121

4.9 based on 121 customer reviews

113
5
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom)

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

121 Customer Reviews

0

Great form factor

SEL55F18Z 28 March 2020 by PJM171 (United Kingdom)

I could no be more happy with this lens. I have over a dozen lenses but had not got a 50/55 as it was not my favourite focal length, but i had read so many good reviews that i decided to add it to my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Light, Sharp and good value.

SEL55F18Z 26 March 2020 by Mick A (United Kingdom)

I am a long time Fuji user but because I wanted the best BIF and sports action camera I opted for an A9. Apart from the 200-600 for my main use I needed to get an all round street/general photography lens to justify this system along side my Fuji. I have been stunned by the quality of my 55mm. i assumed Fuji had it sown up, but the quality and versatility of this lens has made me think seriously about trading in my Fuji gear and getting the sister 85mm lens for my use.The 55mm is so crisp and the Bokeh is lovely. Get it........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

a super sharp fast lens

SEL55F18Z 03 March 2020 by dad48 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens as part of a deal with a A7iii, and I am pleased that I did. It is super sharp across the aperture range and has a quality feel about its construction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL55F18Z 01 March 2020 by MarkQ (United Kingdom)

Incredibly light, very sharp, fast AF and lovely colours and contrast. As good a ‘50’ (ish) lens as I’ve ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Art & Engineering Excellence

SEL55F18Z 28 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7RIV about a year ago along with 3 Sony GM lens. The body and other lenses are all great but this lens is outstanding. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It's sharp, it's fast and it's tiny. I might upgrade my other gear but this will be with me forever. It's so good I get excited every time I see it. (I know!) If you own a Sony camera you must get this lens, it will be the best purchase you ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharpness is amazing

SEL55F18Z 04 February 2020 by Stevo1626 (United Kingdom)

Bought in December never really considered doing any kind of portrait work but this lens alone combined with the a7iii has really changed my style of photography. Awesome lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp ++

SEL55F18Z 24 January 2020 by FED20 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this lens for a few months now, it is a delight. It is used on a Sony A7 mk 3. Very sharp, lovely bokeh. It is well balanced on the camera and has become one of my favourite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 06 January 2020 by D S S (United Kingdom)

Although not a new model this lens gives great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little lens, big performer

SEL55F18Z 24 November 2019 by jloz (USA)

This lens is lightning fast and easy on the wrists while delivering IQ expected of Zeiss. I mainly use this lens for poorly lighted indoor/outdoor portraits. Even at high ISO (up to 6400), IQ is still good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17 November 2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom)

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first Prime for Sony

SEL55F18Z 15 November 2019 by MarkIsMe (USA)

I bought this lens 4 years ago when I purchased my a7r2. Now that I’m on the a7riv, It is still my “go to” lens when traveling a new city or only have the chance to carry a single lens on the camera. While in Boston I happened to be snapping away at the skyline in Boston Common. A squirrel caught my eye. Had to be 10 meters away. I clicked over to continuous focus and caught several images of these guys. This is cropped in at 100%. This is such a fast lens, it keeps autofocus and gorgeous bokeh. Just buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Why buy the 50mm?

SEL55F18Z 09 October 2019 by noahthomas03 (USA)

I bought this lens after reading comparisons between this one, and the Zeiss 50mm. Needless to say I'm very happy I saved some extra cash and went with this one. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11 September 2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08 September 2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom)

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Most versatile lens!

SEL55F18Z 20 August 2019 by Noornuri (USA)

This lens can do it all, from micro to macro. A must have!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05 July 2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom)

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12 June 2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom)

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019 by Atabales (USA)

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16 February 2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom)

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom)

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07 January 2019 by docv (United Kingdom)

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04 January 2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0