FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

89

4.7 based on 89 customer reviews

75
10
1
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

89 Customer Reviews

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 05 February 2021 by Jet57 (United Kingdom)

This 85mm Sony lens used on my A7Rlll is a great partnership, sharp and fast, definite thumbs up for this Sony-branded lens more than happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

OK, not good, not great. Pronounced CA.

SEL85F18 22 January 2021 by Beavermoon (USA)

I wanted to like this lens as I own several other Sony lenses, but the 85mm 1.8 just fell short of being good on several fronts. First, there were two large dust specs inside the lens that I noticed the first time I mounted the lens (Quality Control?). Second, the Chromatic Aboration was excessive when shooting anything with a silver-tone next to a dark background or any dark item with sharp lines. Third, when shooting F2.8 or below, the sharpness drops heavy just outside the center, and vignetting is heavier than I expected. For these reasons, I returned the lens. The camera store was understanding and took it back without a problem. I put the money toward a different lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21 January 2021 by Marlowejr (USA)

The first photo was amazing, I looked at the lease and said were gonna be close friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb for the price

SEL85F18 11 January 2021 by Indeclin3 (United Kingdom)

Fabulous lens for the 500£ paid. I am a new user of mirrorless/dslr camera. I was oscillating between the 50mm 1.8f and 85mm 1.8f. I have decided to go with the 85mm as it "forces" you to move and find the composition that you need. I use this lens for portraits and broll (any subject basically). I recommend this lens as it has a very fast autofocus, a fast aperture and you will get a very nice blurred background when wide open. I use this lens on the a7c body. Great combo!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new favourite

SEL85F18 02 January 2021 by Cs00 (United Kingdom)

Had it for a little over a month and it’s not left my camera. So stoked with its ability. Incredible value for money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing!

SEL85F18 07 November 2020  (United Kingdom)

Finally after long research I've got my 1st lens and I couldn't be happier. Paired with Sony a7iii these two work amazingly together. Very sharp picture quality with aperture of f1.8-f22. 85mm is mostly recommended for portraits but this won't stop you from taking some amazing pictures. This will give you great distance in street photography and you won't need to come awkwardly close to your subject. If you're a new into photography it could be challenging to get used to camera and this lens itself but after couple of days you will get good feeling and handle of it. Build quality is high and sturdy and everything works really smooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent size to use with my Alpha 7C

SEL85F18 05 November 2020 by James in Weston (USA)

Been using this lens as my prime for street photography the past week, and it does the job very well. Nice button on barrel of lens that I use as custom (Eye AF)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony 85mm f1.8

SEL85F18 22 October 2020 by Dev JETHWA (United Kingdom)

Great image Quality super sharp Portraits very light weight absolutely loving this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good landscape lens

SEL85F18 04 September 2020 by CaptainK (United Kingdom)

If you are looking for a good portrait or landscape lens, then this could be an obvious choice

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Brilliant portrait lens!

SEL85F18 12 August 2020 by James NS (United Kingdom)

Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens Brilliant portrait lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Blown away

SEL85F18 25 July 2020 by Cinema Donut (United Kingdom)

Bought it a couple of weeks ago, and it just keeps blowing me away. I did a photo shoot recently and also did some interiors, and oh boy I have never been more hyped about doing photos than now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sharp

SEL85F18 24 May 2020 by Grumpy 007 (United Kingdom)

This lens is sharp and focus is fast and spot on the DOF is out of this world. a really good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works superbly

SEL85F18 27 February 2020 by Maurrro (United Kingdom)

Love using this lens at wide open fabulous feel and superb quality at an excellent price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 09 February 2020 by PFL01 (United Kingdom)

Excellent portrait lens for reasonable cost. Very sharp images and good bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp, fast and stealthy!

SEL85F18 01 February 2020 by imacdaddytony (USA)

I have had the lens for one month now. Primary use is shooting high school indoor sports. Focus is quick, silent, good tracking, nice build and image quality is nice. I am pleased with the lens performance on my A9.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

First play!

SEL85F18 15 January 2020 by Doubled58 (United Kingdom)

Bought this late Nov as Christmas present to myself. Thank you Santa! So far it is providing very sharp photos covering varying subjects. Might end up being my fav lens which I now have 3 off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

SEL85F18 15 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

purchased for portrait photos and am happy with the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Super sharp, super fast.

SEL85F18 19 December 2019 by Dotingdad (United Kingdom)

Great lens and excellent value for the money. I’ve used a lot of portrait lenses over the years and this is one of the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp and fast lens

SEL85F18 16 December 2019 by bilalm (USA)

Extremely sharp and fast! I’ve gotten my best pictures with this lens probably. Produces a really nice bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Razor sharp

SEL85F18 30 September 2019 by Geotzen (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens after reading various reviews for 85mm category. Did not want to spend a fortune so this lens had the best price/quality ratio for my budget. I'm extremely pleased with image quality. Also AF, build quality, and overall feeling are great. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14 September 2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom)

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31 August 2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom)

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Amazing quality at budget cost

SEL85F18 29 August 2019 by Sunflower_pics (USA)

This lens is best for portrait photography and outdoor photography. There is no other option available at this prices yet. Loved it's sharpness, bokeh and smoothness. Weight and grip is a good for handling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best image quality

SEL85F18 20 July 2019 by ClydeA (USA)

Ive been using this for almost a year. Its the best on the market in terms of image quality and AF. Just 4 stars because compared to other brands, this is almost twice the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1