70

4.8 based on 70 customer reviews

59
9
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dust problems

SEL90M28G 04 November 2018 by QNTT (USA)

The lens is excellent but my copy is heavily contaminated wit dust between the optical elements. I am returning it for a replacement. Hopefully the replacement won't have the same problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

71 Customer Reviews

0

Great Lens

SEL90M28G 28 February 2020 by GRoyW (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens about a month ago and have used it mainly for close up flower portraits. Superb handling, I love the AF/manual Focus clutch ring and the Focus Range switch. Build quality is superb and the whole lens has a great feel to it. At close focusing distances the sharpest apertures appear to be around f9/f13 which is fine and what you would expect. However I have found it difficult to achieve spot-on sharpness when using apertures of f18 and above at close focusing distances. Overall though a great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible

SEL90M28G 21 February 2020 by sadphil01 (United Kingdom)

So sharp you could cut yourself! Phenominal lens when partnered with my A7iii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this Macro lens

SEL90M28G 29 January 2020 by Linda571 (USA)

Purchased this lens for a Macro workshop I signed up for. I have some truly awesome shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really light and easy to use great image quality.

SEL90M28G 13 January 2020 by Robo17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this at Christmas and taken about 50 images so far, the image quality is amazing and its so nice to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i like the balance of the lens

SEL90M28G 07 December 2019 by kev66 (United Kingdom)

the only thing i don't like is the focus switch on the side of lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality photos, but beware it

SEL90M28G 13 November 2019 by Francisco J (USA)

After 13 months of buying this lens, when I changed the battery of my camera, it stopped focusing. They told me that it has a scratch and is not covered by the guarantee. Although it has some superficial scrape, the failure must be due to another cause... However, I asked for a budget to solve it. - Two months later I received a big budget. Between the price (close to a new) and the reason (literally it only has a scratch), I decided to reject it. After several conversations and mails without getting solutions, they returned it to me with three months of delay. - In the last two years I have invested a lot in photography gear of that brand (three cameras and 12 lens) and I am surprised what is happening at the first issue with a lens under warranty. - After talking with several people of this brand (conversations, whatsapp, mails) and taking another three months without any proper action on their part, they end up telling me they had no solution for my case. It has been more than six months since I started this adventure and, to help future potential buyers, these are my conclusions: 1.- Buy electronics or photography on line - With the same failure, they would have returned a new lens. In addition, they ask for "apologies for the inconvenience caused by the failure". 2.- Be aware of this lens, which gave me many joys (attached two photographs), but a great headache and grief due to this problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Macro

SEL90M28G 27 October 2019 by B1ueboy74 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love this lens, always in my bag and take it with me everywhere. Love the control of it, and it’s a lens you can use for street photography and portrait

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

One of the best lens from Sony's lineout.

SEL90M28G 24 October 2019 by Blindasabat101 (United Kingdom)

The sharpness is fantastic at Macro and Portraiture. Light weight compared to my Sigma 85mm Art lens Fast focusing Pull back the focus ring to go into Macro is a no brainer Eye focus is spot on Feels quality Optical steady shot Full range of focus area Depth of field at f2.8 Lusssssssssh Best of all, the price of this lens, you get 2 lens in one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Sharpness

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by PepperMint (United Kingdom)

This lens is amazing, sharp, fast, the colours are great. Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL90M28G 06 October 2019 by Jace751 (United Kingdom)

I have used all macro lenses and I have to say this lens is brilliantly sharp and provides fantastic bokeh. It is not too heavy and balances very will with my A7R IV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharpness

SEL90M28G 29 September 2019 by Yorkie2 (United Kingdom)

Put my Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens, plus a couple of Canon items, in PX for this lens. The Tamron was very good but this is even better IMHO. Sharpnes is very good even wide open and improves on stopping down. Well made and with nice features e.g. push/pull collar for AF/MF switching and a focus lock button. Also usable as a portrait or general purpose lens its only downside is slightly slower AF than say the 24-105mm G

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absoloutly fantastic lens.

SEL90M28G 17 September 2019 by Danny D (United Kingdom)

I Have had this Lens for over a month now and have to say, it is fantastic. Pleasing to use, nice size, comfortable in the hand and easily manageable weight. It is extremly sharp! welldone sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great macro

SEL90M28G 07 September 2019  (United Kingdom)

Great Macro beautiful focus and colour rendition, very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful piece of glass

SEL90M28G 23 August 2019 by Debsdoodles (United Kingdom)

This is my first full frame mirrorless less , having changed gear from micro four thirds . Not regretting so far . No going back . Loving it . Good features , not heavy .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazingly good!!

SEL90M28G 24 July 2019 by Nick Footprint Photog (United Kingdom)

I only took delivery of this lens a couple of days ago but the shots I'm getting already - all handheld - are nothing short of amazing. Can't recommend the lens highly enough

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Straight out of the box .

SEL90M28G 03 July 2019 by masterofimages (United Kingdom)

just out of the box, and seems to be working. which is nice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

What a lens!

SEL90M28G 29 June 2019 by penguinclaw (United Kingdom)

I am so impressed with this lens. Fast focus, fantastic bokeh and ease of use. I am now achieving work that I thought was out of my reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sharpest lens period!

SEL90M28G 22 May 2019 by Captured_By_Costa (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens around 3 weeks ago mainly for some Macro work and boy does it deliver. I now use this more often than I thought I and also use it for portrait work too. This is a no brainer if you are looking to add this to your collection. 10/10!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Love It!

SEL90M28G 12 May 2019 by Grif (USA)

I've used the Nikon 200mm f2.8 before. A Macro was a must as I stepped off into the Sony system. It focuses quickly with a hint of searching if the contrast isn't there. So far, I'm enjoying it to the max!!! It inspired me to shoot some of the flowers that I bought for my wife. The early end result was a very nice Mother's Day wish for her. I love having this capability and a mid-level zoom! Recommend that one adds it to their arsenal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good macro and potrait lens

SEL90M28G 28 March 2019 by Old1Bob (USA)

I've used this lens for about one month and find it to produce sharp images, with accurate and fast autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb macro/short tele lens, great all rounder.

SEL90M28G 06 March 2019 by Chris139 (United Kingdom)

This lens is ideal as a macro lens but also lends itself to use as a short telephoto lens for landscapes, portraits and is perfect for product photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

wow!

SEL90M28G 28 January 2019 by TedA (USA)

Ive used many marco lens over the years, but this one is tops!! This lens will not disappoint!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

FE90F28 - very good video lens

SEL90M28G 16 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens due to the price v an 85mm prime. Having looked on YouTube for reviews and using it in a local butterfly farm I am totally satisfied with its performance, easy to use, features and quality of build more than meet my demands - an excellent choice!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good but not Great.

SEL90M28G 22 November 2018 by Marco55_1 (United Kingdom)

Pro: Super sharpness, good manual focus ring, good stabilizer Cons: Changing the focus point also changes a little the magnification. Slow autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0