FE 24mm F1.4 GM

Product Reviews

66

4.7 based on 66 customer reviews

58
3
0
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

66 Customer Reviews

0

New to Sony

SEL24F14GM 13 June 2021 by Neil 32 (United Kingdom)

First Sony lens I’ve brought in my life over 30 years photography what a beautiful piece of engineering so beautiful to behold the size is incredible the sheer quality of the images is sublime a true lens to keep for years brought for landscapes but so useful for so many projects just simply outstanding

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great all araound lense

SEL24F14GM 26 April 2021 by Kristaps123 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense about 3 weeks ago. I was really hoping that this lense is that good how good people ar talking. And it is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great GM lens

SEL24F14GM SYX 21 April 2021 by Samanosuke (Singapore)

I bought a few month ago. I really like this 24mm F1.4 GM lens do a b-roll shot for my videography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I think I got a bad copy

SEL24F14GM 18 April 2021 by Markn9110 (USA)

Serious vignetting at high aperture. This happens with both my Sony a7riv and my new Sony alpha a1

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 24mm F1.4 GM superb quality

SEL24F14GM SYX 01 April 2021 by AlexWinata (Indonesia)

I just bought my sony 24mm f1.4 lens and i was amaze by the quality and result. good work sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL24F14GM 10 March 2021 by brento73 (USA)

I recently switched to Sony full-frame cameras, and bought this lens at the same time as I bought the A7Riii. I LOVE this lens. I shoot a lot of wildlife, and often have a long zoom on my camera, but when I want wide angle, this is THE lens. It's sharp, it's great in low light, and even with the 24mm field of view, you can still get a shallow depth of field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent native lens from Sony !

SEL24F14GM SYX 23 January 2021 by Kyden (Malaysia)

Nice little lens with excellent sharpness, no regrets owning this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL24F14GM 18 December 2020 by NJK88 (United Kingdom)

Essential lens for videography. It’s simply the gold standard.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Bad Copy? Very Poor Auto-Focus & Frequent Pulsing

SEL24F14GM SYX 25 November 2020 by SethC (Malaysia)

I'm not sure whether I got a bad copy - will need to contact Sony for investigation or possible warranty. Leaving this review here in case someone shares the same issues. From YouTube reviews, it seems that people usually love this lens for its good overall performance including with autofocus as well. My current unit, and with the latest firmware as of November 2020, focus hunts and fail to be in focus like it's not close to being a native lens. I have a Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 DG DN lens that is decisive and accurate in getting focus within the first click of a shutter, or when left to perform by itself decisively on auto-focus. However, my present unit of Sony 24mm *GM* f/1.4 lens couldn't perform close to it. By that - this is on the latest Sony a7S III, I meant having the autofocus tracking box on screen locked on, but my Sony GM f/1.4 lens still fails to get focus even after 5-15 seconds on AF Focus Transition Speed at 5 and AF Subject Shift Sensitivity at 5. I mentioned up till 15 seconds only because by then, I'd have to move around and re-adjust my position to hopefully gain focus by holding on the shutter and re-clicking focus points on-screen multiple times. Under normal day-light circumstances, it'd also focus pulse randomly while shooting video, causing unusable footages. This is not an acceptable circumstance for a GM lens, but after having it for about 2 months and used it on 3 shootings with the a7S III, it has never failed to focus pulse randomly while recording video each time. Will have to reach out to Sony to get this investigated.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Pure Quality

SEL24F14GM 10 November 2020  (USA)

Purchased this lens 10 months ago and have shot a few thousand photos through it. I’ve done everything from landscape, portrait, food, auto, product, and astro photography with it. I love the sharpness and the phenomenal depth of field. As with any wide angle lens, you have to beware of odd angles especially when doing portrait photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceeded my expectations

SEL24F14GM 07 November 2020 by Domscillator (United Kingdom)

Amazing autofocus performance, great in low light and beautiful creamy bokeh. I didn't expect to fall in love with this lens but it proved me wrong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

6

0

World class glass

SEL24F14GM 05 November 2020 by DBounce (USA)

This lens was the first that I purchased for my Sony A7S III. It made a short list as the reviews were all very positive. After receiving my unit i understood why. This wide and fast lens is versatile, clean while not being sterile. It has character while producing excellent image quality. It’s a must have for any full frame Sony shooter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I love this lens

SEL24F14GM SYX 16 October 2020 by JYTan (Singapore)

This lens is so small for a F1.4. it is light weight. Distortion was minimal. using this to shoot at night, sometimes u can even use ISO200. I like the aprture ring too!! It is amazing!! I hope there are more small GM lenses with F1.4 aperture like.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Believe the hype - brilliant lens

SEL24F14GM 14 October 2020 by STNT (United Kingdom)

There is nothing thing I can add that hasn’t already been said - this truly is a brilliant lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great little lens

SEL24F14GM 26 September 2020 by MrJingles (United Kingdom)

Have only had the lens for about a month. Used it a couple of times on my A6500. very happy the sharpness and quality of the lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

Love this lens!

SEL24F14GM 26 July 2020  (USA)

Exceed expectations in all ways, this lens is super sharp, minimal distortion and literally I can't say anything negative. The weight, the feel, the look all surpass expectation and it's 1.4 ... it's priced perfectly as well, you get a lot of bang for the buck with this lens. All the high reviews are definitely justified, this makes me excited to save for another G Master to add to my growing lineup of lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

At Last!

SEL24F14GM 23 July 2020 by zaperture (USA)

I had been renting various lenses to find the perfect wide angle and decided on the 24mm. So happy I did. The clarity and F1.4 aperture give me the feel I am always looking for in my images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Pricey but worth it

SEL24F14GM SYX 17 June 2020 by iamvpv (Malaysia)

Well built and great image quality coming from this lens. Price is on the expensive side but worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good sharp lens

SEL24F14GM SYX 26 May 2020 by Rated (Singapore)

Good lens for landscape use even with some portraits, not really good bokeh but overall is good lens

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing in design

SEL24F14GM 21 May 2020 by mwalidt (USA)

Initially I was extremely excited to get my hands on this lens having read the various reviews and seeing footage/images taken using the 24mm 1.4 GM. However this lens, and it may be that I received a faulty lens from Sony, produces an unbearable rattling noise as you change aperture. I've tried adjusting it both manually and automatically yet this noise is persistent. After searching the issue up online I was directed to download and install both firmware updates for my Sony A7RIII body and 24mm 1.4 GM lens, which I did. But to no avail, the noise was persistent even after putting the Aperture to silent priority mode. I'm not sure if this is normal for this lens as none of my other lenses have this issue and work just fine. This is my first Sony lens, let alone my first G Master lens, purchase and I'm actually really disappointing. I would love to hear some input from anyone else on this matter/issue. I would especially value a response from a Sony representative as to whether this is normal for such an expensive lens. I've attached a video below of the issue. (Note: The camera is in Silent priority mode)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Great it very good i love it

SEL24F14GM SYX 11 May 2020 by ZKhanin (Thailand)

I happy to had that . it very good quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SEL24F14GM 08 May 2020 by Telfer (Australia)

The word that come to mind when describing this 24mm G-Master lens is stunning & beautiful. It makes photos look slick. it has an expensive depth to the image. Focus and sharpness are both spot on. Definitely 5 Stars

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Sony 24mm F1.4

SEL24F14GM SYX 29 April 2020 by DCMJ (Malaysia)

Sharp, fast and flexible. With APS-C mode on A7iii, it becomes 36mm as well, with good enough resolution.

0

0

0

Sharp & Versatile

SEL24F14GM SYX 29 April 2020 by breadboy (Malaysia)

One of my go to lenses, stuck on my A7iii most of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0