FE 50MM F1.8

Product Reviews

142

4.1 based on 142 customer reviews

69
37
24
7
5
Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value.

SEL50F18F 20 April 2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA)

Older tech focus motor is a bit noisy and a tad sluggish compared to some of Sony's speedier lenses, but it is not that bad in either regard. But... Sharp on center. Great bokeh. Thin DOF. Great colors. Exactly what I expect from a nifty fifty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice lens but noisy

SEL50F18F 21 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens with good results both in still image and on video. Unfortunately, everything stop there! The lens is too noosy for use in with friends in an event like wedding. Even on video you can hear the focus micro-adjusting. Due to the noise, i learn to shoot with the back button focus and that only in single focus as the continuous focus sounds like a tractor. I prefer my manual off brand 50mm f1.4!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

142 Customer Reviews

0

Good lens!

SEL50F18F 16 October 2021 by Coxie37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this with the A7iii body as a basic lens, but honestly hardly used it as I tend to use my 24-105mm lens mostly. However the quality etc is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hunts like crazy

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Gary1978 (United Kingdom)

I shot with Nikon for about 15 years before I went with Sony. When I purchased my first Nikkor 50mm 1.8, it was like finding photography again. Sadly, when I purchased the Sony 50mm 1.8, it was a terrible let down. This lens spends most of the time hunting for focus. Even in brightly lit conditions and stopped wide open at f1.8, it still struggles unless there is obvious contrast. Lower the light and shut the aperture down and you're in for a nightmare photo shoot. I have no idea why this lens is so bad as I've heard the 55mm 1.8 is fine. Firmware? Hardware? Who knows. It's just a poor lens. Nikon's 50mm1.8D can be sourced for about £80 new and it is blindingly fast. Sony's AF system on my A7mk3 is much faster than the Nikon D750 I had so it's defo a lens issue.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Nifty inexpensive standard lens, bang on the money

SEL50F18F 13 October 2021 by Paul13Walnut5 (United Kingdom)

One of the first lenses you should buy for A7 series, or if learning about depth of field and perspective. A sharp, compact inexpensive lens with solid if not class leading IQ (although there are lenses costing far more that don't perform any better) these got a bad rep for sluggish focus in earlier incarnations, I've found that with the camera and lens firmware up to date it's about where I would expect, rear button AF and considered choice of focus mode for your subject will also help. If you have a very high resolution camera, such as the R series, A9 or A1 you may want to look at a lens which can more closely match your sensors capabilities, although, for the money, this is pretty decent.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best quality and price!

SEL50F18F 10 September 2021 by Steph (United Kingdom)

The 50mm f 1.8 is a game changing! My photography improved so much with this lens! Absolute love it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Average prime

SEL50F18F 07 September 2021 by No nicknsme (United Kingdom)

Cheap entry level prime. OK. But i need more, so have exchanged for the 55mm Zeiss lens. Much more expensive ! I suppose it depends on one's budget.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for Money

SEL50F18F 19 August 2021 by Photodojo (United Kingdom)

A a native Sony lens, for the price new, it performs very well when compared to more expensive others. Auto focus is more than adequate for day to day usage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony SEL50F18F E Mount 50mm F1.8 Prime Lens

SEL50F18F 11 August 2021 by ScottC (United Kingdom)

I have recently bought this lens for my Sony camera. Find it a very good lens and very happy with it.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Awesone lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 July 2021 by Nidhi (Singapore)

Excellent product.Really nice product from sony....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Less than Stellar Features

SEL50F18F 13 July 2021 by Shomari (USA)

The Sony f/ 1.8 isn’t very sharp and hunts for focus on low light. I should have spent my money elsewhere. I plan on selling the lens probably at a loss.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens, Okay Autofocus

SEL50F18F 29 May 2021 by NYCStephen (USA)

This is the first lens I bought for my first full frame camera after switching from Nikon and it hasn’t disappointed me too much yet. It has great image quality, the bokeh is pretty nice of this lens, and it’s lightweight and affordable. The only thing I don’t like on this lens is that I wish the autofocus was in line with the 35mm and 85mm f/1.8. It is very loud in single autofocus and noisy in continuous focus. The autofocus is also not 100% accurate and it’s pretty clunky and slow. I take portraits, so it’s fine for now. I’d recommend for anyone starting out over the 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use and a lightweight lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 28 May 2021 by andy88 (Singapore)

I needed this lens for some shoot projects and it did not disappoint except sometimes ist does take a few more seconds to find the focus point. Overall, the image quality is on par with other Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice image quality, and worth it at price range

SEL50F18F//CSYX 30 April 2021 by yudafanka712 (Indonesia)

This is my first prime fix lens and i have a good experience with this lens, nice product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible chromatic fringing

SEL50F18F 18 April 2021 by ad91 (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A7R IV and was recommended this lens to go with it. Wide open, this lens is almost unusable because of the terrible green fringing. I'm still seeing fringing even at 5.6...I wish they would have recommended a different lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great glass but noisy and slow AF motor

SEL50F18F//CSYX 17 April 2021 by Miradj (Singapore)

I bought this together with an A7Riii. Works really great, peak sharpness at F/4 and enjoy taking portraits with it. I just find that the AF is very slow and the motor is loud.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

junk

SEL50F18F 08 February 2021 by bill999 (USA)

Makes terrible video. Does not focus well. Focus is too slow for video. Maybe okay for photos, but not video. Get a different lens. The Sony mirrorless cameras deserve better than this.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

It is sharp and fast

SEL50F18F 09 January 2021 by Partick Express (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for a month and use it for street photography and some close ups at high aperture. It has nice bokeh, it focuses fast and it is perfectly fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Affordable Lens

SEL50F18F//CSYX 25 December 2020 by Shigan (Indonesia)

It is light weight so it's easy to carry arround. It also produce nice photos. The only thing is it tends to hunt focus sometimes, but you can minimize that by going to manual focus

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Basic Lens for Your Sony Alpha Camera

SEL50F18F//CSYX 05 December 2020 by MayoSandwich (Indonesia)

Bothing Special, averga qualit, visible Color abbreviation

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great and well priced

SEL50F18F 25 November 2020 by SDPhotography (United Kingdom)

Quick delivery, great lens & great price

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great value

SEL50F18F 18 November 2020 by Chris Bucks (United Kingdom)

For the price, a good buy. There are better options out there but not at this price.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality! Sharp Lens for good price!

SEL50F18F 26 August 2020 by Belle (United Kingdom)

First lens for my Sony A7III, and being a full frame “nifty fifty”, native to Sony, you can’t go wrong.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Unhappy

SEL50F18F 14 June 2020 by mhunt94 (USA)

I bought this about 3 1/2 months ago and the F stop showed up with dash lines and made the picture blurry. I'm not happy with this. Something so new should not look blurry.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

0

Fabulous little lens

SEL50F18F 08 June 2020 by Cameramark (United Kingdom)

I had this a few weeks now and it's well made, good value for the price and excellent in lower light, pretty much a bag essential!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

1st prime lens for everyone

SEL50F18F//CSYX 05 June 2020 by Dzul86 (Malaysia)

Good starting point for everyone. Focus a little slow in the dark with old body but not a deal breaker. Good lens for everyday use on fullframe body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0