USB TURNTABLE

Product Reviews

50

4.2 based on 50 customer reviews

28
14
3
2
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wonderful Turntable

PSHX500 23 January 2017 by kylo69 (USA)

What I have found is that it's a great buy for the $$$. The trick to it sounding very good is to make sure you have your arm balanced correctly. Sony gives excellent instructions on how to do this. I would recommend at some point upgrading the stylus to a Shure M97XE or better, but the Audio Technica one that comes with it is solid for the overall price of the turntable. If anyone is getting "sub par" performance of the turntable, either they aren't adjusting the arm to the correct pressure or they need some better cans (headphones for you non audiophile folk) to listen to. Make sure you set the weight to 3 if overall sound listening (2.5 for Bass or electronic type music, 3.5-4 for critical listening with Jazz or Classical). Make sure the vinyl is cleaned properly as well. The turntable has a good warmth to it, Dylan's Blonde on Blonde really comes through as does Alan Parson's IRobot. However, for John Coltrane's A Love Supreme, I had to move my stylus pressure to 4...then OMG sweet sounds. I would think a better stylus would remedy that, but I'm just being nit picky at this point. Recording is very easy with the software download. Make sure you adjust your settings depending on the type of Genre you are recording. 16bit, 48k is fine for most things in PCM. However, for Jazz, Classical or really good albums, you may want to use either DSD or 24bit/96k. The Rolling Stones song Angie from Goats Head Soup really sounds GREAT in the higher format. (You can actually hear the strings reverb on the digital recording, you can't hear this on native CD format and only on Vinyl usually). Well done Sony! Well done indeed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Longer Works on Macs

PS-HX500 30 January 2018 by CloudDog23 (United Kingdom)

I have been using my PS-HX500 to save my growing vinyl collecting to a high quality digital format, to my Mac, since I purchased it in March 2017. I recently updated my MacBook Pro (2014 spec) to High Sierra 10.13.2 and now the supplied Hi-Res Audio Recorder app can not 'write to file' which renders the purpose of the Turntable i.e. to preserve some precious vinyl records redundant. I get as far at the "Write to files" button, then I click it and nothing happens. This is regardless of the length of the recording or the number of markers. The review will remain at 1 star until Sony fix this problem

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

50 Customer Reviews

0

Convenient, but could be better quality

PS-HX500 27 May 2019 by MTBW (United Kingdom)

It's a decent turntable, and is very convenient and easy to use. The built-in pre-amp and USB out make it dead easy to set up for listening and copying vinyl, which is a major plus. However, after using it at home for a week I've found little irritations which together are enough for me to trade it in for a different turntable. Firstly, the built-in pre-amp and DAC does clip with vinyl which is cut particularly loud, which means audible digital clicks during playback. Because it's all built-in and the levels are set internally there's nothing that can be done about that. Secondly, the stylus that comes with the turntable is cheap and looks like a fiddly nightmare to upgrade. The USB output can only be used with Sony's own software, which is fine but is clunky to use (no keyboard shortcuts, awkward zoom view on the recorded waveform) – it's designed not to work with any other audio recording software. Also, I've found that 33rpm runs a little bit fast (and is not adjustable). So all told it's very convenient and decent for the price point, but won't work for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic turntable

PS-HX500 11 May 2019 by player75 (United Kingdom)

Been pondering should I get myself a new turntable for a few years before I decided to get this one mainly to digitised some very hard to replace vinyl in hi-res (this is the only turntable that I am aware of that has the built in ADC that supports hi-res output before it reaches the computer) and the fact that the price had dropped to almost half of the original RRP. The software download was surprisingly easy to use but is basic (it does what it should do but nothing more). Setting up the turntable was easier than I thought it would be and the vinyl I had recorded so far sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First class turntable

PS-HX500 30 March 2019 by Jacko 52 (United Kingdom)

Truly a great turntable sound quality very good and easy to set up also option to record your vinyl to your computer would highly recommend this Sony turntable if you love your vinyl this is the one for you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Works as a Good Turntable Should

PS-HX500 20 March 2019 by J0nB (United Kingdom)

Nice turntable, seems well made (nice and solid). Sounds Very Good ! Pity it doesn't look more STYLISH, but is a much better turntable than most with phono pre-amp and USB !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New school but old school!

PS-HX500 11 March 2019 by Oberörd nöjesarbetare (USA)

Simple to setup but still with great features. Clear Hi-Res sound. Easy to use. Nice digital features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound quality

PS-HX500 08 March 2019 by Jackj01 (United Kingdom)

I have had this for a couple of weeks now and it is a real pleasure to sit down after work and listen to my records on a quality piece of kit. The sound is so pure and the turntable looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost there

PS-HX500 13 February 2019 by Brained1 (United Kingdom)

Bought about a month ago, and the sound seems smoother and more incisive and revealing than the venerable turntable before it. Easy to set up, and connect. Good value, good product, recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect!

PS-HX500 03 February 2019 by Mstansmith (United Kingdom)

I bought this after trying a much cheaper USB turntable to convert my records into digital media and what a good decision it was. This turntable is aesthetically beautiful in its minimalist approach and performs just as well. The ability to convert my vinyl into DSD at 2.8Mhz which takes up roughly the same room as a 24bit/96Khz Wav file is fantastic as the real width and depth of sound comes through especially when listening to a good quality live album (Dire Straits - Alchemy is sublime). I have been trying to decide if there is a background noise from the needle but can't seem to work out if I need to change the setup and correctly ground the deck or if it simply part of vinyl life. Absolutely no regrets at all with this purchase and my only complaint is that I may have to consider upgrading my Hi-Res player from the Xperia Walkman app to an original Sony Walkman, an expense I don't really need. Well done Sony you nailed it again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent first time turntable to use with Sonos

PS-HX500 06 January 2019 by DucksCrossing (United Kingdom)

I haven’t played vinyl for 20 years, and am now a Sonos die-hard advocate. I wanted a quality turntable to link into the Sonos system, using a Sonos Connect to stream to the rest of the house. Sound quality is great through the speakers directly attached to the Connect module, with the only challenge being when I stream to multiple rooms via wifi. Not sure why the turntable would create this issue though. It was nice to play music the old fashioned way, lifting the needle onto the vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony PS-HX500 - What a breath of fresh air

PS-HX500 06 January 2019 by brooksdm2 (United Kingdom)

I have been playing Music digitally at DSD level for some time now and decide to go back down the Vinyl route to see if I was missing out on any detail. The Sony PS-HX500 attracted me because of it ability to Rip Vinyl to DSD format. Well I wasn't disappointed, the ripping part was easy to perform and the end result is very similar to what you would purchased in DSD format - preparation is key to ensuring your Vinyl is in good state so you have no pops and crackles.. Playback via analogue doesn't sound as clinical as DSD, the sound is smoother and the emotion of the recording or event can be felt. This player in my opinion is very good value for money in terms of build and sound quality. The sound quality can be improved by replacing the stock cartridge with an upgraded version, but this is limited due to no VTA adjustment. It would have been nice of Sony to publish tone arm and cartridge spec's to make this upgrade a smother process, but there plenty of info on the web, the Audio Technica VM540ML seems popular. Overall very pleased with purchase..........

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what it says

PS-HX500 04 January 2019 by Cooperman20 (United Kingdom)

I’m glad we didn’t ditch all our old vinyl. I wonder if we will be saying the same thing about CD a few years from now

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent

PS-HX500 08 December 2018 by Micknorthern (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few weeks back easy set up quality sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far so good but...

PS-HX500 08 December 2018 by Jugnu1000 (United Kingdom)

This is undoubtedly an excellent turntable. The only issue I have is that I bought it as much to digitise my vinyl collection as to play the records and the problem is that the High Res Audio software is not compatible with Mac OS Mojave. Please issue an update immediately!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Its a pretty nice table.

PS-HX500 01 December 2018 by ThatDude (USA)

I have this next to an AT LP5 and it's a good table, if you change the stylus on the stock cartridge to something similar to the lp5 (elliptical) the two become very similar and excellent, and should satisfy all but the elitists who have more money than brains usually. You can spend more for better built eye-candy, to me this is pretty enough. Replacement belts are available that resolve the pitch issues some people experience. Sony, put better belts in to begin with. Turntables that carry your name should last a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY SMOOTH AND SIMPLE

PSHX500 28 September 2018 by DJ H (USA)

NEEDE A HIGH END TURNTABLE I HAVE VARIOUS SONY PRODUCTS AND NEVER HAVE ISSUES

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressed

PS-HX500 09 July 2018 by MB001 (United Kingdom)

Christmas present Superb sound Great design and style

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good route back into vinyl

PS-HX500 13 May 2018 by Crambo63 (United Kingdom)

Looks and sounds great, easy to set up so can enjoy your vinyl without any hassle

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Sound

PS-HX500 11 May 2018 by milesman (United Kingdom)

I've used this for a month or so and am very pleased with the results - the sound is excellent. Setup was relatively straightforward. The deck looks very good, too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great quality

PS-HX500 26 February 2018 by mangas54 (United Kingdom)

Wanted a top quality turntable and after reading the reviews on What Hi-Fi I bought the Sony PS-HX500. It was easy to assemble with the belt,weight etc. The sound quality is excellent and playing my vinyl again is great(some of my albums are 50yrs old). It helps having a decent sound system but would recommend the Sony to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It's a Keeper!

PSHX500 20 February 2018 by rsv145 (USA)

After going through 3 turntables in less than a month, my wife accidentally settled on the Sony PS- HX500. This unit became a keeper due to its simplicity and great sound reproduction. An added bonus is its ability to rip your vinyl records via a USB port and Sony's software that is included with the purchase. It was an accidental purchase as I was looking to get another brand. I decided to give the Sony a shot before sending it back but its simplicity, the USB feature, and great sound changed my opinion of it and I kept it. The only things I would change about it would be the ability to play 78 rpm records and to have a holding place for the 45 rpm adapter. Excellent product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding Sound. Fantastic Build Quality.

PS-HX500 13 February 2018 by thepars85 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace an old PS-LX250. The sound quality is fantastic. The only thing missing is "auto return" but I knew that before purchasing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Solidly built turntable with great sound

PS-HX500 11 February 2018 by pubby (United Kingdom)

This is a very solid turntable and it produces great sound. It's surprisingly low-profile, giving it a stylish appearance. My one concern is that the on/off/speed selector is a little awkward to operate and I suspect will be the first thing to fail! My biggest problem is that the DSD-recording software does not work with Mac OS High Sierra. This is a disappointment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

DSD Hi-Res recording, design, pre-amp included.

PSHX500 08 February 2018 by Betamex (USA)

The player has a nice design. It's very easy to assemble. I wish I could get more info about the cartridge. It records Hi-Res indeed making a big difference when I transfer to my Xperia XZ Premium or play them on my ES receiver on a USB. The only problem I've noticed is a constant and annoying fluctuation of speed while I play a record. I thought it had to break in but after several hours using it for several days, it is still there. Maybe it was made like that or I've got a defective product. In overall, I recommend it if you're interested in not only record Hi-Res files but the pleasure of playing a real record.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Junk Software

PS-HX500 03 February 2018 by WastedMyTime (USA)

Purchased this because I want to digitize some of my vinyl exclusive electronic records. Set up was easy and it sounds pretty good. However, the mandatory recording software is problematic. While my first recording was able to be saved, nothing else will save after ending the recording process. I'm on Windows 10 and have plenty of hard drive space. The software completely freezes. The hi-res recorder is minimalistic, so I was surprised to find that it's broken. Luckily, I have an audiophile grade soundcard. With this, I am able to input sound from a turntable and record into other recording software. I'm going to return the PS-HX500 and go with another company to do so.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1