BLU-RAY DISC™ PLAYER

Product Reviews

$139.95

(NZD inc. GST)
342

4.5 based on 342 customer reviews

227
79
15
6
15
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works great

BDPS1500 13 August 2015 by Murquhart (USA)

Plays blue ray and DVDs well. Remote is easy to lose but works well. It's a good Netflix and Hulu player as well. It would be great if there were more apps. Hoping for HBO Now.

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow. Too few apps. Can't skip publicty on discs.

BDP-S1500 13 August 2017 by Urubu (USA)

I really wanted this system because it looks great and it's super compact. However, I had to return the unit. I am super disapointed by the lack of apps, and by the overall sluggish response when navigating menus. I bought this unit to replace an AppleTV and get out of that ecosystem, but the difference in responsiveness is huge. Also, not Vevo, no Ted TV. I guess they compete with Sony's own services, so that's a big nono. But the worst is the DVD: when you load a disk, you have to watch the commercial. Every time. Can't skip them: "operation not allowed". Sony, I bought the disc player, and I bought the DVD disk: why do you force me to watch the advertisement? Is this my disc player or yours? I guess it's yours, so I am returning it. Forcing us to watch your pub is treating us like stupid people.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

342 Customer Reviews

0

Horrible software updates

BDPS1500 21 July 2018 by Sparkie791 (USA)

I've had this model for a few years now. when it works it's fine. but every time there's a software update I have to log back into all my streaming services... which would be fine if say that happened a couple time a year... but I've had 3 updates this week alone. and no warning... I sit down to watch something on Netflix or VUDU and before I can even select an app that darn screen comes up telling me to accept an update. Then it either goes thru the update and I have to log back in to all my apps or it just freezes and I have to unplug for 10 minutes and hope that it's unfrozen when it boots up. not always the case. this is my 2nd Sony Blue Ray. I've never had an issue with my Samsung... I don't think I'll be getting Sony anymore.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Software Update

BDP-S1500 28 June 2018 by Embea44 (USA)

This player worked find until it needed a system update. Can't update via USB or internet. No help from Sony Contact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not wronging not plug and play

BDPS1500 01 June 2018 by kmbjoh (USA)

It no Sorry to the point. Nothing more to sad . The one I have now the same problem

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features and performance

BDPS1500 22 May 2018 by Tostin (USA)

I have bought my BDP S1500 over three months ago and never disappointed me.I'm proud of it,and Sony electronics product has always been my best choice of electronics. Weldone and thanks to Sony Cooperation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lasted as long as the warranty

BDPS1500 18 March 2018 by Doc1310 (USA)

A month after the warranty ran out, so did the DVD player. I had to take it apart to get the dvd out. However, up to that point it ran well all the time. I like that it carried the apps that I use the most like YouTube and Netflix. Since it ran well and the price was right, I bought a new one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not happy right now

BDP-S1500 10 March 2018 by Myia1 (USA)

Hello I have 2 of these blu-ray dvd players and they have been great and very well taken care of. But all of the sudden one started to mess up and then 2 weeks later the other one started messing up also. Another huge problem for me is that I have different internet/cable now and there is no router or anything else to hook up the Ethernet cord to in either of the rooms that the boxes are in so now there is no way to stream on the dvd players. These were for my 2 daughters in there rooms and now they can't watch movies or steam anything from Netflix and I am extremely upset about this and can not afford to buy new ones because they are messing up let alone afford to buy new ones with built in wifi that cost more. I love Sony but this is horrible.

0

0

0

Horrible

BDP-S1500 10 March 2018 by angrycustomer2 (USA)

I bought this less than six months ago. Last night it was working fine, now it’s frozen and I cant get the Redbox dvd out of it. I’ve tried everything to try to reset it and nothing. We have many Sony products and they’re usually fine and last for years. Unfortunately not the case with this one.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Lousy

BDP-S1500 20 November 2017 by Mama is mad (USA)

This thing works well for awhile and then just freezes up. Sometimes it takes an eternity for it to respond to commands from the remote (no, it's not the batteries). Sometimes it freezes for so long that I have to turn it off at the power strip and restart it. I use to be a Sony fan. Not so much anymore! I am very disappointed in Sony!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Became a piece of junk after forced upgrade

BDP-S1500 31 October 2017 by Bruce unhappy (USA)

Worked until I was forced to perform a software upgrade. Since then it does not work most of the time. Information from Sony did not resolve the problems.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

short life

BDPS1500 14 September 2017 by LO1AB (USA)

Yes, it's been over a year since I bought it but it hasn't had many miles put on it. Now it has problems and won't play right.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says on the can

BDP-S1500 19 August 2017 by PPLb (United Kingdom)

High quality HD from DVDs. Have found extremely good in upgrading my home DVDs that were copied from 20yr old VHS tapes from an old analogue camera to end up almost like true HD. Have not tried the BlueRay yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow. Too few apps. Can't skip publicty on discs.

BDP-S1500 13 August 2017 by Urubu (USA)

I really wanted this system because it looks great and it's super compact. However, I had to return the unit. I am super disapointed by the lack of apps, and by the overall sluggish response when navigating menus. I bought this unit to replace an AppleTV and get out of that ecosystem, but the difference in responsiveness is huge. Also, not Vevo, no Ted TV. I guess they compete with Sony's own services, so that's a big nono. But the worst is the DVD: when you load a disk, you have to watch the commercial. Every time. Can't skip them: "operation not allowed". Sony, I bought the disc player, and I bought the DVD disk: why do you force me to watch the advertisement? Is this my disc player or yours? I guess it's yours, so I am returning it. Forcing us to watch your pub is treating us like stupid people.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great value for money

BDP-S1500 13 June 2017 by Dazjez76 (United Kingdom)

The only down side to this product not enough apps other than that absolutely brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and great

BDP-S1500 08 March 2017 by jmw140 (United Kingdom)

I love this. I am a bit late to Blu Ray but this replacement for my Panasonic DVD player really hits the spot. I am impressed with ability to access the internet and various apps, still discovering the apps that I can get. Love it that I can get You tube on my Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Doesn't play half my bluerays

BDP-S1500 10 February 2017 by Jennifer (United Kingdom)

Only seems to play DVD not bluerays

Taken from argos.co.uk

0

0

0

Great

BDPS1500 29 January 2017 by Peter1971 (USA)

I bought this 2 years ago and love it. The quality is second to none

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good product.

BDPS1500 28 January 2017 by MARYKAY77 (USA)

I bought this three months ago and it has worked great so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy! Happy! Joy! Joy!

BDP-S1500 19 January 2017 by Martyn (Australia)

I've finally upgraded our old DVD player and got a Sony 1500S. just need to report that It's a beaut little unit and is so easy to set up and use.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Compact

BDPS1500 11 January 2017 by Art3 (USA)

Ease of installation and love the size. Fits well into my small place.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does exactly waht it says it will

BDP-S1500 17 December 2016 by Viridian (United Kingdom)

Only minor problem is the remote which is poorly designed and non-intuitive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to install

BDPS1500 29 November 2016  (USA)

bought a couple of days ago and it works great with all the other wireless items I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

BDP-S1500 02 October 2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought it to replace my game console for the time being and I'm loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

BDP-S1500 01 October 2016 by Kcoco (United Kingdom)

Simple to use and excellent quality ! My old one became faulty so thought I would buy this. Sony is always the best for quality and I wold highly recommend this.

Taken from tesco.com

0

0

0

Solid performer

BDP-S1500 22 September 2016 by Gilh (United Kingdom)

Although one of the lower end Sony Blu-ray players, it's a reliable performer with no weaknesses and gives a great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0