15

3.9 based on 15 customer reviews

6
6
0
2
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

No need for anything less than 5 stars

AKALU1 13 October 2014 by chiller717 (USA)

Who would rate this below 5 stars....it is so easy and convenient to use....plug your camera in and start shooting video. Price ...?....maybe...but the sony action cam line is so versatile.....5 stars all the way

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Buyer beware, does not work well with HDRAS100!

AKALU1 15 November 2014 by TheDutchTexan (USA)

Lets get the positive out of the way: When used with the HDR-AS15 this gets 5 stars, no questions about that. It works as advertised, and has helped me get great shots at cars and coffee! However, when used with the HDR-AS100 it is quite the opposite. Due to the fact the button on the HDR-AS100 gets harder to push as time goes by (design fault) it puts stress on the plastic pin that is used to push the start/stop record button. This has resulted in the pin being snapped off, thus reducing my handy-cam attachment into a $99 dollar paperweight. Do not buy this if you want to use this with your HDR-AS100! Click the picture below, it shows the push pin separate from the handy cam attachment.

11

1

15 Customer Reviews

0

Good accesory, has opportunities

AKALU1 07 September 2017 by MiguelP (USA)

I bought this accesory for the convenience of using my action cam as a video recorder, which it does..., but it does not allow to install the lens protection cap white the camara is inside.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

AKA-LU1 19 September 2015 by Leo14711 (United Kingdom)

I am so glad I bought this product it has really helped me out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pleasantly surprised

AKA-LU1 30 January 2015 by Macedonian (Australia)

I purchased this product on a whim hoping it will give me the capability of turning my action camera into a functional handy cam. It did this and more! I love it that I now can see and hear what my action cam is capturing during and after filming. The casing itself was easy to install and use however I do wonder if I dropped it would it still be in one piece? However overall I am greatly impressed!

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Works as promised

AKALU1 28 December 2014 by Aturzan (USA)

This housing works as it was promised. The instructions on placing the cam corder into the housing were horrendous. It took me the longest time to install the camera. A major con is the fact that the next button is extremely difficult to press due to the housing. As a matter of fact the instruction manual is also totally useless. I still cannot figure out how to power up the camera so it isn't in the record mode.

1

0

0

Buyer beware, does not work well with HDRAS100!

AKALU1 15 November 2014 by TheDutchTexan (USA)

Lets get the positive out of the way: When used with the HDR-AS15 this gets 5 stars, no questions about that. It works as advertised, and has helped me get great shots at cars and coffee! However, when used with the HDR-AS100 it is quite the opposite. Due to the fact the button on the HDR-AS100 gets harder to push as time goes by (design fault) it puts stress on the plastic pin that is used to push the start/stop record button. This has resulted in the pin being snapped off, thus reducing my handy-cam attachment into a $99 dollar paperweight. Do not buy this if you want to use this with your HDR-AS100! Click the picture below, it shows the push pin separate from the handy cam attachment.

11

1

0

No need for anything less than 5 stars

AKALU1 13 October 2014 by chiller717 (USA)

Who would rate this below 5 stars....it is so easy and convenient to use....plug your camera in and start shooting video. Price ...?....maybe...but the sony action cam line is so versatile.....5 stars all the way

2

0

0

Could be tweaked, design wise.

AKA-LU1 07 October 2014 by phoebeashmore (Australia)

This LCD comes with some versions of the Action Cam, or for separate purchase. The Action Cam clips into the LCD unit quite firmly and aside from closing the door to secure the camera inside, that's everything you have to do to set it up. It's quite durable and protects the camera really well. It's a very limited accessory in the sense there are only four buttons but what it does give you is the ability to turn your Action Cam into a Handycam. You can also play footage back on the screen after you film. There are no display properties on the screen so you have to use the built in Action Cam screen to make any changes to the settings- using the next and previous buttons as usual. You can't use a microphone in the camera with this unit as there is no where to plug one in. Maybe a redesign is in order, where there is a mini-jack that plugs into the camera when you attach it and the LCD includes another mic input?

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Great product.

AKA-LU1 12 September 2014  (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 6 month ago. I think tis is a Great product because you see the video during the record. I haven't ever seen simelar think it oder product. This is a beautiful product. Keep it on SONY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good for novice use bad for skateboarders

AKALU1 05 September 2014 by effen (USA)

as a skateboarder i don't really care for this product any more the pin that pushes the button on my action cam has worn down from constant usage. i have recorded over 10000 videos already and i think that's a big part of why its worn out seeing how i have pushed that button a minimum of 20000 times, i have only had it for less than a year. i think Sony needs to review this unit and fix some small issues with it. ex. #1 battery life is significantly diminished by the screen. they could run a few AA s to power the screen for instead of using the camera battery. #2 push button for record is awful it makes recording. the button is hard to push at least 20x harder than the camera itself, this could be fixed by making the pin wider, removing the spring and actually having the pin hit the center of the record button instead of the top of the red portion, all and all the unit isn't bad, it just isn't great in the long term, especially if your hitting the button roughly every minute or so

7

4

0

Perfect accessory

AKA-LU1 05 June 2014 by AlKerr (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product several months ago and after much use am delighted with this add on to the AS15.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound & Basic Accessory

AKA-LU1 17 March 2014 by Marty61 (Australia)

Good bang for buck. Few features compared to to handycam but welcome functionality for the action cam. Tripod thread could be better sited but overall allows the action cam to have wider use. I use the interval recording a lot and find the viewfinder better for setting up than the power draining WiFi link to smartphone. Despite the lack of 'handycam' features it does enough and the cost is extremely reasonable. Good work Sony.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

Could be better

AKALU1 22 February 2014 by Augusta (USA)

It holds the camera securely in place and the LCD is a nice feature, but there is no room for microphone use with the cradle. If you want to use the camera with a mic you must remove it from the cradle, super poor planning.

31

5

0

Works well in combination with the camcorder

AKALU1 08 September 2013 by obie (USA)

The cradle works will with the camera and allows quick viewing vs sending the files via WiFi. If the cradle had a socket that allowed for charging the camera could be used with a constant power supply vs changing of the battery.

15

4

0

Basic but necessary

AKA-LU1 12 April 2013 by Awsam (Australia)

The description is a little vague so to be clear, this LCD screen allows you to use your Action Cam just like a Handycam. Viewing & filming in real time. The screen is very crisp considering its size and is clear enough outdoors in day light. The clip to close the unit feels very strong, and hasn't come open once dropping it at shoulder height. That's not to say you can throw this around as the lens is VERY exposed. Apart from "Play, next, previous" buttons, the unit is completely featureless. For some weird reason there is no Microphone port availability (Why even include the Mic port when it can't be used? I've ended up drilling holes in my frames to plug a Mic in). I am yet to pull the unit apart and find out if a hole can be made. It is also hard to see the red LED "On" light outside as it's simply a plastic light tunnel from the camera's own LED and incredibly dull. There is no graphical overlay on the screen to let you know when you are recording either. A simple red pulsating dot on screen would make a huge difference. For the price it is definitely worth it and has made it easier to film more every day things. I'm glad I bought it, although it does take Sony a long time to replenish Australian stock. The USA website does not ship to Aus, so I just had to keep checking the website every week. Also the "Buy Now" button would not work in Chrome.v26.0.1410.64m, so I had to use Explorer to buy.

Taken from store.sony.com.au

0

0

0

LCD CRADLE

AKALU1 21 January 2013 by DALETHEKNIFE (USA)

I received my action cam cradle a couple of days ago and I must say it is all could have asked for. It really works well and I am very happy with the unit. It probably won't appeal to all but for me at least it is a real help. I am the photographer for a Fire District so it gets a lot of use. I was afraid that it would impact the battery life but if it does it is not very much. I really like to have a way to affix the HDR AS10 to a tripod and not have to use the water proof housing. Of course the sound is much better with the LCD cradle. Another point is the review of footage already taken. It is nice to have a larger screen to view your clips. We were on a crash scene and question came up about the event. I was able to show the video that I had taken and that answered the question. The cradle is small enough to fit in my pocket so I am never without it. Even if you only use the AS 10 or 15 as a sport camera, being able review you video I would think would be worth the money. Would I ask to change anything? It would be nice to be able to see the picture before you start recording but I understand why this would not be possible with the existing parts. It doesn't take a lot to get used to only seeing the framed shot when turn the recorder on. All and all I am very happy with the LCD cradle. Dale Sandberg

58

2