54

4.8 based on 54 customer reviews

46
7
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amateur Enthusiast

SEL90M28G 13 August 2017 by Zach11 (USA)

Currently shooting with A6500, and just thrilled with overall performance. Mainly using for Macro and it doesn't disappoint. Love the manual focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

54 Customer Reviews

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22 May 2019 by Captured_By_Costa (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G 12 May 2019 by grif80128 (USA)

I've used the Nikon 200mm f2.8 before. A Macro was a must as I stepped off into the Sony system. It focuses quickly with a hint of searching if the contrast isn't there. So far, I'm enjoying it to the max!!! It inspired me to shoot some of the flowers that I bought for my wife. The early end result was a very nice Mother's Day wish for her. I love having this capability and a mid-level zoom! Recommend that one adds it to their arsenal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good macro and potrait lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2019 by Old1Bob (USA)

I've used this lens for about one month and find it to produce sharp images, with accurate and fast autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06 March 2019 by Chris139 (United Kingdom)

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

wow!

SEL90M28G 28 January 2019 by TedA (USA)

Ive used many marco lens over the years, but this one is tops!! This lens will not disappoint!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22 November 2018 by Marco55_1 (United Kingdom)

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well built and feels nice in the hand .

SEL90M28G 12 November 2018 by gefrob (United Kingdom)

Excellent macro and portraiture lens at about the right focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Niely thought out

SEL90M28G 15 October 2018 by Obscura Photo (USA)

I am very happy with this lens. I like the 'slidein/out' for manual or autofocus. sharpness is excellent and build quality feels very sturdy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Macro madness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2018 by TheOlly (United Kingdom)

Added this to my collection and used on my latest shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Very Sharp Images

SEL90M28G 01 October 2018 by Bravanboy (United Kingdom)

This is my First Macro Lens and It's a Great Choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Good lens

SEL90M28G 18 August 2018 by Rich58 (United Kingdom)

Limited experience of this lens since buying it, but I could tell from the first few shots that it is very good. This came as a pleasant surprise as my previous experience of Sony's own lenses had not been good. I bought this lens to go with my A7lll and Zeiss 24-70 f4 combination. Whilst happy with the 24-70, I needed a little more length, and a closer focus facility. The 90mm 2.8 G would seem to offer both in one package.The only doubt being, as it is designated a "macro" lens, was it capable of delivering the goods at distance as well? The answer to that is, yes! It most definitely is capable of turning in very sharp pictures at both close and distance focus. At 5.6 it is surprisingly good edge to edge, corner to corner. I have yet to try it at 8. AF is good and accurate, reasonably "snappy" OSS works well. I suspect this lens will be getting a lot of use. Anyone looking for a quality short telephoto with close focus facility for the A7 range at a reasonable price would do well to look at this lens. I have tried to find a shortcoming to rate this lens at 4* but I can't, so, a 5* it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best macro

SEL90M28G 15 August 2018 by AZ Ron (USA)

Have had this lens just a short time. Still learning all the settings but so far it is the best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Superb Lens

SEL90M28G 11 August 2018  (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens for macro and portrait work. Very sharp, excellent focus and very well built. Not cheap but worth the money I'd say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Best all round Lens

SEL90M28G 05 August 2018 by Apogee (Australia)

I have had this lens in my kit for around 6 months now. it is a beast in every way. I only wish it was slightly a faster lens other than that its my go to for nearly everything.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

My Go-To Portrait/Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 04 July 2018 by PostMark (USA)

This lens is so flexible. I can shoot the sharpest of macro with the creamy bokeh. I use it on my a6500, A7rii and A7riii I am no professional. But this lens can make you feel like one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

two shot in one stone

SEL90M28G 23 April 2018 by Andy2k79 (USA)

i return my 85F1.8 to purchase this lens , is great for macro and portrait. very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very good macro lens, Bokeh could be better.

SEL90M28G 07 April 2018 by Linkmodo (USA)

The Sony 90mm Macro lens is extremely sharp with minimal distortion. The build in OSS works well. The camera body is constructed of mostly metal, including the focusing ring. The push/pull AF/MF switch is convenient to use. This macro uses an electronic focus-by-wire system but with a well implimented physical distance indicator on the lens for those who need it. The focusing speed is average, not too fast but not too slow either. It uses a silent wave motor so focusing is very quiet. One thing I wish the lens would have is some more grip texture, as the lens is constructed of the smooth metal surface it gets slippery when your hand gets sweaty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony's most versatile lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2018 by gwhale_photo (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and I'm very happy with my purchase. I have used this lens for stills and video on a Sony A7RII and it's overall quality and sharpness is incredible. I can use this lens in various situations such as for food, macro or portrait photography with its telephoto focal length a F/2.8 aperture. This lens also has a really creamy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great!

SEL90M28G 11 March 2018 by DCCO (USA)

Got 6 4 moths ago. Superb performance on a6500 and 7sII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Above my wildest dreams

SEL90M28G 04 March 2018 by James99 (Australia)

So what's with Sony putting a G on G Master for .... possibly the sharpest lens in the world with great Bokeh for portrait work and macro to die for .... this is a dual purpose "must have" no arguments end of story. Thanks Sony for the best glass possible !

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent sharp lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2018 by AshokNair (USA)

The 90 f 2.8 lens is excellent. I have used for my macro and food photography. I am extremely pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The sharpest lens I have ever touched

SEL90M28G 18 February 2018 by Kmanphotography (USA)

I can't say enough about this lens. The more I use it, the more I fall in love with it. I use it on an a6500 so a 135mm FF equivalent focal length. It's an incredible macro lens and an equally impressive portrait lens. The AF isn't very quick but that's because of obvious reasons. This lens is sharper than anything I have ever used. Sharper than Sony's 85mm f1.4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0