404

4.1 based on 404 customer reviews

237
77
29
29
32
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing sound for music aswell

STR-DN1080 27 November 2020 by monitorshelf (United Kingdom)

I have had this receiver 11 months. I have Q Acoustic 3050 floor standing speakers and 3010 centre speaker. After auto calibration, please do a manual calibration and enter the values exactly with the calibration type set to "flat" The bass is deep and solid with clear vocals and high tones. You don't need a subwoofer has this receiver drives bass easy. High praise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Known Software Defect - Buyer Beware

STRDN1080 27 May 2021 by Robert Oakley (USA)

I purchased this receiver Dec 2021 to use with my XBR-55A9G and DefTec surround speakers. Basically a killer set up, that has turned into a nightmare. There is a known defect that causes the audio to momentarily cutout and cause a pronounced (and somewhat startling) crack/pop when streaming UHD Atmos content via the TV. It happens randomly but generally every 10-20 minutes. And as you might expect, extraordinarily frustrating and disruptive to the movie experience. I’ve done everything under the sun to try and resolve and finally sent in for warranty repair. Guess what, it’s a known issue and Sony has no timeline for resolution! Yea you read that right, they are actively selling these units with 100% knowledge that the software is defective. The last firmware update was October 2020 so there has been a huge amount of time to remediate the issue and ship a patch or update to the firmware, but still hasn’t been done. So now I’m stuck with a receiver that is defective, out the time and money to ship it in for repair and to add insult, the receiver was damaged at the repair facility. I’m assured the tech was able to “bend it back” though. Good grief! For what it’s worth I actually believe this issue is presenting itself in the aforementioned TV as well but at this point I’m exhausted with dealing with this absolute nonsense. Steer clear fiends this potentially great receiver is defective at the core - its firmware. Such a bummer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

404 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent

STR-DN1080 08 July 2022 by Rick1987 (United Kingdom)

This is a great receiver and does everything I want it to do. My only gripe is that there are no more updates planned to keep it performing better than ever. Keep the firmware updates coming Sony. This applies to my AG9 TV as well.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stuck in "UPDATING" mode

STRDN1080 26 April 2022 by BenC1234 (USA)

Please fix this. It was so expensive. It should not be bricked

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great 7.1 Receiver

STRDN1080 07 April 2022 by Kwc52 (USA)

Easy to setup great sound and price. Replaced my Onyko receiver and it was a good decision.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great receiver

STRDN1080 28 December 2021 by Kmayer (USA)

Bought this in 2018 to replace a 23 yo Denon receiver. This has two subwoofer outputs which I need and plenty of hdmi in/outs. Highy recommend, makes my 23 yo Definitive Technology speakers sing like new!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Daily aggravation

STRDN1080 23 December 2021 by BennyV (USA)

I know I’m writing this way too late, but I’ve had it with this thing. The AirPlay rarely works right. The Ethernet port (a feature I sought out) broke ages ago. The WiFi loses connectivity and needs the password re-entered which is a horrible experience with the terrible user interface. The ARC often goes to the wrong input and you have to direct it back to the right one multiple times. The sound randomly just quits working and you either have to unplug it, or play with speaker and sound settings until it starts working again. I paid a lot for this receiver and used to consider Sony a quality brand, but that has changed. When it’s working, the sound is fine, but clearly they have no clue how to design a UI, and the software is super buggy. I suppose I may have gotten a lemon, but there are just so many issues with this thing. I expect a $500 receiver to last for many years, not just a few. This thing annoys me every day. I think I’ve finally realized that I deserve better and I’m going to Office Space this thing and get one that works. It will NOT be a Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great amplifier

STR-DN1080 13 December 2021 by Gerrymcg (United Kingdom)

Great addition to my home cinema. Great reproduction of sound and picture.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound!

STRDN1080 24 September 2021 by Carls57 (USA)

This receiver has a very powerful and cristal clear sound. It's very user friendly to work with. I wish this receiver would have a good and true FM (coaxial)connector.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best in price

STR-DN1080 19 September 2021 by Elsie 1557 (United Kingdom)

Buy this and providing your speakers are up to scratch you won't go wrong. Superb!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not work with a Playstation 4.

STR-DN1080 12 September 2021 by Hoppy69 (Australia)

When the receiver was first purchased I was using a Playstation 4 for all of television streaming. Unfortunately the surround sound never worked correctly between these units. Many shows on many different streaming platforms would come through in high pitched stereo only. I tried for 3 months every different combination of setting on both the receiver and the Playstation, but never would it play correctly. Sony help were not able to fix the problem. I am unsure if the receiver requires atmos speakers to work correctly. Unfortunately I only have a standard 5.1 surround set up. In the end I purchased a new Apple TV set, and the receiver seems to be much happier. Very happy with the level of sound and the way it talks to the Apple TV and my older Panasonic 3D plasma TV via HDMI. Very convenient.

Taken from Sony.com.au

0

0

0

Wouldn’t buy again

STRDN1080 08 September 2021  (USA)

I brought this receiver 8 months ago and it had worked pretty good then one day it stop sending video to my TV. Sony wanted me to ship 30lbs receiver across the country for repair. And didn’t know how long it would’ve gone or even if they would repair it. I decided not take the chance. I just play my TV through my dish box.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Device is stuck in “clearing” mode loop

STRDN1080 30 August 2021 by smjt1980 (USA)

Bluetooth and HOME button became non functional. Read manual, cycled power and then held power button on for 5 seconds. Device goes into “clearing” mode and is in an infinite loop turning off and on and stuck in this mode rendering the device non functional

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Love it!

STRDN1080 19 July 2021 by Ksc8850 (USA)

I bought it a couple months ago to replace an unfriendly predecessor. It works great and answered all my needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony strdn 1080

STRDN1080 14 July 2021 by cape bretoner (USA)

great quality product..its everything i was looking for especially the dolby atmos.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent "apartment" home theater system

STRDN1080 26 June 2021 by Bob212 (USA)

This system provides excellent sound without disturbing my apartment neighbors.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Big Delay Issue - still unsure if TV or AMP

STR-DN1080 21 June 2021 by TheGC (United Kingdom)

Currently trying to resolve a delay issue (audio late) between my Sony TV and this Sony Amp. Sony support haven't had any luck yet. If it were to be solved, I would rate this a very good amp, however currently, Netflix, Disney and most other things are about 3-4 frames late. If its fixed, or the issue is with the TV, then good product. However, its awful with the delay. Beware! Will update review if resolved

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works where two other brands failed

STRDN1080 13 June 2021 by Davenlr (USA)

I wont mention the brands, but they are both well known, and refused to play any audio from my TV using ARC or eARC. They would switch to the input, but never play anything. Out of despiration, I bought this unit, figuring if it didnt work, at least I would have a Zone 2 for my bedroom. Plugged all the cables and speakers in, ran the setup, and turned on the TV and instantly got sound. Well done. Was so impressed, when the cheap TV started rebooting after a Roku update, I returned it and bought a Sony TV and 4K Bluray player too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features, easy set up!

STR-DN1080 08 June 2021 by Stan1449 (United Kingdom)

bought this recently to replace 1040. seems more dynamic sound and better clarity, only small hiccup! the resolution, input and clock banner kept appearing across top of screen, very annoying! was sorted out by richer sounds who advised me in was the tv not the amp, they showed me how to switch it off soon all good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb sound quality

STR-DN1080 30 May 2021 by Andrew 447 (United Kingdom)

I am delighted with my STR-DN1080 AV receiver because the improvement in sound quality over my previous system is amazing. Why? the room where the system is installed unfortunately suffers from annoying resonances and with the previous AV amplifier (STR-DH790) or with the TV's own speakers and even with the radio, the room acoustics caused resonances at the low end of the speech spectrum, producing an unpleasant "honking" tone on male and female voices and an uneven bass and vocals on music, varying with listener position. Nothing I could do could cure this, by changing the loudspeaker positions or recalibrating the amp. or adjusting the equaliser controls. However the STR-DN1080 has completely eliminated these effects, as if by magic. My guess is that it is a combination of the new and superior Auto Calibration (D.C.A.C. EX) the stereo calibration microphone, speaker relocation and the automatic phase matching (Calibration Matching). With the new STR-DN1080, speech and vocals are now perfectly reproduced and music has smooth extended bass without holes and peaks, wherever I am positioned in the room. FYI most of the other component of the new set up have been carried over from the old - Bowers & Wilkins M1 speakers for front L, R and centre, B&W ASW608 subwoofer, smaller Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS for surround and height speakers, Sony BDP-S580 for Blu Ray, DVD and CD, Sony KDL46HX903 TV, Virgin TiVo cable TV box (HDMI connected) and an unbranded Android TV media box with 2TB HDD connected to the higher quality SA-CD/CD HDMI input. The only difference is that the previous system used Surround Back speakers, which are now used for Height, while Phantom Surround Back has been selected during calibration. The media box is used for viewing stored home videos, photos and slideshows, extensive music collection (mp3 format) plus downloaded video and Internet radio (e.g. Jazz FM, BBC iPlayer). So altogether quite a high quality system, which all works simply and seamlessly with the STR-DN1080 due to the ARC/eARC, Bravia Sync and because the TiVo and media boxes have semi programmable remotes meaning that only one remote at a time is needed to control the TV, Amp, TiVo, media box or BD player, making for a simple to control "home friendly" system. I do not use any of the analogue inputs or outputs, but a stereo analogue output, mixed down from the 7.2 HDMI output would have been useful for connecting to my Sennheiser wireless (not Bluetooth) headphones. Because these are low latency wireless, I can use them at the same time that the speaker system is on, which I do sometimes (by direct connection to the source analogue outputs via a manual switch). The regular headphone socket turns off the speakers, as does the Bluetooth transmitter facility. I have tried the Bluetooth transmitter facility with cheap Bluetooth earbuds, but while OK for music, the delay (latency) is so high that it makes speech on video awkward to watch. I see that STR-DN1080 features a high quality, low latency Bluetooth feature - LDAC, but I notice that LDAC does not feature in the specifications for the well reviewed Sony Bluetooth WF-1000XM3 premium earbuds, but rather the industry standard aptX, which the STR-DN1080 does not, so I wonder what is going on here? I have not used the Bluetooth receiver function for casting etc. but I do like the Sony Music Center App which is a nice alternative way of controlling the receiver from my smartphone. The second HDMI output (B) is useful. I occasionally use it with an HDMI capture device to back up stuff recorded on the TiVo box, but in the future, will probably wire up an HDMI extension for a TV in another room so that we are able watch the same media that is playing on the main TV . It is rather complicated to set up the STR-DN1080 in this way and it is not really explained simply in the user guide: 1. On Handset HDMI Out select HDMI A+B (view Amp display) 2. From Home – Zone Controls, select HDMI Zone Power – On 3. From Home – Zone Controls, select HDMI input - Source 4. From Home – Settings – HDMI - HDMI B Mode, select Main 5. From HDMI Settings – select Audio Out – AMP + TV Phew! and note that when mains power is switched off, Audio Out reverts to AMP (only) and if not reset to AMP + TV there will be no audio from the second TV. Ever since I had my first home theatre system (Sony DAV DZ-280), I preferred to use Dolby Pro Logic (Movie or Music) 5.1 rather than stereo for listening to music, because Dolby produces a good sound stage, with precisely located vocalist or soloist (centre channel) even when listening way off the "sweet spot" position required for 2 speaker stereo. It also sounded good when previous room layouts prevented far from ideal location of the speakers (which auto calibration overcomes). When listening way off the "sweet spot" (i.e. much nearer to one of the speakers), ordinary stereo sounds as if most of the output (especially the vocalist) is coming from the nearest speaker and there is little or no effective sound stage. Now, the new "Dolby Surround" gives even better results, with clear location of the performers. I also like listening to music with "Multi Ch Stereo", which seems to give a softer but wider sound stage, with a centre channel, rather like the old Dolby Pro Logic Music. it would be good if the User Guide gave a better explanation of what it is. The receiver is located right next to my router (cable broadband) which means that the receiver and the Android media box can have a direct ethernet connection, which takes advantage of the very high speed available and provides for excellent buffering-free video and audio streaming. However the RF hash from the router completely drowns out the FM tuner signal for the receiver and its wire antenna. In my case this does not matter because I use Internet radio, which is better anyway, via the media box rather than FM, but I suspect many users would prefer a DAB+ tuner with a coax. connector for an external antenna. One slight disappointment is that the STR-DN1080's Internet Radio Service only provides Spotify Premium (in UK), so Hi-Res streaming services, such as Qobuz or Tidal cannot be played directly by the receiver. USB playback has always been useful on Sony equipment, but the ability to interface with higher capacity (e.g. 2TB) partitioned HDDs would be better. The Custom Presets are a very useful feature and have an excellent selection of controls. I have programmed some of them slightly differently and for different purposes than the Sony defaults. Therefore it would have been nice to be able to re-name them to suit. Also, the Remote only allows Custom Preset 1 (Movie) to be selected. Being able to select any of the four (e.g. by cycling through them like the sound field buttons) would be better, rather than having to go through the Home Menu to access the other three Presets. The Preset 1 button is still useful, since it is the most used Custom Preset. Summarising, all the slightly negative comments mentioned above are very minor (suggestions for future improvements?) compared to the superb sound quality, which has brought back my listening pleasure enormously. I would recommend the Sony STR-DN1080 to anyone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Known Software Defect - Buyer Beware

STRDN1080 27 May 2021 by Robert Oakley (USA)

I purchased this receiver Dec 2021 to use with my XBR-55A9G and DefTec surround speakers. Basically a killer set up, that has turned into a nightmare. There is a known defect that causes the audio to momentarily cutout and cause a pronounced (and somewhat startling) crack/pop when streaming UHD Atmos content via the TV. It happens randomly but generally every 10-20 minutes. And as you might expect, extraordinarily frustrating and disruptive to the movie experience. I’ve done everything under the sun to try and resolve and finally sent in for warranty repair. Guess what, it’s a known issue and Sony has no timeline for resolution! Yea you read that right, they are actively selling these units with 100% knowledge that the software is defective. The last firmware update was October 2020 so there has been a huge amount of time to remediate the issue and ship a patch or update to the firmware, but still hasn’t been done. So now I’m stuck with a receiver that is defective, out the time and money to ship it in for repair and to add insult, the receiver was damaged at the repair facility. I’m assured the tech was able to “bend it back” though. Good grief! For what it’s worth I actually believe this issue is presenting itself in the aforementioned TV as well but at this point I’m exhausted with dealing with this absolute nonsense. Steer clear fiends this potentially great receiver is defective at the core - its firmware. Such a bummer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great sound however features do perform correctly

STRDN1080 22 April 2021 by poor quality (USA)

I had a conversation with one of the engineering representatives and the response was not a favorable response. Basically the representative explained to me that the airplay operation does not function in the zone 2. I explained that this did not make much sense to me since the airplay pause, play and skip tracks all function in airplay in the main speakers and the zone2. The only thing that does not function is the volume control in zone 2. Main speakers perform correctly in all aspects. The volume can not be adjusted even with the remote in zone 2 once the volume is set in the zone control menu. I find it hard to believe that this is the normal function of this application. It defeats the whole purpose of zone 2 control option. I am very disappointed with this response and would like some clarity. I do not believe the representative had a clear understanding of the problem and was basically reading from a script.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Not the easiest...

STR-DN1080 19 April 2021 by greeelis (United Kingdom)

... and not the cheapest, either. No DAB radio or dedicated hifi add-on provision. It is primarily a visual media amplifier, not necessarily for cd or radio listening. Sound fields are not easy to find and the manual isn't much help.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sounds fab! and packed with features.

STR-DN1080 18 April 2021 by BigE01 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my Sony 1300es amp, and wasn't sure if I would hear a difference(mainly updating for 4K on the new LG 75inch (getting ready for Dune later in the year hopefully).Well you can really tell a difference in the surround sound/multi channel, on movies TV and music. I use it 7.1 with JBL Control 1's and a Tanoy Sub pleased so far.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love it.

STRDN1080 09 April 2021 by RobW0048 (USA)

I love all the features and ease of use. I just wish there was a way to adjust the volume of the speakers individually. Sometimes I like the sound to just come from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Home Menu is Annoying!

STRDN1080 07 April 2021 by Scorch (USA)

The sound on this unit is very good however, there is an annoying feature where the “Home” menu comes on every time the unit is turned on. It doesn’t simply default to the last input it was set to. I read about other buyers finding this to be a nuisance AFTER I bought the unit with Sony not proving a fix. If I had known this in advance I wouldn’t have purchased it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0