$1,597.00

(NZD inc. GST)
210

4.7 based on 210 customer reviews

174
25
6
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

My Favorite So Far

SEL90M28G 12 November 2017 by Beland (USA)

I bought this after checking out the DxOMark rating the 90mm F2.8 Macro as the sharpest lens for the Sony E mount full frame system. Compared to other options I rented, it exceeded my expectations. You can really sink into a subject and grab details you wouldn't expect with fantastic bokeh, back up and get a completely different perspective. Subjects are sharp and creamy where you want it. Even banal postcard shots have a depth of detail to them that elevates the image. Despite the size, it's light enough for most handheld situations. The AF/MF ring switch and focusing zone switch is convenient when focusing macro subjects. The stabilization worked great. I want to compare this to the FE 100mm F2.8 STF GM for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Macros Lens but bit slow to focus

SEL90M28G//QSYX 24 November 2017 by PaulQ (Singapore)

Bought this lens largely for macro work. The macro photo quality is really sharp. Only downside is the lens focusing speed is really slow especially for normal portrait non macro work. Also lens is quite sizeable and heavy.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

211 Customer Reviews

0

UH MAY ZING

SEL90M28G 27 April 2024 by olliemakes3 (USA)

i have used this lens to take some of the coolest shots! the macro is breath taking and i feel like im in a whole new world. the only *downside* is the size and weight but its something you get used to. The clutch is pretty awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Macro Feature

SEL90M28G 14 April 2024 by JimmyCHS (Australia)

The reason I bought this lens because it is the only macro lens from Sony. Although it was out for some time, it still produces great macro photos. Love it.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL90M28G 27 March 2024 by Will5291 (USA)

Great image quality and build. However, severe focus breathing and hunting when light is not the best. F/2.8 is of little value when you cannot obtain sharp focus when subject is not fully illuminated. It is a good value for the money when used within its limitations.

Picture Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not your ordinary macro lens!

SEL90M28G 26 March 2024  (USA)

I’ve used this lens for several years now, photographing everything from product photography, wedding detail shots, to marco work and even portraits. I’ve shot with the best of the best for over 30 years and nothing beats the image quality of this lens. Add the optical image stabilization and manual/auto focus ring, and this is about as close to a perfect lens as you can get.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Favourite lens - lives on my camera body

SEL90M28G 16 February 2024  (United Kingdom)

Recently acquired the 90mm to compliment my 85mmGM and extend my capabilities from portraits into the world of macro level for up close detailed products and nature shots. This 90mm 2.8 has practically lived on my camera body and is lighter than my 85mmGM 1.4, which has also led to longer excursions out and about as its lighter weight on my A7R3 tahn my other lenses - those few grams make all the difference. The clutch mechanism for shifting between manual to auto focus is definitely an addition i favour, making things hands on and tactile. Stunning level of separation and compression at a macro level and sharp as a swords edge. Favourite lens. Which has me exploring macro in the winter months. My 200-600G and 85mm1.4 GM are practically hermetically sealed in storage at the moment as here in the UK the spring season has meant budding flowers and the awakening world of insects are very much my interest. A beautiful lens that truly changes a photographers perspective of the physical world, thoroughly recommend and you wont regret it! Pick one up and see things in a new way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL90M28G 04 February 2024 by Trevsci (Australia)

Incredibly sharp lens, manual focus clutch is great, autofocus a little slow but this is a macro after all

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

FE 90mm F2.8 macro

SEL90M28G//QSYX 29 November 2023 by Derek89 (Singapore)

Very happy with the sharpness of this lenses for my food photography. However, find it a bit difficult and slow to use manual focus on my RV as well as on the lenses. Need to improve my depth of field as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The Sharpness is Amazing

SEL90M28G 20 October 2023 by Gra M (United Kingdom)

I have several lenses, both Sony and non-Sony, primes and zooms, all of them pretty good, but this lens is in a class of its own. I read all the glowing reviews before I bought it and I now understand why almost all the reviews were so positive and full of praise. The lens is so good I use it, of course for macro, but for everything where a range of 90mm is suitable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sharp fast

SEL90M28G 02 October 2023 by sonnet (Australia)

I'm amazed at detail, clarity and focus just love it.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Love this lens

SEL90M28G 02 October 2023 by Darthdury (Australia)

I had the opportunity to do some food photography and read that this lens was the perfect choice for this type of photography. I also really enjoy Macro photography and this lens is amazing at getting in close to the details. Well worth the addition to my kit, if you are thinking of getting this just do it you won't be disapointed.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL90M28G 21 September 2023 by Rockbyter (United Kingdom)

On a6700 and takes superb pictures. Design of auto/manual switch really good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

AMAZING lens

SEL90M28G//QSYX 11 September 2023 by Necronox (Singapore)

Sharp, powerful and versatile macro lens. 90mm is fantastic for general nature photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens poor

SEL90M28G 18 August 2023 by SteveFocus (Australia)

Only had it a few days but enjoy using it the results are good the only thing I did not like was the cheap plastic pouch it comes with it just makes a good lens look cheap

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

After Five years service the lens just gave up

SEL90M28G 08 August 2023 by Supra Pro (United Kingdom)

After five years faithful service the lens just packed up unable to focus or change aperture. Then lens show no signs damage and has not been dropped, I have tried cleaning contacts and tried on several current bodies A7RV , A9 and a6600 nothing...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Macro Lens for a Sony.

SEL90M28G 07 August 2023 by Cod Fish (USA)

An excellent macro lens with image stabilization and very sharp images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 90mm F2.8 Macro G OSS lens is great

SEL90M28G 30 July 2023 by Blackcatmum (United Kingdom)

Apart from being good optically there is also image stabilisation. I also like the Focus button (G) that I have as a focus magnifier. Another neat feature is the ability to easily change from autofocus to manual via the lens ring switch without taking your eye off the shot. A great lens to have for macro nature shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens - for macro and more

SEL90M28G 20 July 2023 by dd2023 (United Kingdom)

I've been using the lens for 2 months now. I have used it as a macro lens (why I bought it), a portrait lens (an ideal focal length) and for landscapes (incredibly sharp prime). It is great value.

0

0

0

The perfect macro lens!

SEL90M28G 08 July 2023 by GottaPics (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens. I was expecting it to be a very good product, but... it is unbelievable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great MacroLens

SEL90M28G 16 June 2023 by Sonykc (Australia)

Although the design is a few years old, it is still a great lens for macro work. The push/pull focus ring is brilliant to use.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Image quality beyond belief

SEL90M28G 15 April 2023 by KevastleyJA (United Kingdom)

The best macro lens I have ever had. Such a pleasure to use. Crystal clear and superb colours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL90M28G 19 March 2023 by Police Station House (United Kingdom)

After reading lots of reviews regarding this lens and not finding anything that worried me with respect to image quality etc I decided to purchase it. I’m not disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous macro lens

SEL90M28G 19 March 2023  (United Kingdom)

Very well constructed yet light which is great for hand held macro shooting. A very sharp lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

90mm F2.8

SEL90M28G 15 March 2023 by digitaliskepmuhely (United Kingdom)

I'm using this lens for create artwork-reproduction. It performs very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 90mm F2.8 Macro

SEL90M28G 09 March 2023 by DonGee (United Kingdom)

Fabulous lens, don't hesitate, buy it if you require top performance from your equipment'

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0