FE 40MM F2.5 G

Product Reviews

9

4.9 based on 9 customer reviews

8
1
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

9 Customer Reviews

0

really good product

SEL40F25G 06 October 2021 by hollisters3020 (USA)

I purchased this lens in hope that it would be smaller and still have great quality for travel. My current lenses are really big and good but carrying them around is a burden at times. This lens does everything I need and is compact and fast and works very well. The bokeh is extremely good for a lens of this size. I am still learning to use it --- but it is incredible. I and my wife love to cruise and love to take pictures in the lower light - this lens will do so without having the huge lens I have had to carry in the past. This is a great lens and so worth the price... will take it on the cruise ship in January and am sure that will be great. Disclaimer: I received this product at a discount in exchange for my honest opinion.

0

0

0

Super compact, great bokeh, superb sharpness

SEL40F25G//CSYX 01 October 2021 by Miradj (Singapore)

I love how lightweight it is. The quality of the sharpness and bokeh is just so different from the non-G lenses. No wonder it's relatively more expensive. Worth the price! Also love the extra customizable focus hold button even in such a small lens body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens for when size matters

SEL40F25G 08 September 2021 by allenk1 (USA)

Build Quality: The SEL40F25G is an objectively well-built lens. The body is made out of aluminum and feels nice in the hand. The aperture ring clicks into place nicely and the focus ring is buttery smooth. For the size, it’s well put together, premium feeling lens. Performance: The SEL40F25G is a very quick lens. The autofocus is quick and works very quietly. Bokeh is nice and creamy as well. I do wish it were a bit faster, but understand that some compromises need to be made to make the lens as compact as it is. Compared to some of the Zeiss Batis primes and GM zooms I have, I do still prefer the images coming out of those lenses, but they also cost considerably more. Size: I got an a7c for the days where my a9 + GM lenses are just too heavy to lug around. The SEL40F25G is a perfect complement for the a7c. It’s a smidge taller than the a7c’s kit lens and much shorter than my 50 f/1.8. This keeps everything nice and compact while still capturing shots with excellent quality. Overall, the SEL40F25G is a great lens. There are similar lenses that are faster, smaller, or cheaper, but the SEL40F25G strikes a nice balance between build quality, speed, and size that is hard to match in the market. So why not 5 stars? It comes down to price. I understand that there is a lot of engineering that goes into making something this good and this small, but it's a pricey proposition. *Disclaimer: I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion

0

0

0

Sony FE 40mm F2.5 G Full-frame ultra-com

SEL40F25G 04 September 2021 by mnawabi99 (USA)

Bought this lens for a quick lightweight prime lens. Super light and compact. 40mm is an amazing focal length too, not too wide, not too narrow. I was able to get decent landscapes and great portraits. The color and clarity of its pictures is spot on. Being able to manually set the aperture is a definite plus. The Bokeh is unreal. I see this being my go to lens for my landscape photography. The aperture ring is solid. It’s not going to move around accidentally. Auto focus is superb. Excellent walk-around lens. ** Used with a Sony a7iii mostly portrait and some landscape shots. ***disclaimer that I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion***

0

0

0

LIGHT, SHARP & SWEET

SEL40F25G//CSYX 19 July 2021 by eeee_zzzz111 (Singapore)

EVERYTHING IS GOOD, 40MM IS A SWEET SPOT. SUPER LIGHTWEIGHT EASY FOR DAILY USE!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the size and look

SEL40F25G//CSYX 06 June 2021 by cxcheng (Singapore)

This is a premium product with nice controls such as the aperture ring and programmable button. It is very sharp and better than the f/2.5 would indicate. Also love the weight. It is now my default lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A quality product!

SEL40F25G 20 May 2021 by TJCarroll (Australia)

I purchased this product recently due to the great reviews. I felt it would complement the range of Sony lenses I have put together over the past couple of years, particularly suitable for a gimbal I purchased earlier this year.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Weather Resistant & well made with close focusing.

SEL40F25G//CSYX 17 May 2021 by emm73 (Singapore)

I used the 40 mm f2.5 & my 55 mm f1.8 Zeiss blends well together and light enough for any occasion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal wark about lense

SEL40F25G 27 April 2021 by Ian3055 (United Kingdom)

I was in the market for a small prime lense as I have a z55 and sony 35F25 I neded something with moor flexibility and portability. The FE40 features moor than fit the bill, its amazingly fast at focus Ideal for street photography and assigning APS-C to focus hold button for that extra rech makes it perfect for my use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4