68

4.5 based on 68 customer reviews

52
8
3
2
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

5

69 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing quality for price

SEL200600G 26 October 2020 by b12vjn86 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as part of my move over to Sony from Nikon and I’m blown away by the build quality and image sharpness of a mid priced zoom lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great overall performer

SEL200600G 25 October 2020 by Brian 66 (United Kingdom)

Bought for motorsport and wildlife. Happy so far with the bird photography but no motorsport yet due to Covid rules. Unfortunately the 1.4x TC won't fully function with my 7Riii. Hoping SONY do a firmware update to rectify the issue. Works well with the 7iii and results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wow!!!

SEL200600G 23 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I've only had chance to use this lens once since purchase, but I was absolutely blown away with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

beautiful lens

SEL200600G 22 October 2020 by Big Kahuna (USA)

This lens has everything I want in a 200-600 zoom lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal in every way

SEL200600G 11 October 2020 by Minister of the Bay (United Kingdom)

Bought this primarily for landscape photography with an occasional bit of wildlife. First of all - It is supremely sharp. Secondly - it renders a nice bokeh for bird photography. Thirdly - it handles nicely. There is nothing not to like about this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

SEL200600G 04 October 2020 by Pyke (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and so happy with this. At least it is a Sony product and get excellent result from photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality telephoto zoom

SEL200600G 01 October 2020 by Idonothaveanickname207 (United Kingdom)

Excellent sharpness allied to quick and accurate autofocus. A perfect match with the A9 for action and wildlife. Combination of lens and body IS allows for good hand held shooting experience. Internal zooming a pleasure to use. Lens hood "lock on" could be a little more positive and secure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super light lens

SEL200600G 28 September 2020 by 37sqd (United Kingdom)

Awesome lens fantastically sharp using this on my Sony Fx9 camcorder for my wildlife films perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An excellent super telephoto lens

SEL200600G 23 September 2020 by BruceNE (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens mainly for photograhing wildlife. As yet, I've not had an opportunity to test it thoroughly. But I was delighted with its performance recently at Washington Wetland Centre, taking handhold pictures of waders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great zoom lens

SEL200600G 21 August 2020 by deevee312 (USA)

Pluses: Small, light, affordable Internal zooming solid build Sharp optics Fast zooming IQ still good with 1.4TC Minuses: No Arca on tripod mount Heavy hood causing front lens element to detach Could be sharper AFC slower than 100-400mm and primes Bokeh so so too dim is used with 2X TC Not sure of differences with OIS modes

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens but:-

SEL200600G 09 August 2020 by Swanie (United Kingdom)

Purchased about 6 weeks ago heavier than anticipated quick n sharp My main issue is the location of focus lock buttons they are positioned exactly wear hand goes for hand holding not great kept accidentally pressing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

200mm to 1800mm WOW!!!

SEL200600G 16 July 2020 by Echo Aux (USA)

I bought this because the 150-600 (to 1800) was not giving proper lens or mm info with teleconverters. The other lens was sharp and auto focus was good. after watching many reviews I chose the SEL200600 over the SEL100400 mainly for its internal zoom that limits dust into the lens but also I like critter, birds and some moon photography. I have the SEL24240 (360mm APS-C) and it is super sharp with a lot of reach but there are times you need 600mm or even 1200mm and then there is that 1800 (2x plus APS-C) that when you are 200 yards away and up high but want that closeup of a White Pelican in flight or Great White Egret in mating plumage that or a Buck in velvet in the morning fog is where 1800mm comes in. And you want the correct shot info in Metadata and that is where this lens combo with 1.4X and 2X teleconverters shine. For the good stuff is the AF and IS...On July 3rd night the Buck Moon was out so I put the lens on my A7iii just regular single shot settings... it lock on AF and IS kept it solid "HandHeld" then pressed the APS-C button and again another clear clear capture at 900mm. The next night the 4th it was out and this time with 2X, a clear 1200mm then APS-C a clear sharp 1800 "Handheld" and I am almost 70 to me that is impossible and that was my first use, WORTH EVERY PENNY to me!!! Look I have been using Sony since Sept. 2014 and the one most important selling point is value per $. Sony knows it is not the pros that keep them afloat and climbing but the guy saving pennies, nickels, and dimes for a dream of good gear that will last and will break that bank open when he has it. Every camera (A7S,A7Rii,A7ii) and from my first lens E 1018 (APS-C) used on the A7S in full frame @ 12mm for Astro Milky Way had pinpoint stars and no distortion with IS/AF and screw on filters $700 now $900+ (everyone FF or APS-C wants or has) 5 years and going strong and value +++. I still have my Canon Ftb from the film days and use FD 20mm f/2 and 24mm f/1.4 on my Sony as well as 35/50/80/etc, Sony made sure there were adapters for other gear when they started to bring other over. That is how Sony Thinks, way way out there. You will pass this lens down to someone and they will also. As soon as I took those first shots I ordered a Lenscoat for it with everything else and is like a bug in a rug. The last shot is with the E 1018 @ 12mm full frame talk about great lenses and cameras bought in 2015 still strong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Precise focussing, excellent images

SEL200600G 14 July 2020 by PMCD3 (United Kingdom)

Have had for only a week but absolutely love my new lens, super quiet and quick to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great value for the money...

SEL200600G 12 July 2020 by hoasjoe (USA)

A great value compared to the next closest 100-400 lens. The images came out sharp all the way up to 600mm. With a tripod bracket on the lens, it's easy to align the horizon and switch between horizontal & vertical for landscape shots. The auto focus tend to be slow and sometimes unreliable for a lens this size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a Fantastic Lens !!!

SEL200600G 05 July 2020 by S2020L (USA)

I first rented this lens for a weekend. When I returned it I wanted to have a little fun so I told the guy I didn't get one good picture. He was quite surprised and said "really ??? " Then I told him I actually got a couple thousand GREAT pictures :) So I then returned the rented lens & walked out with a new one. Getting this photo of the moon was what made me decide to buy this lens And here is a cropped in pic of the head of a Sandhill Crane

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Love it but!

SEL200600G 03 July 2020 by SteveIOM (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the lens which I twinned with a new A7iii. Photos sharp, verry happy. Others have seen it and also considering change to Sony. Only disappointment is the fit of the lens hood. It keeps falling off. Have resorted to carrying gaffer tape to secure. Hence only four stars. It would also help to include more detailed instructions to include birds in flight tips etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Image quality is outstanding!

SEL200600G 01 July 2020 by gabrady46 (USA)

I am using this lens on the A6300. I don't know why I waited so long to buy it. I was content with my Sony 70-300 but just couldn't fill the frame with my subject sometimes. The 200-600 FILLS the frame. I have used it exclusively handheld and couldn't be happier with the results. Make no mistake this is a 600mm lens and feels every one of its four pounds. But after several days of practice I feel comfortable with it. Two important points: learn to use the zone focus for birds in flight and flexible spot small for stationary animals. Even with the lowly a6300 this lens just plain works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

N.A

SEL200600G 30 June 2020 by DRHA (United Kingdom)

Bought last week, have not had time to try in the field but seems to be good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Magnificent lens

SEL200600G 14 June 2020 by Stac (United Kingdom)

This lens is a masterpiece, such a sharp lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SEL200600G 12 June 2020 by Dave2020 (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent lens and I found that after an hour or two practising I was taking really good images with it. I enjoy wildlife photography and this lens will help me do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I need for wildlife photography

SEL200600G 10 June 2020 by Philbute (United Kingdom)

Still getting used to it, so far I'm delighted. It pairs superbly with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meets my expectations

SEL200600G 09 June 2020 by Rob 38 (United Kingdom)

Only limited use in my garden because of lockdown but satisfied with pictures taken

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding lens!

SEL200600G 04 June 2020 by JRIDLEY1 (USA)

Picked this lens up in March 2020. I traded in my Nikon gear. And now have a Sony A9II.This lens is fantastic super sharp focus very fast. I just love it. Just as sharp or sharper then my Nikon 500mmf4.So far it has been a joy to use. also Sony support freaking blows Nikon away. Great lens for birds in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0