollars I have paid for this lens I am utterly heartbroken and now very scared of loosing more income thanks to faulty connections. Last fix was this - Dismantled and replaced CL01030 PCB, group block assembly and distance sensor. Reassembled and soak test operations ok. - worked again for about a year - then SAME FAULT. I fully LOVE this lens, it is my go to and utterly perfect in all the ways except this - and I am not the only one with complaints and having to send it back - so BUYER BEWARE.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Prefect for FF video

SELP28135G 26 July 2018 by Dummies Cam (Hong Kong)

It got all features a Cine lenses should have with a fair price

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

0

0

Rugged and reliable single lens solution

SELP28135G 30 March 2017 by Hotchili (United Kingdom)

As a single lens solution for video and photographic use then you should definitely have this on your short list. Yes, the lens is big and heavy, but it takes gorgeous pictures and even better video. Focus is reliable especially if using centre area mode as I always do. Low light is excellent and the resolution of the pics on my Sony a7 II is extraordinary. I find the power zoom spot on for video work; and the aperture ring is such a useful feature. It pulls focus well too. My only wish (if it were possible) would be to keep the quality of the lens but with a slightly longer telephoto range - oh and a macro function too! Ok, crazy wishes but who knows.... I am an amateur enthusiast and I have taken lens skiing, to the arctic, summer in the med and city shoots around Europe. It has never lost a beat in my 18 months of ownership. I hate the weight when travelling - but I couldn't go abroad without it :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Quick and versatile

SELP28135G 25 June 2016 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

This lens has a wonderful range from 28mm to 135mm, with a quality exceeding most zoom and many prime lenses. A heavy lens, which reflects it's Image quality. Since buying the 28-135 Power Zoom, It has been attached to my A7R MK2, and has met all my video and still photo needs since. The Aperture ring and zoom make it a very fast set up to use, never missing a shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

2

0

GREAT LENS - SHAME ABOUT THE ZOOM PIN

SELP28135G 22 March 2016  (United Kingdom)

This is a great lens, theres no two ways about it. Everything perfect. But the zoom pin snapped as i was screwing it onto the ring - shame!! Otherwise, just great!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

4

0

It's all you need for photography ever...

SELP28135G 20 October 2015 by Mo T (United Kingdom)

So glad of Sony with amazing features, higher pictures 4K quality and Video recording... You got all you need to.. See the world with Sony eyes..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

33

0

It makes everything cinematic

SELP28135G 21 August 2015 by Dhallquist (USA)

I still can't believe this lens is less than 3,000!

19

7

0

Great Value within optics

SELP28135G 21 June 2015 by ideas (United Kingdom)

add to the uncompleted review The only thing left is for Sony to give it a deserving and strong front lens cover to replace the thin plastic disposable teacup cover that comes with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

1

0

DREAM VIDEO LENS...

SELP28135G 14 June 2015 by John Batten (United Kingdom)

This is a superb lens. There is nothing else to say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

2

0

Love this lens for video

SELP28135G 08 April 2015 by gclons (USA)

I have owned this lens since it came out. It is large but on my shoulder rig it feels right at home. Being able to reach up and control focus and iris is fantastic. On the A7s the range from wide to tight is good for me. The zoom is not mechanical so you cannot do a snap zoom. However you can use it for on camera zooms. That is the only reason for the four stars. I use it primarily for ENG style shooting and truly love it for that. My Zeiss Pola will work with the lens hood that Sony provides and I have a Varri ND filter for it that will not work with the supplied hood. This truly feels like a real film or ENG styled lens to me and I would recommend it.

35

15

0

Everything that I need!

SELP28135G 06 April 2015 by Squirrelman (United Kingdom)

Purchased for wildlife and steam railways filming. For the former, I found 'all manual' settings to be ideal. For the latter, autofocus plus manual zooming and aperture seemed to work well. Great to have the choice of options! The 28-135mm lens range covered most of my needs. A couple of times I used the in-camera crop sensor mode, which effectively added 50% to the focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0