52

4.5 based on 52 customer reviews

40
5
2
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pricey but a keeper

SEL1670Z 13 June 2014 by RalphNY (USA)

I've been waiting for a better quality daily lens for my NEX 7 to replace my kit and this one pretty much it. The lens is solidly built, light and good looking. Performance wise, very clear , fast and performs well on low lights. I was little bit hesitant because of the price but got it anyway. I brought it on my travel to Europe and so far have been satisfied with the results. My NEX 7 now has a perfect partner. I also have 35mm F1.8 Prime lens in addition to the standard kit.

40

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

52 Customer Reviews

0

Opinions Vary

SEL1670Z 25 September 2020 by JulesLondon (United Kingdom)

Purchased a month ago. Lens is ok nothing special. Quite a expensive for what you get.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Excellent Product

SEL1670Z 23 September 2020 by Wifey1 (United Kingdom)

Lived up to the great expectations promised by previous reviewers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it for street photography and as general lens

SEL1670Z 19 September 2020 by Nicky Alkalay (United Kingdom)

Love it for street photography and as general lens

1

0

0

Mostly Plastic not metal - Not moisture Resistant

SEL1670Z 22 March 2020 by MOV_maker (USA)

Liked size and range of focal length. Must be very careful using in high Humidity and dusty environments. Very expensive - paying for ZEISS design...Must use Capture One Software to get full photo clarity and color repro. Needed a macro capability like Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS Lens. Wish I would have bought this lens for my APS-C camera.. More Bang for Buck with a much sharper lens....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL1670Z 03 February 2020 by Bob2Sheds (United Kingdom)

Bought this to upgrade on my current lenses. Although I have not used it that much since purchase, the limited amount of pics I have taken have been fantastic - I am still getting used to the lens, but feel confident in saying for an amateur like myself it has increased my pic taking capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

SEL1670Z 13 January 2020 by 368Ton (USA)

I bought this lens according to the reviews I've read on the internet. Although those reviews aren't excellent, they are generally above average. I thought it's worth a try. The lens is well constrected. Unfortunately, the good part of the lens stops there. To my disappointment, the quality of the pictures I get from this lens is less then average. The colors are very washed out. I use this lens with the A6300 that's been converted to infrared. The hot spot is very strong. The focus is good, though not excellent, in the center area, but very poor at the corner where the fringing and distortion is very strong. All and all, I am very disappointed. I can't recommend this lens to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Perfect walk around lens!

SEL1670Z 07 January 2020 by matharvey23 (United Kingdom)

This product gives great functionality for an everyday walk around lens! This is the only lens I own and I am not looking to purchase another lens any time soon! The focal range gives you a lot of options for different styles of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Precisely right

SEL1670Z 12 December 2019  (United Kingdom)

Feels good to use Excellent results so far, obviously extended use will be needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Produces wonderfully natural looking images

SEL1670Z 07 September 2019 by Buddhamakessense (United Kingdom)

This lens isn't known for its sharpness, and often gets bad reviews by those who are slaves to fashion and tests that have no real world relevance. It's not soft; it's just not razor sharp. People focus on razor sharpness because it's unnatural...we don't notice such details with our own eyes, day to day, and so it gives us a sense of the exotic. But if you're focusing on skin pores, you're not really looking at the picture are you? Pictures from this lens draw your eye to the subject instead, and the luxury of light and colour surrounding it. The micro-contrast and smooth colour gradients give a wonderful sense of depth. Its representation of light and colour is natural in a way that other zoom lenses for APS-C E-Mount can't match, and can render a scene more real than razor sharpness ever will.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Absolutely delighted

SEL1670Z 04 March 2019 by Rae58 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens over a month ago to replace the kit lens supplied with my Sony a6300. Am absolutely thrilled with it as photos are much sharper and the zoom gives me greater versatility for taking pictures. It was very expensive but I can't see any need for another lens in the 16-70mm range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Average performance high price

SEL1670Z 10 November 2018 by David_newcastle (United Kingdom)

Starting with positives, build quality is superb, the look and feel of using this lens is fantastic. The zeiss colour is great too. However the optics on this are very poor. Edge sharpness is very bad wide open and barely passable stopped down. It is actually outperformed by the kit lens in a number of situations. For the price this is a very disappointing lens which I don’t expect to be keeping for long

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Like the versatility, had a warranty issue however

SEL1670Z 15 August 2018 by Txrtrider (USA)

Bought this a few months ago. Forgot to register it. Really like the versatility, but had noticed that the zoom ring stuck, between 50-70mm. Thought it might loosen up after a while. Ended up sending in for repair. They replaced the Optical Block Assembly, whatever that is. Great all around tense!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp lens

SEL1670Z 31 July 2018 by Naj09 (United Kingdom)

Bought yesterday to complement A6300 Camera and my Hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Small size and quality pictures

SEL1670Z 02 July 2018 by Maurice 45 (United Kingdom)

Had the lens only a few weeks but I would recommend it, quality is very good, small in size and picture quality excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp Images

SEL1670Z 27 June 2018 by JakBux (United Kingdom)

Great lens to travel around with on the sony a6000 compact and sharp across the board

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My Zoom... oooOO

SEL1670Z 19 May 2018 by Naboo (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago along with an A6500 cameea. So far very impressed. Only criticism so far is the lack if a lock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review for Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm F4 ZA OSS

SEL1670Z 24 March 2018 by Rochebois (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens three months ago.It has performed superbly well.The only draw back is an absence of a macro setting.This is an odd omission on a £700+ lens, this is the only reason why i am not awarding it 5 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disapointed with this lens

SEL1670Z 15 March 2018 by WB_stl (USA)

This lens has two things going for it: it covers a useful range and it is compact and light weight. Unfortunately the copy of the lens I have does not produce sharp images. I have other Sony/Zeiss lenses which are outstanding in image quality, but not this one. Given it's price and Zeiss badge, I would not recommend it. I can not in good faith sale this lens to someone else and it will be awhile before I can command the resources to replace it - but it will be replaced.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

5

0

Very versatile lens

SEL1670Z 15 February 2018 by Alan 79 (USA)

I bought this lens to pair with a Sony a6500 for travel. I wanted something with quality glass that covered wide angle to short telephoto and this lens covers it perfectly. I am getting beautiful results through out the zoom and aperture range. I have been using it for about a month now and could not be happier with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great universal lens

SEL1670Z 27 January 2018 by billhg (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera & lens for about 2 weeks, but I am just learning to use it, however this lens has a great zoom range, perfect for keeping on the camera as a standard lens. The fact it is f4 through its zoom length means it is ideal for low light photography. It is pin sharp right to the edge& the telephoto end is great for distance shots & even half way is perfect for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great lens, not in size, but in every other way.

SEL1670Z 14 December 2017 by Paolo the Snapper (United Kingdom)

My taste in photography is wide and after ditching my life-long camera manufacturer in favour of Sony, I needed a lens for my new a6500 which would give me options for Landscape, Street, and above all, Portrait photography. One of my big asks was for a lens which isn’t too big as on holiday I want to carry it around all day in a coat pocket or small bag. I also needed a lens which can focus quickly and accurately in order to take great pictures of my grandchildren, particularly as my current compact camera (not Sony) fails miserably as it is so slow - by the time I have pressed the shutter the children are out the door! I've only had the a6500 and this lens for less than a couple of weeks but I've already taken hundreds of pictures, all so far indoors and mainly of the grandchildren. The results are extremely pleasing. The lens copes with multiple shots well, and the images are very sharp. Only yesterday I was reviewing some shots and was amazed as to how much I can crop without any degradation of image quality. The 16-70mm zoom range is very good too and is just about right for my needs as it goes from a 35mm full frame equivalent of 24mm at the wide end to a portrait pleasing 105mm at the other. Finally, colour rendition is very good and my pictures look very pleasing. Although it isn’t a cheap lens, I chose to buy it in favour of the kit lens often sold with the a6500. I am very pleased I did and I know that moving to Sony has been a good decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A quality product

SEL1670Z 28 November 2017 by mamba20 (United Kingdom)

Not had it long, but the balance and feel on my A6000 is great and the telephoto action is very smooth and quiet. Results to date just what I expected. Look forward to putting t through its paces

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mixed results

SEL1670Z 27 August 2017 by Micha2 (United Kingdom)

This is an expensive lens with many pretensions. It doesn't live up to them. There are mechanical problems in that the zoom ring is sticky in use but still slides out when carrying the camera. The stated zoom range is 16 to 70 mm but it isn't possible to use the 16 mm setting due to poor edge definition. This puts the range at 24 - 70 mm. This edge definition situation is not what would be expected from Carl Zeiss and puts the lens on a par with cheaper alternatives. I have now used it for around 1500 - 2000 images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

4

0

Light and easy to use

SEL1670Z 23 July 2017 by Nonick (United Kingdom)

Bought from the Sony Centre in Carlisle where I received excellent customer service and advice on the use of this lens. I have now had the lens for three weeks and I am very pleased with the sharpness of the photographs and the fast focusing of the lens. Although it is not a macro lens it does produce excellent close up pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2