118

4.5 based on 118 customer reviews

73
33
7
3
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Value

SEL55210 26 December 2013 by UserNex7 (USA)

I purchased this lens as a part of the A3000 bundle after reading the reviews here and in several sites. Over the holidays, I used the lens to take photos from Inspiration point on my NEX 7. Viewing them on my Mac, I was blown away. Images were extremely sharp, great color and the zoom was useful in capturing birds and the sunset. Considering the cost, this is a great purchase and I am very pleasantly surprised. It does need a lot of light and is not lightning fast to focus. But the photos were great throughout the zoom range. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a tremendous value for money.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Soft At The End

SEL55210 13 July 2020 by Nn77 (USA)

It's soft on the telephoto end. If you don't pixel peep it's fine but it is soft when you do.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

Not bad but not brilliant

SEL55210 24 February 2021 by Jebc0 (United Kingdom)

Picture quality is OK, but when you're at full zoom you get quite soft edges around the Image. The price tells you of the quality. I ended up sending it back as I was not impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Quality

SEL55210 27 November 2020 by Buzz71 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a few weeks ago great quality and is a great edition to my kit bag

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Downgrade

SEL55210 29 October 2020  (USA)

This kit lens made me feel like I downgraded when switching from A mount to E mount. I think my old DT55-200SAM I had paired to an a300 took higher quality pictures with better bokeh. It makes sense, considering the wider f-stop and 9 blade vs 7blade aperture. With OSS built into the old A-mount cameras, the only thing this lens has on the 55-200SAM is 10mm of focal length. That doesn't compensate for all the areas it falls short. Since the 55-210 is almost double the price and about a decade newer, you would think Sony would make it technologically superior.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality Sony lens.

SEL55210 20 October 2020 by Sven (United Kingdom)

This lens produces sharp images at both ends of the scale. lightweight and easy to use. Good value for money.....

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Soft At The End

SEL55210 13 July 2020 by Nn77 (USA)

It's soft on the telephoto end. If you don't pixel peep it's fine but it is soft when you do.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Just what I wanted

SEL55210 23 June 2020 by TheGadgetMan (United Kingdom)

For the price I was happily surprised at the quality of this lens. It’s not too heavy and looks great. It takes really sharp photos and the auto focus is very quick. If you are on a budget I would seriously recommend getting this.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Easy to carry and pack

SEL55210 02 May 2020  (USA)

This was a great gift; I take it everywhere I travel too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great value

SEL55210 07 April 2020 by rsphoto67 (United Kingdom)

suprisingly good for a cheaper lens very happy with my purchase

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Get it, great value and quality.

SEL55210 20 December 2019 by Donski (United Kingdom)

I have been on and off buying this lens for ages, encouraged by reading good reports and discouraged by reports that were not so good. Recently I purchased and have to say that I am entirely delighted with the results I get from this lens. I take daylight pictures so a slightly slower lens does not affect me, I want sharp pictures and that is what I get. I’m not a beginner, around 60 years experience and would say to potential buyers, don’t hesitate, a great value lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Easy to overcome certain limitations...

SEL55210 23 September 2019 by Bking1804 (United Kingdom)

The lens is best at mid range and aperture and working around this is easy, don't expect pin sharp fully zoomed images and you'll be laughing all the way to the bank with the hundreds of £'s you will have saved yourself. Yahoo potato.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Very fast zoom lens

SEL55210 14 September 2019 by Korat (USA)

My favorite kit zoom lens so far. Very fast Auto Focus, great zoom, compact size. The only reason I gave 4 stars is because when zoomed the corners get too a blurry vignette when taking photos as well as hard to keep the focus dial in place when taking shot in manual focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55210 14 September 2019 by Excellent quality (United Kingdom)

I've used this lens several times since buying it for my A6400. Well built, sharp and good value for money.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round

SEL55210 10 September 2019 by Fred 2806 (United Kingdom)

I used this at the weekend & got some very good pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL55210 06 September 2019 by mickmar1 (United Kingdom)

I recently moved from a micro four thirds outfit to the smaller and more compact Sony A 6300 and needed a linger lens . The E55-210 was my choice with its compact size and sheer quality of image . In short an ideal lens which would become a must have with a 2.8 to 4.5 aperture rather than the 4,5 -6.3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good for close ups

SEL55210 03 July 2019 by johnboy (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently as I wanted to take some close ups at a wedding. I thought about it for a while as it is very reasonably priced. It performed very well, sharp photos and blurred background. Overall I am very pleased with the lens

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL55210 19 May 2019 by PorkyNeil (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased this lens to go with a Alpha 6300 camera. It is a great lens, with a very goof focal length range. Focussing is very quick and the first set of images I took with it are very sharp with great exposure. The lens is very light and easy to handhold with no camera skas or blurred image. An excellent lens to go with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Budget Telephoto zoom

SEL55210 04 May 2019 by Erem03 (USA)

Bought this used off of ebay and its been great. Great for sports stuff where you need the range and the autofocus is quick. Only problem is the relatively small aperture which makes it hard to use indoors if there isnt a lot of light but for the price not much to complain about. Most sports are played outdoors or in well lit gyms, etc. anyways :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fast & easy

SEL55210 28 March 2019 by pdhmatos73 (USA)

Fantástic lens, practical, easy frendly, fast, not expensive

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3

SEL55210 22 March 2019 by DaveWilts (United Kingdom)

Great lens. Image stabilization is very effective.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent..

SEL55210 26 February 2019 by Sundragon (United Kingdom)

Perfect lens to carry to capture more close up action.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great lense

SEL55210 05 February 2019 by I have not been given one (USA)

I have had the lense for two weeks and I am extremely happy with the lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL55210 27 December 2018 by trevor533 (United Kingdom)

Bought this last week, great features for the price/good zoom. Does work in low light even at full zoom F6.3. Tried mine in the dark evening.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good cheap lens

SEL55210 20 December 2018 by Bill1057 (United Kingdom)

Very happy for a cheap lens just good for general use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value for the money

SEL55210 20 November 2018 by Adrian (United Kingdom)

Decent lens for the money a bit heavier than the kit one. I would say excellent for a beginner, good zoom

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0