89

4.8 based on 89 customer reviews

74
13
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by qntt2002 (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

90 Customer Reviews

0

Manual focus

SEL90M28G 24 February 2021 by Mosis (United Kingdom)

Excellent piece of kit good picture quality good value for money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal Lens

SEL90M28G 15 January 2021 by Mitesh (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens just before Christmas and have used it on a number of occasions. Its fast to focus when using autofocus and very crisp. I can't wait to try it as a portrait lens either. Wonderful product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning Detail and Sharpness

SEL90M28G 02 December 2020 by Trystang (United Kingdom)

I have wanted to buy this lens for a while, not least following the glowing reviews. The sharpness and clarity is exceptional and the overall build quality is excellent. I also love the click back autofocus ring. Cannot recommend it enough for macro photography or portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best 90mm Macro for any Sony Mirrorless camera.

SEL90M28G 23 October 2020 by cnaray123 (USA)

I had one I purchased a long time ago when I first bought a Sony E mount camera and it started to developed dust inside. Had the pro support and sent it in for repair, but could not fix it in a timely manner. So I was offered a new one for $700 and took it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best macro lens ever I own !

SEL90M28G 19 September 2020 by sjfoto (USA)

The lens is beautiful. If your passion is macro photography this lens your needs. The G line lens of sony is really a top quality lens. From the construction and design, this lens high quality. Made of metal .The focus ring that could be retracted in & out for manual focus is a cleaver design. When doing macro photography and if you don't want to be too close to the subject like butterflies and bees, you can switch your A7 series camera to APC-s capture ON to give you a 135mm focal length and this will give you a minimum focus distance of about 17-18 inches instead of 11 inches. The lens has OSS and moisture resistance. Is not too big (for me)w hen connected to camera body but feels very stable when handling and pricy compare to canon , nikon and fuji . SJfoto

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

wonderful lens

SEL90M28G 10 September 2020 by Profdsm (United Kingdom)

There is a lot of hype about this lens, and it really is as good as the hype. I am really happy with it, the one thing which I had read about which could be a criticism if you were not aware of it is the the autofcous can be quite slow. But better to use manual focus and move yourself. When you get the focus right the end result is amazing - the bokeh is so beautiful too. It is expensive, but I managed to get a cachback deal on a reasonable price (worth hunting around) so ended up reasonable price in my opinion, especially for the quality- I just hope it lasts! :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL90M28G 04 September 2020 by Marque_Images (United Kingdom)

Coming over from Canon I was looking to replace my 100mm macro which I thought would be a difficult task. Oh no! The Sony 90mm blows all competition out of the water. It's so so sharp, beautifully made and just a must have lens if your a Sony shooter. This is more than just a macro lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Optically good but autofocus hunts ++

SEL90M28G 21 August 2020 by 205DH (United Kingdom)

Sharp and can get better depth of field than I had expected but have only been able to use manual focus as in autofocus mode it hunts and is unusable even when it has a huge target to focus on. Will only be used for macro and not used as portrait prime lens due to focus issues (the other Sony lenses I have snap to focus, so the difference is shocking - it performs worse than my Canon lens with an adapter) - the next question in the review is "would I recommend this product" - well the answer is "it depends" - if you would be happy with a manual focus lens then "yes"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

6

0

Easy to use

SEL90M28G 17 August 2020 by Angie k (United Kingdom)

Only had one opportunity to use it so far, but very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great lens

SEL90M28G 08 August 2020 by MartnA (United Kingdom)

The lens is well made and the auto / manual selected is very well thought. Optically it is great, very sharp with smooth bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Crazy sharp

SEL90M28G 05 August 2020 by neilvn (USA)

This lens is razor-sharp -- just what I need for product photography and portraits in the studio. Minimal optical distortion also helps with the image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glass - Amazing, macro results - 1:1 perfection

SEL90M28G 04 August 2020 by Benbenshow (United Kingdom)

Ive had it for a while and this is the lens i use the most. It is so versatile; i can take portraits and then, oh look a bumblebee and straight in fill the frame with the lil guy. Frankly i cant fault the lens in any way... I dont know what i can say about it thats bad... I wish it was cheaper???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Magnificent pics but heavy for petite size person

SEL90M28G 11 July 2020 by Nenezica (USA)

It was a gift from my husband, I love the picks and quality, but since I am petite the lent is really heavy and I cant hold for so long the camera hanging on my nec, It will be great if Sony could minimize the weight of the Lents without lose quality, another point is, traveling abroad and with all the restrictions it is hard to carry on board without pay extra because of the size and weight of personal item.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Best ever macro lens sharpest lens there is

SEL90M28G 03 July 2020 by PeteKLS (United Kingdom)

Awesome after lots of reviews. This was the best ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great optics, superb design

SEL90M28G 27 June 2020 by Magnetar (United Kingdom)

I love this lens! It’s brilliantly designed, with a sleeve on the lens body that slides fractionally back for manual, forward for auto focus. It’s so easy to use and the optics are awesome for macro work. Great for landscapes too! Highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Must have lens for your Sony Kit

SEL90M28G 12 June 2020 by chrisAU (Australia)

This is such a sharp versatile lens that I'd recommend it high in the list of anyone's Sony Kit. With a longer focal length of 90mm and wide aperture, you can get stunning shots with nice bokeh and depth of field for both portraits and macro photography. A definite must-have lens for any Sony kit that'll allow you to get up close and personal to your subject to allow a whole new perspective of the world. Nice build quality, lightweight and the ability to move the ring back and forward from A/F to M/F is an excellent feature, and for its relatively cheaper price compared to other Sony lenses, what more could you ask for? I've included a couple of sample images I took on a tripod to show the absolute best the lens can offer.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Superior lens to most i have owned

SEL90M28G 07 May 2020 by jax1447 (United Kingdom)

I would love to do an extended review of the lens, but this is a Covid-19 lockdown version. I love it, that would in itself be a fine testament, I have never done much in the way of macro but aim to do more as the results are so much better than with other macro lenses I have had. It's also an outstanding lens for portraits if anything it's too sharp I would have no hesitation to recommend the FE90 macro to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Optics

SEL90M28G 25 April 2020 by TerryW64 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens without trying it and am very pleased. I need to look carefully at how I light subjects in full macro. After two weeks I am getting used to settings I need to get the DOF I want. I really like the AF/MF switching by movement of focus barrel back/forward. Much easier than the switch on other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprisingly detailed and flexible

SEL90M28G 06 April 2020 by Mickhey (United Kingdom)

This lens replaced my old Sigma 105 adapted through the 11 adapter on my Sony a7riii Manual focusing is surprisingly accurate, and there are less chromatic aberrations compared to the Sigma.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2020 by GRoyW (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens about a month ago and have used it mainly for close up flower portraits. Superb handling, I love the AF/manual Focus clutch ring and the Focus Range switch. Build quality is superb and the whole lens has a great feel to it. At close focusing distances the sharpest apertures appear to be around f9/f13 which is fine and what you would expect. However I have found it difficult to achieve spot-on sharpness when using apertures of f18 and above at close focusing distances. Overall though a great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible

SEL90M28G 21 February 2020 by sadphil01 (United Kingdom)

So sharp you could cut yourself! Phenominal lens when partnered with my A7iii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this Macro lens

SEL90M28G 29 January 2020 by Linda571 (USA)

Purchased this lens for a Macro workshop I signed up for. I have some truly awesome shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really light and easy to use great image quality.

SEL90M28G 13 January 2020 by Robo17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this at Christmas and taken about 50 images so far, the image quality is amazing and its so nice to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i like the balance of the lens

SEL90M28G 07 December 2019 by kev66 (United Kingdom)

the only thing i don't like is the focus switch on the side of lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0