54

4.1 based on 54 customer reviews

23
22
3
3
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22 March 2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16 April 2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

61

13

56 Customer Reviews

0

Wide range

SEL24240 13 October 2019 by Dblais4 (USA)

Having one lens cover such a distance eliminates changing lenses in the field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 13 October 2019 by gonzo49 (United Kingdom)

bought the as my lens late August and is nicely balanced with the body and will be great for travelling I do a lot of long haul travels so keeping weight down is key , the lens operates smoothly and have had some great photos so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far so good

SEL24240 02 September 2019 by Steph400183 (United Kingdom)

I have been asked to review this lens far too soon and have not yet had the opportunity to have a good session with it. So far though with the shots I’ve taken I’ve been very happy. Nice and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Meets expectations

SEL24240 31 July 2019 by Huwcin (United Kingdom)

Big, bold and versatile. Heavy but perfectly suited to the A7 mk3. Especially well balanced as a unit for carrying in one hand by fingertips. Photo quality is maybe not as sharp as the best primes available but not disgraced in any way either. A great choice for everyday and travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Nice versatile lens

SEL24240 04 July 2019 by Ree101 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as I wanted something versatile. Very happy with it's performance so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Useful Lens

SEL24240 28 May 2019 by Leveler (United Kingdom)

Good value for money lens that serves my purpose, would like to have had longer zoom but pleasantly surprised with the quality and overall results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Not to good

SEL24240 28 April 2019 by Henry36 (USA)

Focus slow sometime I took the pictures not sharp,need updates version.

1

1

0

Great for travel

SEL24240 20 February 2019 by Archibald R (United Kingdom)

Transportability and quality of outcome were the two dominating reasons for the purchase and both achieved for an amateur photographer like me. Economic purchase for the range offered was also a consideration.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Versatile all-rounder

SEL24240 10 February 2019 by Kenny7357 (United Kingdom)

In today's cheap and easy travel get-a-ways and escapes, all is not really that cheap when it comes to baggage. I have been caught many times for extra payment, primarily as I travel with 12 -15kgs of camera gear,(includes underwater housings, strobes, etc.). This lens allows me to cut my weight without too much compromise on getting the quality shot. It is wide angle enough for landscapes and a great zoom range for getting in a bit closer or pulling the frame in. I'm not a pro, so I can't go into techie speak, but this is my main lens for land based pics. I have taken shots of a village near Exmoor from a hill 1200m from the church, to zoom in on camera screen and read the time on the clock. A great feature is the lens has a very positive wind in and out for zoom. I use a quick fire shoulder strap and despite the camera dangling, there is no lens creep.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony FE 24-240mm

SEL24240 08 February 2019 by JosV (United Kingdom)

Very useful walk-around lens, a bit heavy. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

24-240mm lens

SEL24240 27 January 2019 by philslizzy (United Kingdom)

Compact for what it does and quite heavy. I bought it to use as my 'standard' lens. But the AF is sooo slow. I've pretty much gone back to using a manual focus 28-200 for many things

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Exellent versatile lens

SEL24240 25 January 2019 by Paul7745678 (United Kingdom)

I bought the lens over a year ago and have been very pleased with the picture quality and sharpness. The wide zoom range means I don't need to carry a variety of lenses around. The steady shot works well. I have just changed to a A7M3 from a A7M2 and so far results have been just as good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fe24-240 - excellent travel lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom)

Purchased to compliment my Video equipment and pleasantly surprised at its versatility, edge to edge sharpness is great from f4 to f11 - that said in difficult low light it still gives usable results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good all round lens

SEL24240 15 January 2019 by Mauve (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and have used it in low (winter) light and bright sunlight, across the full zoom range and haven't found any problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Almost perfect

SEL24240 08 November 2018 by Jean Luc Oregon (USA)

I love the versatility of this lens and the image quality. I wish it was lighter weight but I can live with that. However I am disappointed in focus speed as it has a hard time keeping up with my a6000’s ability. I have three other lenses which are very rapid focus which I use when I need fast focus speed. A little disappointing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Many features but unfriendly manual

SEL24240 03 October 2018 by Manny c (USA)

After one month I am learning the many features of this camera and lens combination but the instruction manual is hard to follow and using the camera built guide is very unfriendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great All Round Lens

SEL24240 20 September 2018 by msp0924 (United Kingdom)

This was the first lens I've ever bought. I bought it for my Sony a7rIII camera. I've only used on one road trip in the US. I had a lot of fun using it. Very comfortable and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Everything I wanted and more...

SEL24240 25 August 2018 by Longbowman (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a good quality lens better that the 24-70mm f4 that I bought with the camera. This is that lens. Better reach and image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

One lens for all type of photography.

SEL24240 01 August 2018 by Ajay P (USA)

I bought this lens, 20 days back, just before going on vacation and used it on my Sony A7iii. +Ve: Excellent performance. Amazing focus tracking. Very sharp, Vibrating colour reproduction. -Ve: Very heavy to carry. Little soft at 240mm Lens jets out at longer range- so difficult to rotate polarized filters if one is using

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Much heavier then expected!

SEL24240 08 July 2018 by Sam552 (USA)

Lens is awesome. Too heavy. Wish it did not wiegh so much. Hard to change big lens on small a6500 body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

10x Zoom

SEL24240 23 June 2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

Great quality lens for a 10x zoom. I bought to use on holiday and as a walk around lens on my Sony a7mk2 and possibly my a6300. It's a surprisingly large lens and heavier than expected but I'm pleased with the AF speed and sharpness. It's the best 10x ish zoom I've used. On the a7mk2 it's reasonably well balanced. On the a6300 acceptable. APSC focal range is 36-360mm so pretty good for wildlife and nature. Great addition to my e mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super functional

SEL24240 11 June 2018 by mikeygrn (USA)

I recently switched from Nikon D700 to a Sony A7II. Over the years I had acquired a lot of lenses for my Nikon. Starting over was rough but I am so happy I did. I know I will invest in some quality primes over the next few years but because of my previous experience I knew that starting with a long range telephoto zoom was a no brainer. It’s the type of lens that was kept on my Nikon 80% of the time. Dxomark has the 24-240 ranked last for all of the tested Sony full frame lenses. I have never been a pixel peeper. I am an avid hobbyist and I primarily shoot my family, vacations and the awesome activities we get to do living in Alaska. Whatever technical quality and sharpness you sacrifice with a long range zoom is easily outweighed by the convenience of having one lens that can do it all. Another feature that I appreciate is that the barrel extends ever so slightly (maybe 2-3mm) as you widen out fully to 24mm. This prevents the possibility of lens creep without the need for a locking switch. The A7 series of cameras are amazing and the photos that I get out of Lightroom definitely exceed all of my needs for quality. I have yet to take a picture and think to myself, I wish the corners were a little sharper. By winter I will pick up an ultra wide prime because the only photos that I take where I value that corner to corner sharpness are of the night sky and the aurora. For the first lens after the kit however, unless you have a primary type of photography that you shoot an overwhelming majority of the time, it only makes sense to start with a decent quality lens that can do it all. I can’t imagine any photographer not having use for a lens like this in their collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Takes great pictures

SEL24240 01 June 2018 by Millerhill (United Kingdom)

One of the best zoom lenses I've bought. Takes great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

A great fit for my sony alpha

SEL24240 15 May 2018 by vwbeetle (United Kingdom)

I needed this lens for my new sony frameless camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

6