12

4.3 based on 12 customer reviews

7
3
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for Motorvlogging on my Motorcyle

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 23 September 2017 by GA Ramblin Man (USA)

I bought this camera last December and mounted it to my motorcycle helmet to record my rides and do motorvlogs to upload to YouTube. It has been a wonderful purchase. The high definition video is awesome and the sound with the connected Sony microphone threaded through my helmet is excellent. The live view remote is super easy to use and works seamlessly. It mounted to my helmet easily with a Sony helmet mount and the field of view is great. Much lower profile than a similar GoPro and I love the ease of use for this action cam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Love New Features, Not the Battery

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 08 November 2017 by Craig32 (USA)

I've literally used every Sony Action Cam since they came on the market. I know and appreciate all of the features and quality that goes into producing them and will not use anything but Sony. The AS300 offers a few new features that are amazing. The On/Off button makes a big difference. The Record light was also moved to the top of the camera and that helps with knowing it's on. The stability is as great as ever and the lens quality is unmatched. That said, I've had two major issues with mine. One is a design error (I believe) and the other could be a manufacturing issue. 1. Sony has moved the battery to the outside of the camera instead of down the middle (through the back). This type of battery does not do well in the cold and the door that holds it in provides no insulation, so basically the AS300 is useless in temperatures lower than 40 degrees. In previous models the battery was in the middle, which meant it was insulated by the surrounding camera parts, but no longer. Now, once the camera is cold, the battery goes from fully charged to dead in about 5 minutes. 2. My images (photos/video/live feed) went blurry after owning the camera for about 5 months. I use the camera 1-2 times per week, so it gets a lot of use. It was never dropped or received a direct impact from something else. As a runner it is jostled a lot, but that has never mattered in the past. Some research showed that the lens had shifted, making everything slightly blurry. Instead of Sony issuing a new camera I had to send it to a repair shop (Sony does NOT do any in-house fixes for action cams), which there is only one of in the entire US, and prove it was still under warranty for them to fix. Total turn around time was almost a month. Brutal. This issue could have been a one-off defect, so I don't hold it against Sony. Overall, I do love the camera, but they have to fix the battery issue. I spend a lot of time using the camera in the Winter and this is a crushing blow to not be able to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

12 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

stabilization is great, so is battery

Body + Waterproof Case 24 April 2019 by driftwood145 (USA)

In a world where action camera stabilization is all the rage, the Sony AS-300 meets the challenge. I've had the camera for about a month and a half with zero complaints. The stabilization is fantastic. The battery life shreds my GoPro battery life. Color looks great in full daylight or as the sun is setting. Haven't used it much in dark settings, so I can't speak to the quality there. Sound is a little tinny, but still usable. Great camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple, easy to operate, great result

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 June 2018 by Surhert (USA)

Am so happy could buy this, due could give great result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The best of action cam

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 30 May 2018 by SASA (Australia)

I bought 2 months ago and I'm so happy. The image quality is excellent particularly in 4K.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Love it

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 17 February 2018 by Kenj (New Zealand)

I originally purchased a FDR-AS200 a couple of months ago for my bike riding. Not extreme cycling, I am 76 :-) Grandaughter liked it as well so I used this excuse to give it to her and buy myself the FDRX3000. I absolutely love it. I have an AX33 4K camcorder which is beautiful and get fantastic results from but this action cam can be carried in my shirt pocket all the time if I so desired. The quality of the video, coupled with the B.O.S.S. steadycam system and pretty good audio makes this a dream.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 09 December 2017 by JavierDFT (USA)

first time using it and everything is great... i notice the the battery drop a little fast but everything else easy as pie lol!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Love New Features, Not the Battery

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 08 November 2017 by Craig32 (USA)

I've literally used every Sony Action Cam since they came on the market. I know and appreciate all of the features and quality that goes into producing them and will not use anything but Sony. The AS300 offers a few new features that are amazing. The On/Off button makes a big difference. The Record light was also moved to the top of the camera and that helps with knowing it's on. The stability is as great as ever and the lens quality is unmatched. That said, I've had two major issues with mine. One is a design error (I believe) and the other could be a manufacturing issue. 1. Sony has moved the battery to the outside of the camera instead of down the middle (through the back). This type of battery does not do well in the cold and the door that holds it in provides no insulation, so basically the AS300 is useless in temperatures lower than 40 degrees. In previous models the battery was in the middle, which meant it was insulated by the surrounding camera parts, but no longer. Now, once the camera is cold, the battery goes from fully charged to dead in about 5 minutes. 2. My images (photos/video/live feed) went blurry after owning the camera for about 5 months. I use the camera 1-2 times per week, so it gets a lot of use. It was never dropped or received a direct impact from something else. As a runner it is jostled a lot, but that has never mattered in the past. Some research showed that the lens had shifted, making everything slightly blurry. Instead of Sony issuing a new camera I had to send it to a repair shop (Sony does NOT do any in-house fixes for action cams), which there is only one of in the entire US, and prove it was still under warranty for them to fix. Total turn around time was almost a month. Brutal. This issue could have been a one-off defect, so I don't hold it against Sony. Overall, I do love the camera, but they have to fix the battery issue. I spend a lot of time using the camera in the Winter and this is a crushing blow to not be able to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great camera for Motorvlogging on my Motorcyle

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 23 September 2017 by GA Ramblin Man (USA)

I bought this camera last December and mounted it to my motorcycle helmet to record my rides and do motorvlogs to upload to YouTube. It has been a wonderful purchase. The high definition video is awesome and the sound with the connected Sony microphone threaded through my helmet is excellent. The live view remote is super easy to use and works seamlessly. It mounted to my helmet easily with a Sony helmet mount and the field of view is great. Much lower profile than a similar GoPro and I love the ease of use for this action cam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Won'k work

Body + Waterproof Case 19 September 2017 by Frankiexyz (USA)

Will not go into record mode. Can't be used at all.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

17

0

Super clear picture !

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 12 May 2017 by carabao (Australia)

I purchased this camera on holidays in March/2017 ...tried it out in warm conditions...in water as well ...it performs best in lower temps because the camera casing heats up too quickly ( not good) . The picture and sound is fantastic in both HD & UHD format although beware ...the data transfer is huge in UHD recordings ...64gig for 120 mins rec . Normal HD rec 480 mins for a 64 gig card . The sound picks up through the waterproof casing fairly well .

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Best action camera

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 20 April 2017 by sector2244 (Australia)

The image quality is excellent particularly in 4K. The image stabilization works well and is a definite improvement over my GoPro. I purchased my camera by itself and have been trying to get a LV remote ever since but without success - the LVR needs to be sold as a separate accessory.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Remote for 3000 action camera

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 26 March 2017 by Beanmister (Australia)

Sony you have made an awesome camera. But the remote strap is a let down. Can you not make a better one ie a velcro strap. The one at the moment is very poor and hard to secure on your wrist. Also the waterproof case that's mate for the camera once it's in its case you can't see at the front if it's recording. I know you have other recording lights. But if mounted on a helmet when you turn camera on you can't see if it's recording when skydiving. Third point can you make another case for general use and with volume vents in it so when recording you can hear the footage on play back. Many thanks Sony.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Good but with one problem.

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 12 February 2017 by DanielPotter (Australia)

The video quality is excellent, as expected from a Sony product. The optical stabilization is one of the best I have experienced. I have it mounter on my motorcycle helmet and you can`t even tell. Also, another improvement if the reduction of the fish-eye effect. It seems that the Image Engineers at Sony put a lot of work towards this as it is almost gone. The menu is very user-friendly, with tons of options and settings to choose from and a lot of features unlocked to allow configuring you camera based on the needs. The build quality is very good, with a very good feel when handling it. There is one issue with this camera which is starting to become a problem for me, it is plagued with the famous jello effect (Rolling Shutter). For a top of the line action camera I would have expected a global shutter. In my case this means that I need to mount the camera on my helmet or my body to eliminate the vibrations, limiting the options I have or forcing me to invest in very expensive mounts. Unfortunately it is so strong that not even my professional video correction software could not remove it in post-processing. Overall the camera is very good but is you intend in attaching it to anything that has a continuous vibration, thing of getting a stabilization mount/anti-jello mount or plan for a different mounting location.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0