$798.00

(NZD inc. GST)
68

4.4 based on 68 customer reviews

38
20
8
0
2
Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 11 October 2015 by nico2002 (United Kingdom)

This lens can as part of the A7ii kit and I'am surprised how how good it is especially when stepped down a little, its ideal as a walk around lens so I will be keeping and using on a regular basis.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A light weight travel lens

SEL2870 28 November 2018 by PeterFl (USA)

I bought this lens with my Sony A7rii. Since then I have bought the 16-35 F4, the 24-105 F4 and the 70-300F4. All of these lens take much better photos than the 28-70, however, they are all also quite a bit heavier. When I want to travel light, I find that this is a very nice match which gives acceptable images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

68 Customer Reviews

0

A Great Kit Lens

SEL2870 22 February 2024  (USA)

I bought this as well as a Sony Alpha A 7 IV camera system. The lens is a great pairing with the camera and is designed for traveling. The small size and quality of the construction gives me great confidence in making a variety of shots whether they are buildings or individual portraits. I also like the weather protection that is advertised for this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

SEL2870 14 February 2024 by LiteralmenteLizy (USA)

This product has given me high quality photos and it is great for beginners because it is easy to use. The value on this product is outstanding and you really get your money’s worth. I would definitely recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best product!

SEL2870 21 December 2023 by Zolika93 (United Kingdom)

In this is to the product with very very best of the life with very good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL2870 22 November 2023 by liju (Australia)

Kit lens with very good optical quality. I love it.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Good all-rounder

SEL2870 30 August 2023 by HitchyP (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as part of a kit. The images are sharp and the AF is fast and precise. The lens is very quiet too which I like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact lens for the Sony A7 III Mirrorless Camera

SEL2870 25 June 2023 by David from Rutland (United Kingdom)

This mid-range Sony zoom lens is a compact and easily portable companion for the new Sony A7 III full-frame, mirrorless camera. It is dust and moisture resistant making it ideal for wildlife photography. I have had great results with wedding shots, landscapes, and studio work all resulting in crisp, clear images across the frame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Lens but not for landscapes or holiday photos

SEL2870 13 January 2023 by johna7 (United Kingdom)

This lens has small issues 28mm wide open for the kit lens is useless the people that this lens is aimed at are people who take holiday photos and landscapes you may as well keep their money in their pocket and use your phone which is wider that this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Good lenses for a beginner photographer

SEL2870 22 December 2022 by Pauliku (United Kingdom)

a wonderful kit lens, very good for a beginner, as a first kit lens is doing an amazing job

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great

SEL2870 14 October 2022 by Soki (United Kingdom)

Love the camera.Great features. Especially the buttons on the top

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

28-70mm lens

SEL2870 25 July 2022 by Snaperden1945 (United Kingdom)

Reasonably priced lens abd adequate fir general use.

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Kit lens!

SEL2870 05 February 2022 by Maciej R (United Kingdom)

I choose to buy a camera with Kit lens, it’s perfect for a start, very valuable and flexible kit lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Smooth and clear

SEL2870 30 December 2021 by Liathach1953 (United Kingdom)

Very smoth action and one of the best clear fast focus lens I have had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Good all round lens

SEL2870 13 October 2021 by Holbs (United Kingdom)

Great all round lens for general photography easy to use and good picture and build quality

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good kit lens.

SEL2870 13 October 2021 by The coddy (United Kingdom)

A good kit Lens for every day use. Good for weddings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Versatile 28-70 all round lense

SEL2870 13 October 2021 by CaptainK (United Kingdom)

As I currently use all Sony equipment A7III and a A6400, I was looking for a small zoom lense that could be used in both my full frame and cropped sensor cameras. So far I’ve found it to be a sharp and precise lense without the normal high cost. I would highly recommend, whether taking portraits of landscape photographs.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

So far so good.

SEL2870 17 September 2021 by Bjf01 (USA)

I bought this as part of a package with a Sony camera so far I really like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value for money

SEL2870 13 September 2021 by Tspeed (United Kingdom)

I bought the lens because of its weight. The pictures are perfect for my use case. The quality is great. I've compared the lens with a similar Tamron, but the Sony is sharper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very good

SEL2870 09 September 2021 by Jurcon84 (United Kingdom)

really excellent this product very good quality Good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Surprisingly Good Lens

SEL2870 19 May 2021 by Dr John (USA)

For serious work, I use my A7RIV with G or G master lenses. I was looking for a lightweight lens for my A7C for carrying when I don't plan any photos. I dug the 28-70 lens out of my collection to test. I wasn't expecting much, but I was surprised. The photo below was unedited with reduced file size for web.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well built

SEL2870 27 March 2021 by FilmNubie (Australia)

For the price it’s built very well. Great budget lens. I’m glad I picked it it.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Very useful

SEL2870 23 March 2021 by Isol (United Kingdom)

It is quite useful for portraits, however, I would prefer F.1.8.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Good standard lense

SEL2870 15 January 2021 by lukolevic (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony A7 iii and this lens came with it. It’s a good standard lens. Good quality and style.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not up to scratch

SEL2870 07 September 2020 by SB1961 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my A7R2 for casual use but had to return it immediately as it was very noticeable that the left hand side of the image was out of focus compared to the right hand side. This showed up badly at infinity focus setting. I had heard of this optical fault from other reviews on the web but couldn’t believe this was still occurring on new lenses. I did not replace it with the same lens as I had lost faith in that particular model. I have been very happy with my A6 and A7 cameras and the other lenses I already have for them.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Good budget Lens along with the body

SEL2870 16 August 2020 by PRABHAS (United Kingdom)

This lens produces decent picture and video quality. If you are in a tight budget then I recommend it to buy along with the body.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0