37

4.8 based on 37 customer reviews

32
3
1
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37 Customer Reviews

0

Incredible

SEL70200GM 18 September 2019 by Cessna flyer (USA)

Twenty first century photography at its peak. Simply amazing sharpness, color and clarity. A world class optics lens. Priced at a premium beyond most,and a reason most customers will choose tamron, sigma and competitor brands. A choice, one of the best available in the photographic industry, or spend the same money as a down payment on a half acre piece of property in most communities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous lens

SEL70200GM 12 September 2019 by J Louis (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens over a week ago for a trip in Tanzania, coupled with the A7rIII the resulting shots are fantastic. This lens is sharp, fast with beautiful bokeh isolating some of the subject bringing the images to life. Videos also comes out great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

STUNNING

SEL70200GM 11 September 2019 by Wilkinson110501 (United Kingdom)

First day I got it I used it for a horse show and wow! It is a beautiful lens that created beautiful images! If you've got the money, buy it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice features

SEL70200GM 11 July 2019 by Rick_J (USA)

I have read many articles and forum articles about this lens and I couldn't wait to get it. Now that I've had a chance to use it I am real pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL70200GM 11 June 2019 by Topshotfoto (United Kingdom)

I have owned versions of both the Canon and Nikon 70-200 f2.8 lenses previously, but I jumped ship to Sony last year in an attempt to decrease the weight of equipment I lug around airshows. This lens is not significantly lighter than the above and it carries a price premium. The easy answer would have been to go for the Sony 70-200 F4 but I admit to being a "pixel peeper" and my 100-400 GM Sony lens is so sharp I decided to pull the trigger on the 70-200mm F2.8 GM. In the month since purchasing it I have used it in different situations and bravely in light rain! I am genuinely impressed with the sharpness of this lens. The central areas are stunningly sharp at all normal apertures and the edges likewise once shut down to F4. It is expensive but if I had bought a different lens I know I would always have regretted not paying the extra for the sharpness. I was tempted to only give four stars due to the cost but decided I was reviewing the lens not the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A7III Perfect Mate

SEL70200GM 05 June 2019 by Edofcle (USA)

Perfect for most shoots. If you're a wedding photographer, you need this in your bag!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL70200GM 13 May 2019 by ianwatt (United Kingdom)

Brilliant quality paired with my A7R3, it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best lens ever!!

SEL70200GM 08 May 2019 by Bob Brooks (USA)

Simply the sharpest lens I have ever used. It is a must have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 70-200 mm F2.8 GM OSS

SEL70200GM 08 April 2019 by Eagles41 (USA)

Other than the weight it is a superb lens and IQ wise compares well with the fixed focal length lenses I own.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony 70-200GM For Equine Photography

SEL70200GM 12 March 2019 by Fletcher8 (United Kingdom)

I have been using the 70-200GM for a year now for the majority of my equine work, it produces stunning images and it's auto focus on the A7lll, A9 & A7Rlll is a joy to use and just gets the job done.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good lens rather expensive

SEL70200GM 19 February 2019 by BGeeGee (United Kingdom)

I've used the lens extensively. It is very sharp and focusses fairly quickly. I've tried using the Canon 70 200 2.8 with an adapter, really not worth it if you want reliable autofocus. The Sony lens is rather overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good quality...£800 overpriced

SEL70200GM 10 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent lens. Good image quality. Comparing to my old Nikon glass I’d say this should be a 1500-1700 lens. Does not feel as solid and weather sealed. Mount is not as solid. Don’t get me wrong great lens for system just overpriced for overall build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding Lens

SEL70200GM 23 January 2019 by Bonekicker (United Kingdom)

I have owned several zoom lens over my long years and not found one of them to be any good--until now--I changed from Fuji to Sony mirrorless system and just recently bought this FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS lens-- the range is perfect for me and Quality as got to be seen to believe--Just Stunning Results 10/10 -5Star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Worth every penny!

SEL70200GM 10 January 2019 by 1slandgirl (United Kingdom)

I use this lens mainly for sports photography and it is just about perfect. It is fast, pin sharp, well balanced and I particularly like the 'internal' zoom, which keeps the lens balanced across the 70-200mm reach. Being able to zoom the full range in a single wrist action makes this lens perfect for shooting under poor conditions and using a rain cover. I have a number of Zeiss and G-Master Sony lenses (55mm, 90mm 24-70mm etc.) so I am used to quality glass but this is quite possibly the best! Very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Unlock your photos

SEL70200GM 03 January 2019 by JohnandSue (United Kingdom)

I hesitated buying this lens ever since I moved to Sony mirrorless but took the plunge recently. The lens is fantastic. Its so fast and accurate and brings even the most lifeless pictures to life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Sharp Lens

SEL70200GM 31 December 2018 by Rnevert1 (USA)

This lens is sharp at all apertures. I am very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb!

SEL70200GM 11 November 2018 by jmthomas (USA)

Sharp, fast, a bit heavy but stout. Upgraded from the 4.0 and the sharpness, contrast and and colors are such an improvement. Granted so is the price but a much needed tool for the working professional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty much perfect

SEL70200GM 22 October 2018 by Designic (United Kingdom)

After experimenting with using Zeiss Batis primes (which are superb, no complaints) as an alternative, I ended up getting the Sony FE 70-200mm F2.8 GM OSS instead. It's like having a bag full of prime lenses. Yes, it is big and heavy, but for an event photographer like me, it makes perfect sense. I have previously owned the Can and Nikon equivalent lenses, both excellent, but this Sony lens is next level. The only thing I'd change in the colour of the barrel - it makes it very conspicuous compared to the all black of Nikon's lens. But overall, this lens is pretty much Perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 05 October 2018 by Empathphotographer (USA)

Amazing it is so sharp ! Love the f 2.8 ! Really easy to fill frame and it is stylish!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing

SEL70200GM 25 June 2018  (USA)

I got this lens just over two months ago, I'm in love with this lens. Sure, it's a really heavy, so if you look for a light weight lens, this is Not for you and it's Ridiculous Expensive, Sony really need to review it's price, it's way above competition, but the Quality, it's amazing, it's Crazy Sharp, the AF it's a dream, works really well and fast and the Hold Buttons, man, I can't see my self without anymore, when I get my 24-70 GM I really miss the three buttons that my 7-200 has it. I highly recommend this lens if you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very intuitive

SEL70200GM 24 May 2018 by buja (USA)

Bought in 01/29/2018 and have been happy since. The screws on the lens mount were loose, and I had to tighten them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 70-200 f2.8 ((My prefered Lens)

SEL70200GM 23 May 2018 by Amanjain (USA)

I bought month ago I love using it . Go and buy if you can ?? ..,,.sorry.... tooo expensive toooo goood

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Takes great pics

SEL70200GM 25 April 2018 by wss25 (USA)

Had for a few weeks now and very impressed with quality of pics being taken. however, the zoom ring is loose compared to the 24-70 mm F2.8 gm, on the 24-70 the zoom is where you have to actually turn it to move it while on the 70-200 you can accidentally bump it and it will move with no effort. I don't know which one is correct but I prefer the tighter ring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent optics

SEL70200GM 28 February 2018 by David1000 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens to go with 16-35 and 24-70 GM lenses and specifically wanted excellent optical quality on an A7Riii and it doesn't disappoint. I also wanted excellent autofocus. I haven't had a chance to test this fully yet but it looks promising so far. The only matter that has put me off slightly was a LensRentals strip down of the lens that shows a comparatively soft metal joining ring at the centre of the lens construction and I imagined the lens splitting in half! I waited three months to see whether any reports of this happening before buying and there don't appear to be any such reports, so went ahead with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0