FE 24-70mm F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

90

4.6 based on 90 customer reviews

71
13
2
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

90 Customer Reviews

0

Amazingly Sharp

SEL2470GM 09 November 2019 by Daniel957 (USA)

I bought this lens before having a full frame camera, but thinking that I would replace my APS-C one as soon a as I could. Finally, I bought a 7RM4, and tried the lease in both cameras. I was surprised by the resolution extent given in my AOS-c, and completely astonished, when I used it on my 7RM4. The only cons I find is its weight and size. Anyway, they are justified once you see the results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack sharp!

SEL2470GM 05 November 2019 by Charlie679 (USA)

I just purchased the Sony alpha 7 R iii and the G series 24-70 zoom and this camera and lens combination has made a believer out of me for full-frame mirrorless platform. Hoping to switch completely to G-series lenses and the Sony platform.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic quality, very sharp

SEL2470GM 25 October 2019 by Chick49 (USA)

I replaced an older lens. The Sony is much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fantastic Lens

SEL2470GM 25 October 2019 by jon01 (United Kingdom)

this is one of the best lenses i have had in all my years as a Photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

SEL2470GM 07 October 2019 by mdee1964 (United Kingdom)

Solid feel to the lens. Easy to use. Good quality in terms of sharpness. Quick to focus when used with Sony A7r iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quick AF. Sharp. Set the button for eye focus.

SEL2470GM 25 September 2019 by Tredtog72 (United Kingdom)

Love this product. Really pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubber Band used for Zoom feature

SEL2470GM 18 September 2019 by Emmapt11 (USA)

Rubber band for Zoom feature is now loose. Not acceptable for a supposedly top Quality lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very sharp, very heavy

SEL2470GM 12 August 2019 by kmcmurtrie (USA)

I've been getting pixel sharp and clean photos with this lens even in difficult lighting. Autofocus is fast and quiet. I don't have any battery drain issues with stabilization. The front glass cleans with little effort and so far I haven't seen any dust inside. The significant downside is that this is a HEAVY lens. It's about at the limit of what you can carry in one hand and it needs two hands for shooting. There's a customizable "focus hold" button between the turning rings that can't be relied on. You can hold it down accidentally in portrait mode but then can't reach it in landscape mode. It's probably best to set the camera to automatically switch to MF when the focus ring is turned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Smooth, sharp, sexy.

SEL2470GM 29 July 2019 by Raychel (USA)

The FE 24-70 F2.8 GM, with the unmistakeable, polished red square on the side. The focus? Tack sharp, see below. You can see the peach fuzz on the face of your subject. The manual focusing ring glides with your intentional touch, but stays in place for the natural movements of your breathing. The pearl finish on the body of the lens is low-profile and pairs with the Alpha line like steak and red wine--it's sexy, it's refined, it's Alpha. The 24-70 GM is for those who do not sacrifice quality while being unable to decide between having a wide-angle or a telephoto lens--it is the lens you take when you don't know what you'll need. The 24-70 mm is for those who want to thrive in chaos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Crisp and responsive and well balanced.

SEL2470GM 04 July 2019 by NGphotog (United Kingdom)

Works beautifully with my A7R3. Great crisp images and no distortion. Quiet and well balanced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Instills confidence

SEL2470GM 20 June 2019 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Great general use lens, when undecided on which prime lens to take or use. This lens is very sharp when stopped down to f5.6 - f8. Yes the lens is heavy, but instills confidence with high resolution and sharp images!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Beautifully built and very sharp

SEL2470GM 17 June 2019  (United Kingdom)

It’s a heavy lens but the payoff is incredible sharpness throughout the whole focal length range. Paired with an A7R III, I am very happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL2470GM 11 June 2019 by Moods (United Kingdom)

I have only used this lens for a few weeks but already I can appreciate the quality. It really is a very good lens. The picture quality is pin sharp, it is smooth and easy to use with rapid focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

24 - 70mm F2.8 GM

SEL2470GM 31 May 2019 by Camera17 (United Kingdom)

Own this lens now for two weeks super quality, fast focus great around lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality but zoom rubber grip gone lose

SEL2470GM 29 April 2019 by K Hussain (United Kingdom)

Its a Great lens for photo and video. Unfortunately the zoom rubber grip gone lose after 18 months i don’t have idea how and why

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Eyes Wide 0pen

SEL2470GM 24 March 2019 by Johho (United Kingdom)

Early days, but so far, sharp impressive results.Glad I went for the 2.8, good low light performance and control over depth of field. X

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The 24-70mmG Master is a Classic!

SEL2470GM 05 March 2019 by Cadeyrn Drust (USA)

After purchasing the A7 RIII on September 30 and shooting with 5 other native lenses (16-35mm/2.8 G Master, 24-105mm/4 G, 55mm/ 1.8, 35mm/1.4, and the 35mm/2.8 on both the A7 RIII and A7 RII, I made the decision to purchase the 24-70 G Master 2 weeks ago. On my first outing with the lens, I noticed how effortless it was to meter my compositions using my A7 RIII. The color was superlative...rich yet not oversaturated and natural...The sharpness was superb throughout all focal lengths...absolutely no vignetting...Although needless to say, but to report anyway, all the G Masters are built solidly and the weather sealing is immaculate ( and I'm speaking from prior experience of owning the 15-35mm/ 2.8 G Master)...There are no cutting corners or compromises in the build quality of any of these lenses...The Sony 24-70 G Master lens was not a work in progress...Sony pegged it with this one and no doubt it ranks among the absolute best, if not, the very best of all the 24-70mm Full Frame Lenses... Well worth the investment...Endorsed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

An All Round Good and Useful Lens

SEL2470GM 26 February 2019 by Loopy Lou (United Kingdom)

This is the lens that I turn most of the time. It does not let me down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic but very heavy

SEL2470GM 19 February 2019 by iza123hop (United Kingdom)

It is very sharp and work perfect with Sony A7Rii. One minus is that the lens is very big to the body and to heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharpest Lens There Is:

SEL2470GM 09 February 2019  (USA)

Bought this for my A6000, and let me tell ya, it's almost too sharp. I know what everyone is thinking, can't take good pics with a A6000, but I'm telling you, is is fantastic. Now the bad part, no image stabilization, but you learn to adjust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional Quality

SEL2470GM 08 February 2019 by Toffeeman55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and have been delighted with the results so far. The build quality is excellent, and the focus ring and focal length ring both have a very reassuring feel to them with just the right amount of resistance. Image quality is superb. This is an expensive lens but you get real quality for your money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best standard zoom out there

SEL2470GM 08 February 2019 by Ct1983 (United Kingdom)

This lens is fantastic, it is by far the best standard zoom lens I’ve used. The sharpness is edge to edge and is great for eventing, landscapes portraiture etc. The only thing Which would improve this lens is adding more focus hold buttons like I have on the 70-200 2.8 for when shooting in portrait orientation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sharp from the centre to the edges

SEL2470GM 07 February 2019 by Sebwa (United Kingdom)

Sharp from the centre to the edges, working ok in +30C like -20C

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fanstastic lens

SEL2470GM 08 January 2019 by Johnwick (United Kingdom)

Apart from a bit heavy, this lens is amazingly sharp! Im happy with thw purchase, get youseld one now !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0