163

4.3 based on 163 customer reviews

101
32
15
3
12
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works well after software update.

BDPS5500 08 August 2015 by Pickyuser (USA)

The product works very well but only after updating the software online. It would be good to sell the product with current software or have the startup do the upgrade automatically. This all requires access to the internet.

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

I like the Blu-ray player

BDPS5500 26 July 2015 by Redhead61 (USA)

I would recommend the Blu-ray player, but would warn my friends that they have to buy all the cables and internet connections separately. There was nothing on the packaging that stated these items were separate.

3

0

163 Customer Reviews

0

Worst piece of electronics I've ever seen

BDP-S5500 17 October 2018 by NoLongerCustomer (USA)

Reboots itself while using apps (e.g., Netflix) and DVD player often. Fails to read discs intermittently... both while playing and sometimes refusing to acknowledge that there is a disk in it at all. Now it won't power on at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Just plain lousy

BDP-S5500 26 April 2018 by Littlerob (USA)

Pros: cheap price, plays hd audio and mkv video files through USB port Cons: streaming content stutters and just freezes, very few of the apps are worth watching. Even when wired to my router d/l speeds only reach 25 Mps, while my PS3, smart tv, and Apple TV reach speeds of up to 75 Mps. Every time it starts it reports a network error - even though there is none. I must have got a lemon because the reviews of this product seem very positive. In the review fields you are asked if you would recommend Sony to a friend - yes I would recommend decent Sony products to a friend, just not this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

youtube gone?

BDP-S5500 31 March 2018  (USA)

have this machine in my business for playing youtube videos from. 3 days ago the youtube app started only showing an “400: client error” or something similar. im updated to the current firmware. is my machine broken or did you just drop youtube support without telling your customers?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Simply superb!

BDP-S5500 15 March 2018 by BeeP (Australia)

Not surprising (as I have a number of Sony products), this BDPS5500 compact unit is so easy to use and amazingly reasonably priced! I’m impressed, love it.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Streaming apps constantly freeze

BDP-S5500 30 January 2018 by NotHappy2018 (USA)

Blu ray player is barely over a year old and of course out of warranty. Netflix constantly freezes and requires unit to be unplugged from power to unfreeze. The unit has up to date firmware. I've tried the factory reset and still does same thing. Bottom line is these are junk! Mine is going in the trash.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great Device,Not support subtitle cp1252 (persian)

BDPS5500 28 January 2018 by Ham Al (USA)

It's Great compact product for home entertainment, but I don't know why on earth it doesn't support persian subtitle file (cp1252) I'm learning persian thus I need to watch movies with persian subtitle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Simple and Compact but full of abilities

BDP-S5500 03 January 2018 by Shelzybelzy77 (Australia)

We have been very happy with our Blu-Ray player. It has been simple to use and we were pleasantly surprised when we realised we could connect to the wi-fi and internet from the TV with it.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

3D Blu Ray S5500

BDP-S5500 08 December 2017  (USA)

good product / excellent picture quality and good design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Plex APP is very old

BDP-S5500 27 August 2017  (USA)

The Plex App is very old and does not show all the features from Plex, such as external streaming channels. It only shows local videos, photos and music. I've updated the unit several times, but there is not an update for this app.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Major malfunction

BDPS5500 02 July 2017 by Charles and Nanette (USA)

Only used occasionally,but unit stopped working when it was 10 months old.Very unusual for Sony product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Persistently crashes

BDP-S5500 22 June 2017 by Xphilemike (USA)

I do not know how Sony could get away with making a product like this. Though the Blu-ray player part of it has no problems the apps are constantly crashing. I don't think that I go more than two uses without some kind of crash that I have to unplug it and plug it back in. When I use the Netflix app I get regular freezes. And it's not because it's buffering. It just freezes. The Amazon app is always buggy! I just tried to crackle app and it doesn't work either

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Performs very well

BDPS5500 01 April 2017 by Grampe1 (USA)

I purchased this DVD player 6 months ago and am just getting it installed in my new remodel. It performs up to expectations and I'm very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Disappointed!!

BDPS5500 08 January 2017 by Steve1229 (USA)

I bought this thinking SONY would have great products for streaming becuase of PlayStation technology. The streaming quality has always been slow and frustrating with the buffering wheel of death stuck at 25% until i restart. I use my Roku stick that has no problem. When i tried to watch DVDs it doesn't recognize or claims the DVD is faulty when all DVDs can be read in any other player i have. This is waste of money.

5

3

0

Great Easy to set up

BDPS5500 04 November 2016 by busterb (USA)

I just receined my new 3D Blu-Ray player. Setup took a few minutes. Had to go online to get latest Firmware updates/

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Average from my experiences with BRP

BDPS5500 08 October 2016 by Calhounas (USA)

When I first purchase it, I thought "Great a Sony product, I shouldn't have to replace this anytime soon!" Well although the BRP works well and picture quality is excellent, my issues seem to be with the Apps. I bought this for my bedroom, after two Toshiba's crashed in two years. I have a PS3 & Sony 5.1 SS and have never had a problem. But this unit just keeps locking up on Netflix, YouTube, Pandora, Web browser. I think its a memory problem. I either have to reset the entire unit (3 times in less than a year) or go through all of my apps and erase history. That doesn't work quite as well, but it is easier than having to input all the information again. I came on this site today to get support to remove the apps I never use and prevent it from adding new ones on updates. Wish me luck!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

A space saving device.

BDP-S5500 05 October 2016 by Swerve46 (United Kingdom)

Can't believe the picture is sharp and clear for a small compact device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Sony DVD player

BDP-S5500 27 September 2016 by Tiggs (United Kingdom)

Set was easy, used it for the first time yesterday, sound was poor, but that could be that we needed to change the settings, very easy to use lovely slimline, looks good

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Blue Ray disc player

BDP-S5500 18 September 2016 by Seagull (United Kingdom)

The product produces good pictures and when controlled by the provided controller works well. I would like to put this on my home network and control the product from my iPhone using an app (as I do with my Sony TV). I would like a Sony app for iPhone to control the unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great picture sound and features.

BDP-S5500 16 September 2016 by TonyS55 (United Kingdom)

Very good player ,great picture, coax sound out, good Wi Fi and small size.Very good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

BDP-S5500 07 September 2016 by Alchemist (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up. Super quality picture on both blue ray and DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing quality and features!

BDP-S5500 07 September 2016 by Dj liquid (United Kingdom)

I bought this bluray player for my girlfriend, she couldn't be happier with the fact that she can control youtube and nextflix from her iphone. Awesome bluray quality and quicker than most on loading times too.

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Excellent blu ray

BDP-S5500 18 August 2016 by Gav (United Kingdom)

I bought the sony 5500 over the 4500 as it was WiFi, the problem is the WiFi is a pain to setup, apart from this the 5500 is a excellent blu ray and the 3d is really good, it starts up very fast and is really quite, I would highly recommend this player

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Fantastic player

BDP-S5500 18 August 2016 by Tony (United Kingdom)

Really good and fast to load up

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Sony DVD player

BDP-S5500 18 August 2016 by simi (United Kingdom)

Does everything you want including pause, and it will resume were you left off even when it has been switched off good product

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0