60

4.8 based on 60 customer reviews

51
8
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

60 Customer Reviews

0

Absoloutly fantastic lens.

SEL90M28G 17 September 2019 by Danny D (United Kingdom)

I Have had this Lens for over a month now and have to say, it is fantastic. Pleasing to use, nice size, comfortable in the hand and easily manageable weight. It is extremly sharp! welldone sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great macro

SEL90M28G 07 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great Macro beautiful focus and colour rendition, very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful piece of glass

SEL90M28G 23 August 2019 by Debsdoodles (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame mirrorless less , having changed gear from micro four thirds . Not regretting so far . No going back . Loving it . Good features , not heavy .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazingly good!!

SEL90M28G 24 July 2019 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I only took delivery of this lens a couple of days ago but the shots I'm getting already - all handheld - are nothing short of amazing. Can't recommend the lens highly enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Straight out of the box .

SEL90M28G 03 July 2019 by masterofimages (United Kingdom)

just out of the box, and seems to be working. which is nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What a lens!

SEL90M28G 29 June 2019 by penguinclaw (United Kingdom)

I am so impressed with this lens. Fast focus, fantastic bokeh and ease of use. I am now achieving work that I thought was out of my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22 May 2019 by Captured_By_Costa (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G 12 May 2019 by grif80128 (USA)

I've used the Nikon 200mm f2.8 before. A Macro was a must as I stepped off into the Sony system. It focuses quickly with a hint of searching if the contrast isn't there. So far, I'm enjoying it to the max!!! It inspired me to shoot some of the flowers that I bought for my wife. The early end result was a very nice Mother's Day wish for her. I love having this capability and a mid-level zoom! Recommend that one adds it to their arsenal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good macro and potrait lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2019 by Old1Bob (USA)

I've used this lens for about one month and find it to produce sharp images, with accurate and fast autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06 March 2019 by Chris139 (United Kingdom)

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

wow!

SEL90M28G 28 January 2019 by TedA (USA)

Ive used many marco lens over the years, but this one is tops!! This lens will not disappoint!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22 November 2018 by Marco55_1 (United Kingdom)

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Well built and feels nice in the hand .

SEL90M28G 12 November 2018 by gefrob (United Kingdom)

Excellent macro and portraiture lens at about the right focal length.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Niely thought out

SEL90M28G 15 October 2018 by Obscura Photo (USA)

I am very happy with this lens. I like the 'slidein/out' for manual or autofocus. sharpness is excellent and build quality feels very sturdy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Macro madness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2018 by TheOlly (United Kingdom)

Added this to my collection and used on my latest shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Very Sharp Images

SEL90M28G 01 October 2018 by Bravanboy (United Kingdom)

This is my First Macro Lens and It's a Great Choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Good lens

SEL90M28G 18 August 2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Limited experience of this lens since buying it, but I could tell from the first few shots that it is very good. This came as a pleasant surprise as my previous experience of Sony's own lenses had not been good. I bought this lens to go with my A7lll and Zeiss 24-70 f4 combination. Whilst happy with the 24-70, I needed a little more length, and a closer focus facility. The 90mm 2.8 G would seem to offer both in one package.The only doubt being, as it is designated a "macro" lens, was it capable of delivering the goods at distance as well? The answer to that is, yes! It most definitely is capable of turning in very sharp pictures at both close and distance focus. At 5.6 it is surprisingly good edge to edge, corner to corner. I have yet to try it at 8. AF is good and accurate, reasonably "snappy" OSS works well. I suspect this lens will be getting a lot of use. Anyone looking for a quality short telephoto with close focus facility for the A7 range at a reasonable price would do well to look at this lens. I have tried to find a shortcoming to rate this lens at 4* but I can't, so, a 5* it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best macro

SEL90M28G 15 August 2018 by AZ Ron (USA)

Have had this lens just a short time. Still learning all the settings but so far it is the best

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Superb Lens

SEL90M28G 11 August 2018  (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens for macro and portrait work. Very sharp, excellent focus and very well built. Not cheap but worth the money I'd say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Best all round Lens

SEL90M28G 05 August 2018 by Apogee (Australia)

I have had this lens in my kit for around 6 months now. it is a beast in every way. I only wish it was slightly a faster lens other than that its my go to for nearly everything.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

My Go-To Portrait/Macro Lens

SEL90M28G 04 July 2018 by PostMark (USA)

This lens is so flexible. I can shoot the sharpest of macro with the creamy bokeh. I use it on my a6500, A7rii and A7riii I am no professional. But this lens can make you feel like one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

two shot in one stone

SEL90M28G 23 April 2018 by Andy2k79 (USA)

i return my 85F1.8 to purchase this lens , is great for macro and portrait. very happy with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0